DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed January 16, 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-9 were previously pending; claim 7-8 were cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1-6 and 9 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 5-6 of Remarks) amends claim one to include the limitations of previously presented claim 8. The Applicant goes on to argue that KITAO does not teach, “a pawl section which… inclines or bends along the axial direction of the rotor core.” The Examiner asserts that under broadest reasonable interpretation, as outlined in MPEP 2111, the limitation, “inclines or bends” is taught by KITAO. Paragraph [0116] of KITAO states a, “protrusion 60 extending in the axial direction,” which clearly teaches, a pawl section which… inclines along the axial direction of the rotor core, wherein the incline is parallel with the axial direction. Therefore, KITAO teaches the limitation of claim 1, and the 102 rejection stands.
The Applicant's second point (page 6-7 of Remarks) argues that a 103 rejection of claim 1 would not have been obvious to modify KITAO. The Applicant asserts that protrusions 60 of KITAO are specifically designed to extend continuously straight in the axial direction. The Applicant then quotes paragraph [0125] of KITAO however the Examiner finds no evidence to support the idea that protrusions 60 are specifically designed to extend continuously straight. In fact, paragraph [0155] of KIAO mentions the , “meandering flow path” which would imply the use of bends, inclines, and curves along the path created by protrusion 60. Therefore, if necessary, a 103 rejection of claim 1 could be obvious to modify with KITAO. Such as using the bending protrusions taught in SUGIYAMA (JP 2011172441 A), and shown in Fig 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KITAO (US 20200186007 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KITAO teaches:
A rotor(Fig 1; 20), comprising:
a rotor shaft(Fig 1; 21);
a rotor core (Fig 1; 22)attached to the rotor shaft (Fig 1; 21)[0034]and comprising a plurality of magnet slots(Fig 2; 30) and magnets(Fig 2; 23), wherein at least one magnet of the magnets (Fig 2; 23)has an elongated cross-sectional shape(rectangle [0040]) and is fixed by being pressed against a part of an inner surface defining at least one corresponding magnet slot(Fig 2; 30b) of the magnet slots of the rotor core(magnet surface 23b and hole surface 30b make contact[0040]),
wherein the rotor (Fig 1; 20)is configured so that coolant flowing through the rotor shaft(Fig 1; 36) reaches a surface of a long side of the at least one magnet that is exposed inward in a radial direction(Fig 2; 23a) of the rotor core in the at least one corresponding magnet slot and moves along an axial direction (Fig 1; 35)of the rotor core[0048]; and
further comprising a pawl(Fig 10; 60) section which extends from the inner surface of the rotor core (Fig 10; 30aa) defining a radially inner side of the at least one corresponding magnet slot(Fig 10; 30Aa), contacts the long-side surface(Fig 10; 23a), and inclines or bends along the axial direction of the rotor core[0116], and thereby fixes the at least one magnet 5(Fig 10; 23).
Regarding claim 2, KITAO teaches the rotor according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first flow path (Fig 1; 38)which communicates with a coolant flow path flowing through inside the rotor shaft (Fig 1; 36)and extends to be oriented outward in the radial direction toward the long-side surface (Fig 2;23a)in the rotor core; and
a second flow path (Fig 2; 44)which extends from the first flow (Fig 1; 38)path outward in the radial direction along the long-side surface(Fig 2;23a)[0042].
Regarding claim 3, KITAO teaches the rotor according to claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the second flow path (Fig 2;44)extends from radially inside the long-side surface (Fig 2;23a)to radially outside the long-side surface(Fig 2;23a)(flows along 44 from 35 to 33[0042]).
Regarding claim 4, KITAO teaches the rotor according to claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the second flow path (Fig 2; 44)extends from the long-side surface (Fig 2;23a)to a short-side surface(Fig 2;23c) of the at least one magnet (Fig 2; 23)which is exposed continuously to a radially outer side in the at least one corresponding magnet slot(Fig 2;30) in the radial direction of the rotor core(Fig 2; 22).
Regarding claim 5, KITAO teaches the rotor according to claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the second flow path(Fig 2; 44) comprises a coolant flow blocker (Fig 2; 32)which blocks the coolant from flowing inward in the radial direction of the rotor core(Fig 2; 22).
Regarding claim 6, KITAO teaches the rotor according to claim 2, further comprising:
wherein the first flow path (Fig 1; 38)comprises a flow path which extends straight to the long-side surface(Fig 2; 23a)(first flow path 38 flows to cooling hole 35 [0042] which feeds second flow path 44 along long side 23c[0042]) .
Regarding claim 9, KITAO teaches the rotor according to claim 1, further comprising:
wherein one magnet (Fig 2; 23)and another adjacent magnet (Fig 2; 23) among the magnets are arranged in a substantially V-shape [0035]where ends of the one and the other magnets are close to each other on an inner side in the radial direction of the rotor core(Fig 2; 22).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834