DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species 1, Figures 2A-2B, claims 1-3 and 5-7 in the reply filed on 9/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nero [US 4,591,819] or Glass Jr. [US 2,350,029].
Regarding claim 1, Nero discloses a magnetic assembly [figure 1] comprising:
- a core comprising a core base [26] and a core top [25], the core defining a depression sized to receive a winding [figure 1]; and
- a gap spacer [figure 1] comprising one or more wires [31, 32] positioned between the core base and a core top.
Regarding claim 1, Glass Jr. discloses a magnetic assembly [figures 1-4] comprising:
- a core comprising a core base [12] and a core top [10], the core defining a depression sized to receive a winding [figures 1-2]; and
- a gap spacer [figures 1-4] comprising one or more wires [19, 21] positioned between the core base and the core top.
Regarding claim 2, Glass Jr. discloses at least one of the one or more wires is electrically conductive [tungsten, molybdenum or Nichrome].
Regarding claim 2, Nero discloses at least one of the one or more wires is electrically conductive [copper or aluminum].
Regarding claim 3, Glass Jr. disclose the one or more wires are positioned adjacent to an exterior edge of the core base.
Regarding claims 6-7, Nero discloses the core base comprises: a body; a first leg defining a first leg face; and a second leg defining a second leg face, wherein the first leg and the second leg extend from the body toward the core top [figure 1], the depression positioned between the first leg and the second leg [figure 1], and the first leg face and the second leg face facing the core top, wherein the one or more wires are positioned on the first leg face and/or the second leg face [figures 1 and 3].
Claim(s) 1 and 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fitzgerald, Jr et al. [US 6,433,663 B1].
Regarding claim 1, Fitzgerald, Jr. et al. discloses a magnetic device [figures 4 and 6] comprising:
- a core comprising a core base [31’] and a core top [31], wherein the core defining a depression [or channel] sized to receive a winding [11]; and
- a gap spacer comprising one or more wires [38] positioned between the core base and the core top.
Regarding claim 5, Fitzgerald Jr et al. discloses the wire formed of electrically nonconductive material such as plastic.
Regarding claims 6-7, Fitzgerald Jr et al. discloses the core base comprises: a body; a first leg defining a first leg face; and a second leg defining a second leg face, wherein the first leg and the second leg extend from the body toward the core top [figures 4 and 6], the depression positioned between the first leg and the second leg [figure 4 and 6], and the first leg face and the second leg face facing the core top, wherein the one or more wires are positioned on the first leg face and/or the second leg face [figures 4 and 6].
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837