DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a side of a structure" in lines 2-3 and 6-7. It is unclear of the recitation at lines 6-7 is in addition to or the same side as recited in lines 2-3 causing confusion regarding the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the folded state" in 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the stair platform" in 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further the claim recites “once a desired stair location is chosen which appears to be a mental process of a user, thus it is unclear what is encompassed by this limitation causing confusion regarding the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 8 recites “the lower steps foldable against the lower steps” which is confusing as it is unclear how the lower steps are foldable against themselves. The claims will be examined where the lower steps are foldable against the upper steps.
Claim 14 recites “once a desired stair location is chosen which appears to be a mental process of a user, thus it is unclear what is encompassed by this limitation causing confusion regarding the scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites “the lower steps foldable against the lower steps” which is confusing as it is unclear how the lower steps are foldable against themselves. The claims will be examined where the lower steps are foldable against the upper steps.
Claim 19 recites “the lower steps foldable against the lower steps” which is confusing as it is unclear how the lower steps are foldable against themselves. The claims will be examined where the lower steps are foldable against the upper steps.
The claim further recites “once a desired stair location is chosen which appears to be a mental process of a user, thus it is unclear what is encompassed by this limitation causing confusion regarding the scope of the claimed invention.
Accordingly the claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4,8-12,19is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brudi (4792015).
Claim 1. Brudi discloses a stair and deck system comprising:
a deck platform (12) convertible between a folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and a use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as noted in the figures and disclosure);
a stair system (18 alone or in combination with 19) rotatably attached to the deck platform (as noted in the figures and disclosure), the stair system operable to selectively provide steps from a selected one of multiple sides of the deck platform (where steps are provided below the deck platform in the extended state and above the platform in the folded state);
a top hatch (11) convertible between the folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and the use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as noted in the figures and disclosure); and
a handlebar (21 or the side bars of 19) interconnecting the deck platform and the top hatch.
Claim 2. The stair and deck system of claim 1, further comprising a stair platform (the assembly of 18) rotatably attached to the deck platform (via 20).
Claim 3. The stair and deck system of claim 2, wherein the stair platform is disposed below an upper surface of the deck platform (when in the extended state the stair platform is below the deck platform).
Claim 4. The stair and deck system of claim 3, further comprising stair support arms (20/22), the stair support arms extending outward from the stair platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state (as seen in the figures and disclosure where 18 is directly adjacent the deck assembly in the folded state).
Claim 8. The stair and deck system of claim 1, wherein the stair system includes upper (19) steps and lower steps (18), the lower steps foldable against the lower steps in the folded state.
Claim 9. The stair and deck system of claim 8, wherein the stair system include a linkage (20) extending linearly between the upper and lower steps to fix the relative positions thereof in the use state.
Claim 10. The stair and deck system of claim 9, further comprising a pin (22) to lock the linkage into the use state.
Claim 11. The stair and deck system of claim 8, wherein the stair system includes stair legs (the sides of 18 that extend below the bottom step) extending downward from sides of the lower stairs, the stair legs operable to extend between the lower stairs to contact a ground surface.
Claim 12. The stair and deck system of claim 11, further comprising a pin (22) to lock the stair legs in a desired position when in the use state.
Claim 19. Brudi discloses a stair and deck system comprising:
a deck platform (12) convertible between a folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and a use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as noted in the figures and disclosure);
a stair system (18 alone or in combination with 19) rotatably attached to the deck platform, the stair system operable to selectively provide steps from a selected one of multiple sides of the deck platform (above and below), the stair system including upper steps (at 19) and lower steps (at 18), the lower steps foldable against the lower steps in the folded state (as noted in the disclosure);
a linkage (20) extending linearly between the upper and lower steps to fix the relative positions thereof in the use state;
a linkage pin (23) to lock the linkage into the use state;
stair legs (the side rails of 18 extending below the bottom step) extending downward from sides of the lower stairs, the stair legs operable to extend between the lower stairs to contact a ground surface (as seen in the figures);
a stair leg pin (22) operable to lock the stair legs in a desired position when in the use state;
a top hatch (11) convertible between the folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and the use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure; and
a handlebar (21) interconnecting the deck platform and the top hatch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,5,6,7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borden (10269273) in view of Hollenback (12276112).
