DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following section is in reference to the Applicant’s Remarks, filed July 22, 2026.:
The Applicant’s cancellation of Claim 12 has been acknowledged
The Applicant’s addition of Claim 16 has been acknowledged
The Applicant’s amendments to Claim 1, 4, and 15 have been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-9, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 20180099982 A, hereinafter “Park”) in view of Galiana Bujanda et al. (US 20210007874 A1, hereinafter “Galiana”).
Regarding Claim 1, Park discloses: A wearable suit (Paragraph 0029, the present invention can be easily worn on a body part relative to a joint, such as an arm or a leg, and can improve the utilization of the muscle power assisting device) comprising:
an elastic body configured to generate an assistance force to assist a muscular strength of a user (Paragraph 0034, The muscle force assisting apparatus using the shape memory alloy spring according to the first embodiment of the present invention is designed to prevent the movement of the wearer while standing up with a repetitive load using the contraction or relaxation action of the shape memory alloy spring 411);
and a stopper configured to fix the elastic body in a contracted or expanded state by an initial displacement so that an initial assistance force equal to or more than a threshold is generated by the elastic body (Paragraph 0064, The first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 move together along the longitudinal direction of the shape memory alloy spring 411 when the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is contracted or relaxed, The first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 move so that the extension pipe 423 coupled with the first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 is contracted or relaxed), (Paragraph 0076, As another example, when the motion information is based on the motion of the muscle sensed by the electromyogram sensor, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 becomes larger as the motion of the muscle becomes larger And the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller as the motion of the muscle is smaller),
wherein the stopper is configured to fix the elastic body by directly contacting the elastic body or by fixing a terminal or supporting member connected to the elastic body (Paragraph 0063, One end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the first stopper 421 and the other end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the second stopper 422),
and wherein the initial displacement is adjustable (Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit) by adjusting a position of the stopper (Figure 2, Paragraphs 0084-0086, When the wearer stretches his or her arm, the intention recognizing sensor 30 senses the arm stretching operation and generates operation intention information for expanding the arm. Accordingly, based on the operation intention information, the current control unit 53 provided in the control unit 50b controls the current driver 52 such that the second thermal reaction drive unit 40b is contracted while the second body part BD is in contact with the joint BJ of the first body part BU […] When the wearer stretches his / her arm, only the current driver 52 provided in the second thermal reaction control unit 50b is controlled. In the current driver 52 provided in the first thermal reaction control unit 50a, the supply of current can be cut off), adjusting a thickness of the stopper, or adjusting a position of the terminal or supporting member (Paragraph 0054, The thermal reaction drive unit may further include a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. At this time, an internal space in which the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 is embedded is formed in the casing unit to facilitate the shape deformation while protecting the shape memory alloy spring unit 41).
Park does not explicitly disclose an initial displacement, an initial assistance force, or a threshold, but these values would be inherent to a deformable muscle force assisting apparatus that includes multiple control units and sensor arrangements (Paragraph 0070, The intention recognition sensor 30 senses the operation intention information for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. The intention recognizing sensor 30 may include a pressure sensor for sensing a pressure generated between the wearer and the heavy object according to the grip of the heavy object, the movement of the heavy object, and the support of the heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include a strain gauge for sensing electrical resistance, which is changed by an external force generated by holding a heavy object, moving a heavy object, or supporting a heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include an electromyogram sensor that senses movement of muscles (contraction or expansion of muscles) according to gripping of heavy objects, movement of heavy objects, and support of heavy objects), (Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Galiana more explicitly discloses: fixing the elastic body in a contracted or expanded state (Paragraph 0241, a passive element 190, in this case an elastic textile, connects both anchor points to provide tensile forces that assist the user. Since these forces are located at a distance from the joint center of rotation, they provide a torque to the user that is equal to the tensile force multiplied by the moment arm) by an initial displacement so that an initial assistance force equal to or more than (Figure 16, Paragraph 0249, the initial length of the passive connecting element (x01) defines when the tensile force starts as the user bends with respect to the standing position, the distance between both anchor points when the user is standing is defined as x0. For example, if the initial length of the anchor element (x01) is equal or longer than x0 (x01>=x0), the tensile forces will be generated as the user bends the torso or the legs with respect to the standing position to do an activity. This connecting element 150 may be designed to be shorter than x0 (x01<x0) if the intent is to provide tensile forces while the user is standing) a threshold is generated by the elastic body (Paragraph 0258, These different motions may be detected by using onboard motion sensors 230 such as IMUs in which an algorithm could define a initialization threshold (e.g. an initial threshold of the relative angle and angular speed between the torso and the thigh joints that when passed is considered as a initialization of a bending motion), (Paragraph 0260, The algorithm will then detect a change in joint angle, speed or acceleration to detect movement initialization to start to evaluate an objective function and measure or estimate the objective metrics until the person has finalized that movement—for instance, by looking at when joint acceleration changes direction or is equal or close (less than a threshold) to 0).
Both Galiana and Park teach wearable devices that provide controlled and sensor-driven assistive forces to specific areas of a user’s body. Furthermore, it is well-recognized in the art of exoskeleton devices to incorporate set thresholds and limits to define an ideal range of motion for a wearer (Galiana, Paragraph 0187, Muscle contraction/strain and tendon strain: Wearable exosuits and exoskeletons can affect how muscles contract and muscle/tendons strain under load. An exemplary optimization approach may seek to optimize an actuation parameter(s) to maximize or minimize these physiological parameters, or to limit them to certain values or ranges). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Galiana’s metrics of force and displacement thresholds with the muscle force assisting apparatus taught by Park.
