DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Applicant Response to Official Action
The response filed on 5/8/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Acknowledgment
Claim 2, canceled on 5/8/2025, is acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 1 and 3-4, amended on 5/8/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Claims 5-9, added on 5/8/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and its dependent claims have been considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicant. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation, the amendment filed on 5/8/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) interpretation is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, the amendment filed on 5/8/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection, the amendment filed on 5/8/2025 addresses the issue. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alamro et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0033412 A1), (“Alamro”), in view of Gamerman (US Patent 11,369,543 B2), (“Gamerman”), in view of Belt et al. (WO 2019/023037 A1), (“Belt”).
Regarding claim 1, Alamro meets the claim limitations as follows:
A control device (i.e. a microcontroller) [Alamro: para. 0013; Fig. 3B] used in a mobility support system ((i.e. a convertible multi-tasking cane system) [Alamro: para. 0013; Figs. 1A, 2C]; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) that supports walking of a user (i.e. the user walks with the cane) [Alamro: para. 0046] using a white cane ((i.e. a convertible multitasking cane) [Alamro: para. 0011] ; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) by notifying the user of information ((i.e. the microcontroller 302 may notify the user) [Alamro: para. 0052]; (i.e. The audio notification device 346 includes the alarm unit 304. In some aspects, the alarm unit 304 may be configured to generate a haptic feedback or haptic indication to the user, besides generation an audio notification) [Alamro: para. 0051; Fig. 3B]; (i.e. the second set of LED units 358 may be illuminated to notify the user, in addition to the audio notification and haptic indication) [Alamro: para. 0052]), the white cane ((i.e. a convertible multitasking cane) [Alamro: para. 0011]; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) being a device used to assist visually impaired users, the control device comprising a processor (i.e. the computing device may be realized by various circuitry elements, known to those skilled in the art. For example, CPU 602 or CPU 608 may be a Xenon or Core processor from Intel of America or an Opteron processor from AMD of America, or may be other processor types that would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.) [Alamro: para. 0064], wherein: the white cane includes a camera ((i.e. The multitasking multifunctional cane has a handle which is configured to convert to a seat when desired by the user, an umbrella that can be deployed from within the cane, and a camera unit configured to capture the surrounding and determine potential hazards based on the captured pictures) [Alamro: para. 0010; Fig. 3B]; (i.e. The tubular insulating structure houses a plurality of electronic devices including a microcontroller, an alarm unit, an LED display, a WiFi unit, a Bluetooth unit, an MP3 player, a GPS receiver, a USB port, a camera) [Alamro: para. 0013; Fig. 3B]); the information is generated based on an image captured by the camera ((i.e. a camera unit configured to capture the surrounding) [Alamro: para. 0010]; (i.e. the
microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture images of the surroundings and display the images on the LED display) [Alamro: para. 0047; Fig. 5A]); and the processor is configured to (i.e. processor) [Alamro: para. 0064]
detect a state of the user (i.e. In one aspect, at step 402, the method 400 includes actuating the ON/OFF switch 348 to turn ON the cane 100) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A],determine whether (the method includes determining) [Alamro: para. 0057] the detected state of the user is a first state where the user is standing still (i.e. the method 400 includes sitting on the seat 111 formed by unfolding the handle 110, when not walking) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A] or a second state where the user is moving ((i.e. the cane 100 change during a certain time period) [Alamro: para. 0050]; (i.e. The white cane is held by the user and is then swung in a sweeping motion horizontally back and forth until it strikes an obstacle) [Gamerman: col. 1, line 61-63]; (i.e. At step 404, the method 400 includes walking while holding the handle 110 of the cane 100) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A]),determine whether (i.e. the method 500 may be executed by the microcontroller 302. At step 502, the method 500 includes determining) [Alamro: para. 0057; Fig. 5A] the user has performed a predetermined action (i.e. a predefined route for a desired destination) [Alamro: para. 0058] using the white cane based on a movement of the white cane (i.e. FIG. 5B illustrates a flowchart of a method 550 for geolocating the cane 100, according to yet another aspect of the present disclosure. In an example, the method 500 may be executed by the microcontroller 302. At step 552, the method 550 includes obtaining, by the GPS receiver 330, the current location of the cane 100 and the current time. As used herein, the term "current location" refers either to the location of the cane 