DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are currently pending in this application.
Claims 1, 13, and 20 are amended as filed on 06/16/2026.
Claim 3 is canceled as filed on 06/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 10-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komu et al. (Pre-Grant Publication No. US 2024/0195779 A1), hereinafter komu, in view of Gangil et al. (Patent No. US 10,432,466 B2), hereinafter Gangil.
2. With respect to claims 1, 13, and 20, Komu taught a method comprising: identifying, by an edge device manager, a container on a container network (0008, where the master orchestrator is the edge manager); determining, by the edge device manager, an internet protocol address for the container (0073, the address candidate); transmitting, by the edge device manager, an identifier of the container to an edge device orchestrator (0008 & figure 2, where the M-ORC is the master orchestrator and it transmit the identifier to the E-ORC, which then addresses the INIT-C); receiving, by the edge device manager, a network address translation address assigned by the edge device orchestrator for the container (0031); and managing, by the edge device manager using the identifier, the container on the container network according to the NAT address assigned by the edge device orchestrator (0031).
However, Komu did not explicitly state that the management included changes to the IP address for the container, wherein managing the changes to the IP address for the container comprises: identifying, by the edge device manager, a change of the IP address for the container; and updating, by the edge device manager, a data entry to associate the change of the IP address for the container with the NAT address assigned by the edge device orchestrator. On the other hand, Gangil did teach that the management included changes to the IP address for the container (4:49-59, where the IP address is part of the nodes information to be updated in accordance with 6:58-65), wherein managing the changes to the IP address for the container comprises: identifying, by the edge device manager, a change of the IP address for the container; and updating, by the edge device manager, a data entry to associate the change of the IP address for the container with the NAT address assigned by the edge device orchestrator (4:51-59, where the IP address is party of the nodes information to be updated in accordance with 6:58-65). Both of the systems of Komu and Gangil are directed towards Kubernetes networks and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Komu, to utilize managing an IP address (specifically), as taught by Gangil, in order to maintain the network as being up to date.
3. As for claims 2 and 14, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 13 (respectively). In addition, Komu taught wherein the container comprises at least one of a docker container or a Kubernetes pod (0011, where this, at least, teaches the Kubernetes limitation).
4. As for claim 4, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 3. In addition, Komu taught transmitting, by the edge device manager, data corresponding to the change to the edge device orchestrator (0031).
5. As for claim 5, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Komu taught wherein the IP address is used for communication via the container network (0009), and wherein the NAT address is used for communication via an overlay network (0025, where the different Kubernetes communicate via the overlay network).
6. As for claim 6, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 1. In addition, Gangil taught polling, by the edge device manager, the container network for new devices, wherein identifying the container is responsive to the polling (7:55-62).
7. As for claims 10 and 19, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 13 (respectively). In addition, Komu taught receiving, by the edge device manager, from a container engine associated with the container, the identifier configured by the container engine for the container (0008 & 0031).
8. As for claim 11, it is rejected on the same basis as claim 10. In addition, Komu taught wherein the container engine configures the identifier based on one or more attributes comprising a name, an identifier, an image, version tag, label, or media access control address (0008, where, at least, the IP address teaches the identifier limitation).
9. As for claims 12 and 18, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 13 (respectively). In addition, Komu taught wherein transmitting the identifier of the container to the edge device orchestrator comprises reporting, by the edge device manager, the identifier of the container to the edge device orchestrator as a discovered device (0004).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komu, in view of Gangil, and in further view of Melsen (Patent No. US 8,165,156 B1).
10. As for claims 7 and 15, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 1 and 13 (respectively). However, Komu did not explicitly state receiving, by the edge device manager, a media access control address of an agile device; and serving, by the edge device manager, a dynamic host configuration protocol for the agile device using the MAC address of the agile device, to obtain an IP address for the agile device. On the other hand, Melsen did teach receiving, by the edge device manager, a media access control address of an agile device; and serving, by the edge device manager, a dynamic host configuration protocol for the agile device using the MAC address of the agile device, to obtain an IP address for the agile device (7:3-28, where the client being identified by a MAC address can be seen in 1:19-23). Both of the systems of Komu and Melsen are directed towards network device management and therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing of the invention, to modify the teachings of Komu, to utilize querying a DHCP for an IP address, as taught by Melsen, as doing so was a standard practice that was contemporary to the time of the invention.
11. As for claims 8 and 16, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 7 and 15 (respectively). In addition, Melsen taught identifying, by the edge device manager, a policy pre-configured for the agile device responsive to receiving the MAC address of the agile device; and applying, by the edge device manager, the policy for the agile device (7:3-28, where the client being identified by a MAC address can be seen in 1:19-23).
12. As for claims 9 and 17, they are rejected on the same basis as claims 7 and 16 (respectively). In addition, Melsen taught wherein the agile device is associated with the container, and wherein the edge device manager identifies the agile device as agile, based on the association with the container and a corresponding port group (7:3-28, where the client being identified by a MAC address can be seen in 1:19-23).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
13. The applicant argues on page 8 that “neither Komu nor Gangil, whether alone or in proper combination, teaches or suggests "managing, by the edge device manager using the identifier, changes to the IP address for the container on the container network according to the NAT address assigned by the edge device orchestrator," as recited in amended claim 1. Rather, Komu describes sidecar-based NAT traversal and routing-rule setup for proxied communications, while Gangil describes obtaining IP/MAC address information for assigning a container network interface, not managing changes to the IP address using an identifier and according to a NAT address assigned by an edge device orchestrator as claimed.”
However, the claim requires “wherein managing the changes to the IP address for the container comprises: identifying, by the edge device manager, a change of the IP address for the container; and updating, by the edge device manager, a data entry to associate the change of the IP address for the container with the NAT address assigned by the edge device orchestrator”. The citations (Gangil: 4:51-59, where the IP address is part of the nodes information to be updated in accordance with 6:58-65) indicated a manager that maintained all of the network devices ability to communicate with each other, which included managing IP address changes. Accordingly, these devices may be edge devices (4:12-16) which teaches that the manager/orchestrator is an edge device manager. Likewise, even assuming arguendo that Gangil’s manager was not an edge device manager, it can still be seen that Komu previously showed that a manager could be an edge device orchestrator in, at least, 0008-0009.
14. The applicant argues on page 8-9 that “the references of record do not teach or suggest that managing the changes to the IP address for the container includes "identifying a change of the IP address for the container; and updating a data entry for the container to associate the change of the IP address for the container with the NAT address assigned by the edge device orchestrator," where "the data entry [is] identified using the identifier of the container" as recited in amended claim 1. In rejecting claim 3, which previously recited similar elements, the Office Action again cites to Col. 4, 11. 51- 59 and Col. 6, 11. 58-65 of Gangil as allegedly teaching these elements. The cited passages of Gangil at most describe obtaining IP addresses and MAC addresses from container master services to assign to the container network interfaces. However, the cited passages are silent as to any change in IP address, nor the identification thereof, nevermind any updating of a data entry which is identified using the identifier of the container. Further, the cited passages do not describe any association between the change of the IP address with the NAT address as claimed.”
However, utilizing the same reasoning as above, Gangil is ensuring that all devices maintain their ability to communicate with each other. 6:58-65 shows that it associates the container address with the vlan ID. Accordingly, 4:49-59 shows that the manager updates the system as it changes, which would include address changes.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH L GREENE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2443