Regarding Claim 2, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Park further discloses: wherein an elastic modulus of the elastic body is changeable (Paragraph 0075, when the operation intention information is based on the resistance value sensed by the strain gauge, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 is increased as the resistance value is increased, as the resistance value becomes smaller, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller), (Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 can be formed by spring-shaped wires of a shape memory alloy material and can be contracted or relaxed by the heat supplied through the resistance wire 412).
As detailed above, the elastic modulus is changeable based on the material selection, as well as the amount of heat applied to said material. The degree to which the elastic body taught by Park is deformed is adjustable through the use of a thermal reaction control unit and a plurality of sensors.
Regarding Claim 3, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 2. Park further discloses: wherein the elastic body is made of a shape memory alloy (Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 can be formed by spring-shaped wires of a shape memory alloy material and can be contracted or relaxed by the heat supplied through the resistance wire 412. The resistance wire 412 can be wound around the shape memory alloy spring 411. The shape memory alloy springs 411 may be formed of various heat reacting materials that react by heat such as shape memory resin, shape memory polymer (SMP), carbon nanotube, And may be made of polyethylene, polyamide, nylon, or the like).
Regarding Claim 5, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Park further discloses: wherein the stopper is formed along a direction perpendicular to an expansion/contraction direction of the elastic body (Figure 2, Paragraph 0064, The first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 move together along the longitudinal direction of the shape memory alloy spring 411 when the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is contracted or relaxed).
Regarding Claim 6, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Galiana further discloses: wherein the initial assistance force divided by a final assistance force generated by the elastic body is greater than or equal to 0.17.
Though not explicitly stated, Galiana demonstrates a range of different forces in Figures 60B-C, 63A-B, and 64. The specified range of values regarding the ratio of initial and final assistance force could be achieved through routine experimentation, as the actuated exoskeleton system of Park in view of Galiana incorporates sensors and control units that are configured to adjust the deformation, resistance, and pressure being applied in the actuator unit.
Park and Galiana also teach the use of different elastic elements that can be adjusted to different amounts of tension, thus affecting the overall force generated (G, Paragraph 0291, actuator 120 can be used to select between different impedances (e.g. elastic elements, spring, damper) by clutching different elastic elements in parallel or by controlling the initial position of different elastics in parallel to either add or remove impedance in the system), (G, Paragraph 0099, In another embodiment an actuator 120 may be used to set pretension levels of a passive connecting element 190 setting the initial position or tension with respect to the anchor members 110 (semi-active system)), (P, Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 may be formed of various heat reacting materials that react by heat such as shape memory resin, shape memory polymer (SMP), carbon nanotube, and may be made of polyethylene, polyamide, nylon, or the like).
Regarding Claim 8, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Galiana further discloses: wherein the initial assistance force is greater than or equal to 5 kgf (Paragraph 0093, one or more actuators 120 may be integrated as part of an active system to assist the user or to control the position, force or pretension of a system component. Additionally, in a semi-active system, one or more actuators 120 may be used to set pre-tension levels in the system or to set the initial position of an elastic element to tune when that element will start providing assistive forces passively with respect to the human motion), (Paragraph 0095, In another embodiment an actuator 120 may be used to set pretension levels of a passive connecting element 190 setting the initial position or tension with respect to the anchor members 110 (semi-active system). This can be useful to allow customizing the assistance (when assistance starts, stops, etc.) with respect to the human motion, to compensate for relative movement of wearable device 100 components over time or to be able to set-up the initial pretension to accommodate different body types)
Though not explicitly stated, Galiana demonstrates a range of different forces in Figures 60B-C, 63A-B, and 64 that fall within the claimed limitation. The specified range of values regarding initial assistance force could be achieved through routine experimentation, as the actuated exoskeleton system of Park in view of Galiana incorporates sensors and control units that are configured to adjust the deformation, resistance, and pressure being applied in the actuator unit.
Park and Galiana also teach the use of different elastic elements that can be adjusted to different amounts of tension (Galiana, Paragraph 0291, Impedance of the connecting element: a clutching system or actuator 120 can be used to select between different impedances (e.g. elastic elements, spring, damper) by clutching different elastic elements in parallel or by controlling the initial position of different elastics in parallel to either add or remove impedance in the system), (Park, Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 can be formed by spring-shaped wires of a shape memory alloy material and can be contracted or relaxed by the heat supplied through the resistance wire 412. The resistance wire 412 can be wound around the shape memory alloy spring 411. The shape memory alloy springs 411 may be formed of various heat reacting materials that react by heat such as shape memory resin, shape memory polymer (SMP), carbon nanotube, And may be made of polyethylene, polyamide, nylon, or the like).
Regarding Claim 9, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Park further discloses: wherein a motion displacement of the wearable suit is determined based on a posture of the user according to a purpose of use of the wearable suit (Paragraph 0076, when the motion information is based on the motion of the muscle sensed by the electromyogram sensor, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 becomes larger as the motion of the muscle becomes larger and the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller as the motion of the muscle is smaller), (Paragraph 0081, As shown in FIG. 2, when the wearer bends his / her arm, the intention recognition sensor 30 senses the bending motion of the arm and senses the bending motion of the arm by using the shape memory alloy spring according to the first embodiment of the present invention).