100 at an instance when the GPS receiver 330 sends a signal to the microcontroller 302 or the location of the cane 100 when the microcontroller 302 fetches data from the GPS receiver 330. At step 554, the method 550 includes displaying the current location and the current time on the LED display 306. At step 556, the method 550 includes periodically generating the current location and the current time. At step 558, the method 550 includes determining a deviation in route when the current location deviates from a map route stored in the microcontroller 302. For example, a predefined route for a desired destination may be downloaded and saved in the memory 604 of the microcontroller 302. The predefined route may be obtained as a data file and may be transferred to the memory 604 of the microcontroller 302) [Alamro: para. 0058; Fig. 5B] in a state where the detected state of the user is the first state (i.e. sitting on the seat 111 formed by unfolding the handle 110, when not walking) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A], and
execute (i.e. executing multiple functions) [Alamro: para. 0044] a start process to activate the camera (i.e. the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture images of the surroundings and display the images on the LED display) [Alamro: para. 0047] in response to a determination that the predetermined action has been performed in the state where the detected state of the user is the first state (i.e. The multitasking multifunctional cane has a handle which is configured to convert to a seat when desired by the user, an umbrella that can be deployed from within the cane, and a camera unit configured to capture the surrounding and determine potential hazards based on the captured pictures) [Alamro: para. 0010; Fig. 4B]).
Alamro does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
the white cane being a device used to assist visually impaired users.
However, in the same field of endeavor Gamerman further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the white cane being a device used to assist visually impaired users (i.e. white cane is a simple device used by the visually impaired to aid in everyday tasks such as navigation and object detection) [Gamerman: col. 1, line 54-56].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro with Gamerman to implement the Gamerman’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro with Gamerman will enable the system to allow the device to aid a user to navigate their environment, acquire spatial awareness, locate and identify objects and obstacles from close to extended distances [Gamerman: col. 1, line 29-32].
In the same field of endeavor Belt further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
detect a state of the user ((i.e. User feature data may include state information) [Belt: para. 0096]; (i.e. Feature data may include user feature data. User feature data is defined herein as any data describing user feature 212 or portions or contents thereof. User feature data may include operational data, defined herein as information required to complete operation of a user feature 212. Operational data may include location relative to the user or to a point in navigable space 200 at which the operation may be instigated or performed; for instance, wayfinding data may indicate to the user where to stand) [Belt: para. 0095]: (i.e. State information may be information that describes the current state of a user feature) [Belt: para. 0096]),determine whether the detected state of the user is a first state where the user is standing still (i.e. Feature data may include user feature data. User feature data is defined herein as any data describing user feature 212 or portions or contents thereof. User feature data may include operational data, defined herein as information required to complete operation of a user feature 212. Operational data may include location relative to the user or to a point in navigable space 200 at which the operation may be instigated or performed; for instance, wayfinding data may indicate to the user where to stand) [Belt: para. 0095] or a second state where the user is moving (i.e. User presence sensor 148 may be a motion sensor that detects the movement of a person in a particular location.) [Belt: para. 0019].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt to implement the Belt’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt will enable the system to assist the visually impaired person by providing informational object located at a new location in the new navigable space [Belt: para. 0003-0005].
Regarding claim 3, Alamro meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.Alamro further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the predetermined action is an action in which the user hits a same object multiple times using the white cane (i.e. Walking canes, also often embodied as trekking poles, pilgrim's staffs, hiking poles, hiking sticks, climbing steps, supporting invalids and the like are used for a wide variety of purposes, such as clearing spider webs, parting thick bushes or grass obscuring a trail, providing support when going uphill or providing braking help when going downhill, serving as a balance point when crossing streams or rough terrain, ascertaining presence of obstacles in the trail; testing mud and puddles for depth, and the like. In the recent years, various features have been developed for the walking canes to address additional requirements of the users.) [Alamro: para. 0003].
