DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 12/6/2023.
The Examiner notes claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 1 is/are currently amended; all other claims are original or previously presented.
Please see the Response to Amendments and Response to Arguments sections below for more details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad (US 20200367708) in view of Mahalingappa et al. (US 20190217460), hereinafter Conrad & Mahalingappa.
Regarding claim 1. Conrad discloses a cleaner [100] comprising:
a cleaner main body [¶324 & ¶420; 106] comprising
a suction motor [¶420; 124] and a battery module [¶7, ¶30, ¶419, ¶548; battery packs/battery modules are provided in the cleaner;]; and
a control module [Fig 1-2; ¶4, ¶46-¶47, ¶56; The handle (110) contains a control module comprising a power switch (318) and internal circuitry (320)] configured to control an operation of the cleaner [¶268-¶272 & ¶588; the control circuitry (i.e. control module) controls the cleaner], the control module being mountable on and separable from the cleaner main body [¶550] and comprising a main processor [¶583 & ¶607; 320 can have a microprocessor] configured to communicate with the battery module at a preset interval in a state in which the control module is mounted on the cleaner main body [¶583, ¶588, ¶600; 320 communicates with the battery to control power from the battery to the suction motor],
wherein … the battery module is configured to identify that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body based on not receiving a communication signal from the control module for a preset first time period or longer and to stop a supply of power to the cleaner main body [¶583, ¶588, ¶600; if 320 is removed from the main body, at least by removing the handle containing 320, the battery stops supplying power to the main body when it no longer receives the communication signal from the power switch (318) which is part of the control module].
Conrad may not explicitly disclose a processor of the battery module
However Mahalingappa teaches a control module that is useable in power tools which includes drills and can be used with the control module of Conrad as Conrad’s control module can be used with power tool [Conrad: ¶585 & ¶589-¶590] and therefore are analogous.
Mahalingappa teaches a battery powered tool [10] comprising:
a main body [20] comprising
a motor [22] and a battery module [Fig 1-2; 30 is the battery module and the main body comprises 22 & 30]; and
a control module [Fig 1-2; 50] configured to control an operation of the tool [Abstract & ¶31; 50 controls the tools operation], the control module being mountable on and separable from the tool main body [Fig 1-2; Abstract] and comprising a main processor [Fig 1; 55] configured to communicate with the battery module at a preset interval in a state in which the control module is mounted on the tool main body [¶32-¶33; 55 communicates with the battery module at intervals when mounted to the tool],
wherein a processor of the battery module [Fig 2; ¶28; 30 has a processor that performs the actions/function of the battery module] is configured to identify that the control module is separated from the tool main body based on not receiving a communication signal from the control module for a preset first time period or longer and to stop a supply of power to the tool main body [¶41; if 30 does not detect 50 then the tool reverts to a pre-determined mode and in ¶37 the locked mode is the pre-determined mode that stops supply of power to the main body to prevent use without 50],
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool as disclosed by Conrad to further comprise a processor of the battery module perform the configured actions of the battery module as taught by Mahalingappa for the purpose of a safety/security feature of preventing the motor from running without the control module to place the cleaner into an unlocked mode [Mahalingappa: ¶37].
Regarding claim 2. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 1, wherein the battery module is further configured to stop output of a light-emitting diode (LED) display provided in the battery module based on identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body [Conrad: Fig 15; ¶548, ¶595, & ¶597; 100 can have a display 364 on the handle and if it is removed from the main body which has the battery module (¶548) then the battery module will stop power output to the display].
Regarding claim 3. Conrad discloses the cleaner of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose further comprising a first processor configured to control the suction motor and to identify that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body and to stop a driving of the suction motor based on not receiving a communication signal from the control module for a preset second time period or longer.
However Mahalingappa further teaches a first processor [¶30-¶31; 40 has at least one processor] configured to control the motor and to identify that the control module is separated from the tool main body and to stop a driving of the motor based on not receiving a communication signal from the control module for a preset second time period or longer [¶28, ¶30-¶31, ¶37, & ¶41; 30 and 40 in conjunction stop the driving of the motor when 50 is removed and 30 places the tool into a locked mode].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool as disclosed by Conrad to further comprise a first processor configured to control the suction motor and to identify that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body and to stop a driving of the suction motor based on not receiving a communication signal from the control module for a preset second time period or longer as taught by Mahalingappa for the purpose of a safety/security feature of preventing the motor from running without the control module to place the cleaner into an unlocked mode [Mahalingappa: ¶37].
Regarding claim 4. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 3, wherein the preset second time period is longer than the preset first time period [This is intended use of the battery module and the first processor of the cleaner. Therefore the battery module can cut off power to the main body before the processor in the main body sets the motor into a locked mode].
Regarding claim 5. Conrad as modified teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the first processor is further configured to stop a driving of a brush device connected to the cleaner main body [The processor in 30 of Mahalingappa when in Conrad can control a brushing device (150) that is attached to the cleaner] by controlling a switch element used to supply power to the brush device based on identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body [Conrad: ¶548 & ¶605; the cleaner has multiple switches for controlling the vacuum and brushing device therefore when control module is removed the first processor can control the switch for the brushing device to stop the driving of the brushing device].