Regarding Claim 13, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Park further discloses:
a body unit (Paragraph 0034, The muscle force assisting apparatus using the shape memory alloy spring according to the first embodiment of the present invention is designed to prevent the movement of the wearer while standing up with a repetitive load using the contraction or relaxation action of the shape memory alloy spring 411);
a fixer configured to fix the body unit to a body of the user (Paragraph 0039, The first coupling portion 12 is provided in the first band portion 11 for coupling. The first engaging portion 12 may be formed of a velcro, a clip, a ring, or the like. Then, the first coupling portion 12 may be coupled by a method such as Velcro coupling, interference fit, hook coupling, or the like. The first binding part 12 may fix the first band part 11 to the first body part BU while the first band part 11 surrounds the first body part BU);
a coupler coupled with at least a part of a leg of a user (Paragraph 0036, The first coupling unit 10 is coupled to the first body part BU), (Paragraph 0038, The first band part 11 may wrap the first body part BU in the form of a band. The first band part 11 is made of elastic material such as ring-shaped rubber and can be directly worn on the first body part BU);
and a connector configured to connect the body unit and the coupler (Paragraph 0042, The first support member includes a first front support member 131 connecting one side of the first thermal reaction drive unit 40a and the first coupling unit 10 (or the first band unit 11) And a first rear support member 132 connecting one side of the second thermal reaction drive unit 40b and the first coupling unit 10 (or the first band 11)),
wherein the body unit comprises a housing including an accommodation space therein (Paragraph 0058, The first thermal reaction drive unit 40a includes a first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a and a second shape memory alloy spring unit 41b. The first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a deforms in response to heat supplied from the intention recognition sensor 30, And a first casing unit 420a connected to the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a and deformed together. Here, the first casing unit 420a is formed with a first internal space 42a in which the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is embedded), and a muscular strength assistor disposed in the accommodation space and comprising the elastic body and the stopper (Paragraph 0063, One end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the first stopper 421 and the other end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the second stopper 422).
Regarding Claim 14, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Galiana further discloses: wherein the threshold comprises a set magnitude exceeding 0 (Paragraph 0430, FIG. 53B shows an example where an initial threshold in the displacement angle can be used so that the system does not provide assistance during the initial phase as the user bends their torso or legs forward. This threshold may be smaller if the penalty term cancels out deviations of the relative torso to thigh angle during walking/running/climbing stairs/etc. As an alternative approach, an algorithm may use motion sensor information as the user is wearing to automatically set this initial offset value. In another embodiment, a user may be able to modify this initial offset angle to fit their specific preferences or needs), (Paragraph 0260, The algorithm will then detect a change in joint angle, speed or acceleration to detect movement initialization to start to evaluate an objective function and measure or estimate the objective metrics until the person has finalized that movement—for instance, by looking at when joint acceleration changes direction or is equal or close (less than a threshold) to 0—).
Regarding Claim 15, Park discloses: An actuator configured to supply power to a wearable suit (Paragraph 0029, the present invention can be easily worn on a body part relative to a joint, such as an arm or a leg, and can improve the utilization of the muscle power assisting device), (Paragraph 0004, In recent years, there has been a need for a muscle-assisted robot capable of supporting an additional force by using an actuator such as a motor or a hydraulic / pneumatic cylinder), the actuator comprising:
an elastic body configured to generate the power (Paragraph 0034, The muscle force assisting apparatus using the shape memory alloy spring according to the first embodiment of the present invention is designed to prevent the movement of the wearer while standing up with a repetitive load using the contraction or relaxation action of the shape memory alloy spring 411);
and a stopper configured to fix the elastic body in a contracted or expanded state (Paragraph 0064, The first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 move together along the longitudinal direction of the shape memory alloy spring 411 when the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is contracted or relaxed, The first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 move so that the extension pipe 423 coupled with the first stopper 421 and the second stopper 422 is contracted or relaxed),
wherein the actuator is configured to assist a muscular strength of a user (Paragraphs 0033-0034, a description will be given of a strength assisting device using a shape memory alloy spring according to a first embodiment of the present invention. The muscle force assisting apparatus using the shape memory alloy spring according to the first embodiment of the present invention is designed to prevent the movement of the wearer while standing up with a repetitive load using the contraction or relaxation action of the shape memory alloy spring 411),
wherein the stopper is configured to fix the elastic body in the contracted or expanded state by an initial displacement (Paragraph 0063, One end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the first stopper 421 and the other end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the second stopper 422) so that an initial assistance force equal to or more than a threshold is generated by the elastic body, (Paragraph 0076, As another example, when the motion information is based on the motion of the muscle sensed by the electromyogram sensor, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 becomes larger as the motion of the muscle becomes larger And the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller as the motion of the muscle is smaller), (Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit),
wherein the stopper is configured to fix the elastic body by directly contacting the elastic body or by fixing a terminal or supporting member connected to the elastic body (Paragraph 0063, One end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the first stopper 421 and the other end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the second stopper 422),
and wherein the initial displacement is adjustable (Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit) by adjusting a position of the stopper (Figure 2, Paragraphs 0084-0086, When the wearer stretches his or her arm, the intention recognizing sensor 30 senses the arm stretching operation and generates operation intention information for expanding the arm. Accordingly, based on the operation intention information, the current control unit 53 provided in the control unit 50b controls the current driver 52 such that the second thermal reaction drive unit 40b is contracted while the second body part BD is in contact with the joint BJ of the first body part BU […] When the wearer stretches his / her arm, only the current driver 52 provided in the second thermal reaction control unit 50b is controlled. In the current driver 52 provided in the first thermal reaction control unit 50a, the supply of current can be cut off), adjusting a thickness of the stopper, or adjusting a position of the terminal or supporting member (Paragraph 0054, The thermal reaction drive unit may further include a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. At this time, an internal space in which the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 is embedded is formed in the casing unit to facilitate the shape deformation while protecting the shape memory alloy spring unit 41).