Claim 1. Borden discloses a stair and deck system comprising:
a deck platform (260) convertible between a folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and a use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as noted in the figures and disclosure);
a stair system (as seen in the figures);
a top hatch (253) convertible between the folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and the use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as seen in the figures); and
a handlebar (296) interconnecting the deck platform and the top hatch (where it is connected to 253 and the deck platform via 251 and the side wall of the vehicle).
Borden does not disclose the stair system is rotatably attached to the deck platform, the stair system operable to selectively provide steps from a selected one of multiple sides of the deck platform.
Hollenback discloses a stair system that is rotatbly connected to a deck platform operable to provide steps form a multiple sides of the deck platform (extending downward below the platform, and stowed above the platform as seen in figures 5, 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the stair system of Borden to be rotatbly attached to selectively position on multiple sides of the deck platform as taught by Hollenback to achieve the predictable result of an assembly that can be stowed for transport.
Claim 5. The stair and deck system of claim 1, further comprising a gas or hydraulic cylinder (294 of Borden) assisting an upward movement of the top hatch when moving from the folded state to the use state.
Claim 6. The stair and deck system of claim 1, further comprising deck rail posts positionable into holes in the deck platform (as seen in figure 4 of Borden).
Claim 7. The stair and deck system of claim 6, wherein the deck rail posts are further operable to extend through holes in the stair platform to fix the rotation of the stair platform relative to the deck platform once a desired stair location is chosen (where they are capable of the claimed intended use if the condition exists).
Claim(s) 8-13,19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borden (10269273) in view of Hollenback (12276112) and further in view of Brudi (4792015).
Claim 8. Borden in view of Hollenback disclose the stair and deck system of claim 1, wherein the stair system includes upper steps and lower steps (as seen in the figures) but does not disclose the lower steps foldable against the lower steps in the folded state.
It is known to have lower steps foldable against upper steps for storage. For example Brudi discloses lower steps 18 foldable against upper steps 19 for storage having linkage and pin for locking the unfolded state.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the steps of to have lower steps foldable against upper steps, with the linkage and pin of Brudi, to achieve the predictable result of a more compactly stored stair that can be stored inside the vehicle.
Claim 9. The stair and deck system of claim 8, wherein the stair system include a linkage (20,23 or Brudi) extending linearly between the upper and lower steps to fix the relative positions thereof in the use state.
Claim 10. The stair and deck system of claim 9, further comprising a pin (22) to lock the linkage into the use state.
Claim 11. The stair and deck system of claim 8, wherein the stair system includes stair legs (as seen in the figures of Hollenback) extending downward from sides of the lower stairs, the stair legs operable to extend between the lower stairs to contact a ground surface.
Claim 12. The stair and deck system of claim 11, further comprising a pin (22) to lock the stair legs in a desired position when in the use state.
Claim 13. The stair and deck system of claim 8, further comprising a stair rail post (the upper SH2b of Hollenback, see for example figure 5) removably attachable to the upper steps (as seen in the figures and disclosure).
Claim 19. Borden discloses a stair and deck system comprising:
a deck platform (260) convertible between a folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and a use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as noted in the figures and disclosure);
a stair system (as seen in the figures)
a top hatch (253) convertible between the folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and the use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as seen in the figures); and
a handlebar (296) interconnecting the deck platform and the top hatch (where it is connected to 253 and the deck platform via 251 and the side wall of the vehicle).
Borden does not disclose that the stair system is rotatably attached to the deck platform, the stair system operable to selectively provide steps from a selected one of multiple sides of the deck platform, or
the stair system including upper step sand lower steps, the lower steps foldable against the lower steps in the folded state; or
a linkage extending linearly between the upper and lower steps to fix the relative positions thereof in the use state; a linkage pin to lock the linkage into the use state; or
stair legs extending downward from sides of the lower stairs, the stair legs operable to extend between the lower stairs to contact a ground surface;
a stair leg pin operable to lock the stair legs in a desired position when in the use state.
