DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 03/02/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to the objection to the title have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendment overcomes the objection and thus it has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/02/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 103, as is necessitated by amendment, in view of (US 20220182123 A1) and Gao et al (US 20250392362 A1) for claims 1-20. Applicant has amended independent claims 1, 12, and 19-20 to specify that “the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases”. Applicant argues on pages 7-8 that Hao does not teach this feature. This argument is however moot, as Gao does teach this feature, and a claim mapping has been provided below. For more details please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al (US 20220182123 A1), and further in view of Gao et al (US 20250392362 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hao teaches
A method for wireless communication, comprising ([Fig. 8] method for wireless communication):
performing, by a wireless communication device, a plurality of channel state measurements ([0062], [0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE is configured to perform channel measurements for FD and SD to be reported in CSI (wireless communications device performs channel state measurements));
determining, by the wireless communication device, a plurality of discrete Fourier transform (DFT) bases according to the plurality of channel state measurements, wherein each basis corresponds to one of a plurality of domains ([0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE determines frequency domain FD (corresponds to frequency domain) and spatial domain SD (corresponds to spatial domain; where both FD and SD are discrete Fourier transform DFT bases) according to the channel measurements configured by the base station); and
transmitting, by the wireless communication device to a wireless communication node, a report that includes information about the plurality of DFT bases ([Fig. 8], [0078]-[0081], and [0095] UE transmits a UCI message with information about the FD bases, and reports SD basis vectors).
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases;
However, Gao does teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases ([0242 and [0245] for DFT bases, and in case there is common Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain);
Hao and Gao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications in the frequency domain and spatial domain. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to include the teachings of Gao where the DFT bases have Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain. The rationale behind this would be to improve communication performance ([0062] Gao).
Regarding claim 2, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein the information included in the report is configured to indicate the plurality of DFT bases relative to a particular DFT basis that is selected as a reference basis ([Fig. 8], [0078]-[0083], and [0095] UE transmits a UCI message with information about the FD bases, and reports SD basis vectors, with a fixed (reference) basis (relative to a particular basis selected as a reference basis)).
Regarding claim 3, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein the information included in the report includes one or more bitmaps each including a plurality of bits that each correspond to two or more bases of the plurality of DFT bases, and wherein the two or more bases correspond to different domains ([0077] and [0078]-[0083] FD and SD are described as a bitmap (bitmaps include bits that correspond to two or more bases); [0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE determines frequency domain FD (corresponds to frequency domain; two different domains) and spatial domain SD (corresponds to spatial domain; two different domains)).
Regarding claim 4, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 3, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein a zero bit of the one or more bitmaps identifies weighted coefficients corresponding to each of the two or more bases that is not included in the report ([0069] and [0081] unreported coefficients are set to zero (zero bit identifies coefficient corresponding to the bases not included in the report)).
Regarding claim 5, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 3, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein a total number of nonzero bits across the one or more bitmaps is less than or equal to a threshold that is based on a higher-layer parameter ([0069] and [0072] UE is configured to report (based on a higher-layer parameter) a maximum number of non-zero coefficients that are reported).
Regarding claim 6, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 3, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein a number of nonzero bits in a bitmap of the one or more bitmaps is less than or equal to a threshold that is based on a higher-layer parameter ([0069] and [0072] UE is configured to report (based on a higher-layer parameter) a maximum number of non-zero coefficients that are reported).
Regarding claim 7, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein the wireless communication device determines the plurality of DFT bases in response to a higher-layer parameter of a radio resource control (RRC) signalling received by the wireless communication device having a particular value ([0062] UE is configured by the base station for CSI reporting via RRC signaling; [0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE determines frequency domain FD and spatial domain SD according to the channel measurements configured by the base station).
Regarding claim 8, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein each of the plurality of channel state measurements corresponds to a different measurement time occasion of a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource ([0062] the UE is configured for CSI reporting, where the configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement which provide the UE with configuration of CSI-RS ports or CSI-RS port groups mapped to time and frequency resources (corresponds to different measurement time occasions)).