Park does not explicitly disclose an initial displacement, an initial assistance force, or a threshold, but these values would be inherent to a muscle force assisting apparatus that includes multiple control units and sensor arrangements (Paragraph 0070, The intention recognition sensor 30 senses the operation intention information for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. The intention recognizing sensor 30 may include a pressure sensor for sensing a pressure generated between the wearer and the heavy object according to the grip of the heavy object, the movement of the heavy object, and the support of the heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include a strain gauge for sensing electrical resistance, which is changed by an external force generated by holding a heavy object, moving a heavy object, or supporting a heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include an electromyogram sensor that senses movement of muscles (contraction or expansion of muscles) according to gripping of heavy objects, movement of heavy objects, and support of heavy objects).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Galiana more explicitly discloses: fixing the elastic body in a contracted or expanded state (Paragraph 0241, a passive element 190, in this case an elastic textile, connects both anchor points to provide tensile forces that assist the user. Since these forces are located at a distance from the joint center of rotation, they provide a torque to the user that is equal to the tensile force multiplied by the moment arm) by an initial displacement so that an initial assistance force equal to or more than (Figure 16, Paragraph 0249, the initial length of the passive connecting element (x01) defines when the tensile force starts as the user bends with respect to the standing position, the distance between both anchor points when the user is standing is defined as x0. For example, if the initial length of the anchor element (x01) is equal or longer than x0 (x01>=x0), the tensile forces will be generated as the user bends the torso or the legs with respect to the standing position to do an activity. This connecting element 150 may be designed to be shorter than x0 (x01<x0) if the intent is to provide tensile forces while the user is standing) a threshold is generated by the elastic body (Paragraph 0258, These different motions may be detected by using onboard motion sensors 230 such as IMUs in which an algorithm could define a initialization threshold (e.g. an initial threshold of the relative angle and angular speed between the torso and the thigh joints that when passed is considered as a initialization of a bending motion), (Paragraph 0260, The algorithm will then detect a change in joint angle, speed or acceleration to detect movement initialization to start to evaluate an objective function and measure or estimate the objective metrics until the person has finalized that movement—for instance, by looking at when joint acceleration changes direction or is equal or close (less than a threshold) to 0).
Both Galiana and Park teach wearable devices that provide controlled and sensor-driven assistive forces to specific areas of a user’s body. Furthermore, it is well-recognized in the art of exoskeleton devices to incorporate set thresholds and limits to define an ideal range of motion for a wearer (Galiana, Paragraph 0187, Muscle contraction/strain and tendon strain: Wearable exosuits and exoskeletons can affect how muscles contract and muscle/tendons strain under load. An exemplary optimization approach may seek to optimize an actuation parameter(s) to maximize or minimize these physiological parameters, or to limit them to certain values or ranges). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Galiana’s metrics of force and displacement thresholds with the muscle force assisting apparatus taught by Park.
Claims 7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20180099982 A) in view of Galiana (US 20210007874 A1), further in view of Walsh et al. (US 20150173993 A1, hereinafter “Walsh”).
Regarding Claim 7, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Galiana further discloses: wherein a final assistance force generated by the elastic body is greater than or equal to 10 kgf and lesser than 25 kgf (Paragraph 0463, Figure 60B, The underlying principle of the assistance strategy is defining a force profile such that when the wearer descends in order to grab an object, the system applies a force that increases as the user bends down the torso to help move the torso as it moves in the same direction as gravity. As soon as the wearer starts to lift an object up and extends his back, the force may be increased to a higher level to help lift the additional load and for the fact that it has to move against gravity, finally the assistance may be decreased when the wearer approaches an upright position), (Paragraph 0078, FIG. 63A and FIG. 63B show applied force and displacement angle measurements from the device following the assistive strategy that was presented in which the user started in a standing straight position and performed a series of four lifts at different speeds and ranges)
Though not explicitly stated, Galiana demonstrates a range of different forces in Figures 60B-C, 63A-B, and 64 that fall within the claimed limitation. The specified range of values regarding final assistance force could be achieved through routine experimentation, as Park and Galiana also teach the use of different elastic elements within an actuator that can be adjusted to different amounts of tension: (Galiana, Paragraph 0099, In another embodiment an actuator 120 may be used to set pretension levels of a passive connecting element 190 setting the initial position or tension with respect to the anchor members 110 (semi-active system)), (Galiana, Paragraph 0291, actuator 120 can be used to select between different impedances (e.g. elastic elements, spring, damper) by clutching different elastic elements in parallel or by controlling the initial position of different elastics in parallel to either add or remove impedance in the system), (Park, Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 may be formed of various heat reacting materials that react by heat such as shape memory resin, shape memory polymer (SMP), carbon nanotube, and may be made of polyethylene, polyamide, nylon, or the like).