In the same field of endeavor Gamerman further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
the user hits a same object multiple times using the white cane (i.e. The white cane is held by the user and is then swung in a sweeping motion horizontally back and forth until it strikes an obstacle (an object or void) in the user's path) [Gamerman: col. 1, line 61-64].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro with Gamerman to implement the Gamerman’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro with Gamerman will enable the system to allow the device to aid a user to navigate their environment, acquire spatial awareness, locate and identify objects and obstacles from close to extended distances [Gamerman: col. 1, line 29-32].
Regarding claim 4, Alamro meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.Alamro further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the processor is further configured to (i.e. a microcontroller) [Alamro: para. 0013; Fig. 3B]:acquire the image captured by activated camera (i.e. the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture images of the surroundings and display the images on the LED display) [Alamro: para. 0047]: and deactivate the camera ((i.e. At other times, the camera 316 may remain switched off or in standby mode) [Alarmro: para. 0047]; (i.e. the microcontroller 302 may be configured to temporarily stop the operation) [Alarmro: para. 0051]) after the image has been acquired ((i.e. In some aspects, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture the images of the environment based on an input from the user. Positioning the camera switch 332 to the ON mode may be indicative of the user's intention to capture images of the environment. At other times, the camera 316 may remain switched off or in standby mode, thereby saving battery power) [Alarmro: para. 0047]; (i.e. the microcontroller 302 may be configured to temporarily stop the operation) [Alarmro: para. 0051]; (i.e. In some aspects, the ON/OFF switch 348 may be pressed a predefined number of times to change the illumination pattern and illumination brightness of the first set of LED units 356 and the second set of LED units 358. The first set of LED units 356 may illuminate a region around the foot of the user and may illuminate a path along which the user walks. Further, a first predator LED unit 360 is located adjacent to the first set of LED units 356 and a second predator LED unit 362 is located adjacent to the second set of LED units 358.) [Alarmro: para. 0047].
Regarding claim 5, Alamro meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.Alamro further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the start process includes outputting an activation signal to the camera (i.e. In some aspects, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture the images of the environment based on an input from the user. Positioning the camera switch 332 to the ON mode may be indicative of the user's intention to capture images of the environment. At other times, the camera 316 may remain switched off or in standby mode, thereby saving battery power) [Alarmro: para. 0047].
In the same field of endeavor, Belt further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
outputting an activation signal ((i.e. In other embodiments, where at least one
first transmitter 128 includes an active transmitter as set forth in further detail below, wireless receiver 104 listens for the transmission frequency of at least one first transmitter 128 and inputs the signal upon receiving the signal output by at least one first transmitter 128. Wireless receiver 104 may exchange signals with at least one first transmitter 128; for instance, wireless receiver 104 may transmit a query to at least one first transmitter 128 and receive data in response to the query. Wireless receiver 104 may similarly receive a signal from a second transmitter or from additional transmitters situated in a navigable space, as described in further detail below. Wireless receiver 104 may be configured to receive content data from at least one first transmitter 128 or a second transmitter. Wireless receiver 104 may be configured to receive product data from at least one first transmitter 128 or a second transmitter) [Belt: para. 0014]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt to implement the Belt’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt will enable the system to assist the visually impaired person by providing informational object located at a new location in the new navigable space [Belt: para. 0003-0005].
Regarding claim 6, Alamro meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5.Alamro and Gamerman do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the activation signal is output via a short-range wireless communication device.
In the same field of endeavor, Belt further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
wherein the activation signal is output ((i.e. In other embodiments, where at least one
first transmitter 128 includes an active transmitter as set forth in further detail below, wireless receiver 104 listens for the transmission frequency of at least one first transmitter 128 and inputs the signal upon receiving the signal output by at least one first transmitter 128. Wireless receiver 104 may exchange signals with at least one first transmitter 128; for instance, wireless receiver 104 may transmit a query to at least one first transmitter 128 and receive data in response to the query. Wireless receiver 104 may similarly receive a signal from a second transmitter or from additional transmitters situated in a navigable space, as described in further detail below. Wireless receiver 104 may be configured to receive content data from at least one first transmitter 128 or a second transmitter. Wireless receiver 104 may be configured to receive product data from at least one first transmitter 128 or a second transmitter) [Belt: para. 0014] via a short-range wireless communication device (i.e. at least one first transmitter 128 at short range) [Belt: para. 0027].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt to implement the Belt’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt will enable the system to assist the visually impaired person by providing informational object located at a new location in the new navigable space [Belt: para. 0003-0005].