Regarding claim 9, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein each of the plurality of channel state measurements corresponds to a measurement time occasion of a different CSI-RS resource ([0062] the UE is configured for CSI reporting, where the configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement which provide the UE with configuration of CSI-RS ports or CSI-RS port groups mapped to time and frequency resources (corresponds to measurement time occasion of a CSI-RS resource)).
Regarding claim 10, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 1, as is described above.
Hao further teaches further comprising:
selecting, by the wireless communication device, the plurality of DFT bases from respective base sets for the plurality of domains ([0025] the UE selects the FD bases for each layer and determines the intermediate set that covers the union of the FD bases selected for each layer (selecting the bases from respective base sets)).
Regarding claim 11, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 10, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein a number of the plurality of DFT bases that is selected in each of the plurality of domains is indicated in a RRC signalling received by the wireless communication device ([0025] the size of the intermediate set is configured by the network or derived by the UE based on some other configured parameters; [0062] UE is configured by the base station for CSI reporting via RRC signaling).
Regarding claim 12, Hao teaches
A method for wireless communication, comprising ([Fig. 8] method for wireless communication):
transmitting, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a channel state reference signal ([0062] and [Fig. 8] base station 804 (wireless communication node) sends CSI report configuration to the UE, which includes CSI resources);
receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, a report that includes information about a plurality of discrete Fourier transform (DFT) bases that are determined based on the reference signal, wherein each DFT basis corresponds to one of a plurality of domains ([Fig. 8], [0078]-[0081], and [0095] base station receives a UCI message with information about the FD bases and reports of SD basis vectors from the UE; [0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE determines frequency domain FD (corresponds to frequency domain) and spatial domain SD (corresponds to spatial domain; where both FD and SD are discrete Fourier transform DFT bases) according to the channel measurements configured by the base station to be included in the report that is sent to the base station); and
decoding, by the wireless communication node, the information about the plurality of DFT bases ([0055] the base station processes and decodes data that is sent by the UE).
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases;
However, Gao does teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases ([0242 and [0245] for DFT bases, and in case there is common Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain);
Hao and Gao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications in the frequency domain and spatial domain. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to include the teachings of Gao where the DFT bases have Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain. The rationale behind this would be to improve communication performance ([0062] Gao).
Regarding claim 13, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 12, as is described above.
Hao further teaches further comprising:
determining, for each of the plurality of domains, a parameter that indicates a number of DFT bases to be included in the report ([0062] and [Fig. 8] base station 804 (wireless communication node) sends CSI report configuration to the UE, which includes CSI resources; [0024] UE is configured by base station to report a certain number of FD bases (parameter that indicates a number of DFT bases to be included in the report)); and
transmitting, by the wireless communication node to the wireless communication device, a RRC signalling that includes the parameter for each of the plurality of domains ([0062] and [Fig. 8] base station 804 (wireless communication node) sends CSI report configuration to the UE, which includes CSI resources).
Regarding claim 14, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 12, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein the channel state reference signal includes a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) that is transmitted via a radio channel and configured to enable a plurality of measurements relating to a channel status for the radio channel ([0062], and [Fig. 8] the base station configures the UE for CSI reporting, where the configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement (enable a plurality of measurements relating to a channel status)).
Regarding claim 15, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 14, as is described above.
Hao further teaches further comprising:
obtaining a second information about the plurality of measurements based on the decoding of the information about the plurality of DFT bases, wherein the plurality of measurements are performed by the wireless communication device ([0078]-[0083] the report of the FD and SD bases that is sent by the UE (measurements performed by the wireless communication device) is able to be decoded to derive the data that provides the CSI that was measured (obtain second information about the measurements based on the decoding od the information about the DFT bases)).
Regarding claim 16, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 14, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein each of the plurality of measurements corresponds to a different measurement time occasion of a reference signal resource of the channel state reference signal ([0062] the UE is configured by the base station for CSI reporting, where the configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement which provide the UE with configuration of CSI-RS ports or CSI-RS port groups mapped to time and frequency resources (corresponds to measurement time occasion of a CSI-RS resource)).
