CTNF 18/530,637 CTNF 101215 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims This action is in response to Applicant’s response to restriction requirement Claims 1-20 are pending Non-elected claims 3-4, 7-15, and 17-19 are withdrawn from consideration Claims 1-2, 5-6, 16 and 20 are currently under examination Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse encompassing claims 1-2, 5-6, 16 and 20 (corresponding to Species Group 1 drawn to a translating plate in figures 2A-2B and 7A-7B) in reply filed March 31, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 5-6, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Pic (US Publication No. 20210275157), hereinafter, Pic . Regarding claim 1, Pic discloses a valve assembly (slider 460 actuated by actuation mechanism 30 and disposed between first housing 406 and second housing 452 through which agent 102 can flow in figs. 4A-4B; para [0073]) for a medical device (delivery system 10 in fig. 1) , comprising: an enclosure (first housing 406, which defines first enclosure 404 in figs. 4A-4B) configured to store an agent (agent 102 stored within first enclosure 404 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0070]) ; a funnel (filter 420 has a substantially funnel shape in figs. 4A-4B; para [0072]) coupled to the enclosure (filter 420 received within distal portion of second housing 452 which is in fluid communication with first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0072, 0074-0075]) , and configured to receive the agent via an opening of the enclosure (agent 102 may flow from first housing 406 into second housing 452 when slider 460 is in the open configuration; para [0075]) ; and a valve (slider 460, with actuation mechanism 30, in figs. 4A-4B; para [0073]) fluidly coupled to the enclosure and the funnel (filter 420 may be received within distal portion of second housing 452 which is in fluid communication with first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074-0075]) , wherein the valve is at least partially disposed between the enclosure and the funnel (slider 460 may cover a distal end of first housing 406 such that there is no fluid communication with second housing 452 that receives filter 420 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074]) , and at least a portion of the agent is received on the valve (when slider 460 transitions to the second configuration, agent 102 may begin, or at least partially begin, flowing into filter 420 and through outlet 114 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0075-0076]) ; wherein the valve is configured to move from a first position to a second position (first configuration of slider 460 closes fluid communication between first enclosure 404 and second enclosure 422, and second configuration of slider 460 opens fluid communication in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074-0075]) relative to the enclosure (first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B) and the funnel (filter 420 in figs. 4A-4B; may have a substantially funnel shape; para [0072]) to selectively release the agent (agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B may be stored within first housing 406; para [0070]) from the enclosure into the funnel; wherein, in the first position, the valve is configured to close the opening and inhibit the agent from exiting the enclosure (slider 460, in first configuration, may cover a distal end of first housing 406 such that there is no fluid communication with second housing 452 that receives filter 420 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074]) and entering the funnel (filter 420 in figs. 4A-4B; may have a substantially funnel shape; para [0072]) , and in the second position, the valve is configured to open the opening and release the agent from the enclosure for delivery into the funnel (second configuration of slider 460 opens fluid communication between first housing 406 and second housing 452, in figs. 4A-4B; para [0075]) . Regarding claim 2, Pic discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve includes a body movably disposed within the opening assembly (slider 460 actuated by actuation mechanism 30 to transition between a first configuration and second configuration and is disposed between first housing 406 and second housing 452 through which agent 102 can flow in figs. 4A-4B) ; wherein, in the first position, at least a portion of the body is configured to extend into the opening, thereby fluidly decoupling the enclosure from the funnel (slider 460, in first configuration, may cover a distal end of first housing 406 such that there is no fluid communication with second housing 452 that receives filter 420 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074]) , and in the second position, at least the portion of the body is configured to retract out of the opening, thereby fluidly coupling the enclosure with the funnel (second configuration of slider 460 opens fluid communication between first housing 406 and second housing 452 that receives filter 420, in figs. 4A-4B; para [0075]) . Regarding claim 5, Pic discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the valve defines at least one wall of a plurality of walls of the enclosure (slider 460 serves as a moveable body portion of the valve assembly and also as a structural wall of first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B) , such that the at least one wall is configured to move relative to the remaining walls of the plurality of walls from the first position to the second position to form the opening (slider 460 actuated by actuation mechanism 30 to transition between a first configuration and second configuration that moves relative to the remaining walls of first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B) . Regarding claim 6, Pic discloses the valve assembly of claim 1, further including a channel (opening 462 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0073]) positioned between the enclosure (first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B) and the funnel (filter 420 in figs. 4A-4B; may have a substantially funnel shape; para [0072]) , wherein the valve includes a rod (slider 460 in figs. 4A-4B) that is movable relative to the channel (slider 460 may be received within opening 462 and may be movable in the plane of opening 462; para [0073]) ; wherein, in the first position, the rod is configured to extend outwardly from the channel and into the opening of the enclosure, and in the