DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
The examiner encourages Applicant to submit an authorization to communicate with the examiner via the Internet by making the following statement (from MPEP 502.03):
“Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.”
Please note that the above statement can only be submitted via Central Fax, Regular postal mail, or EFS Web (PTO/SB/439).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 8, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the 35 USC § 101 rejections, Applicant argues that the claims are eligible because:
“the claims expressly recite controlling the vehicle based on the deviation between the reference tasks and the monitored tasks, which is a tangible outcome that integrates any abstract idea into a practical application. Accordingly, reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection are respectfully requested.” (Applicant’s Remarks, Pgs. 5-6).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. “[E]ligibility should not be evaluated based on whether the claim recites a "useful, concrete, and tangible result," State Street Bank, 149 F.3d 1368, 1374, 47 USPQ2d 1596, 1602 (Fed. Cir. 1998) (quoting In re Alappat, 33 F.3d 1526, 1544, 31 USPQ2d 1545, 1557 (Fed. Cir. 1994)), as this test has been superseded. In re Bilski, 545 F.3d 943, 959-60, 88 USPQ2d 1385, 1394-95 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (en banc), aff'd by Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 95 USPQ2d 1001 (2010).” (MPEP 2106). Furthermore, the claimed “controlling” step merely recites the idea of a solution or outcome but fails to recite details of how a solution to a problem is accomplished. “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
With respect to the 35 USC § 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments are related to newly amended claim language and have been fully addressed in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In adhering to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process, machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the analysis directed to Step 2A.
Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry. Prong 1 considers whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). In this case independent claim 1 recites mental processes as applied to human activity (i.e. concepts performed in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computing components). For example, the following claimed steps are functions that can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion:
a sensor configured to monitor tasks included in a course of action (CoA) performed by a human operator in an environment; and
wherein the computing system inputs the monitored tasks determined by the sensor into the trained task-based distributional semantic model to determine a deviation between the reference tasks and the monitored tasks
But for the recitation of generic computing components, steps a and b can be completed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. “As the Federal Circuit has explained, ‘[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.’ Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015).” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (III)). Steps a and b describe collecting and analyzing information at a high level of generality. According to the MPEP, these steps are examples of mental processes, thus it is reasonable to identify these limitations as reciting mental processes. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III (A), claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Since the claims are directed toward a judicial exception, analysis flows to Prong 2. Prong 2 considers whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim language merely describes steps of collecting data, field of use/technological environment, and using a computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea and fails to describe an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technical field. The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application for the following reasons:
The additional elements of “a sensor,” “of a vehicle,” “a computing system in signal communication with the sensor,” “a database,” and a “trained task-based distributional semantic model” are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). These additional elements also appear to be an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h));
The additional element of “a computing system in signal communication with the sensor, the computing system including a database storing a plurality of reference CoAs defined by reference tasks having an intended target goal” amounts to insignificant extra-solution data gathering/data transmission activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)); and
The additional element of “storing a trained task-based distributional semantic model configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time” amounts to insignificant extra-solution data gathering/data transmission activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
The additional element of “wherein the human operator controls the vehicle based on the deviation” is amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception. “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Therefore the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application and the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception, the analysis flows to Step 2B. Therein, the elements and combination of elements are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. In this case, the additional elements identified at Step 2A Prong 2, individually or in an order combination, also do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as given in Step 2A Prong 2 and further because:
The claimed “sensor,” “vehicle,” “computing system in signal communication with the sensor,” and “database,” are generically recited as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. Thus, these steps do not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Taken as an ordered combination, the afore-mentioned limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test) that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05 (I)(A)), “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i… mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.”