Hollenback discloses a stair system that is rotatably connected to a deck platform operable to provide steps form a multiple sides of the deck platform (extending downward below the platform, and stowed above the platform as seen in figures 5, 8);
further comprising stair support arms (B1,B2 as seen in the figure), the stair support arms extending outward from the deck platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state (as seen in figure 8).
Hollenback discloses a stair system that is rotatably connected to a deck platform operable to provide steps form a multiple sides of the deck platform (extending downward below the platform, and stowed above the platform as seen in figures 5, 8),
further comprising stair support arms (B1,B2 as seen in the figure), the stair support arms extending outward from the deck platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state (as seen in figure 8).
and stair legs extending downward from sides of the lower stairs, the stair legs operable to extend between the lower stairs to contact a ground surface; and
a pin (at B1,B2 and seen in figure 6 of Hollenback) operable to lock the stair legs in a desired position when in the use state.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the stair system of Borden to be rotatably attached as at B1, B2 see figure 6 with legs and a pin to lock the stair legs as taught by Hollenback to selectively position and secure on multiple sides of the deck platform to achieve the predictable result of an assembly that can be stowed for transport.
Additionally, it is known to have lower steps foldable against upper steps for storage. For example Brudi discloses lower steps 18 foldable against upper steps 19 for storage having linkage (20,23) and pin for locking the unfolded state.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the steps of to have lower steps foldable against upper steps, with the linkage and pin of Brudi, to achieve the predictable result of a more compactly stored stair that can be stored inside the vehicle.
Claim(s) 2,3,4,14,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borden (10269273) in view of Hollenback (12276112) and further in view of Valore (6230841).
Claim 2. Borden in view of Hollenback disclose the stair and deck system of claim 1, but do not disclose further comprising a stair platform rotatably attached to the deck platform.
It is known in the art to have stair platforms rotatably coupled to their support structure. For example Valore discloses a stair system having a stair platform (28) that is rotatably attached to a supporting structure (10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue known design options known design options and modify the system of Borden in view of Hollenback to have a stair platform rotatably attached to the deck platform to allow the stair system to rotate and be variable in position relative to the deck assembly to achieve the predictable result moving the stairs to a storage position, minimizing the space the stairs occupy when not being used.
Claim 3. Borden in view of Hollenback and Valore do not expressly disclose that the stair and deck system of claim 2, wherein the stair platform is disposed below an upper surface of the deck platform, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the stair platform below the deck platform to keep the deck platform free and available for a use to safely access.
Claim 4. The stair and deck system of claim 3 as above, where Hollenback further comprising stair support arms (B1,B2 as seen in the figure), the stair support arms extending outward from the deck platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state (as seen in figure 8).
Accordingly it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Borden in view of Hollenback in view of Valore to have stair support arms extend outward from the stair platform to rotatably support the stairs while allowing for storage rotation of the stairs and maintaining the deck platform for a user, wherein such a modification would result in at least a portion of the steps disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform when in the folded state.
Claim 14. Borden discloses a stair and deck system comprising:
a deck platform (260) convertible between a folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and a use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as seen in the figures and noted in the disclosure);
a stair system (as seen in the figures);
deck rail posts positionable into holes in the deck platform (as seen in figure 4 of Borden);
a top hatch (253) convertible between the folded state, positioned adjacent a side of a structure, and the use state, positioned to extend outward from the structure (as seen in the figures and disclosure); and
a handlebar (296) interconnecting the deck platform and the top hatch (where it connects to the top hatch and the deck platform via 251 and the sidewall of the vehicle);
wherein the deck rail posts are further operable to extend through holes in a stair platform to fix the rotation of the stair platform relative to the deck platform once a desired stair location is chosen (where they are capable of the claimed intended use if the condition exists).
Borden does not expressly disclose the stair system rotatably attached to the deck platform, the stair system operable to selectively provide steps from a selected one of multiple sides of the deck platform; or
a stair platform rotatably attached to the deck platform;
stair support arms, the stair support arms extending outward from the stair platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state.
