DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lou et al. (US 8858243 B2).
In regard to claim 17, Lou et al. discloses a ground contact connecting member 30, comprising:
a support portion 305 extending in a first direction (see annotated drawing below) and adapted to be fixed to an installation portion of a connector housing 10; and
a plurality of contacting beams 301, 303 extending from the support portion in a second direction (see annotated drawing below), perpendicular to the first direction, the contacting beams adapted to contact a plurality of ground contacts 2011 arranged in the connector housing 10 in a third direction (see annotated drawing below) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (see figures 6 and 7).
In regard to claim 18, Lou et al. discloses the support portion 305 includes a link portion (portions of 305 between 301, 303) connecting fixed ends of the contacting beams 301, 303 in the first direction and in the second direction.
In regard to claim 19, Lou et al. discloses the support portion 305 further includes at least one press-fit portion 3051 provided at the link portion and adapted to be press-fitted into the installation portion in the third direction.
[AltContent: textbox (2nd direction)][AltContent: textbox (3rd direction)][AltContent: textbox (1st direction)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hisamatsu et al. (US 7320623 B2).
In regard to claim 17, Hisamatsu et al. discloses a ground contact connecting member 16, comprising:
a support portion 16a extending in a first direction A2 and adapted to be fixed to an installation portion of a connector housing 13; and
a plurality of contacting beams 16e extending from the support portion in a second direction A1, perpendicular to the first direction A2, the contacting beams 16e adapted to contact a plurality of ground contacts (mating contacts from a mating connector) arranged in the connector housing 13 in a third direction A3 perpendicular to the first direction A2 and the second direction A1.
In regard to claim 18, Hisamatsu et al. discloses the support portion 16a includes a link portion (portions of 16a between 16b, 16c, 16d) connecting fixed ends of the contacting beams 16e in the first direction and in the second direction.
In regard to claim 19, Hisamatsu et al. discloses the support portion 16a further includes at least one press-fit portion 16c provided at the link portion and adapted to be press-fitted into the installation portion in the third direction.
In regard to claim 20, Hisamatsu et al. discloses the press-fit portion 16c is a tab bent on one side in the second direction of the link portion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regard to claim 1, the best references US 8858243 B2, US 7320623 B2 and US 9583882 B1 fail to provide, teach or suggest
a plurality of contacts arranged along a predetermined first direction in a first row and in a second row in parallel with the first row, a portion of the contacts of the first row and a portion of the contacts of the second row adjacent to the first row in a second direction; and in combination with other limitations in claim 1.
In regard to claim 9, the best references US 8858243 B2, US 7320623 B2 and US 9583882 B1 fail to provide, teach or suggest
a first connector, including: a plurality of contacts arranged in a plurality of rows;
a connector housing; and a stationary housing retaining the plurality of contacts with the connector housing and supporting the connector housing via the plurality of contacts; and in combination with other limitations in claim 9.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Conclusion
Tdt
12/3/2025
/THO D TA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834