Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 23, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 pertaining to “The independent claims have been amended to recite Claim 1 has been amended to recite that the "sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage" represents an aggregate deviation across the one or more line phases; and confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the switch poles. Applicant submits that these amendments do not introduce new subject matter, but rather clarify the technical role of the previously-recited "sum of difference," which was already present in the claim. Support for these amendments is found at, for example, Figs. 2-4 and corresponding text.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The limitations “aggregate deviation” as recited by claim 1 are not mentioned in the specification. Figs 2 – 4 only recite the following: For line and load voltages, the values are true or false. For the current flow, the value is true or false. The “aggregate deviation” is thus merely implied, a sum and a difference is a mathematical operation and aggregate deviation does not recite how said mathematical operations are performed on the voltage and current values. The broadest reasonable interpretations (BRI) in light of the specification is a comparison of values (Spec [0046 comparison results (True/False)]). An aggregate definition: formed by the conjunction or collection of particulars into a whole mass or sum; total; combine. Deviation definition: the difference between one of a set of values and some fixed value. So aggregate deviation is a comparison between a collection of values and another collection of values. Without “aggregate deviation” being implied, the claim amendments introduce new subject matter.
In response to Applicant's argument on pages 10 – 11 pertaining to “Shuey '709 does not disclose or suggest determining a difference between line-side and load-side voltages, nor does it disclose summing such differences across multiple phases to form a single value representative of system behavior. Instead, Shuey '709 operates on per-contact voltage thresholds without any aggregation or multi-phase deviation analysis.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this Office Action (OA) the Examiner does not rely on Shuey 709 to disclose “aggregation or multi-phase deviation analysis.” The Examiner relies on Eaves. Eaves discloses aggregation or multi-phase deviation analysis (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculate the line resistance between the source and load terminals using Ohms law, Resistance=Voltage/Current).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 pertaining to “Shuey'900 fails to disclose or suggest the missing teachings. While Shuey '900 combines load-side voltage sensing with a position sensor to verify switch state, Shuey '900 relies on detecting the presence or absence of a load-side voltage and comparing that condition to a mechanically sensed switch position. It does not compute a difference between line-side and load-side voltages, nor does it form any aggregate metric based on such differences. Further, Shuey '900 does not determine switch position based on current across the switch poles, as recited in Claim 1, and does not correlate a current-based position determination with an aggregate voltage-based metric.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on Shuey 900. The Examiner relies on Eaves. Eaves discloses computing a difference between line-side and load-side voltages (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements), and forming an aggregate metric based on such differences (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculate the line resistance between the source and load terminals using Ohms law, Resistance=Voltage/Current). The difference between the voltages is the aggregate metric. Eaves further discloses, correlating a current-based position determination with an aggregate voltage-based metric (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 The difference in magnitude between the first and second voltage samples is proportional to the line resistance). The aggregate line and load voltages correlated with the current flow is the line resistance.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 pertaining to “Even when considered in combination, the cited references merely suggest measuring voltage and comparing it to thresholds or to a switch state indication. They do not teach or suggest forming a summed, multi-phase deviation between line-side and load-side voltages, nor interpreting such a sum as an aggregate deviation indicative of electrical continuity across switch poles. Furthermore, amended Claim 1 recites correlating this aggregate deviation with a position independently determined from current measurements. This introduces a specific functional relationship between two independently derived quantities: (i) position determined from current across the switch poles, and (ii) electrical condition derived from aggregated voltage differences. Neither Shuey '709, Shuey '900 or the combination thereof discloses or suggests this correlation, nor provides any motivation to combine their teachings in this manner.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned in this OA, the Examiner does not rely on either Shuey 709 or Shuey 900 to teach the limitations. The Examiner relies on Eaves. Eaves discloses; forming a summed, multi-phase deviation between line-side and load-side voltages (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements), interpreting such a sum as an aggregate deviation indicative of electrical continuity across switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculate the line resistance between the source and load terminals using Ohms law, Resistance=Voltage/Current), (i) position determined from current across the switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 electrical current passing through the source terminals using a current sensor 8), (ii) electrical condition derived from aggregated voltage differences (Fig. 1, ¶ 11 – 14 the voltage is measured again and compared to the measurement that was made just prior to the beginning of the sample period; calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 12 pertaining to “As discussed above, independent Claims 14 and 15 have been amended to include similar recitations to the highlighted recitations of Claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that independent Claims 14 and 15 and the claims that depend therefrom, if any, are patentable over the cited combination for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Similar response to the arguments of independent claims 14 and 15 as the response above to the arguments of independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 15, 17 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuey (US 2008/0258709 A1) (herein after Shuey ’709) in view of Shuey et al (US 2015/0247900 A1) (herein after Shuey ‘900), and further in view of Eaves (US 2013/0103220 A1) (herein after Eaves).