Regarding claim 7, Alamro meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 5.
Alamro furthers meet the claim limitations as follow.
outputting at least one of a sound notification or a vibration notification to the user (i.e. The audio notification device 346 includes the alarm unit 304. In some aspects, the alarm unit 304 may be configured to generate a haptic feedback or haptic indication to the user, besides generation an audio notification) [Alamro: para. 0051] in response to the determination that the predetermined action has been performed in the state where the detected state of the user is the first state (i.e. Based
on the analysis of the picture, when the predator is detected, the alarm unit 304 may be configured to provide the haptic indication to the user, whereby the user may be suggested to use an ear plug or earphone since the noise of 80 dB and above may be uncomfortable or harmful to the user. In cases where the user is listening to songs via the music player 312 or radio 318, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to temporarily stop the operation of the music player 312 or radio 318, when presence of the predator is detected.) [Alamro: para. 0051]; receiving a user input made by the user after outputting at least one of the sound notification or the vibration notification, the user input being made via at least one of voice or a predetermined gesture of the user ((i.e. the method 400 includes receiving
an input from the user) [Alamro: para. 0054]; (i.e. the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture the images of the environment based on an input from the user) [Alarmro: para. 0047]); and outputting an activation signal to the camera in response to the user input (i.e. In some aspects, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture the images of the environment based on an input from the user) [Alarmro: para. 0047].
Alamro and Gamerman do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
outputting an activation signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Belt further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
outputting an activation signal ((i.e. In other embodiments, where at least one
first transmitter 128 includes an active transmitter as set forth in further detail below, wireless receiver 104 listens for the transmission frequency of at least one first transmitter 128 and inputs the signal upon receiving the signal output by at least one first transmitter 128. Wireless receiver 104 may exchange signals with at least one first transmitter 128; for instance, wireless receiver 104 may transmit a query to at least one first transmitter 128 and receive data in response to the query. Wireless receiver 104 may similarly receive a signal from a second transmitter or from additional transmitters situated in a navigable space, as described in further detail below. Wireless receiver 104 may be configured to receive content data from at least one first transmitter 128 or a second transmitter. Wireless receiver 104 may be configured to receive product data from at least one first transmitter 128 or a second transmitter) [Belt: para. 0014].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt to implement the Belt’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt will enable the system to assist the visually impaired person by providing informational object located at a new location in the new navigable space [Belt: para. 0003-0005].
Regarding claim 8, Alamro meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.
