DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS filed 11/19/2025 and 12/6/2023 are being considered by the examiner
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed 12/6/2023 has been received and entered into the record. As a result, claims 1-15 have been canceled and claims 16-25 have been added. Therefore, claims 16-25 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claims 18, 19, 20, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites, "at least one of the first position sensor system or the second position sensor system". The examiner suggests, "at least one of a first position sensor system or a second position sensor system".
Claim 19 recites, "on a basis of the sensor data,". The examiner suggest, "on a basis of .".
Claim 20 recites, "wherein at the control means recalls". The examiner suggests, "wherein a control means recalls".
Claim 26 recites, "prompts the control means". The examiner suggests, "prompts a control means".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the applicant has provided evidence that the applicant intends the term "computer readable storage medium" to include non-statutory matter. The applicant describes a computer-readable storage medium as including open ended language and thus it is reasonable to interpret it to include all possible mediums, including non-statutory mediums (see paragraph 0112). The words "storage" and/or "recording" are insufficient to convey only statutory embodiments to one of ordinary skill in the art absent an explicit and deliberate limiting definition or clear differentiation between storage media and transitory media in the disclosure. As such, the claim(s) is/are drawn to a form of energy. Energy is not one of the four categories of invention and therefore, this/these claim(s) is/are not statutory. Energy is not a series of steps or acts and thus is not a process. Energy is not a physical article or object and as such is not a machine or manufacture. Energy is not a combination of substances and therefore not a composition of matter.
The Examiner suggests amending the claim(s) to read as a "non-transitory computer readable storage medium".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karrasch et al. [U.S. Pub. 2009/0025208] ("Karrasch") in view of Gloe et al. [U.S. Pat. 5,337,589] ("Gloe").
With regard to claim 16, Karrasch teaches a computer-implemented method ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]") for configuring a cable processing device for crimping a cable connection to a cable end of a cable ("a termination tool having termination tooling configured to terminate a terminal to a wire in a termination zone [par. 0008]") comprising
a tool mounting ("The termination tooling 252 includes a stationary anvil 254 and a movable crimp tool 256 [par. 0043]") and a first cable stop ("The wire positioning device 114 includes a support housing 130, an electric actuator 132 coupled to the support housing 130 and a wire gripping mechanism 134 [par. 0022]"), which carries out a method for
("The crimping of the terminal 102 to the wire 104 occurs during the downward component of the crimp stroke, wherein the terminal 102 is crimped to the wire 104 as the crimp tool 256 is lowered toward the anvil 154 [par. 0044]") and
the first cable stop arranged to support the cable during assembling of the cable connection to the cable ("The wire gripping mechanism 134 is adapted for gripping and holding the wire 104 [par.0022]"),
wherein is independently positioned vertically, and the positioning takes place as a function of a cable conveying direction of a cable conveying means ("The wire positioning device 114 is configured to horizontally and vertically position the wire 104 within the wire termination zone 118. In an exemplary embodiment, the wire positioning device 114 positions the wire 104 substantially vertically above, and aligned with, the open barrel portion of the terminal 102 [par. 0045];" where "a function of a cable conveying direction" is interpreted as parallel to the conveying direction, i.e., vertically, in light of Applicant's disclosure [pars. 0038 and 0089]).
Although Karrasch teaches automatically positioning the first cable stop to compensate for variations ("For example, when a wire 104 having a different wire diameter is used, when a terminal 102 having a different configuration or a different sized open barrel portion is used, or when other factors are changed, the electric actuator 132 may compensate for the changes and adjust the relative position of the wire gripping mechanism 134 with respect to the support housing 130, and thus the wire 104 [par. 0046]"),
Karrasch does not explicitly teach where the tool mounting is independently positioned vertically.
In an analogous art (cable crimping), Gloe teaches where a tool mounting is independently positioned vertically ("automatically finely and continuously adjusting the heigh of said anvil to cause the value of said shut height to coincide with that of the theoretical shut height [col. 2 lines 12-15]").
Gloe further teaches, "terminal and lead dimensions are compensated for so that the crimped connections of optimum integrity are produced [col. 1 lines 66-68]" and "correct the vertical position of the anvil 22 so that the crimp heights coincide with the theoretical crimp heights, that is to say, the optimum crimp heights [col. 8 line 26-29]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified Karrasch's tool mount including the anvil, the make the tool mount including the anvil adjustable as taught by Glow, for the benefit of compensating for terminal and lead dimensions, achieving connections of optimum integrity.
With regard to claim 17, the combination above teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 16. Karrasch in the combination further teaches wherein the positioning takes place prior to a cable processing step by the cable processing device ("The wire is thus positioned within the open barrel portion prior to crimping the terminal to the wire [par. 0044]").
With regard to claim 18, the combination above teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 16. Karrasch in the combination further teaches wherein sensor data is detected by at least one of the first position sensor system ("a sensor for determining a vertical position of the wire gripping mechanism with respect to the platform [claim 17]") or the second position sensor system.
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 19, the combination above teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 16. Karrasch in the combination further teaches wherein at least one of the tool mounting or the first cable stop are positioned on a basis of the sensor data ("a sensor for determining a vertical position of the wire gripping mechanism with respect to the platform, wherein the controller operates the electric actuator based on the position of the wire gripping mechanism [claim 17]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 20, the combination above teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 16. Karrasch in the combination further teaches wherein at the control means recalls control data for positioning at least one of the tool mounting or the first cable stop from one of a storage unit or a database ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]" and "The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046];" where it is implied that the preprogrammed controller recalls control data from a storage unit in order to send control signals to coordinate the operation of the system).