Regarding Claim 1, Shuey ‘709 teaches in Fig 1, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 1, processor 110, load side voltage sensor 115, source side voltage sensor 130, current sensor 120, disconnect switch 125) associated with a device (Fig. 1, power meter device 100), — the position of the one or more switch poles being determined by measuring a current across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 signal corresponding to the amount of current flowing through the current sensor 120): if a current greater than or equal to a predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed), or if a current less than the predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125); —.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — the position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, — determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 teaches, — the position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 each sample is taken periodically within a configurable period), the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 routed to the subscriber), the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side (Fig. 1, source side 160, load side 170), — determine a line voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value (Fig. 2, reference GND 207) over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In analogous art, Shuey ‘900 teaches, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; Examiner interpretation: the differences are obtained by subtracting the load side voltage from the line side voltage at each sample, the obtained differences are summed(added)) for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage; Examiner interpretation: the abnormal/normal condition (predetermined threshold) is determined by comparing the line side and load side voltages); and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch) associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; — provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set low if the switch should be closed; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are equal, the switch is closed, the value is true, the sum is less than the threshold); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set high, for example, if the switch should be open; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are not equal, the switch is open, the value is false, the sum exceeds the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Shuey ‘709 the position sensing and verification module configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold; taught by Shuey ‘900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 fail to teach, — wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; —
In analogous art, Eaves teaches, wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 source and load controllers, voltages at sensing points 34,35) represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements); and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculate the line resistance between the source and load terminals using Ohms law, Resistance=Voltage/Current) with the position determined from the current measurement (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 electrical current passing through the source terminals using a current sensor 8) to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 11 the source terminals 31a, 31b and load terminals 32a, 32b);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 with a position sensing and verification module, wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; taught by Eaves for the benefit of determining the position of a switch by monitoring the transfer of energy in small increments and thus providing additional safety to a circuit breaker [Eaves: ¶ 8].
Regarding Claim 2, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with, the position of the one or more switch poles confirmed closed when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 3, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 2, wherein confirmation of the closed position of the one or more switch poles includes detecting that the load voltage is present on the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125; ¶ 29 Processor 110 uses the load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber).
Regarding Claim 4, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position of the one or more switch poles confirmed open when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 5, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 4, wherein confirmation of the open position of the one or more switch poles includes detecting that there is no load voltage on the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125; ¶ 29 Processor 110 uses the load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber).
Regarding Claim 6, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, further configured to: detect a bypass state or a partial bypass state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that the power metering device 110 may be bypassed at least at one of the load side contacts; Examiner interpretation: all the contacts open is a bypass, at least one contact open is a partial bypass) when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 7, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, further configured to: detect a bypass state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that the power metering device 110 may be bypassed at least at one of the load side contacts; Examiner interpretation: all the contacts open is a bypass) when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 8, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, further configured to: detect a partial bypass state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that the power metering device 110 may be bypassed at least at one of the load side contacts; Examiner interpretation: at least one line phase has voltage) when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the switch pole is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to close the service disconnect switch 125; ¶ 24 120/208 VAC dual phase meter; Examiner interpretation: dual phase, one contact is open and the other closed) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 9, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage comprises the true value or the false value for each of the one or more line phases of the device, the true value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are within the predetermined threshold of the device and the false value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are not within the predetermined threshold of the device.
Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage comprises the true value or the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE, FALSE) for each of the one or more line phases of the device, the true value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) of the device and the false value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are not within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage comprising a true value or a false value for each of the one or more line phases of the device, a true value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are within the predetermined threshold of the device and a false value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are not within the predetermined threshold of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 10, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed and the true value is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) and the true value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE (i.e. there is a voltage present)) is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed and a true value is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 11, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed closed when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be closed and the true value is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed) and the true value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE (i.e. there is a voltage present)) is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed closed when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be closed and a true value is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 12, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, 12. The position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open and the false value is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, 12. The position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open and a false value is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 13, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed open when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be open and the false value is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed open when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be open and a false value is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 14, Shuey ‘709 teaches in Fig 1, a meter (Fig. 1, watt-hour meter) for measuring an amount of service provided to a customer, the meter comprising a position sensing module (Fig. 1, processor 110, load side voltage sensor 115, source side voltage sensor 130, current sensor 120, disconnect switch 125) associated with a device (Fig. 1, power meter device 100), — the position of the one or more switch poles being determined by measuring a current across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 signal corresponding to the amount of current flowing through the current sensor 120): if a current greater than or equal to a predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed), or if a current less than the predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125); —.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — a position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of the device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, — determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 teaches, — a position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of the device over a predetermined time period (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 each sample is taken periodically within a configurable period), the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 routed to the subscriber), the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side (Fig. 1, source side 160, load side 170), — determine a line voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value (Fig. 2, reference GND 207) over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with a position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Shuey ‘709 fail to teach — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In analogous art, Shuey ‘900 teaches, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; Examiner interpretation: the differences are obtained by subtracting the load side voltage from the line side voltage at each sample, the obtained differences are summed(added)) for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage; Examiner interpretation: the abnormal/normal condition (predetermined threshold) is determined by comparing the line side and load side voltages); and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch) associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; — provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set low if the switch should be closed; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are equal, the switch is closed, the value is true, the sum is less than the threshold); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set high, for example, if the switch should be open; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are not equal, the switch is open, the value is false, the sum exceeds the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing module taught by Shuey ‘709 the position sensing module configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold; taught by Shuey ‘900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 fail to teach, — wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; —
In analogous art, Eaves teaches, — wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 source and load controllers, voltages at sensing points 34,35) represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements); and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculate the line resistance between the source and load terminals using Ohms law, Resistance=Voltage/Current) with the position determined from the current measurement (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 electrical current passing through the source terminals using a current sensor 8) to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 11 the source terminals 31a, 31b and load terminals 32a, 32b); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing module taught by Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 with a position sensing module, wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; taught by Eaves for the benefit of determining the position of a switch by monitoring the transfer of energy in small increments and thus providing additional safety to a circuit breaker [Eaves: ¶ 8].
Regarding Claim 15, Shuey ‘709 teaches in Fig 1, a position sensing module (Fig. 1, processor 110, load side voltage sensor 115, source side voltage sensor 130, current sensor 120, disconnect switch 125) associated with a device (Fig. 1, power meter device 100), — the position of the one or more switch poles being determined by measuring a current across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 signal corresponding to the amount of current flowing through the current sensor 120): if a current greater than or equal to a predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed), or if a current less than the predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125); —
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — the position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, — determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 teaches, — the position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 each sample is taken periodically within a configurable period), the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 routed to the subscriber), the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side (Fig. 1, source side 160, load side 170), — determine a line voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value (Fig. 2, reference GND 207) over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In analogous art, Shuey ‘900 teaches, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; Examiner interpretation: the differences are obtained by subtracting the load side voltage from the line side voltage at each sample, the obtained differences are summed(added)) for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage; Examiner interpretation: the abnormal/normal condition (predetermined threshold) is determined by comparing the line side and load side voltages); and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch) associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; — provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set low if the switch should be closed; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are equal, the switch is closed, the value is true, the sum is less than the threshold); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set high, for example, if the switch should be open; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are not equal, the switch is open, the value is false, the sum exceeds the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing module taught by Shuey ‘709 the position sensing configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold; taught by Shuey ‘900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 fail to teach, — wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; —
In analogous art, Eaves teaches, — wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 source and load controllers, voltages at sensing points 34,35) represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements); and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation (Fig. 1, ¶ 14 calculate the line resistance between the source and load terminals using Ohms law, Resistance=Voltage/Current) with the position determined from the current measurement (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 electrical current passing through the source terminals using a current sensor 8) to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 11 the source terminals 31a, 31b and load terminals 32a, 32b); —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and module taught by Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 the position sensing module configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage represents an aggregate deviation between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage across the one or more line phases; and wherein confirming the position comprises correlating the aggregate deviation with the position determined from the current measurement to indicate whether electrical continuity exists across the one or more switch poles; taught by Eaves for the benefit of determining the position of a switch by monitoring the transfer of energy in small increments and thus providing additional safety to a circuit breaker [Eaves: ¶ 8].