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Walsh discloses: wherein a final assistance force generated by the elastic body is greater than or equal to 10 kgf and lesser than 25 kgf (Paragraph 0111, By estimating a position relative to joint center, moment arms were estimated and, knowing the ranges of motion, the required force and displacement were determined. On these initial parameters, device specifications were developed and are shown in Table I), (Paragraph 0306, FIG. 47 presents a comparison of statistics showing evolution of initial embodiments of soft exosuits in accord with at least some aspects of the present concepts. In the first version (V1) of the soft exosuit 100, the maximum walking speed was 1.25 m/s (2.8 mph), with a total power draw of 59.2 W, a battery duration of 4.1 hours (2.5 kg of batteries), a maximum output force of 150N, and a stiffness at 100N of 3500 N/m. In the second version (V2) of the soft exosuit, the maximum walking speed was 1.5 m/s (3.4 mph), with a total power draw of 59.2 W, a battery duration of 4.1 hours (2.5 kg of batteries), a maximum output force of 200N, and a stiffness at 100N of 4000 N/m. In the third version (V3) of the soft exosuit, the maximum walking speed was 2.0 m/s (4.5 mph), with a total power draw of 50 W, a battery duration of 5.5 hours (2.5 kg of batteries), a maximum output force of 270N, and a stiffness at 100N of 5000 N/m)
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Walsh’s different exosuits with varying ranges of output forces with the powered actuated exoskeleton system of Park in view of Galiana. The system incorporates sensors and control units that are configured to adjust the deformation, resistance, and pressure being applied in the actuator unit (Park, Paragraph 0070, The intention recognition sensor 30 senses the operation intention information for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. The intention recognizing sensor 30 may include a pressure sensor for sensing a pressure generated between the wearer and the heavy object according to the grip of the heavy object, the movement of the heavy object, and the support of the heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include a strain gauge for sensing electrical resistance, which is changed by an external force generated by holding a heavy object, moving a heavy object, or supporting a heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include an electromyogram sensor that senses movement of muscles (contraction or expansion of muscles) according to gripping of heavy objects, movement of heavy objects, and support of heavy objects).
Regarding Claim 10, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 9. Galiana further discloses: wherein the motion displacement of the wearable suit is greater than or equal to 50 mm and lesser than 250 mm (Paragraph 0447, FIG. 57 shows the behavior of the suit including hysteresis for tensioning (loading) and releasing (unloading) the cable. As shown in the graph, increasing the force from a low level requires a more dynamic movement of the cable compared to higher force levels. This knowledge can be incorporated into the controller 240 using a feedforward model so as to improve tracking performance), (Paragraphs 0247-0248, When the user bends his/her torso or legs such as when reaching or lifting an object, the relative distance between both anchor points increases due to the kinematics of the user. If this distance is longer than the initial dimension of the connecting element 150, it will cause the elastic element to stretch (x=x0+Ax) and therefore provide tensile forces behind the back of the user. These forces are proportional to the elongation by the spring constant of the elastic (F=k*Ax). Dimensioning and choosing the passive connecting element 150 based on the desired assistance, different tasks or individuals may require or prefer different types and levels of assistance).
Though not explicitly stated, Galiana demonstrates a range of cable positions in Figure 57, and further explains that relative displacement can be estimated using the cable displacement as one of the parameters (Paragraph 0191, For cable-driven systems in which the cable anchors on both sides of the joint, relative displacement may be estimated by combining the of exposed cable (e.g. by an encoder) and a measurement of the joint position by using wearable sensors 230 such as IMUs)).
The specified range of values regarding the degree of motion displacement could be achieved through routine experimentation, as Park and Galiana also teach the use of different elastic elements that can be adjusted to different amounts of tension (Galiana, Paragraph 0291, actuator 120 can be used to select between different impedances (e.g. elastic elements, spring, damper) by clutching different elastic elements in parallel or by controlling the initial position of different elastics in parallel to either add or remove impedance in the system), (Park, Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 may be formed of various heat reacting materials that react by heat such as shape memory resin, shape memory polymer (SMP), carbon nanotube, And may be made of polyethylene, polyamide, nylon, or the like), (Park, Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Walsh discloses: wherein the motion displacement of the wearable suit is greater than or equal to 50 mm and lesser than 250 mm (Paragraph 0112, A pneumatic actuator 15 with an active length (excluding end hardware such as fittings and steel loops) of 200 mm was prototyped and force versus displacement data were recorded on an Instron 5544 load frame system for 1 to 5 bar (14.7 to 73.5 psi) input pressures), (Paragraph 00254, the cable travel can include three lengths: cable pull length, exosuit tension length, and a margin of safety to prevent bottoming out. In accord with some embodiments, the cable travel was given a significant safety length due to uncertainty in design parameters and user variability. The cable pull length and the cable tension length were measured from the soft exosuit and previous actuator system with participants ranging in height from 5'8'' to 6'5''. The three lengths and calculated pulley diameter can be seen in Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Walsh’s different possible lengths and extensions with the powered actuated exoskeleton system of Park in view of Galiana. The system incorporates sensors and control units that are configured to adjust the deformation, resistance, and pressure being applied in the actuator unit (Park, Paragraph 0076, when the motion information is based on the motion of the muscle sensed by the electromyogram sensor, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 becomes larger as the motion of the muscle becomes larger and the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller as the motion of the muscle is smaller).
