DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 2 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2: On line 3, “opposition directions” is grammatically incorrect and should recite “opposite directions”. Claim 13: On line 8, “opposition directions” is grammatically incorrect and should recite “opposite directions”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 5 recites the limitation “ the fluid flowing” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, this is written as a method step and therefore, i t is unclear the meets and bounds of the claim since this limitation appears to be a method step while the claims are directed to an apparatus. For the sake of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as reciting “the fluid connector device is configured such that a fluid flowing ”. Claim 6 recites the limitation “ the fluid flowing” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, this is written as a method step and therefore, i t is unclear the meets and bounds of the claim since this limitation appears to be a method step while the claims are directed to an apparatus. For the sake of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as reciting “the fluid connector device is configured such that a fluid flowing ”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-6, 11- 14, 16 , 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Burkholz (US 2021/0128037). Regarding Claim 1, Burkholz discloses a fluid connector device (Device of Fig 1F) , comprising: a first connector (38, 50, Fig 1F) ; a second connector (16, 48, Fig 1F) that combines with the first connector to form an internal chamber (fluid pathway 22, Fig 1F) ; and a switchable flow channel device (42, Fig 1F) with a distal and a proximal end that is contained within the internal chamber (the switchable flow channel device is at least partially contained within the fluid pathway) (Para 0068 -0069 ) . Regarding Claim 2, Burkholz discloses the switchable flow channel device (42, Fig 1F) comprises two flow channels (44a, 44b, Fig 1D) that are fluidly connected to the first connector and the second connector that allow for a fluid to flow in opposit e directions through the switchable flow channel device (Para 0002; the catheter can infuse medication or withdraw blood. As there are no valves or structures to prevent flow in opposite directions, the flow controller is capable of flow in opposite directions and meet the limitations) . Regarding Claim 3, Burkholz discloses the switchable flow channel device has two modes of use, an infusion mode and a blood draw mode (Para 0068, the switchable flow channel device has at least two modes of use, i.e. 44a-44d) . Regarding Claim 4, Burkholz discloses the switchable flow channel device is manually rotated to switch between the infusion mode towards the blood draw mode (Para 0068) . Regarding Claim 5, Burkholz discloses the fluid connector device is configured such that a fluid flowing from the first connector to the second connector is an intravenous (IV) fluid (Para 0062; as the second connector 16 is connected to the catheter adaptor 18, fluid flowing from the first to the second connector would be IV fluid) . Regarding Claim 6, Burkholz discloses the fluid connector device is configured such that a fluid flowing from the second connector to the first connector is blood (Para 0061-0062; as the second connector 16 is connected to the catheter adaptor 18, fluid flowing from the second to the first connector would be blood). Regarding Claim 11, Burkholz discloses the flow channel (44a) that is used for the blood draw mode is smaller in diameter than the flow channel (44b) used in the infusion mode (Para 0069) . Regarding Claim 12, Burkholz discloses a blood collection system, comprising: a blood collection device (14, Fig 1A) ; and a fluid connector device (Device of Fig 1F , Para 0077 ) fluidly coupled to the blood collection device (Para 0064) , the fluid connector device comprising: a first connector (38, 50, Fig 1F); a second connector (16, 48, Fig 1F) that combines with the first connector to form an internal chamber (fluid pathway 22, Fig 1F); and a switchable flow channel device (42, Fig 1F) with a distal and a proximal end that is contained within the internal chamber (the switchable flow channel device is at least partially contained within the fluid pathway) (Para 0068-0069) . Regarding Claim 13, Burkholz discloses a method for using a fluid connector device (Device of Fig 1F ) comprising: rotating a switchable flow channel device within the fluid connector device to switch between two modes of use (Para 0068-0069) , the fluid connector device comprising: a first connector (38, 50, Fig 1F); a second connector (16, 48, Fig 1F) that combines with the first connector to form an internal chamber (fluid pathway 22, Fig 1F) , wherein the switchable flow channel device comprises two flow channels (44a, 44b, Fig 1D) that are fluidly connected to the first connector and the second connector that allow for a fluid to flow in opposition directions through the switchable flow channel device (Para 0002; the catheter can infuse medication or withdraw blood. As there are no valves or structures to prevent flow in opposite directions, the flow controller allows flow in opposite directions and meet the limitations) . Regarding Claim 14, Burkholz discloses the two modes of use are an infusion mode and a blood draw mode (Para 0002; the catheter can infuse medication or withdraw blood ) . Regarding Claim 16, Burkholz discloses the fluid flowing from the second connector to the first connector is blood (Para 0061-0062; as the second connector 16 is connected to the catheter adaptor 18, fluid flowing from the second to the first connector would be blood) . Regarding Claim 18, Burkholz discloses an axis (axis formed by pin 52, Fig 1F) on which the switchable flow channel device is rotated is spaced from the center (center axis formed by the fluid pathway 22, Fig 1F) of the fluid connector device. Regarding Claim 19, Burkholz discloses the flow channel (44a) that is used for the blood draw mode is smaller in diameter than the flow channel (44b) used in the infusion mode (Para 0069) . Claims 1 3 , 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kriesel (US 6,095,491) . Regarding Claim 13, Kriesel discloses a method for using a fluid connector device (14, Fig 1) comprising: rotating a