The additional element of “storing a trained task-based distributional semantic model configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time” amounts to well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions because the step is claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) and as insignificant extra-solution activity. “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.” (MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
“A claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible “simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.” Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Employing generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient. (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Note MPEP 2106.05(a)). Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Regarding claim 2, the step of “wherein the computing system performs a cosine similarity analysis to produce a similarity value indicating a level of the deviation” is ineligible under Prong 1 because it recites mathematical concepts. The additional element of a “CoA monitoring system” merely recites instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea under Prong 2. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Under Step 2B, since these additional elements merely recite generic computer components to carry out the abstract idea, they do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 3, the step of “wherein the computing system compares the similarity value to a threshold value and determines a failure to achieve the intended target goal based on the comparison” is ineligible under prong 1 since these steps can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to perform a comparison and to determine a failure based on the comparison. The additional element of a “CoA monitoring system” merely recites instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea under Prong 2. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Under Step 2B, since these additional elements merely recite generic computer components to carry out the abstract idea, they do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 4, the step of “wherein the computing system determines the failure to achieve the intended target goal in response to the similarity value being less than the threshold value” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to determine a failure to achieve an intended target goal in response to a similarity value not meeting a threshold. The additional element of a “CoA monitoring system” merely recites instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea under Prong 2. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Under Step 2B, since these additional elements merely recite generic computer components to carry out the abstract idea, they do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 5, the steps of “wherein the cosine similarity analysis includes assigning a reference vector to each reference task included in the reference CoA, assigning a vector to each monitored task performed by the operator, and determining a distance between the vector of a monitored task and the reference vector of the reference task” is ineligible under prong 1 because they recite mathematical concepts. The additional element of a “CoA monitoring system” merely recites instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea under Prong 2. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Under Step 2B, since these additional elements merely recite generic computer components to carry out the abstract idea, they do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 6, the additional element of “wherein the computing system generates an alert in response to determining the failure to achieve the intended target goal” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to generate an alert in response to determining a failure to achieve an intended result. The additional element of a “CoA monitoring system” merely recites instructions to implement an abstract idea on a generic computer, or merely uses a generic computer or computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea under Prong 2. Therefore, these additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)). Under Step 2B, since these additional elements merely recite generic computer components to carry out the abstract idea, they do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Regarding claim 7, the additional element of “wherein the alert includes instructions on how to correct the deviation” is analyzed as a mental process with the “alert” step of claim 6 and is ineligible for the same reasons. The “alert” step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to generate an alert in response to determining a failure to achieve an intended result.
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In adhering to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG), Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process, machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the analysis directed to Step 2A.
Step 2A is a two-prong inquiry. Prong 1 considers whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). In this case, independent claim 8 recites a mental process as applied to human activity (i.e. concepts performed in the human mind but for the recitation of generic computing components). For example, the following claimed steps are functions that can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion:
monitoring, via a sensor, tasks included in a course of action (CoA) performed by a human operator of a vehicle operating in an environment.
But for the recitation of generic computing components, step a can be completed in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion. “As the Federal Circuit has explained, ‘[c]ourts have examined claims that required the use of a computer and still found that the underlying, patent-ineligible invention could be performed via pen and paper or in a person’s mind.’ Versata Dev. Group v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1335, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1702 (Fed. Cir. 2015).” (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) (III)). Steps a describes collecting and analyzing information at a high level of generality. According to the MPEP, this step is an example of mental processes, thus it is reasonable to identify this limitation as reciting a mental process. (MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) III (A), claims do recite a mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, including for example, observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions. Examples of claims that recite mental processes include: a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
Since the claims are directed toward a judicial exception, analysis flows to Prong 2. Prong 2 considers whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this case, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim language merely describes steps of collecting data, field of use/technological environment, and using a computer as a tool to apply the abstract idea and fails to describe an improvement to the functioning of a computer or other technical field. The additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application for the following reasons:
The additional elements of “a database,” “a computing system,” and “a trained task-based distributional semantic model,” are recited at a high level of generality and amounts to using a generic computing component as a tool to apply the abstract idea (MPEP § 2106.05(f)). These additional elements also appears to be an attempt to generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. (MPEP 2106.05(h));
The additional elements of :
“storing, in a database, a plurality of reference CoAs defined by reference tasks having an intended target goal;”
“storing, in a computing system, a trained task-based distributional semantic model configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time;”
“outputting the monitored tasks from the sensor to the computing system;” and
“inputting, by the computer system, the monitored tasks into the trained task-based distributional semantic model to determine a deviation between the reference tasks and the monitored tasks”
amounts to insignificant extra-solution data gathering/data transmission activity (MPEP § 2106.05(g)).
The additional element of “controlling the vehicle based on the deviation” is amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception. “The recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Therefore the abstract idea has not been integrated into practical application and the claims are directed to the abstract idea.