Regarding claim 17, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 14, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein each of the plurality of measurements corresponds to a measurement time occasion of a different reference signal resource of the channel state reference signal ([0062] the UE is configured by the base station for CSI reporting, where the configuration is associated with CSI-RS resources for channel measurement which provide the UE with configuration of CSI-RS ports or CSI-RS port groups mapped to time and frequency resources (corresponds to different measurement time occasions)).
Regarding claim 18, Hao modified by Gao teaches The method of claim 12, as is described above.
Hao further teaches wherein the information included in the report is configured to indicate the plurality of bases relative to a particular basis that is selected as a reference basis, wherein the reference basis is a DFT vector numbered zero in a corresponding domain ([Fig. 8], [0078]-[0083], and [0095] UE transmits a UCI report message with information about the FD bases (in the FD; corresponding domain), and reports SD basis vectors, with a fixed (reference) basis (relative to a particular basis selected as a reference basis)).
Regarding claim 19, Hao teaches
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the processor executes instructions stored on the memory to implement a method comprising ([0049], [0151], and [Fig. 3] UE comprises processor and memory configured to perform various techniques and execute instructions):
performing a plurality of channel state measurements at a wireless communication device ([0062], [0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE is configured to perform channel measurements for FD and SD to be reported in CSI (wireless communications device performs channel state measurements));
determining a plurality of discrete Fourier transform (DFT) bases according to the plurality of channel state measurements, wherein each basis corresponds to one of a plurality of domains ([0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE determines frequency domain FD (corresponds to frequency domain) and spatial domain SD (corresponds to spatial domain; where both FD and SD are discrete Fourier transform DFT bases) according to the channel measurements configured by the base station); and
transmitting, from the wireless communication device to a wireless communication node, a report that includes information about the plurality of DFT bases ([Fig. 8], [0078]-[0081], and [0095] UE transmits a UCI message with information about the FD bases, and reports SD basis vectors).
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases;
However, Gao does teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases ([0242 and [0245] for DFT bases, and in case there is common Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain);
Hao and Gao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications in the frequency domain and spatial domain. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to include the teachings of Gao where the DFT bases have Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain. The rationale behind this would be to improve communication performance ([0062] Gao).
Regarding claim 20, Hao teaches
An apparatus for wireless communication, comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the processor executes instructions stored on the memory to implement a method comprising ([0049], [0151], and [Fig. 3] base station comprises processor and memory configured to perform various techniques and execute instructions):
transmitting, by a wireless communication node to a wireless communication device, a channel state reference signal ([0062] and [Fig. 8] base station 804 (wireless communication node) sends CSI report configuration to the UE, which includes CSI resources);
receiving, by the wireless communication node from the wireless communication device, a report that includes information about a plurality of discrete Fourier transform (DFT) bases that are determined based on the reference signal, wherein each DFT basis corresponds to one of a plurality of domains ([Fig. 8], [0078]-[0081], and [0095] base station receives a UCI message with information about the FD bases and reports of SD basis vectors from the UE; [0068]-[0069], and [0078]-[0081] UE determines frequency domain FD (corresponds to frequency domain) and spatial domain SD (corresponds to spatial domain; where both FD and SD are discrete Fourier transform DFT bases) according to the channel measurements configured by the base station to be included in the report that is sent to the base station); and
decoding, by the wireless communication node, the information about the plurality of DFT bases ([0055] the base station processes and decodes data that is sent by the UE).
Hao does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases;
However, Gao does teach wherein the plurality of DFT bases includes one or more spatial domain bases, one or more frequency domain bases, and one or more Doppler domain bases ([0242 and [0245] for DFT bases, and in case there is common Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain);
Hao and Gao are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring UE communications in the frequency domain and spatial domain. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hao to include the teachings of Gao where the DFT bases have Doppler/time domain bases for spatial domain and frequency domain. The rationale behind this would be to improve communication performance ([0062] Gao).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478