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 21, the combination above teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 16. Karrasch in the combination further teaches wherein positioning of at least one of the tool mounting or the first cable stop takes place on a basis of at least one of cable-specific data or cable connection-specific data ("when a wire 104 having a different wire diameter is used, when a terminal 102 having a different configuration or a different sized open barrel portion is used, or when other factors are changed, the electric actuator 132 may compensate for the changes and adjust the relative position of the wire gripping mechanism 134 with respect to the support housing 130, and thus the wire 104. The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046]").
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 22, Karrasch teaches a computer-implemented method for automatically determining and creating at least one of control commands or control data ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]" and "The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046];" where it is implied that the crimping process is done automatically with created control commands, e.g., by a processing device issuing commands without human intervention) for controlling a cable processing device for crimping a cable connection to a cable end of a cable ("a termination tool having termination tooling configured to terminate a terminal to a wire in a termination zone [par. 0008]") comprising
a tool mounting ("The crimping of the terminal 102 to the wire 104 occurs during the downward component of the crimp stroke, wherein the terminal 102 is crimped to the wire 104 as the crimp tool 256 is lowered toward the anvil 154 [par. 0044]") and a first cable stop ("The wire gripping mechanism 134 is adapted for gripping and holding the wire 104 [par.0022]"),
which carries out a method for independently positioning("The wire positioning device 114 is configured to horizontally and vertically position the wire 104 within the wire termination zone 118. In an exemplary embodiment, the wire positioning device 114 positions the wire 104 substantially vertically above, and aligned with, the open barrel portion of the terminal 102 [par. 0045]"),
wherein at least one of the control data set or the control command is created and stored ("The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046]").
Although Karrasch teaches automatically positioning the first cable stop to compensate for variations ("For example, when a wire 104 having a different wire diameter is used, when a terminal 102 having a different configuration or a different sized open barrel portion is used, or when other factors are changed, the electric actuator 132 may compensate for the changes and adjust the relative position of the wire gripping mechanism 134 with respect to the support housing 130, and thus the wire 104 [par. 0046]"),
Karrasch does not explicitly teach independently positioning the tool mounting.
In an analogous art (cable crimping), Gloe teaches independently positioning a tool mounting ("automatically finely and continuously adjusting the heigh of said anvil to cause the value of said shut height to coincide with that of the theoretical shut height [col. 2 lines 12-15]").
Gloe further teaches, "terminal and lead dimensions are compensated for so that the crimped connections of optimum integrity are produced [col. 1 lines 66-68]" and "correct the vertical position of the anvil 22 so that the crimp heights coincide with the theoretical crimp heights, that is to say, the optimum crimp heights [col. 8 line 26-29]."
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing the invention to have modified Karrasch's tool mount including the anvil, the make the tool mount including the anvil adjustable as taught by Glow, for the benefit of compensating for terminal and lead dimensions, achieving connections of optimum integrity.
With regard to claim 23, Karrasch in the combination above teaches the computer-implemented method according to claim 22, wherein at least one of a plurality of control data sets or a plurality of commands are created and are stored ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]" and "The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046];" where it is implied that a plurality of commands are created and stored in order to allow the preprogrammed controller to coordinate the operation of the system).
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 24, Karrasch in the combination above teaches a computer program product comprising at least one of control commands or control data, which, when running a program by a computing unit, prompt the computing unit to carry out the method according to claim 16 ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]" and "The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046];" where it is implied that a computer program product comprising control commands is run by the preprogrammed controller to coordinate the operation of the system).
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 25, Karrasch in the combination above teaches a computer program product comprising at least one of control commands or control data, which, when running a program by a computing unit, prompt the computing unit to carry out the method according to claim 22 ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]" and "The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046];" where it is implied that a computer program product comprising control commands is run by the preprogrammed controller to coordinate the operation of the system).
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
With regard to claim 26, Karrasch in the combination above teaches a computer readable storage medium comprising at least one of control commands or control data, which, when run by a computing unit, prompts the control means to carry out the method according to claim 16 ("A controller 126 is provided for coordinating the operation of each of the components of the system 100 [par. 0016]" and "The operation of the electric actuator 132 is controlled by signals transmitted through the cable 198 from the controller 126 [par. 0032]" and "The adjustment may be made by the preprogrammed controller 126, and adjusted automatically [par. 0046];" where it is implied that a computer readable storage medium comprising control commands is run by the preprogrammed controller to coordinate the operation of the system).
Note: claim is presented in the alternative.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nicholas et al. [U.S. Pub. 2014/0331495] teaches a terminal crimping machine includes an applicator having a movable ram and an anvil. The anvil is located in a crimping zone and configured to receive a terminal thereon. The ram has crimp tooling that is configured to crimp the terminal on the anvil to a wire during a crimp stroke of the ram. An image acquisition device is positioned to acquire at least one image of the crimping zone. A display device is configured to display the at least one acquired image.
Martin et al. [U.S. Pub. 2018/0287353] teaches a cable processing apparatus with two controllable clamps.
Conclusion
/VINCENT WEN-LIANG CHANG/
Examiner
Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119