DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, each of structures III-1 to III-4 has R groups with an index k or l, both of which are undefined.
For the purpose of applying prior art, it is presumed that k or l refers to the number of available substitution sites.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 2022-0082962 A (“Lee”).
A partial machine translation is enclosed.
As to claim 1, Lee teaches a polymer compound
(p. 29). This structure contains at least one structural unit of formula (2), where Ar1 and Ar2 are substituted aromatic hydrocarbon groups of 13 carbon atoms, Ar4 is an unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms, Ar2 is unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon having 6 carbon atoms, Ar5 is a single bond, Ar6 is a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 carbon atoms, all R1 and R2 are hydrogen. This structure includes a structure of formula (3) where Ar8 and Ar9 are each unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon groups, Ar10 is a single bond, and each R4 is hydrogen.
As to claim 7, the structure 35 shown above has Ar3 has structure I-1 where each R111 is hydrogen.
As to claim 9, the structure 35 above has Ar6 structure III-1, where one R311 is branched hydrocarbon having four atoms, and the remainder of R311 are hydrogen.
As to claim 11, Lee teaches forming an organic layer for electroluminescent device using the compound as a hole transport layer, in combination with an electron transport material (translation, p. 10).
As to claims 12 and 13, Lee teaches a composition including an electron transport material. The luminescent material is optional under claim 11.
As to claim 14, Lee exemplifies the compound as a hole transport layer (film) (example 1 to 12, translation p. 39).
As to claim 15, Lee teaches an electroluminescent device having a first and second electrode with multiple organic layers between, where the compound comprises a layer (examples 1 to 12, translation p. 39).
As to claim 16, the compound 35 is applied as a hole transport layer (examples 1-12, translation, p. 39).
As to claim 17, Lee teaches an additional light emitting layer (p. 10), including a dopant, including organic metal complex (translation, pp. 11-12).
As to claim 18, Lee exemplifies spin coating a solution of the compound in solvent onto a hole injection layer, and baking, thus removing solvent (examples 1-12, translation, p.39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 2022-0082962 A (“Lee”).
The discussion of Lee with respect to claim 1 is incorporated by reference.
As to claim 4, Lee exemplifies a structural unit represented by formula (3), but does not exemplify Ar8 or Ar9 having an alkyl group as recited.
However, the broader teaching of Lee includes the structure
(p. 3), which meets formula (1), and teaches that the Ar1-Ar4 group in this formula may be
(p. 3), where R31 may be benzocyclobutene (p. 4), and R30-R32 may be alkyl as recited (translation, p. 6), and as such, alkyl substitution on this structural unit having benzocyclobutene is an obvious modification suggested by Lee.
As to claim 5, Lee does not exemplify the structure (6). However, the structure includes Ar8 and Ar9 being unsubstituted C6 aromatic, Ar10 being a single bond, R4 being hydrogen. Lee further teaches more broadly that other Ar1-Ar4 units may be incorporated, including substituted aromatic units (p. 3, showing numerous aromatic backbone units, where such units incorporated would meet Ar9’ being a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic unit, and E being a substituted aromatic hydrocarbon group having 6 to 60 carbon atoms (the substitution in this case being the remainder of the polymer). As such, the structure of claim 6 is obvious as being taught by the structural units of Lee.
As to claim 6, the structure of formula (7) is not exemplified. However, the structure (35) of Lee includes Ar15, Ar16 being a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic group having 13 carbon atoms, Ar17 is unsubstituted C6 aromatic group, Ar18 is a single bond, R6 and R7 are all hydrogen, Ar18 is a substituted C6 aromatic group. The general structure (1) of Lee includes Ar1 to Ar4, which includes many C6-C30 aromatic structures (pp. 3-4), with substituents that include benzocyclobutene group (p. 4). As such, the use of structural groups having Ar7 linked to a benzocyclobutene group as shown is an obvious modification suggested by Lee.
As to claim 8, Lee does not exemplify Ar1, Ar2, and Ar4 as recited. However, the general structure (I) of Lee has Ar1 and Ar2 being a structure of recited structure II-5’, where all R218’ and R219’ being hydrogen, and R1 to R4 include alkyl groups of the recited type (translation, pp. 5-6), and exemplifies units having those recited substituents (pp. 5-6). Lee includes numerous aromatic structures as the backbone unit Ar1-Ar4 including
(p. 3), where R14 and R15 may be hydrogen or alkyl, including within the C1-C18 range. As such, the recited structure is an obvious modification within the teaching of Lee.
As to claim 10, Lee does not exemplify the recited Ar4. However, the general structure (I) of Lee includes numerous aromatic structures as the backbone unit Ar1-Ar4 including
(p. 3), where R14 and R15 may be hydrogen or alkyl, including within the C1-C30 range. As such, the recited structure having alkyl substituents is an obvious modification within the teaching of Lee.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: while Lee teaches polymers having benzocyclobutene structures, Lee does not provide rationale to arrive at a structure of formula (2) as recited in claim 2, or the specific benzocyclobutene containing pendant group recited by claim 3.
Conclusion
/KREGG T BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764