Since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception, the analysis flows to Step 2B. Therein, the elements and combination of elements are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. In this case, the additional elements identified at Step 2A Prong 2, individually or in an order combination, also do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons as given in Step 2A Prong 2 and further because:
The claimed “sensor,” “vehicle,” “computing system,” “database,” and “task-based distributional semantic model” are generically recited as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer. Thus, these steps do not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Taken as an ordered combination, the afore-mentioned limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test) that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea. (MPEP § 2106.05 (I)(A)), “Limitations that the courts have found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” when recited in a claim with a judicial exception include: i… mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer.”
The additional elements of:
“storing, in a database, a plurality of reference CoAs defined by reference tasks having an intended target goal;”
“storing, in a computing system, a trained task-based distributional semantic model configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time;”
“outputting the monitored tasks from the sensor to the computing system;” and
“inputting the monitored tasks into the trained task-based distributional semantic model to determine a deviation between the reference tasks and the monitored tasks”
amounts to well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions because these steps are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) and as insignificant extra-solution activity. “The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network.” (MPEP 2106.05(d) (II)).
“A claim directed to a judicial exception cannot be made eligible “simply by having the applicant acquiesce to limiting the reach of the patent for the formula to a particular technological use.” Diamond v. Diehr, 450 U.S. 175, 192 n.14, 209 USPQ 1, 10 n. 14 (1981). Thus, limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Employing generic computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea to one particular environment, does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook to petrochemical and oil-refining industries was insufficient. (MPEP 2106.05 (h)).
Viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (Note MPEP 2106.05(a)). Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101.
Regarding claim 9, the step of “performing a cosine similarity analysis to produce a similarity value indicating a level of the deviation” is ineligible under prong 1 because it recites mathematical concepts.
Regarding claim 10, the steps of “comparing the similarity value to a threshold value; and determining a failure to achieve the intended target goal based on the comparison” are ineligible under prong 1 since these steps can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to perform a comparison and to determine a failure based on the comparison.
Regarding claim 11, the step of “determining the failure to achieve the intended target goal in response to the similarity value being less than the threshold value” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to determine a failure to achieve an intended target goal in response to a similarity value not meeting a threshold.
Regarding claim 12, the steps of “wherein the cosine similarity analysis includes assigning a reference vector to each reference task included in the reference CoA, assigning a vector to each monitored task performed by the operator, and determining a distance between the vector of a monitored task and the reference vector of the reference task” is ineligible under prong 1 because they recite mathematical concepts.
Regarding claim 13, the additional element of “generating an alert in response to determining the failure to achieve the intended target goal” recites an additional mental process under Prong 1 since this step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to generate an alert in response to determining a failure to achieve an intended result.
Regarding claim 14, the additional element of “wherein the alert includes instructions on how to correct the deviation” is analyzed as a mental process with the “alert” step of claim 6 and is ineligible for the same reasons. The “alert” step can be reasonably carried out in the human mind with the aid of pen and paper, through observation, evaluation, judgment, and/or opinion but for the recitation of generic computing components. For example, a person can think and evaluate to generate an alert in response to determining a failure to achieve an intended result.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buras et al. (US 2021/0327303 A1) in view of Cavallo et al. (US 10586532 B1).
