DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama et al. (US20230268572A1, hereby referred to as Akiyama ‘572) in view of Akiyama (US20220393265A1, hereby referred to as Akiyama ‘265).
Regarding claim 1, Akiyama ‘572 discloses a power storage module (See annotated Fig. 4 of Akiyama ‘572 below), comprising: a plurality of mutually stacked bipolar electrodes (Fig. 4, bipolar electrodes 10); a positive terminal electrode (Fig. 4, positive current collector 20) disposed on one side of the plurality of bipolar electrodes in a stacking direction of the plurality of bipolar electrodes (See Fig. 4, positive current collector 20 on the lower side);
a negative terminal electrode (Fig. 4, negative current collector 21) disposed on another side of the plurality of bipolar electrodes in the stacking direction (See Fig. 4, negative current collector 21 on the upper side);
a positive electrode current collector plate (Fig. 4, positive electrode collector plate 50) disposed to be stacked directly with a surface of the positive terminal electrode (20) on an opposite side to a surface facing the bipolar electrodes in the stacking direction (See Fig. 4, positive electrode collector plate 50 in contact with positive current collector 20), and electrically connected ([0069]) to the positive terminal electrode (20);
a negative electrode current collector plate (Fig. 4, negative electrode collector plate 40) disposed to be stacked directly with a surface of the negative terminal electrode on an opposite side to a surface facing the bipolar electrodes in the stacking direction (See Fig. 4, negative electrode collector plate 40 in contact with negative current collector 21), and electrically connected ([0069]) to the negative terminal electrode (21).
Annotated Fig. 4 of Akiyama ‘572
Akiyama ‘572 does not explicitly disclose that the positive electrode current collector plate has a positive electrode side voltage detection portion provided at a position not overlapping the positive terminal electrode in the stacking direction, and the negative electrode current collector plate has a negative electrode side voltage detection portion provided at a position not overlapping the negative terminal electrode in the stacking direction.
However, Akiyama ‘572 discloses a voltage measurement terminal in contact with a current collector and can be arranged in different positions ([0122]).
It would have been well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the position of the positive and negative electrode voltage detection portions of Akiyama ‘574 such that the positive electrode current collector plate has a positive electrode side voltage detection portion provided at a position not overlapping the positive terminal electrode in the stacking direction, and the negative electrode current collector plate has a negative electrode side voltage detection portion provided at a position not overlapping the negative terminal electrode in the stacking direction because, as disclosed by Akiyama ‘572, the voltage detection portion can be placed in different positions in contact with a current collector absent unexpected results.
Akiyama ‘572 does not disclose a positive electrode side short circuit member with one end thereof connected to the positive terminal electrode and another end thereof connected to the positive electrode current collector plate, the positive electrode side short circuit member electrically connecting the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate; and
a negative electrode side short circuit member with one end thereof connected to the negative terminal electrode and another end thereof connected to the negative electrode current collector plate, the negative electrode side short circuit member electrically connecting the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate, wherein the other end of the positive electrode side short circuit member is connected to the positive electrode side voltage detection portion, and the other end of the negative electrode side short circuit member is connected to the negative electrode side voltage detection portion.
Akiyama ‘265 discloses a power storage device with multiple bipolar electrodes (See annotated Fig. 2 of Akiyama ‘265 below) in which a positive electrode side short circuit member ([0058] sealing member 15 can also function as a short circuit member) with one end thereof connected to the positive terminal electrode (Fig. 2, positive termination electrode 18 in contact with sealing member 15) and another end thereof connected to the positive electrode current collector plate (Fig. 2, positive current collecting plate 12 in contact with sealing member 15), the positive electrode side short circuit member electrically connecting the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate ([0059] sealing member 15 welded to electrodes); and
a negative electrode side short circuit member ([0058] sealing member 15 can also function as a short circuit member) with one end thereof connected to the negative terminal electrode (Fig. 2, negative termination electrode 19 in contact with sealing member 15) and another end thereof connected to the negative electrode current collector plate (Fig. 2, negative current collecting plate 13 in contact with sealing member 15), the negative electrode side short circuit member electrically connecting the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate ([0059] sealing member 15 welded to electrodes), wherein the other end of the positive electrode side short circuit member is connected to the positive electrode side voltage detection portion (Fig. 2, positive current collecting plate 12 in contact with sealing member 15), and the other end of the negative electrode side short circuit member is connected to the negative electrode side voltage detection portion (Fig. 2, negative current collecting plate 13 in contact with sealing member 15).