switchable flow channel device (40, Fig 6) within the fluid connector device to switch between two modes of use (Col 4, lines 48-67) , the fluid connector device comprising: a first connector (32, Fig 4) ; and a second connector (36, Fig 4) that combines with the first connector to form an internal chamber (28, Fig 4) , wherein the switchable flow channel device comprises two flow channels (there are at least 2 flow channels 58, See Fig 2 ) that are fluidly connected to the first connector and the second connector that allow for a fluid to flow in opposition directions through the switchable flow channel device (As there are no valves or structures to prevent flow in opposite directions, the flow controller allows flow in opposite directions and meet the limitations) . Regarding Claim 17, Kriesel discloses the switchable flow channel device comprises a plurality of O-rings (52, Fig 4) on each of the proximal and distal ends of the switchable flow channel device (See Fig 4) . Regarding Claim 20, Kriesel discloses when the O-rings (52, Fig 4) are rotated into position and aligned in the fluid connector device (they rotate relative to the control mechanism 40) , either in the infusion mode or the blood draw mode, the device will provide a tactile response to indicate to the user that the switchable flow channel device is ready for operation (Col 4, lines 27-47; the locking member 80 moving into engagement with a groove 50a is a tactile response that shows that the switchable flow channel is aligned with one of the restrictors 58 and ready to use) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. Claim s 7, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over B urkholz (US 2021/0128037) in view of Seagle (US 3,877,428) . Regarding Claim 7, Burkholz discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the switchable flow channel device comprises a plurality of O-rings on each of the proximal and distal ends of the switchable flow channel device. Seagle teaches an analogous fluid connector device (10, Fig 3) comprising a switchable flow channel device (44, Fig 1) comprising comprises a plurality of O-rings (32, 70, Fig 1) on each of the proximal and distal ends of the switchable flow channel device (Col 3, lines 65-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switchable flow channel device to comprise a plurality of O-rings as taught by Seagle in order to ensure a fluid tight seal through the flow channel (Col 3, lines 65-67). Regarding Claim 15, While Burkholz’s device appears to be capable of flow in opposite directions since there are no valves or structures to prevent flow in opposite directions, Burkholz does not explicitly teach the step of fluid flowing from the first connector to the second connector is an intravenous (IV) fluid. Seagle teaches an analogous fluid connector device (10, Fig 3) comprising a switchable flow channel device (44, Fig 1) wherein the fluid flowing from the first connector ( 92, Fig 1 ) to the second connector (16, Fig 1) is an intravenous (IV) fluid (Col 4, lines 44-55; Col 5, lines 27-37). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method to couple the fluid connector device to an intravenous fluid source such that fluid flowing from the first connector to the second connector is an intravenous (IV) fluid as taught by Seagle in order to selectively control the rate of administration of fluids to a patient (Abstract). Regarding Claim 17, Burkholz discloses all of the elements of the invention as discussed above, however, is silent regarding the switchable flow channel device comprises a plurality of O-rings on each of the proximal and distal ends of the switchable flow channel device. Seagle teaches an analogous fluid connector device (10, Fig 3) comprising a switchable flow channel device (44, Fig 1) comprising comprises a plurality of O-rings (32, 70, Fig 1) on each of the proximal and distal ends of the switchable flow channel device (Col 3, lines 65-67). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switchable flow channel device to comprise a plurality of O-rings as taught by Seagle in order to ensure a fluid tight seal through the flow channel (Col 3, lines 65-67). Claims 8-10 a re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkholz (US 2021/0128037) in view of Franano (US 2017/0258981) . Regarding Claim 8, Burkholz discloses a pin (52, Fig 1F) that provide an axis that the switchable flow channel device can rotate around , however, is silent regarding alignment posts extending from the first connector and the second connector. Franano discloses a rotary device (25, Fig 2) comprising a pin (145, Fig 4B) and further comprises alignment posts (130, 160, Fig 4B) extending from the first connector (125, 135, Fig 4B) and the second connector (165, Fig 4B) that provide an axis that the impeller can rotate around (Para 0146). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fluid connector device to include alignment posts to support the pin as taught by Franano in order to restrain movement of the switchable flow channel device in all degrees of freedom except rotation (Para 0146). Regarding Claim 9, the modified invention of Burkholz and Franano discloses the alignment posts (130, 160, FI g4B -Franano) are not aligned in a center of the fluid connector device ( T he alignment posts of Franano would be aligned with pin 52 of Burkholz . Therefore, the alignment posts would not be aligned with the center axis formed by the fluid pathway 22, Fig 1F of Burkholz). Regarding Claim 10, the modified invention of Burkholz and Franano discloses the axis on which switchable flow channel is rotated is asymmetrical, or off-center from the fluid connector device (the alignment posts would not be aligned with the center axis formed by the fluid pathway 22, Fig 1F of Burkholz. Therefore, it is off-center or asymmetrical relative to the center axis) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ANTARIUS S DANIEL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-8074 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7:00am to 4:30pm EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Kevin Sirmons can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-4965 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ANTARIUS S DANIEL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BRANDY S LEE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785