As per claim 1, Buras teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a course of action (CoA) monitoring system ([0013], the present invention comprises a medical guidance system (100) for providing real-time, three-dimensional (3D) augmented reality (AR) feedback guidance in the use of a medical equipment system (200)) comprising:
a sensor configured to monitor tasks included in a course of action (CoA) performed by a human operator of a vehicle in an environment ([0013], a three-dimensional guidance system (3DGS) (400) that is capable of sensing real-time user positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system (200) during said medical procedure performed by the user; and [0089], The position and rotation of passive markers in the real world may be measured by the depth cameras in relation to a volume within the user's environment (e.g., an operating room volume), which may be captured by both the depth cameras and color cameras. In other embodiments, one or more sensors configured to receive electromagnetic wavelength bands other than color and infrared, or larger than and possibly encompassing one or more of color and infrared, may be used; Examiner Note: Burus teachers performing its teachings in a vehicle environment: [0256], In embodiments, the procedure may be a training or operations procedure, in which embodiments the equipment system 1120 may be a car, truck, construction vehicle, combat vehicle, boat, ship, aircraft, spacecraft, space extravehicular activity (EVA) suit, … or component of any of the foregoing… Exemplary procedures include, but are not limited to, training or operations in vehicle transportation; … combat actions on land, at sea, or in air; combat support actions on land, at sea, or in air, e.g. air-to-air refueling, takeoff and landing of aircraft from aircraft carriers; space operations, such as EVAs (colloquially, “spacewalks”), docking, etc.; and more that will be readily occur to the person of ordinary skill in the art having the benefit of the present disclosure);
a computing system ([0105], computer 700 is provided that includes the software interfaces as well as various other computer functionalities (e.g., computational elements, memory, processors, input/output elements, timers, etc.)) in signal communication with the sensor ([0105], software interfaces between the various components of the system 100 are included to allow the system components 200, 300, etc. to function together. A computer 700 is provided that includes the software interfaces as well as various other computer functionalities (e.g., computational elements, memory, processors, input/output elements, timers, etc.)) and configured to control the vehicle ([0256], the procedure may be a training or operations procedure, in which embodiments the equipment system 1120 may be a car, truck, construction vehicle, combat vehicle, boat, ship, aircraft, spacecraft, [or] space extravehicular activity (EVA) suit), the computing system including a database storing a plurality of reference CoAs defined by reference tasks ([0013], the medical guidance system comprising: ... a library (500); and [0094], library 500 includes detailed information on the medical equipment system 200, which may include instructions (written, auditory, and/or visually) for performing one or more medical procedures using the medical equipment system) having an intended target goal ([0014], medical equipment interface receives data from the medical equipment system during a medical procedure performed by a user to achieve a medical procedure outcome), and
storing a trained task-based [distributional semantic] model ([0016], storing the machine learning model for the neural network; and [0150], The ML model developed by the DLM platform is the structure of the actual neural network that will be used in evaluating images captured by a novice user 50), wherein the computing system inputs the monitored tasks determined by the sensor into the trained task-based [distributional semantic] model ([0013], a three-dimensional guidance system (3DGS) (400) that is capable of sensing real-time user positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system (200) during said medical procedure performed by the user; [0014], the MLM (600) comprising a position-based feedback module comprising a first module for receiving and analyzing real-time user positioning data; a second module for comparing the user positioning data to the stored reference positioning data, and a third module for generating real-time position-based 3D AR feedback based on the output of the second module, and providing said real-time position-based 3D AR feedback to the user via the ARUI; and [0150], The ML model developed by the DLM platform is the structure of the actual neural network that will be used in evaluating images captured by a novice user 50; Examiner Note: Buras’ model is used to evaluate monitored tasks performed by a user: [0011], systems of the present disclosure provide machine learning guidance to a medical device user; and [0018], Generally, “machine learning” utilizes analytical models that use neural networks, math equations (e.g., statistics), science, etc., to find patterns or other information without explicitly being programmed to do so) to determine a deviation between the reference tasks and the monitored tasks ([0104], MLM 600 may in some instances provide both “coarse” and “fine” feedback to the novice user to help achieve a procedural outcome similar to that of a reference outcome (e.g., obtained from a proficient user); [0129], The MLM 600 generates position-based feedback by comparing the actual movements of a novice user 50 (e.g., using positioning data received from the 3DGS 400 tracking the movement of the ultrasound probe 215) to reference data for the same task; and [0134], if the novice user fails to properly adjust the angle of an ultrasound proper at a specific point in a medical procedure, the MLM 600 and/or computer 700 may generate a video for display to the user that this limited to the portion of the procedure that the user is performing incorrectly), and
wherein the human operator controls the vehicle based on the deviation ([0252], the procedure instruction data generation module 1270 may output its results to one or more of a graphics module 1272, an audio module 1274, and/or other presentation (e.g., tactile, haptic, olfactory, gustatory, etc.) module 1276. The modules 1272-1276 may process the procedure instruction data in order to generate one or more human-apprehensible elements suitable for presentation to the user 1130 during the performance of a procedure using the equipment system 1120; and [0257], Procedure instruction data,” as used herein, refers to any combination of elements that may be presented by an augmented reality display 1140 to the user 1130, wherein the elements provide instructions for one or more actions to be performed as part of the procedure performed by the user 1130 on the target 1170, such as through action of his or her body members and/or his or her manipulations of the tool 1122 of the equipment system 1120).
Buras fails to specifically teach, a trained task-based distributional semantic model configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time.
