DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-24, submitted 06 December 2023, are pending in the application. Claims 1-8 are under examination in the instant Office Action. Claims 9-24 are currently withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8, and the elected species,
, in the reply filed on 03 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03 April 2026.
The Examiner did not find prior art on the elected species, therefore, the elected
species is free of the art. As such, the scope of the search was expanded to include the
broader genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reetz et al. ("Binol‐Derived Monodentate Phosphites and Phosphoramidites with Phosphorus Stereogenic Centers: Novel Ligands for Transition‐Metal Catalysis." Angewandte Chemie 117.3 (2005): 416-419.).
Reetz teaches compounds, shown below, which read on the limitations of the claimed genus, Formula (II).
Scheme 4 taught by Reetz
(pg. 414, Bottom of Left Col.)
When the R moiety taught by Reetz is as described in 14d (SiMe3) or 14e (Si(Ph)3), the compounds therein described read on claims 1-7 by teaching the Applicant’s compounds when R1 and R2 together form an aryl, which reads compounds of the sub-genus (IIb) of claim 2. Additionally, Reetz teaches the limitations of claims 3-6 when R3, R4 and R5 are either all methyl or all phenyl. Finally, Reetz teaches the limitation of claim 7 when R6 and R7 are both methyl.
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gavrilov et al. ("Palladium-catalyzed enantioselective allylation in the presence of phosphoramidites derived from (S a)-3-SiMe3-BINOL,(R, S)-semi-TADDOL, and (R, R)-TADDOL." Russian Chemical Bulletin 64.7 (2015): 1595-1601.).
Gavrilov teaches compounds, shown below, which read on the limitations of the claimed genus, Formula (II).
Scheme 2 taught by Gavrilov
(pg. 1596, Top of page)
Gavrilov teaches a compound of the invention when the compound is a compound of Applicant’s sub-genus compound (IIb), shown below. Additionally, the compound reads on claims 3-4 and 6 when R3-R5 are methyl and on claim 7 when R6 and R7 are both ethyl.
Sub-genus compound (IIb) taught by Applicant
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the claimed compounds of instant claim 8 are deemed novel and unobvious over the prior art.
The closest prior art is Reetz et al., described above. However, the compounds taught by Reetz are not identical to that of the Applicants and the prior art does not teach nor reasonably suggest wherein the R6 and R7 moieties are
,
,
,
, or
which are substantially different moieties and are non-obvious variants to that taught in the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
JUSTIN CHRISTOPHER SANCHEZ
Examiner
Art Unit 1622
/J.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622