Regarding Claim 11, Park in view Galiana discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Galiana further discloses: wherein a total displacement, which is a sum of the initial displacement and a motion displacement of the wearable suit, is lesser than or equal to 400 mm (Paragraph 0022, FIG. 15 and FIG. 16 show how by defining different initial lengths of the connecting elements, the output tensile forces can be modified and how different stiffness values of the connecting element will provide different outputs), (Figure 57, Paragraph 0191, Displacement of the wearable device 100 components with respect to the body may be measured by using wearable sensors 230 such as IMUs. For instance by using two IMUs, one of them IMU integrated in a wearable device 100 component and another sensor attached to the body and integrating measurements such as the relative speed or acceleration. For cable-driven systems in which the cable anchors on both sides of the joint, relative displacement may be estimated by combining the of exposed cable (e.g. by an encoder) and a measurement of the joint position by using wearable sensors 230 such as IMUs).
Though not explicitly stated, Galiana demonstrates a range of cable positions between in Figure 57, and further explains that relative displacement can be estimated using the cable displacement as one of the parameters (Paragraph 0191, For cable-driven systems in which the cable anchors on both sides of the joint, relative displacement may be estimated by combining the of exposed cable (e.g. by an encoder) and a measurement of the joint position by using wearable sensors 230 such as IMUs)).
The specified range of values regarding the distance of motion displacement could be achieved through routine experimentation, as Park and Galiana also teach the use of different elastic elements that can be adjusted to different amounts of tension, thus affecting the overall range of motion (Galiana, Paragraph 0291, actuator 120 can be used to select between different impedances (e.g. elastic elements, spring, damper) by clutching different elastic elements in parallel or by controlling the initial position of different elastics in parallel to either add or remove impedance in the system), (Park, Paragraph 0053, The shape memory alloy springs 411 may be formed of various heat reacting materials that react by heat such as shape memory resin, shape memory polymer (SMP), carbon nanotube, And may be made of polyethylene, polyamide, nylon, or the like), (Park, Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Walsh discloses: wherein a total displacement, which is a sum of the initial displacement and a motion displacement of the wearable suit, is lesser than or equal to 400 mm (Paragraph 0112, A pneumatic actuator 15 with an active length (excluding end hardware such as fittings and steel loops) of 200 mm was prototyped and force versus displacement data were recorded on an Instron 5544 load frame system for 1 to 5 bar (14.7 to 73.5 psi) input pressures), (Paragraph 00254, the cable travel can include three lengths: cable pull length, exosuit tension length, and a margin of safety to prevent bottoming out. In accord with some embodiments, the cable travel was given a significant safety length due to uncertainty in design parameters and user variability. The cable pull length and the cable tension length were measured from the soft exosuit and previous actuator system with participants ranging in height from 5'8'' to 6'5''. The three lengths and calculated pulley diameter can be seen in Table 4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Walsh’s different possible lengths and extensions with the powered actuated exoskeleton system of Park in view of Galiana. The system incorporates sensors and control units that are configured to adjust the deformation, resistance, and pressure being applied in the actuator unit (Park, Paragraph 0076, when the motion information is based on the motion of the muscle sensed by the electromyogram sensor, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 becomes larger as the motion of the muscle becomes larger and the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller as the motion of the muscle is smaller).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20180099982 A) in view of Galiana (US 20210007874 A1), further in view of Desclos (US 20220151858 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Park in view Galiano discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1. Park further discloses: comprising a frame configured to support the stopper, wherein the frame is formed along a contraction direction or an expansion direction of the elastic body (Paragraph 0054, The thermal reaction drive unit may further include a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. At this time, an internal space in which the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 is embedded is formed in the casing unit to facilitate the shape deformation while protecting the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. The casing unit is also deformed together with the deformation of the shape memory alloy spring unit 41, so that the casing unit is not interfered with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41) to adjust the initial displacement (Paragraph 0021, the present invention can freely deform the shape of the thermal reaction drive unit despite the volume change of the casing unit while protecting the shape memory alloy spring through the casing unit), (Paragraph 0055, Therefore, 41 can be smoothly deformed in accordance with the shape deformation of the casing unit, and the reaction speed of the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be prevented from being lowered)
Park in view of Galiano is silent regarding the frame including a plurality of grooves. However, Desclos does disclose a frame (Paragraph 0069, The electrode assembly may be sealed within the cylindrical housing using a variety of different techniques. Referring to FIG. 3, one embodiment of an ultracapacitor is shown that contains an electrode assembly 2108) that includes a plurality of grooves configured to receive a protruding portion of the supporting member to adjust the initial displacement (Paragraph 0069, In this particular embodiment, the ultracapacitor contains a first collector disc 2114, which contains a disc-shaped portion 2134, a stud portion 2136, and a fastener 2138 (e.g., screw)), (Paragraph 070, The second collector disc 2120 also passes through a flat washer 2128 and a spring washer 2130. A locknut 2132 is tightened over the spring washer 2130, which compresses the spring washer 2130 against the flat washer 2128, which in turn is compressed against the second insulating washer 2126).
Similar to Park in view of Galiana, Desclos also discloses a powered exoskeleton device that incorporates actuator elements to enable supported movement for a wearer (Paragraph 0020, in one embodiment, the exoskeleton includes at least one actuator. In one embodiment, the exoskeleton may include a plurality of actuators to drive a combination of joints. In some embodiments, the joints comprising the exoskeleton may additionally and/or alternatively comprise any mechanism known in the art to enable the parts of the exoskeleton to have the degrees of freedom present in the human body).