However, Cavallo teaches a trained task-based distributional semantic model (Column 4, Lines 54-57, present application presents an elegant and innovative method for supporting free user responses using modern distributed sentence representation and information extraction techniques; and Column 5, Lines 55-54, the dialogue system embeds the input text to generate a vector representation for the input text. The vector representations are generated based on machine learning models that have been trained on training data) configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time (Column 12, Lines 42-45, To formalise the goal of detecting multiple answers expressed in a single input, known more generally as multiple intent recognition, we first define the inferred clauses of a sentence; and Column 12, Lines 51-56, Once an utterance is decomposed into its inferred clauses, the semantic similarity is calculated between each of those clauses and the answers to the question, in exactly the same way as described with regard to FIG. 3 for the entire utterance. This is generally equivalent to repeating the method of FIG. 3 for each inferred clause).
Buras and Cavallo are analogous because they are each related to infer user intent using trained models. Buras teaches a method of inferring user intent from user behaviors and interaction with various systems. ([0014], a three-dimensional guidance system (3DGS) (400) that senses real-time user positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system (200) within a volume of a user's environment during a medical procedure performed by the user; a library (500) containing 1) stored reference positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system (200) during a reference medical procedure and 2) stored reference outcome data relating to an outcome of a reference performance of the reference medical procedure; and a machine learning module (MLM) (600) for providing at least one of 1) position-based 3D AR feedback to the user based on the sensed user positioning data and 2) outcome-based 3D AR feedback to the user based on the medical procedure outcome). Cavallo teaches a method of determining a user’s intent using similarity analysis and a semantic machine learning model (Column 2, Lines 13-21, there is provided a computer-implemented natural language processing method comprising: (a) receiving a user input comprising a set of one or more words; (b) retrieving a predefined set of potential inputs, each potential input comprising one or more words; (c) determining, for each of the potential inputs, a similarity score indicating similarity between the respective potential input and the user input). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that based on the combination, the guidance system of Buras would be modified to include Cavallo’s semantic-based similarity analysis resulting in a system that compares user behavior including semantic data to reference data in order to perform a similarity analysis. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Buras and Cavallo.
As per claim 2, Cavallo teaches, wherein the computing system performs a cosine similarity analysis to produce a similarity value indicating a level of the deviation (Column 9, Line 66-Column 10, Line 2, the semantic textual similarity (STS) can be computed by embedding the utterance and all the answer texts and calculating an appropriate vector-based similarity function, such as cosine similarity).
As per claim 3, Cavallo teaches, wherein the computing system compares the similarity value to a threshold value (Column 7, Lines 45-48, A match is determined if the similarity of the recognised text to one of the expected inputs (e.g. based on semantic textual similarity) is greater than a predetermined threshold; and Column 17, Lines 47-54, the dialogue module 515 is configured to determine similarity values with respect to an input phrase relative to each of the predefined phrases for the current state of the system (the current position within a predefined dialogue flow). The system is then able to determine the most similar predefined phrase and then respond with the corresponding predefined response that is associated with that predefined phrase) and determines a failure to achieve the intended target goal based on the comparison (Column 3, Lines 27-30, in response to none of the plurality of potential inputs having a further similarity value that exceeds the predetermined threshold, issuing a request to the user to repeat their input; and Column 7, Lines 60-64, it is always possible that the user says something totally different from any of the expected answers. In this case, none of the available answers will match the user utterance (none will have a similarity value with the utterance that exceeds a required similarity threshold)).
As per claim 4, Cavallo teaches, wherein the computing system determines the failure to achieve the intended target goal in response to the similarity value being less than the threshold value (Column 3, Lines 27-30, in response to none of the plurality of potential inputs having a further similarity value that exceeds the predetermined threshold, issuing a request to the user to repeat their input; and Column 7, Lines 60-64, it is always possible that the user says something totally different from any of the expected answers. In this case, none of the available answers will match the user utterance (none will have a similarity value with the utterance that exceeds a required similarity threshold)).