Annotated Fig. 2 of Akiyama ‘265
Akiyama ‘265 also discloses that the short circuit member can prevent a short circuit between the bipolar electrodes of the stacked body ([0058]).
Akiyama ‘572 and Akiyama ‘265 are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely power storage devices with bipolar electrodes.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the power storage device of Akiyama ‘572 such that there is a positive electrode side short circuit member with one end thereof connected to the positive terminal electrode and another end thereof connected to the positive electrode current collector plate, the positive electrode side short circuit member electrically connecting the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate; and a negative electrode side short circuit member with one end thereof connected to the negative terminal electrode and another end thereof connected to the negative electrode current collector plate, the negative electrode side short circuit member electrically connecting the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate, wherein the other end of the positive electrode side short circuit member is connected to the positive electrode side voltage detection portion, and the other end of the negative electrode side short circuit member is connected to the negative electrode side voltage detection portion as taught by Akiyama ‘265 in order to prevent a short circuit between the bipolar electrodes of the stacked body.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akiyama ‘572 (US20230268572A1) and Akiyama ‘265 (US20220393265A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US20230178863A1) and Tanabe (US20200358105A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Akiyama ‘572 discloses the power storage module according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein an electrical resistance between the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate in a contact region where the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate make contact via the positive electrode side conductive adhesive material or directly is lower than an electrical resistance between the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode side voltage detection portion via the positive electrode side short circuit member; and
an electrical resistance between the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate in a contact region where the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate make contact via the negative electrode side conductive adhesive material or directly is lower than an electrical resistance between the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode side voltage detection portion via the negative electrode side short circuit member.
Lee discloses a battery ([0006]) in which an electrical resistance between the positive terminal electrode ([0046] electrode terminal 180) and the positive electrode current collector plate ([0046] cap plate 130) in a contact region where the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate make contact directly is lower ([0046] electrical connection member material is higher resistance than the cap plate 130 or electrode terminal 180) than an electrical resistance between the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode side voltage detection portion via the positive electrode side short circuit member ([0046] electrical connection member 190); and
an electrical resistance between the negative terminal electrode ([0046] electrode terminal 180) and the negative electrode current collector plate ([0046] cap plate 130) in a contact region where the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate make contact directly is lower ([0046] electrical connection member material is higher resistance than the cap plate 130 or electrode terminal 180) than an electrical resistance between the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode side voltage detection portion via the negative electrode side short circuit member ([0046] electrical connection member 190).
Tanaba discloses an energy storage device in which an increase in the electric resistance of the electrical connection member ([0007] intermediate layer) results in inhibiting short-circuit current ([0007]).
Lee and Tanabe are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely energy storage devices.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the electrical resistance of the positive and negative terminal electrodes of modified Akiyama ’572 such that an electrical resistance between the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate in a contact region where the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode current collector plate make contact via the positive electrode side conductive adhesive material or directly is lower than an electrical resistance between the positive terminal electrode and the positive electrode side voltage detection portion via the positive electrode side short circuit member; and an electrical resistance between the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate in a contact region where the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode current collector plate make contact via the negative electrode side conductive adhesive material or directly is lower than an electrical resistance between the negative terminal electrode and the negative electrode side voltage detection portion via the negative electrode side short circuit member as taught by Lee in order to inhibit the short-circuit current and improve safety as taught by Tanabe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Watanabe et al. (US20040253512A1) discloses a power storage device with bipolar electrodes with an adhesive resin group ([0037])
Itou et al. (US20070082265A1) discloses a battery with bipolar electrodes with detection tabs to detect voltage ([0103])
Suzuki et al. (US20130157092A1) discloses a battery with bipolar electrodes with voltage reduction caused by contact resistance between the internal resistance of the current collector and the electrode ([0065])
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754