Hollenback discloses a stair system that is rotatably connected to a deck platform operable to provide steps form a multiple sides of the deck platform (extending downward below the platform, and stowed above the platform as seen in figures 5, 8);
further comprising stair support arms (B1,B2 as seen in the figure), the stair support arms extending outward from the deck platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state (as seen in figure 8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the stair system of Borden to be rotatably attached as at B1, B2 see figure 6 as taught by Hollenback to selectively position on multiple sides of the deck platform to achieve the predictable result of an assembly that can be stowed for transport.
Borden in view of Hollenback disclose the stair and deck system of claim 1, but do not disclose further comprising a stair platform rotatably attached to the deck platform.
It is known in the art to have stair platforms rotatably coupled to their support structure. For example Valore discloses a stair system having a stair platform (28) that is rotatably attached to a supporting structure (10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue known design options known design options and modify the system of Borden in view of Hollenback to have a stair platform rotatably attached to the deck platform to allow the stair system to rotate and be variable in position relative to the deck assembly to achieve the predictable result moving the stairs to a storage position, minimizing the space the stairs occupy when not being used.
Further it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Borden in view of Hollenback in view of Valore to have stair support arms extend outward from the stair platform to rotatably support the stairs while allowing for storage rotation of the stairs and maintaining the deck platform for a user, wherein such a modification would result in at least a portion of the steps disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform when in the folded state.
Claim 15. Borden in view of Hollenback and Valore do not expressly disclose that the stair and deck system of claim 14, wherein the stair platform is disposed below an upper surface of the deck platform, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate the stair platform below the deck platform to keep the deck platform free and available for a use to safely access.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borden (10269273) in view of Hollenback (12276112) and further in view of Valore (6230841) and further still in view of Brudi (4792015).
Claim 16. Borden in view of Hollenback in view of Valore disclose the stair and deck system of claim 14 as above, but do not disclose wherein: the stair system includes upper steps and lower steps, the lower steps foldable against the lower steps in the folded state; and the stair system include a linkage extending linearly between the upper and lower steps to fix the relative positions thereof in the use state.
It is known to have lower steps foldable against upper steps for storage. For example Brudi discloses lower steps 18 foldable against upper steps 19 for storage having linkage (20,23) and pin (22) for locking the unfolded state.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to pursue known design options and modify the steps of to have lower steps foldable against upper steps, with the linkage and pin of Brudi, to achieve the predictable result of a more compactly stored stair that can be stored inside the vehicle.
Claim 17. The stair and deck system of claim 16, further comprising a pin (22) to lock the linkage into the use state.
18. The stair and deck system of claim 16, further comprising: stair legs (as seen in Hollenback) extending downward from sides of the lower stairs, the stair legs operable to extend between the lower stairs to contact a ground surface; and
a pin (at B1,B2 and seen in figure 6 of Hollenback as modified in claim 14 above) operable to lock the stair legs in a desired position when in the use state.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borden (10269273) in view of Hollenback (12276112) and further in view of Brudi (4792015) and further still in view of Valore (6230841).
Claim 20. Borden in view of Hollenback in view of Brudi disclose the stair and deck system of claim 19, as above, including stair support arms, the stair support arms extending outward from the deck platform to rotatably support the stairs, wherein at least a portion of the steps are disposed directly adjacent the upper surface of the deck platform in the folded state and deck rail posts (see Borden) positionable into holes in the deck platform; wherein the deck rail posts are operable to extend through holes in a stair platform to fix the rotation of the stair platform relative to the deck platform once a desired stair location is chosen (where they are capable of the claimed intended use if the condition exists).
Borden in view of Hollenback in view of Brudi do not disclose further comprising:
a stair platform rotatably attached to the deck platform;
It is known in the art to have stair platforms rotatably coupled to their support structure. For example Valore discloses a stair system having a stair platform (28) that is rotatably attached to a supporting structure (10).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pursue known design options known design options and modify the system of Borden in view of Hollenback to have a stair platform, with the support arms extending outward from the stair platform, rotatably attached to the deck platform, to allow the stair system to rotate and be variable in position relative to the deck assembly to achieve the predictable result moving the stairs to a storage position, minimizing the space the stairs occupy when not being used.
Conclusion
JESSICA L. LAUX
Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/JESSICA L LAUX/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635