second position, the rod is configured to retract into the channel and out of the opening (first configuration of slider 460 closes fluid communication between first housing 406 and second housing 452, and second configuration of slider 460 opens fluid communication in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074-0075]) . Regarding claim 16, Pic discloses a valve assembly (slider 460 actuated by actuation mechanism 30 to transition between a first configuration and second configuration and is disposed between first housing 406 and second housing 452 through which agent 102 can flow in figs. 4A-4B) for a medical device (delivery system 10 in fig. 1) , comprising: an enclosure (first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B) defining a first chamber (first enclosure 404 in figs. 4A-4B) configured to store an agent (agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B may be stored within first enclosure 404; para [0070]) and a second chamber (channel 422 in figs. 4A-4B) configured to receive a pressurized fluid (when a flow of fluid is activated, fluid may pass through inlet 112, through filter 420, and into channel 422; para [0074]) ; and a valve disposed within the enclosure and positioned between the first chamber and the second chamber (slider 460, with actuation mechanism 30, disposed within first housing 406 and disposed between first enclosure 404 and second enclosure 422 in figs. 4A-4B) , wherein the valve is configured to fluidly couple the first chamber to the second chamber via an opening formed by the valve (first enclosure 404 may be in fluid communication with second enclosure 454, which receives channel 422, and agent 102 may flow from first enclosure 404 into second enclosure 454 in the second configuration; para [0074-0075]) ; wherein the valve is configured to move relative to the enclosure to a first position to close the opening between the first chamber and the second chamber, thereby inhibiting the agent (agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B may be stored within first housing 406; para [0070]) from exiting the first chamber and entering the second chamber such that the pressurized fluid is not in fluid communication with the agent (first configuration of slider 460 closes fluid communication between first enclosure 404 and second enclosure 422 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074]) ; and wherein the valve is configured to move relative to the enclosure to a second position to open the opening between the first chamber and the second chamber, thereby allowing the agent (agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B may be stored within first enclosure 404; para [0070]) to exit the first chamber and enter the second chamber such that the pressurized fluid is in fluid communication with the agent (second configuration of slider 460 opens fluid communication between first enclosure 404 and second enclosure 422 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0075]; when a flow of fluid is activated, fluid may pass through inlet 112, through filter 420, and into channel 422; para [0074]) . Regarding claim 20, Pic discloses a method for delivering an agent from a medical device (delivery system 10 in fig. 1) , the medical device including an enclosure (first housing 406 in figs. 4A-4B) having a first chamber (first enclosure 404 in figs. 4A-4B) storing the agent (agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B may be stored within first enclosure 404; para [0070]) and a second chamber that is in fluid communication with a pressurized fluid (when a flow of fluid is activated, fluid may pass through inlet 112, through filter 420, and into channel 422; para [0074]) ; the method comprising: actuating the medical device (actuation mechanism 30 in delivery system 10 in fig. 1) to deliver the pressurized fluid to the second chamber of the enclosure (when a flow of fluid is activated, fluid may pass through inlet 112, through filter 420, and into channel 422 of second housing 452; para [0074]) ; moving a valve (slider 460 and actuation mechanism 30 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0073]) of the medical device (delivery system 10 in fig. 1) from a first position to a second position in response to the pressurized fluid being delivered to the second chamber, wherein, in the first position (slider 460 actuated by actuation mechanism 30 to transition between a first configuration and second configuration and is disposed between first housing 406 and second housing 452 through which agent 102 can flow in figs. 4A-4B) , the valve is configured to seal the first chamber from the second chamber such that the agent (agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B may be stored within first housing 406; para [0070]) is inhibited from exiting the first chamber, and in the second position, the valve is configured to unseal the first chamber from the second chamber such that the agent is permitted to exit the first chamber and enter the second chamber (the first configuration of slider 460 closes fluid communication between first enclosure 404 and second enclosure 422 while the second configuration of slider 460 opens fluid communication in figs. 4A-4B; para [0074-0075]) ; agitating the agent with the pressurized fluid within the second chamber, thereby forming a mixture of the agent and the pressurized fluid agent (in the second configuration, agent 102 may enter channel 422 where it may combine with fluid from inlet 112 where it become fluidized agent 102 in figs. 4A-4B; para[0075]) ; and guiding the mixture of the agent and the pressurized fluid through an outlet of the medical device (fluidized agent 102 may pass through catheter 116 and through outlet 114 in figs. 4A-4B; para [0075]) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK whose telephone number is (571)272-3534. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Michael Tsai can be reached at (571) 270-5246. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ZACHARIAH K WHITROCK/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /MICHAEL J TSAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 2 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 4 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 5 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 6 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 7 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 8 Art Unit: 3783 Application/Control Number: 18/530,637 Page 9 Art Unit: 3783