As per claim 5, Cavallo teaches, wherein the cosine similarity analysis (Column 9, Line 66-Column 10, Line 2, the semantic textual similarity (STS) can be computed by embedding the utterance and all the answer texts and calculating an appropriate vector-based similarity function, such as cosine similarity) includes assigning a reference vector to each reference task included in the reference CoA (Column 17, Lines 54-55, predefined phrases may be stored as sets of embedding vectors), assigning a vector to each monitored task performed by the operator (Column 5, Line 61-Column 6, Line 3, dialogue system utilises the vector representations to determine the meaning of the input text. This is achieved by comparing the vector representation of the input text (which will be referred to hereinafter as the input vector representation) to other vector representations stored in a database. The other vector representations represent predefined inputs that the user may utilise (e.g. predefined answers to a question posed by the dialogue system). The dialogue system determines whether the input vector representation is similar to other vector representations within the database), and determining a distance between the vector of a monitored task and the reference vector of the reference task (Column 15, Lines 48-50, Embodiments make use of distance based methods on phonetic representations of text as an additional measure of textual similarity).
As per claim 6, Buras teaches, wherein the computing system generates an alert in response to determining the failure to achieve the intended target goal ([0134], if the novice user fails to properly adjust the angle of an ultrasound proper at a specific point in a medical procedure, the MLM 600 and/or computer 700 may generate a video for display to the user that this limited to the portion of the procedure that the user is performing incorrectly).
As per claim 7, Buras teaches, wherein the alert includes instructions on how to correct the deviation ([0134], the novice user's performance may be tracked over time to determine areas in which the novice user repeatedly fails to implement previously provided feedback. In such cases, training exercises may be generated for the novice user focusing on the specific motions or portions of the medical procedure that the novice user has failed to correct, to assist the novice user to achieve improved results; and [0136], the MLM 600 may provide further or additional instructions to the user in real-time by comparing the user's response to a previous real-time feedback guidance instruction to refine or further correct the novice user's performance of the procedure).
As per claim 8, Buras teaches the invention substantially as claimed including a method of monitoring a course of action (CoA), the method comprising:
storing, in a database, a plurality of reference CoAs defined by reference tasks having an intended target goal ([0013], the medical guidance system comprising: ... a library (500); and [0094], library 500 includes detailed information on the medical equipment system 200, which may include instructions (written, auditory, and/or visually) for performing one or more medical procedures using the medical equipment system);
storing, in a computing system, a trained task-based [distributional semantic] model ([0016], storing the machine learning model for the neural network; and [0150], The ML model developed by the DLM platform is the structure of the actual neural network that will be used in evaluating images captured by a novice user 50);
monitoring, via a sensor, tasks included in a course of action (CoA) performed by a human operator ([0013], a three-dimensional guidance system (3DGS) (400) that is capable of sensing real-time user positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system (200) during said medical procedure performed by the user; [0014], the MLM (600) comprising a position-based feedback module comprising a first module for receiving and analyzing real-time user positioning data; a second module for comparing the user positioning data to the stored reference positioning data, and a third module for generating real-time position-based 3D AR feedback based on the output of the second module, and providing said real-time position-based 3D AR feedback to the user via the ARUI; and [0150], The ML model developed by the DLM platform is the structure of the actual neural network that will be used in evaluating images captured by a novice user 50; Examiner Note: Buras’ model is used to evaluate monitored tasks performed by a user: [0011], systems of the present disclosure provide machine learning guidance to a medical device user; and [0018], Generally, “machine learning” utilizes analytical models that use neural networks, math equations (e.g., statistics), science, etc., to find patterns or other information without explicitly being programmed to do so) of a vehicle operating in an environment ([0256], In embodiments, the procedure may be a training or operations procedure, in which embodiments the equipment system 1120 may be a car, truck, construction vehicle, combat vehicle, boat, ship, aircraft, spacecraft, space extravehicular activity (EVA) suit, … or component of any of the foregoing… Exemplary procedures include, but are not limited to, training or operations in vehicle transportation; … combat actions on land, at sea, or in air; combat support actions on land, at sea, or in air, e.g. air-to-air refueling, takeoff and landing of aircraft from aircraft carriers; space operations, such as EVAs (colloquially, “spacewalks”), docking, etc.; and more that will be readily occur to the person of ordinary skill in the art having the benefit of the present disclosure);
outputting the monitored tasks from the sensor to the computing system ([0014], the MLM (600) comprising a position-based feedback module comprising a first module for receiving and analyzing real-time user positioning data; a second module for comparing the user positioning data to the stored reference positioning data, and a third module for generating real-time position-based 3D AR feedback based on the output of the second module, and providing said real-time position-based 3D AR feedback to the user via the ARUI);