The sealed ultracapacitor housing taught By Desclos serves to encase an electrode assembly comprised of specific metal compositions and arrangements (Paragraph 0039, the ultracapacitor contains an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator), (Paragraph 0042, or instance, in one embodiment, the current collectors of each electrode are formed from the same material. Regardless, each collector is typically formed from a substrate that includes a conductive metal, such as aluminum, stainless steel, nickel, silver, palladium, etc., as well as alloys thereof), (Paragraph 0054, The separator can enable electrical isolation of one electrode from another to help prevent an electrical short but still allow transport of ions between the two electrodes).
Modifying the casing of Park to incorporate the threaded screw components taught by Desclos would allow for an additional degree of sealing (Desclos, Paragraph 0071, Once the locknut 2132 is tightened against the spring washer 2130, a hermetic seal may be formed between the axial hole, the first insulating washer 2124, the second insulating washer 2126, and the second collector disc 2120), (Park, Paragraph 0062, The first stopper 421 is hermetically coupled to one side of the extension pipe 423 and the second stopper 422 is hermetically coupled to the other end of the extension pipe 423, thereby forming the inner space).
Furthermore, adjusting the frame would also provide an additional means of controlling the displacement and applied force in the system, without impeding the overall functionality (Park, Paragraph 0054, The thermal reaction drive unit may further include a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. […] The casing unit is also deformed together with the deformation of the shape memory alloy spring unit 41, so that the casing unit is not interfered with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Desclos with Park in view of Galiana.
Regarding Claim 16, Park discloses: A wearable suit (Paragraph 0029, the present invention can be easily worn on a body part relative to a joint, such as an arm or a leg, and can improve the utilization of the muscle power assisting device) comprising:
a body unit comprising a housing including an accommodation space (Paragraph 0058, The first thermal reaction drive unit 40a includes a first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a and a second shape memory alloy spring unit 41b. The first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a deforms in response to heat supplied from the intention recognition sensor 30, And a first casing unit 420a connected to the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a and deformed together. Here, the first casing unit 420a is formed with a first internal space 42a in which the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is embedded);
a muscular strength assistor disposed in the accommodation space (Paragraph 0001, The present invention relates to a muscle force assisting apparatus using a shape memory alloy spring capable of assisting in the operation and restraint), (Paragraph 0010, Here, the thermal reaction drive unit includes a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit, and the casing unit may be formed with an internal space in which the shape memory alloy spring unit is embedded), the muscular strength assistor comprising:
an elastic body configured to generate an assistance force to assist a muscular strength of a user (Paragraph 0034, The muscle force assisting apparatus using the shape memory alloy spring according to the first embodiment of the present invention is designed to prevent the movement of the wearer while standing up with a repetitive load using the contraction or relaxation action of the shape memory alloy spring 411);
a supporting member connected to the elastic body (Paragraph 0040, At this time, the muscle force assisting device may include a first support member connecting one side of the thermal reaction drive unit and the first coupling unit 10 (or the first band portion 11));
a stopper configured to fix the elastic body in a contracted or expanded state (Paragraph 0063, One end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the first stopper 421 and the other end of the first shape memory alloy spring unit 41a is coupled to the second stopper 422) by an initial displacement so that an initial assistance force equal to or more than a threshold is generated by the elastic body (Paragraph 0076, As another example, when the motion information is based on the motion of the muscle sensed by the electromyogram sensor, the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 becomes larger as the motion of the muscle becomes larger And the current value for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be controlled to be smaller as the motion of the muscle is smaller), (Paragraph 0028, the present invention can quickly and accurately control the displacement of the thermal reaction drive unit while corresponding to the displacement of the actual muscle through the thermal reaction control unit).
Park does not explicitly disclose an initial displacement, an initial assistance force, or a threshold, but these values would be inherent to a muscle force assisting apparatus that includes multiple control units and sensor arrangements (Paragraph 0070, The intention recognition sensor 30 senses the operation intention information for deforming the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. The intention recognizing sensor 30 may include a pressure sensor for sensing a pressure generated between the wearer and the heavy object according to the grip of the heavy object, the movement of the heavy object, and the support of the heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include a strain gauge for sensing electrical resistance, which is changed by an external force generated by holding a heavy object, moving a heavy object, or supporting a heavy object. In addition, the intention recognition sensor 30 may include an electromyogram sensor that senses movement of muscles (contraction or expansion of muscles) according to gripping of heavy objects, movement of heavy objects, and support of heavy objects).
However, if the Applicant is not convinced, Galiana more explicitly discloses: fixing the elastic body in a contracted or expanded state (Paragraph 0241, a passive element 190, in this case an elastic textile, connects both anchor points to provide tensile forces that assist the user. Since these forces are located at a distance from the joint center of rotation, they provide a torque to the user that is equal to the tensile force multiplied by the moment arm) by an initial displacement so that an initial assistance force equal to or more than (Figure 16, Paragraph 0249, the initial length of the passive connecting element (x01) defines when the tensile force starts as the user bends with respect to the standing position, the distance between both anchor points when the user is standing is defined as x0. For example, if the initial length of the anchor element (x01) is equal or longer than x0 (x01>=x0), the tensile forces will be generated as the user bends the torso or the legs with respect to the standing position to do an activity. This connecting element 150 may be designed to be shorter than x0 (x01<x0) if the intent is to provide tensile forces while the user is standing) a threshold is generated by the elastic body (Paragraph 0258, These different motions may be detected by using onboard motion sensors 230 such as IMUs in which an algorithm could define a initialization threshold (e.g. an initial threshold of the relative angle and angular speed between the torso and the thigh joints that when passed is considered as a initialization of a bending motion), (Paragraph 0260, The algorithm will then detect a change in joint angle, speed or acceleration to detect movement initialization to start to evaluate an objective function and measure or estimate the objective metrics until the person has finalized that movement—for instance, by looking at when joint acceleration changes direction or is equal or close (less than a threshold) to 0).