Alamro furthers meet the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the processor is further configured to (i.e. the computing device may be realized by various circuitry elements, known to those skilled in the art. For example, CPU 602 or CPU 608 may be a Xenon or Core processor from Intel of America or an Opteron processor from AMD of America, or may be other processor types that would be recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art.) [Alamro: para. 0064]: identify an object included in the image (i.e. detect salient features from the parsed image fragments, and recognize a type of object based on analysis of pixel characteristics of the detected salient features) [Alamro: para. 0050] captured by the camera (i.e. a camera unit configured to capture the surrounding and determine potential hazards based on the captured pictures) [Alamro: para. 0010; Fig. 4B]; generate the information including object information about the object (i.e. In some
aspects, recognition model to analyze the images may be embedded into the microcontroller 302. Based on such recognition model, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to determine whether a mass being analyzed in the parsed image fragments is an object present in the environment or the predator. Additionally, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to determine a rate of movement of the mass identified in the captured picture with respect to the location of the cane 100. When the rate of movement and/or distance between the mass and the cane 100 change during a certain time period, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to identify the mass as the predator. In response to such identification, the first predator LED unit 360 and the second predator LED unit 362 may be actuated, by the microcontroller 302, to flash red light. Simultaneously, the speaker 324 may be actuated, by the microcontroller 302, to generate a noise in a decibel range of about 140 dB to about 200 dB) [Alamro: para. 0050]; and provide the information including the object information to the user via sound or vibration (i.e. In some aspects, recognition model to analyze the images may be embedded into the microcontroller 302. Based on such recognition model, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to determine whether a mass being analyzed in the parsed image fragments is an object present in the environment or the predator. Additionally, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to determine a rate of movement of the mass identified in the captured picture with respect to the location of the cane 100. When the rate of movement and/or distance between the mass and the cane 100 change during a certain time period, the microcontroller 302 may be configured to identify the mass as the predator. In response to such identification, the first predator LED unit 360 and the second predator LED unit 362 may be actuated, by the microcontroller 302, to flash red light. Simultaneously, the speaker 324 may be actuated, by the microcontroller 302, to generate a noise in a decibel range of about 140 dB to about 200 dB) [Alamro: para. 0050].
Regarding claim 9, Alamro meets the claim limitations as follows:
A mobility support system ((i.e. a convertible multi-tasking cane system) [Alamro: para. 0013; Figs. 1A, 2C]; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) that supports walking of a user (i.e. the user walks with the cane) [Alamro: para. 0046] using a white cane ((i.e. a convertible multitasking cane) [Alamro: para. 0011] ; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) by notifying the user of information ((i.e. the microcontroller 302 may notify the user) [Alamro: para. 0052]; (i.e. The audio notification device 346 includes the alarm unit 304. In some aspects, the alarm unit 304 may be configured to generate a haptic feedback or haptic indication to the user, besides generation an audio notification) [Alamro: para. 0051; Fig. 3B]; (i.e. the second set of LED units 358 may be illuminated to notify the user, in addition to the audio notification and haptic indication) [Alamro: para. 0052]), the mobility support system ((i.e. a convertible multitasking cane) [Alamro: para. 0011]; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) comprising:a camera ((i.e. The multitasking multifunctional cane has a handle which is configured to convert to a seat when desired by the user, an umbrella that can be deployed from within the cane, and a camera unit configured to capture the surrounding and determine potential hazards based on the captured pictures) [Alamro: para. 0010; Fig. 3B]; (i.e. The tubular insulating structure houses a plurality of electronic devices including a microcontroller, an alarm unit, an LED display, a WiFi unit, a Bluetooth unit, an MP3 player, a GPS receiver, a USB port, a camera) [Alamro: para. 0013; Fig. 3B]); a motion sensor configured to measure a triaxial acceleration and a triaxial angular velocity of the white cane at a location where the motion sensor is attached (i.e. ) [Alamro: para. 0010]; and
the information is generated based on an image captured by the camera ((i.e. ) [Alamro: para. 0010]; (i.e. ) [Alamro: para. 0047; Fig. 5A]); and
the mobility support system ((i.e. a convertible multitasking cane) [Alamro: para. 0011]; (i.e. walking canes) [Alamro: para. 0003]) including the processor is configured to (i.e. processor) [Alamro: para. 0064]