Regarding claim 6. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 1, wherein the control module further comprises: an output interface configured to output information related to a state of the cleaner [Conrad: Fig 15; ¶548, ¶595, & ¶597; 100 can have a display 364 on the handle that can output information about the state of 100]; an input interface configured to receive an input for manipulating the cleaner [the control module can have the power switch (318) that can receive input for manipulating/operating the cleaner]; and a memory storing information related to the operation of the cleaner [Conrad: ¶607; the control module includes memory], wherein the main processor is further configured to identify that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body based on not receiving a communication signal from the battery module for the first preset time period or longer [Conrad: ¶548; When the control module is removed with the handle the main processor of the control module is removed and is separate from the battery module in the main body and no longer receives an electrical signal from the battery module].
Regarding claim 7. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 6, wherein the main processor is further configured to: power off the output interface and ignore a user input received through the input interface based on identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body [Conrad: ¶548 & ¶588; with the batteries in the main body when the control module is removed (110) then the output interface (screen) will be powered off and inputs from the input interface (318) will be ignored].
Regarding claim 8. Conrad as modified teaches cleaner of claim 6, wherein the main processor is further configured to store operation history information corresponding to a time point of identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body in the memory [Conrad: ¶268, ¶274, ¶591, ¶597-¶598, & ¶655-¶657; the main processor can store history information or profiles at the time it detects is has been disconnected from the cleaner].
Regarding claim 9. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose further comprising a blocking device connected to a plurality of loads including the suction motor, the blocking device being configured to selectively block a supply of power from the battery module to at least one of the plurality of loads based on identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body.
However Mahalingappa teaches that a power tool using a detachable control module further comprising a blocking device connected to a plurality of loads including the suction motor, the blocking device being configured to selectively block a supply of power from the battery module to at least one of the plurality of loads based on identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body [¶29; 30 controls if power can flow from the battery module to various components of the tool and in ¶37 30 can detect that the control module (50) has been removed and block supply of power to various parts of the tool to place the tool into a locked state of operation].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tool as disclosed by Conrad to further comprise a blocking device connected to a plurality of loads including the suction motor, the blocking device being configured to selectively block a supply of power from the battery module to at least one of the plurality of loads based on identifying that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body as taught by Mahalingappa for the purpose of a safety/security feature of preventing the motor from running without the control module to place the cleaner into an unlocked mode [Mahalingappa: ¶37].
Regarding claim 10. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 1, wherein the control module is further configured to measure a measured battery supply voltage applied from the battery module to the control module and to determine whether the control module is separated from the cleaner main body based on the measured battery supply voltage [Conrad: ¶548 & ¶591; the control module measures and then displays the battery power levels (i.e. measures the battery supply voltage) and when the control module is removed with the handle the control module is removed and is separated from the battery module in the main body and can determine it has separated by not receives an electrical signal from the battery module].
Regarding claim 11. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 10, wherein the control module is further configured to identify that the control module is separated from the cleaner main body based on a voltage drop rate of the measured battery supply voltage being greater than a threshold value [Based on the same reasons as claim 10, when the battery module no longer supplies power to the control module, the control module can determine that it has been separated based on the supplied battery voltage dropping below a threshold].
Regarding claim 12. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 11, wherein the control module is further configured to receive data comprising a battery supply voltage from the battery module and to store information related to a current operation state of the cleaner in a memory based on a difference between the battery supply voltage included in the data and the measured battery supply voltage being greater than a preset reference value [Conrad: ¶591, ¶591, ¶596, & ¶655; The control module can store information about the battery module based on the battery module’s data (i.e. battery voltage) and compare to current data and historical data (i.e. display how much battery charge is left compared to what the maximum charge can be)].
Regarding claim 13. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 1, further comprising a socket arranged in the cleaner main body and by which the control module is supportable, wherein the control module is attachable to and separable from the socket by being slid in an upward direction and a downward direction, respectively [Conrad: Fig 15-19; the control module inside of 110 is mountable on a socket arrangement (334 & 336 form the socket arrangement); the control module is removeable in and upward and downward direction (see Fig 16) as the direction is defined as the extending along 132].
Regarding claim 14. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 13, wherein: the cleaner main body further comprises a handle to be held by a user, and the control module is located above the handle and at a rear of a filter housing [Conrad: Fig 16; the control module can be located at the top portion of 110 which is above 310 (i.e. handle where the user grasps); the control module is also rear of the filter (134)].
Regarding claim 15. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 14, wherein the filter housing is separable from the cleaner main body in a backward direction [Conrad: Fig 16; ¶491; forward side of cleaner is the side with 124 and the backward side of the cleaner is the side opposite the forward side with the filter (134); the filter is removable in a backward direction; The Examiner notes that Fig 31-34 show other ways the filter can be removed].