inputting, by the computing system, the monitored tasks into the trained task-based [distributional semantic] model ([0015], receiving data from a medical equipment system during a medical procedure performed by a user of the medical equipment to achieve a medical procedure outcome; sensing real-time user positioning data relating to one or more of the movement, position, and orientation of at least a portion of the medical equipment system within a volume of the user's environment during the medical procedure performed by the user...comparing at least one of 1) the sensed real-time user positioning data to the retrieved reference positioning data, and 2) the data received from the medical equipment system during a medical procedure performed by the user to the retrieved reference outcome data; and [0095], MLM 600 is capable of comparing data of a novice user's performance of a procedure or task to that of a reference performance (e.g., by a proficient user). MLM 600 may receive real-time data relating to one or both of 1) the movement, position or orientation (“positioning data”) of a portion of the medical equipment 200 during the novice user's performance of a desired medical task (e.g., the motion, position and orientation of an ultrasound probe as manipulated by a novice user to examine a patient's carotid artery), and 2) data received from the medical equipment 200 relating to an outcome of the medical procedure (“outcome data”)) to determine a deviation between the reference tasks and the monitored tasks ([0104], MLM 600 may in some instances provide both “coarse” and “fine” feedback to the novice user to help achieve a procedural outcome similar to that of a reference outcome (e.g., obtained from a proficient user); [0129], The MLM 600 generates position-based feedback by comparing the actual movements of a novice user 50 (e.g., using positioning data received from the 3DGS 400 tracking the movement of the ultrasound probe 215) to reference data for the same task; and [0134], if the novice user fails to properly adjust the angle of an ultrasound proper at a specific point in a medical procedure, the MLM 600 and/or computer 700 may generate a video for display to the user that this limited to the portion of the procedure that the user is performing incorrectly); and
controlling the vehicle based on the deviation ([0252], the procedure instruction data generation module 1270 may output its results to one or more of a graphics module 1272, an audio module 1274, and/or other presentation (e.g., tactile, haptic, olfactory, gustatory, etc.) module 1276. The modules 1272-1276 may process the procedure instruction data in order to generate one or more human-apprehensible elements suitable for presentation to the user 1130 during the performance of a procedure using the equipment system 1120; and [0257], Procedure instruction data,” as used herein, refers to any combination of elements that may be presented by an augmented reality display 1140 to the user 1130, wherein the elements provide instructions for one or more actions to be performed as part of the procedure performed by the user 1130 on the target 1170, such as through action of his or her body members and/or his or her manipulations of the tool 1122 of the equipment system 1120).
Buras fails to specifically teach, a trained task-based distributional semantic model configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time.
However, Cavallo teaches, a trained task-based distributional semantic model (Column 4, Lines 54-57, present application presents an elegant and innovative method for supporting free user responses using modern distributed sentence representation and information extraction techniques; and Column 5, Lines 55-54, the dialogue system embeds the input text to generate a vector representation for the input text. The vector representations are generated based on machine learning models that have been trained on training data) configured to determine an intent similarity of the operator performing tasks included in the CoA during real-time (Column 12, Lines 42-45, To formalise the goal of detecting multiple answers expressed in a single input, known more generally as multiple intent recognition, we first define the inferred clauses of a sentence; and Column 12, Lines 51-56, Once an utterance is decomposed into its inferred clauses, the semantic similarity is calculated between each of those clauses and the answers to the question, in exactly the same way as described with regard to FIG. 3 for the entire utterance. This is generally equivalent to repeating the method of FIG. 3 for each inferred clause).
As per claim 9, Cavallo teaches, further comprising performing a cosine similarity analysis to produce a similarity value indicating a level of the deviation (Column 9, Line 66-Column 10, Line 2, the semantic textual similarity (STS) can be computed by embedding the utterance and all the answer texts and calculating an appropriate vector-based similarity function, such as cosine similarity).
As per claim 10, Cavallo teaches, further comprising:
comparing the similarity value to a threshold value (Column 7, Lines 45-48, A match is determined if the similarity of the recognised text to one of the expected inputs (e.g. based on semantic textual similarity) is greater than a predetermined threshold; and Column 17, Lines 47-54, the dialogue module 515 is configured to determine similarity values with respect to an input phrase relative to each of the predefined phrases for the current state of the system (the current position within a predefined dialogue flow). The system is then able to determine the most similar predefined phrase and then respond with the corresponding predefined response that is associated with that predefined phrase); and
determining a failure to achieve the intended target goal based on the comparison (Column 3, Lines 27-30, in response to none of the plurality of potential inputs having a further similarity value that exceeds the predetermined threshold, issuing a request to the user to repeat their input; and Column 7, Lines 60-64, it is always possible that the user says something totally different from any of the expected answers. In this case, none of the available answers will match the user utterance (none will have a similarity value with the utterance that exceeds a required similarity threshold)).
