DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Figure 1B in the reply filed on 4/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “said fluid chambers” is believed to be in error for --said plurality of fluid chambers--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an activation system” is believed to be in error for --the activation system--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Appleton GB 1382643 A.
In regards to Independent Claim 1, Appleton teaches an activation system (figure) for dispenser components for fire-fighting systems (for sprinkler head of fire extinguishing apparatus, Page 1, Col. 1, ll. 10-18), which comprises a plurality of fluid chambers (22 and 23) that are hermetically isolated from each other (divided by spacer 24), each of said fluid chambers being configured to break at a preset temperature (Page 2, Col. 1, ll. 13-17); wherein said activation system is configured to be automatically actuated (activated based upon rise in temperature, page 2, Col. 1, ll. 13-17), based on the breakage of any of said fluid chambers (Page 2, Col. 1, ll. 13-20).
Regarding Dependent Claim 2, Appleton teaches the plurality of fluid chambers comprises a first fluid chamber (22) and a second fluid chamber (23).
Regarding Dependent Claim 3, Appleton teaches the first and second fluid chambers are arranged in series (22 and 23 in end-to-end relationship, Page 2, Col. 1, ll. 3-10).
Regarding Dependent Claim 4, Appleton teaches that the first fluid chamber and the second fluid chamber are distinct parts of a single thermosensitive element (22 and 23 are stacked together separated by 24, to form a single thermosensitive element within 10).
Regarding Dependent Claim 9, Appleton teaches a dispenser component for fire-fighting systems (10), which comprises an activation system according to claim 1 (22 and 23 within 10 as shown in figure).
Regarding Dependent Claim 10, Appleton teaches the dispenser component according to claim 9 (see rejection of claim 9 above), further comprising: an inlet (14), configured to be fed with an extinguishing fluid (Page 1, Col. 2, ll. 86-89); at least one outlet (outlets formed between struts 13), configured to dispense said extinguishing fluid outside said dispenser component (struts comprise the periphery of 10, such that extinguishant passing between struts 13 exits 10); and a movable member (plug 15), mechanically coupled to a plurality of fluid chambers of said activation system (as shown in figure), said movable member being configured to: move from a closed position, in which said movable member prevents a passage of said extinguishing fluid from said inlet to said at least one outlet, to an open position, in which said movable member puts said at least one outlet in fluid communication with said inlet; and automatically move from said closed position to said open position, when any fluid chamber of said plurality of fluid chambers breaks (plug 15 is expelled from aperture 14 when bulbs 22 and 23 rupture and collapse, allowing extinguishant to pass through 14, Page 2, Col. 1, ll. 13-17).
Conclusion
/STEVEN M SUTHERLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752