DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim(s) 5 & 14 (line 4, respectively), “a ground-based system”.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 9 & 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 in line 3 & Claim 18 in line 4, should read “one [of] or more”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronning (US 2014/0261151 A1, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Ronning disclose(s): An aircraft lighting system (Fig. 7) comprising:
a light source (Fig. 7: 704) adapted to be rotationally mounted on an external surface of an aircraft (Fig. 7: 703) to rotate at least 360-degrees about a rotational axis (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]), the light source configured, upon being electrically energized, to emit light (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]); and
processing system (Fig. 7: 751) in operable communication with the light source (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]) and coupled to receive (i) an anti-bird mode activation signal and (ii) one or more sensor signals representative of a position and flight path of one or more birds (Fig. 7: 753), the processing system configured, upon receipt of the anti-bird mode activation signal, to:
process the one or more sensor signals to determine the position and flight path of the one or more birds (Fig. 7 and ¶[0099]);
electrically energize the light source to emit light (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]); and
command the light source to rotate in one or more directions so that the emitted light is directed toward the one or more birds (Fig. 7 and ¶[0099] – [0100]).
Regarding Claim 2, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein: the processing system is further configured to electrically energize the light source to emit light with one or more variable characteristics (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]; high brightness is understood to be a variable characteristic).
Regarding Claim 3, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 2.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein the one or more variable characteristics include at least one or more of intensity, pulse pattern, and color (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]; high brightness is understood to be a variable characteristic of intensity).
Regarding Claim 4, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Ronning further disclose(s): further comprising one or more avionics systems in operable communication with the processing system and configured to supply the anti-bird mode activation signal and the one or more sensor signals (Fig. 7: 701).
Regarding Claim 5, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 4.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein the one or more avionics systems include one or more of an onboard radar system, an onboard camera, an onboard reporting system, and an onboard communication system, wherein the onboard communication system receives information regarding one or more birds from a ground-based system (Fig. 7: 701; avionic system 701 includes an onboard camera).
Regarding Claim 6, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Ronning further disclose(s): further comprising: a user interface configured to receive input from a user and, in response to receiving the input from the user, to supply the anti-bird mode activation signal (Fig. 6 and ¶ [0109]: a controller is understood to be a user interface).
Regarding Claim 7, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein the processing system is further configured to selectively generate and supply one or more alert signals (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]: sound producer 754 is understood to be an alert signal).
Regarding Claim 8, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein the processing system is further configured to generate and transmit one or more alert signals to other aircraft (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]: sound producer 754 is understood to be an alert signal that is transmitted to surrounding area that includes other aircrafts).
Regarding Claim 9, Ronning disclose(s) the system of Claim 1.
Ronning further disclose(s): further comprising: a sound generator (Fig. 7: 754 ) in operable communication with the processing system (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]) , the sound generator configured, upon receiving one or more commands, to generate one of more audible sounds, wherein the processing system is further configured to supply the one or more commands to the sound generator (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]).
With respect to independent Claim 10, Ronning disclose(s): A method for averting a bird strike for an aircraft (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]), comprising the steps of:
receiving, in a processing system (Fig. 7: 751), one or more sensor signals (Fig. 7: 753) representative of a position and flight path of one or more birds (¶ [0100]),
receiving, in the processing system, an anti-bird mode activation signal (¶ [0100]);
processing the one or more sensor signals, in the processing system, to determine the position and flight path of the one or more birds (¶ [0100]);
electrically energizing a light source to emit light (Fig. 7: 704); and
commanding the light source to rotate in one or more directions (Fig. 7: 703) so that the emitted light is directed toward the one or more birds (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]),
wherein the light source is rotationally mounted on an external surface of the aircraft to rotate at least 360-degrees about a rotational axis (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]).
Regarding Claim 11, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 10.
Ronning further disclose(s): electrically energizing the light source to emit light with one or more variable characteristics (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]; high brightness is understood to be a variable characteristic).
Regarding Claim 12, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 11.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein the one or more variable characteristics include at least one or more of intensity, pulse pattern, and color (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]; high brightness is understood to be a variable characteristic of intensity).
Regarding Claim 13, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 10.
Ronning further disclose(s): supplying the anti-bird mode activation signal and the one or more sensor signals from one or more avionics systems in operable communication with the processing system (Fig. 7: 701).
Regarding Claim 14, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 13.
Ronning further disclose(s): wherein the one or more avionics systems include one or more of an onboard radar system, an onboard camera, an onboard reporting system, and an onboard communication system, wherein the onboard communication system receives information regarding one or more birds from a ground-based system (Fig. 7: 701; avionic system 701 includes an onboard camera).
Regarding Claim 15, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 10.
Ronning further disclose(s): further comprising supplying the anti-bird mode activation signal from a user interface that is configured to receive input from a user (Fig. 6 and ¶ [0109]: a controller is understood to be a user interface).
Regarding Claim 16, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 10.
Ronning further disclose(s): further comprising selectively generating and supplying one or more alert signals (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]: sound producer 754 is understood to be an alert signal).
Regarding Claim 17, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 10.
Ronning further disclose(s): further comprising generating and transmitting one or more alert signals to other aircraft (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]: sound producer 754 is understood to be an alert signal that is transmitted to surrounding area that includes other aircrafts).
Regarding Claim 18, Ronning disclose(s) the method of Claim 10.
Ronning further disclose(s): supply one or more commands from the processing system (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]) to a sound generator (Fig. 7: 754 ) and generating, using the sound generator and in response to receiving the one or more commands, one of more audible sounds (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]).
With respect to independent Claim 19, Ronning disclose(s): An aircraft system (Fig. 7 and ¶ [0100]), comprising:
an aircraft (Fig. 7: 700);
a light source (Fig. 7: 704) rotationally mounted on an external surface of the aircraft (Fig. 7: 703) to rotate at least 360-degrees about a rotational axis (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]), the light source configured, upon being electrically energized, to emit light (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]); and
a processing system (Fig. 7: 751) disposed within the aircraft and in operable communication with the light source (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]) , the processing system coupled to receive (i) an anti-bird mode activation signal and (ii) one or more sensor signals representative of a position and flight path of one or more birds (Fig. 7: 753), the processing system configured, upon receipt of the anti-bird mode activation signal, to:
process the one or more sensor signals to determine the position and flight path of the one or more birds (Fig. 7 and ¶[0099]);
electrically energize the light source to emit light (Fig. 7 and ¶[0100]); and
command the light source to rotate in one or more directions so that the emitted light is directed toward the one or more birds (Fig. 7 and ¶[0099] – [0100]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate to avian avoidance systems: Fogiel (US 2010/0192834 A1); Husseiny et al. (US 2012/0113754 A1); Kimsey-Lin et al. (US 2021/0206510 A1); Newcamp et al. (US 2016/0029615 A1); Duncan et al. (US 9474265 B2); Yifrach (US 8616144 B2); Ronning (US 10709127 B2); Cramer et al. (US 6575597 B1); Maher (US 7106216 B1); Tamaoki (US 7344264 B2).
The following reference(s) relate to avian avoidance systems (same assignee: Honeywell International, Inc.): Srinivasan et al. (US 2020/0380958 A1).
questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TC/
26 March 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855