As per claim 11, Cavallo teaches, further comprising determining the failure to achieve the intended target goal in response to the similarity value being less than the threshold value (Column 3, Lines 27-30, in response to none of the plurality of potential inputs having a further similarity value that exceeds the predetermined threshold, issuing a request to the user to repeat their input; and Column 7, Lines 60-64, it is always possible that the user says something totally different from any of the expected answers. In this case, none of the available answers will match the user utterance (none will have a similarity value with the utterance that exceeds a required similarity threshold)).
As per claim 12, Cavallo teaches, wherein the cosine similarity analysis (Column 9, Line 66-Column 10, Line 2, the semantic textual similarity (STS) can be computed by embedding the utterance and all the answer texts and calculating an appropriate vector-based similarity function, such as cosine similarity) includes assigning a reference vector to each reference task included in the reference CoA (Column 17, Lines 54-55, predefined phrases may be stored as sets of embedding vectors), assigning a vector to each monitored task performed by the operator (Column 5, Line 61-Column 6, Line 3, dialogue system utilises the vector representations to determine the meaning of the input text. This is achieved by comparing the vector representation of the input text (which will be referred to hereinafter as the input vector representation) to other vector representations stored in a database. The other vector representations represent predefined inputs that the user may utilise (e.g. predefined answers to a question posed by the dialogue system). The dialogue system determines whether the input vector representation is similar to other vector representations within the database), and determining a distance between the vector of a monitored task and the reference vector of the reference task (Column 15, Lines 48-50, Embodiments make use of distance based methods on phonetic representations of text as an additional measure of textual similarity).
As per claim 13, Buras teaches, further comprising generating an alert in response to determining the failure to achieve the intended target goal ([0134], if the novice user fails to properly adjust the angle of an ultrasound proper at a specific point in a medical procedure, the MLM 600 and/or computer 700 may generate a video for display to the user that this limited to the portion of the procedure that the user is performing incorrectly).
As per claim 14, Buras teaches, wherein the alert includes instructions on how to correct the deviation ([0134], the novice user's performance may be tracked over time to determine areas in which the novice user repeatedly fails to implement previously provided feedback. In such cases, training exercises may be generated for the novice user focusing on the specific motions or portions of the medical procedure that the novice user has failed to correct, to assist the novice user to achieve improved results; and [0136], the MLM 600 may provide further or additional instructions to the user in real-time by comparing the user's response to a previous real-time feedback guidance instruction to refine or further correct the novice user's performance of the procedure).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is as follows:
Oberoi et al. (US 2023/0004727 A1)- Teaches a task prediction system based on a user’s intent ([0030], task-action prediction engine 110 includes an intent prediction machine learning model 140 that operates to analyze the task and determine an intent of the task; [0038], A determination may be made that a task should have a particular intent based on a threshold similarity (e.g., an intent score) between the task features of the task and the intent features of historical intents. For example, the intent prediction machine learning model 140 may identify an intent for a task and generate an intent score that indicates a quantified likelihood that the task corresponds to a particular intent in the set of predefined intent-task-categories; and [0047], task-action prediction engine 110 includes intent prediction machine learning model 140 that uses task features and intent-task-category features to determine an intent of the task. The task features may refer to specific characteristics of a task that are determined through natural language processing of task application data 112A and data analytics service data 112B)); and
Pappu et al. (Predicting Tasks in Goal-Oriented Spoken Dialog Systems using Semantic Knowledge Bases, 2013, Proceedings of the SIGDIAL 2013 Conference, Pgs. 242-250)- Teaches using semantic machine learning models to identify tasks that are related to user goals (Abstract, Goal-oriented dialog agents are expected to recognize user-intentions from an utterance and execute appropriate tasks; and Pg. 243, we have framed the task prediction problem as a classification problem. We use the user’s utterances to extract lexical semantic features and classify it into being one of the many tasks the system was designed to perform...semantic distance/similarity between concepts in the knowledge base is incorporated into the model using a kernel).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MELISSA A HEADLY/Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197