Both Galiana and Park teach wearable devices that provide controlled and sensor-driven assistive forces to specific areas of a user’s body. Furthermore, it is well-recognized in the art of exoskeleton devices to incorporate set thresholds and limits to define an ideal range of motion for a wearer (Galiana, Paragraph 0187, Muscle contraction/strain and tendon strain: Wearable exosuits and exoskeletons can affect how muscles contract and muscle/tendons strain under load. An exemplary optimization approach may seek to optimize an actuation parameter(s) to maximize or minimize these physiological parameters, or to limit them to certain values or ranges). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Galiana’s metrics of force and displacement thresholds with the muscle force assisting apparatus taught by Park.
Park in view of Galiana further discloses a frame configured to support the stopper (Paragraph 0054, The thermal reaction drive unit may further include a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. At this time, an internal space in which the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 is embedded is formed in the casing unit to facilitate the shape deformation while protecting the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. The casing unit is also deformed together with the deformation of the shape memory alloy spring unit 41, so that the casing unit is not interfered with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41) to adjust the initial displacement (Paragraph 0021, the present invention can freely deform the shape of the thermal reaction drive unit despite the volume change of the casing unit while protecting the shape memory alloy spring through the casing unit), (Paragraph 0055, Therefore, 41 can be smoothly deformed in accordance with the shape deformation of the casing unit, and the reaction speed of the shape memory alloy spring unit 41 can be prevented from being lowered)
Park in view of Galiano is silent regarding the frame including a plurality of grooves. However, Desclos does disclose a frame (Paragraph 0069, The electrode assembly may be sealed within the cylindrical housing using a variety of different techniques. Referring to FIG. 3, one embodiment of an ultracapacitor is shown that contains an electrode assembly 2108)
wherein the supporting member includes a protruding portion protruding in a direction toward the frame, wherein the frame includes a plurality of grooves configured to receive the protruding portion of the supporting member (Paragraph 0069, In this particular embodiment, the ultracapacitor contains a first collector disc 2114, which contains a disc-shaped portion 2134, a stud portion 2136, and a fastener 2138 (e.g., screw)),,
and wherein the initial displacement of the elastic body is adjustable by changing a position of one of the plurality of grooves of the frame into which the protruding portion of the supporting member is inserted (Paragraph 070, The second collector disc 2120 also passes through a flat washer 2128 and a spring washer 2130. A locknut 2132 is tightened over the spring washer 2130, which compresses the spring washer 2130 against the flat washer 2128, which in turn is compressed against the second insulating washer 2126).
Similar to Park in view of Galiana, Desclos also discloses a powered exoskeleton device that incorporates actuator elements to enable supported movement for a wearer (Paragraph 0020, in one embodiment, the exoskeleton includes at least one actuator. In one embodiment, the exoskeleton may include a plurality of actuators to drive a combination of joints. In some embodiments, the joints comprising the exoskeleton may additionally and/or alternatively comprise any mechanism known in the art to enable the parts of the exoskeleton to have the degrees of freedom present in the human body).
The sealed ultracapacitor housing taught By Desclos serves to encase an electrode assembly comprised of specific metal compositions and arrangements (Paragraph 0039, the ultracapacitor contains an electrode assembly including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a separator), (Paragraph 0042, or instance, in one embodiment, the current collectors of each electrode are formed from the same material. Regardless, each collector is typically formed from a substrate that includes a conductive metal, such as aluminum, stainless steel, nickel, silver, palladium, etc., as well as alloys thereof), (Paragraph 0054, The separator can enable electrical isolation of one electrode from another to help prevent an electrical short but still allow transport of ions between the two electrodes).
Modifying the casing of Park to incorporate the threaded screw components taught by Desclos would allow for an additional degree of sealing (Desclos, Paragraph 0071, Once the locknut 2132 is tightened against the spring washer 2130, a hermetic seal may be formed between the axial hole, the first insulating washer 2124, the second insulating washer 2126, and the second collector disc 2120), (Park, Paragraph 0062, The first stopper 421 is hermetically coupled to one side of the extension pipe 423 and the second stopper 422 is hermetically coupled to the other end of the extension pipe 423, thereby forming the inner space).
Furthermore, adjusting the frame would also provide an additional means of controlling the displacement and applied force in the system, without impeding the overall functionality (Park, Paragraph 0054, The thermal reaction drive unit may further include a casing unit connected to and deformed together with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41. […] The casing unit is also deformed together with the deformation of the shape memory alloy spring unit 41, so that the casing unit is not interfered with the shape memory alloy spring unit 41). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Desclos with Park in view of Galiana.
Response to Arguments
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 4, 15, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The stopper, as recited by the Applicant, is now taught by the cap-like structures of Park (Figure 1, first stopper 421, second stopper 422) instead of the anchor points of Galiana (Figure 2, anchor members 110). Likewise, the added claim limitations regarding the plurality of grooves in the frame of the device are taught by the incorporation of Desclos. Please refer to the USC 103 rejection above for further details regarding the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (US 20180263839 A1) discloses a flexible artificial muscle with coupled stress transmission elements
Yoshimi et al. (US 20210077335 A1) discloses a wearable assist device with a controller to adjust control of an actuator based on posture change of a user
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MISHAL HUSSAIN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785