detect a state of the user (i.e. In one aspect, at step 402, the method 400 includes actuating the ON/OFF switch 348 to turn ON the cane 100) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A] based on the triaxial acceleration and the triaxial angular velocity measured by the motion sensordetermine whether (the method includes determining) [Alamro: para. 0057] the detected state of the user is a first state or a second state based on the triaxial acceleration and the triaxial angular velocity measured by the motion sensor, the user being standing still in the first state (i.e. the method 400 includes sitting on the seat 111 formed by unfolding the handle 110, when not walking) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A], and the user being moving in the second state ((i.e. the cane 100 change during a certain time period) [Alamro: para. 0050]; (i.e. The white cane is held by the user and is then swung in a sweeping motion horizontally back and forth until it strikes an obstacle) [Gamerman: col. 1, line 61-63]; (i.e. At step 404, the method 400 includes walking while holding the handle 110 of the cane 100) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A]),determine whether (i.e. the method 500 may be executed by the microcontroller 302. At step 502, the method 500 includes determining) [Alamro: para. 0057; Fig. 5A] the user has performed a predetermined action (i.e. a predefined route for a desired destination) [Alamro: para. 0058] using the white cane based on a movement of the white cane (i.e. FIG. 5B illustrates a flowchart of a method 550 for geolocating the cane 100, according to yet another aspect of the present disclosure. In an example, the method 500 may be executed by the microcontroller 302. At step 552, the method 550 includes obtaining, by the GPS receiver 330, the current location of the cane 100 and the current time. As used herein, the term "current location" refers either to the location of the cane 100 at an instance when the GPS receiver 330 sends a signal to the microcontroller 302 or the location of the cane 100 when the microcontroller 302 fetches data from the GPS receiver 330. At step 554, the method 550 includes displaying the current location and the current time on the LED display 306. At step 556, the method 550 includes periodically generating the current location and the current time. At step 558, the method 550 includes determining a deviation in route when the current location deviates from a map route stored in the microcontroller 302. For example, a predefined route for a desired destination may be downloaded and saved in the memory 604 of the microcontroller 302. The predefined route may be obtained as a data file and may be transferred to the memory 604 of the microcontroller 302) [Alamro: para. 0058; Fig. 5B] in a state where the detected state of the user is the first state (i.e. sitting on the seat 111 formed by unfolding the handle 110, when not walking) [Alamro: para. 0053; Fig. 4A], and
execute (i.e. executing multiple functions) [Alamro: para. 0044] a start process to activate the camera (i.e. the microcontroller 302 may be configured to capture images of the surroundings and display the images on the LED display) [Alamro: para. 0047] in response to a determination that the predetermined action has been performed in the state where the detected state of the user is the first state (i.e. The multitasking multifunctional cane has a handle which is configured to convert to a seat when desired by the user, an umbrella that can be deployed from within the cane, and a camera unit configured to capture the surrounding and determine potential hazards based on the captured pictures) [Alamro: para. 0010; Fig. 4B]).
Alamro does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a motion sensor configured to measure a triaxial acceleration and a triaxial angular velocity of the white cane at a location.
However, in the same field of endeavor Gamerman further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
a motion sensor configured to measure (i.e. The SRD would include an on/off switch to allow for the device to save power and stop feedback when desired, and may have an auto-off or reduced energy state when device motion (as calculated by change in distance or by an internal motion sensor) is below a set threshold.) [Gamerman: col. 9, line 1-5] a triaxial acceleration and a triaxial angular velocity of the white cane at a location ((i.e. Small Object Identity Determination Another SRD function is to enable active object identification to determine the location of objects on a table, by allowing the user to sweep the SRD device scanning at a slower pace and area appropriate smaller object size (such as small areas and speed for smaller objects). Due to smaller object sizes the user would need to first adjust the feedback gain, or the system would automatically adjust the gain as described above, so that smaller changes could be more easily distinguished based on slower scanning sweeps over a smaller area. Small items such as writing utensils could be distinguished by their feedback response of one quick tonal or vibrational spike due to their small cross sections. Objects such as a cup would feature a longer more constant feedback spike that ascends in intensity and then descends ( curve of the cups surface). Larger objects such as a book would be identifiable due to the constant feedback drops when scanning their edges and less change along the flat surface) [Gamerman: col. 12, line 50-67]; (i.e. Another preferred embodiment includes a user toggleable gain adjustment (the relationship between the distance value and user signal for that distance) for the TOF sensor output to allow the user to modify feedback signals so that they may use the SRD device to its full potential over longer ranges as well as closer ranges, and when several objects are close or far in distance to each other. A gain adjustment would amplify more minute changes in distances