Regarding claim 16. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 15, wherein the control module further comprises a locking unit [Conrad: ¶534, ¶587, & ¶592; the control module has a locking unit that can be any suitable, releasable fasteners or locking mechanisms, including latches, rotary couplings and the like] but may not explicitly disclose that the locking unit is inserted into the handle when the control module is mounted on the cleaner main body, wherein: the locking unit comprises a locking hole, a screw fastening hole to be aligned with the locking hole is arranged in the handle, and the control module is fixable to the cleaner main body by a tightening of a screw into the locking hole through the screw fastening hole.
However Mahalingappa teaches that a power tool using a detachable control module [50] further comprising the locking unit is inserted into the handle when the control module is mounted on the cleaner main body [Fig 2; ¶40; the fasteners shown in the fig and associated structure all comprise the locking unit that is inserted into the handle; 18 is considered the upper portion of the handle as already disclosed by Conrad], wherein: the locking unit comprises a locking hole, a screw fastening hole to be aligned with the locking hole is arranged in the handle [Fig 2], and the control module is fixable to the cleaner main body by a tightening of a screw into the locking hole through the screw fastening hole [¶531, ¶534, & ¶550; The control module can be fixed to the main body by tightening the screw(s) in the locking hole through the screw fastener hole].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control module as disclosed by Conrad to have the control module to be separable from the handle or the main body with a locking unit, the locking unit is inserted into the handle when the control module is mounted on the cleaner main body, wherein: the locking unit comprises a locking hole, a screw fastening hole to be aligned with the locking hole is arranged in the handle, and the control module is fixable to the cleaner main body by a tightening of a screw into the locking hole through the screw fastening hole as taught by Mahalingappa for the purpose of an alternate configuration of detachable internal electronics as taught by Conrad to allowing the control module to switch between power tools that have their own batteries [Conrad: ¶595-¶598; the screen can be on a removable part of the vacuum and Mahalingappa teaches that the screen and control module are removed together separate from the grip portion]; further Mahalingappa teaches a specific fixing structure that Conrad discloses is possible [Conrad: ¶534].
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conrad in view of Mahalingappa further in view of 박춘기 et al. (KR 102293353), hereinafter Park.
Regarding claim 17. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 16, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the control module is further configured to detect a separation of the screw from the locking hole through one of a tunnel magnetoresistance (TMR) sensor and a microswitch arranged in the locking unit.
However Park teaches a control module [Fig 2; 151] that is separated from the main body [Fig 2 & 6-7; 151 is separatable from the main body (111)]; wherein the control module is further configured to detect a separation of the fastening member [174] from the locking hole [127] through a microswitch [180] arranged in the locking unit [Fig 6-7; ¶46 of the translation].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control module as taught by Conrad as modified to have the control module is further configured to detect a separation of the screw from the locking hole through a microswitch arranged in the locking unit as taught by Park for the purpose of detecting when the control module is connected to the cleaner/tool [Park: ¶46 of the translation].
Regarding claim 18. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 17, wherein the control module is further configured to output a notification message that the control module is unable to be separated from the cleaner main body through an output interface based on a detection of a separation of the screw from the locking hole while the cleaner is in operation [The control module as currently taught by Conrad as modified can detect that the screw is in the locking hole via the microswitch and can indicate that the screw is in place therefore the control module cannot be removed].
Regarding claim 19. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 17, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the control module is further configured to transmit information that the control module is unable to be separated from the cleaner main body [Conrad: The display screen can transmit information to a user] to a server device connected to a mobile terminal of the user based on a detection of a separation of the screw from the locking hole while the cleaner is in operation [Mahalingappa teaches the use of screw(s) to secure the control module and Park teaches a microswitch to detect the screw(s) therefore the control module that can communicate instructions and sensor data to the display such as the screw is in the locking hole (i.e. a detection of a separation of the screw, which is interpreted as either positive for screw separation or negative for screw being in place) and therefore with the screw in place the control module cannot be removed].
However Mahalingappa further teaches wherein the control module is further configured to transmit information to a mobile terminal of the user based on a detection of a separation of the screw from the locking hole while the cleaner is in operation [¶9 & ¶35; the control module that can communicate instructions and sensor data to a wireless communication device (i.e. mobile terminal of the user)].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control module as taught by Conrad as modified to have the control module be configured to transmit information to a server device connected to a mobile terminal of the user as taught by Mahalingappa for the purpose of extending the capabilities of the controller in sending and receiving information [Mahalingappa: ¶9, ¶35, & ¶46].
Regarding claim 20. Conrad as modified teaches the cleaner of claim 18, wherein the control module is further configured to output information related to a method of separating the control module through an output interface based on a detection of a separation of the screw from the locking hole while an operation of the cleaner is stopped [Mahalingappa: ¶35 & ¶46; instructions on how to remove the control module can be transmitted to a display or wireless communication device on how to separate the control module while the cleaner/tool is not in operation].
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Rejections
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 4/27/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON R MCCONNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723