than closer ranges allowing the user to easily distinguish objects. An automatic gain adjustment function (auto-gain) can also be implemented. A preliminary method would be use trailing average of recently scanned distances over a time period to calculate a gain value best suited to the recent average distance, and changes in distance. For example, if for the most recent 30 seconds, the average scanning distance was 1 meter with standard deviation of 20% and movement of 1 mis (walking), the gain would be set to maximize discrimination of changes at that distance and range of change. Changes to those values (e.g., change in speed or encountered object distances) would trigger a proportionate change in the gain) [Gamerman: col. 8, line 42-61]; (i.e. Alternative embodiments of this device could include a LiDAR sensor as opposed to the laser TOF sensor to provide for the same capabilities. In this case, a wide field LiDAR sensor generates a three-dimensional point cloud of distances and motion relative to the sensor. For this embodiment, rather than a utilizing a true optical beam (as with the TOF laser sensor), instead, a virtual beam can be simulated by computing a pseudoAim Point that is co-linear with either the sensor face (e.g., a computed ray line extending perpendicular from the sensor center), or projected from an anatomically mounted or held element with a position and direction that is defined for the system such that a pseudoAim Point can be computed and communicated to the user) [Gamerman: col. 5, line 38-50]; (i.e. Optimally, the data from the mapping system and other sensors (e.g., the SWAD and/or OIIS) monitors and calculates the relative position and/or motion of the user and/or scanned from mapped objects and obstacles and calculates a risk of collision with the those envelopes and may also calculate the projected velocity at intersection so that the intended low velocity collisions (e.g., approaching a door slowly to open can be differentiated for an unintended hazard (e.g., approaching a narrow pole in the critical envelope zone at a high walking speed. The data on the actual or calculated intersection between an object and the user or defined envelope, can be used to provide variable defined alerts to the user or explicitly communicate (via haptic, audio or spoken system to user communication) on the actual or projected zone of intersection, and/or relative direction, height and/or speed of the object and user at the actual or projected intersection point and/or projected time of and/or distance to intersection) [Gamerman: col. 15, line 20-37] – Note: “a wide field LiDAR sensor generates a three-dimensional point cloud of distances and motion relative to the sensor” of Gamerman discloses “measure a triaxial acceleration and a triaxial angular velocity”).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro with Gamerman to implement the Gamerman’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro with Gamerman will enable the system to allow the device to aid a user to navigate their environment, acquire spatial awareness, locate and identify objects and obstacles from close to extended distances [Gamerman: col. 1, line 29-32].
In the same field of endeavor Belt further discloses the claim limitations as follows:
detect a state of the user ((i.e. User feature data may include state information) [Belt: para. 0096]; (i.e. Feature data may include user feature data. User feature data is defined herein as any data describing user feature 212 or portions or contents thereof. User feature data may include operational data, defined herein as information required to complete operation of a user feature 212. Operational data may include location relative to the user or to a point in navigable space 200 at which the operation may be instigated or performed; for instance, wayfinding data may indicate to the user where to stand) [Belt: para. 0095]: (i.e. State information may be information that describes the current state of a user feature) [Belt: para. 0096]),determine whether the detected state of the user is a first state where the user is standing still (i.e. Feature data may include user feature data. User feature data is defined herein as any data describing user feature 212 or portions or contents thereof. User feature data may include operational data, defined herein as information required to complete operation of a user feature 212. Operational data may include location relative to the user or to a point in navigable space 200 at which the operation may be instigated or performed; for instance, wayfinding data may indicate to the user where to stand) [Belt: para. 0095] or a second state where the user is moving (i.e. User presence sensor 148 may be a motion sensor that detects the movement of a person in a particular location.) [Belt: para. 0019].a motion sensor configured to measure a triaxial acceleration and a triaxial angular velocity of the white cane at a location (i.e. portable computing device 160 may use IMU 180 to determine the direction and speed of motion of portable computing device 160 from an initial position; portable computing device 160 may use this to determine where the user is within the navigable space 200 and to determine whether the user is following a path within the navigable space 200) [Belt: para. 0138].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt to implement the Belt’s method.
Therefore, the combination of Alamro and Gamerman with Belt will enable the system to assist the visually impaired person by providing informational object located at a new location in the new navigable space [Belt: para. 0003-0005].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information