Regarding Claim 17, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing module of Claim 16, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is closed if the position is determined to be closed and the true value is indicated for the one more line phases of the device.
Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 16, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) if the position is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) and the true value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE (i.e. there is a voltage present)) is indicated for the one more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with, the position sensing module, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is closed if the position is determined to be closed and the true value is indicated for the one more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 18, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709, Shuey ‘900, and Eaves fail to teach, the position sensing module of Claim 15, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is open if the position is determined to be open and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for the one more line phases of the device.
Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 15, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) if the position is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for the one more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing module, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is open if the position is determined to be open and a false value is indicated for the one more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 19, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 15, wherein a total fault state or a partial fault state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that an abnormal line condition may be present) is detected when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 20, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 15, wherein a total fault state or a partial fault state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that an abnormal line condition may be present) is detected when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to close the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 21, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Shuey ‘709 and Shuey ‘900 fail to teach, 21. (New) The position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage comprises a sum of per-phase voltage differences across a plurality of line phases.
Eaves further teaches, 21. (New) The position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage comprises a sum of per-phase voltage differences (Fig. 1, ¶ 11 – 14 the voltage is measured again and compared to the measurement that was made just prior to the beginning of the sample period; calculates the voltage difference between the two measurements) across a plurality of line phases.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and module taught by Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves with a position sensing and verification module, wherein the sum of the difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage comprises a sum of per-phase voltage differences across a plurality of line phases; taught by Eaves for the benefit of determining the position of a switch by monitoring the transfer of energy in small increments and thus providing additional safety to a circuit breaker [Eaves: ¶ 8].
Regarding Claim 22, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Shuey ‘709 and Shuey ‘900 fail to teach, 22. (New) The position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein confirming the position further comprises detecting a mismatch between the position determined from the current measurement and the aggregate deviation.
Eaves further teaches, 22. (New) The position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein confirming the position further comprises detecting a mismatch between the position determined from the current measurement (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 electrical current passing through the source terminals using a current sensor 8 “the mismatch occurs if no current flows”) and the aggregate deviation (Fig. 1, ¶ 15 The difference in magnitude between the first and second voltage samples is proportional to the line resistance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves by combining the position sensing and module taught by Shuey ‘709 in view of Shuey ‘900 in view of Eaves with a position sensing and verification module, wherein confirming the position further comprises detecting a mismatch between the position determined from the current measurement and the aggregate deviation; taught by Eaves for the benefit of determining the position of a switch by monitoring the transfer of energy in small increments and thus providing additional safety to a circuit breaker [Eaves: ¶ 8].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
KIM (US 2016/0268079 A1) teaches, confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison (Fig. 2, ¶ 55 determine whether or not the contact status of the latch relay 30 is in an open state is a method of comparing the input voltage and output voltage of the latch relay detected from the voltage detection devices 32, 33); provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 55 the input voltage and output voltage of the latch relay provided by the voltage detection devices 32, 33 are substantially the same); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 55 the input voltage and output voltage of the latch relay provided by the voltage detection devices 32, 33 are substantially different).
Gelbien et al (US 6275366 B1) teaches, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 2, Normally closed switch 24 is preferably a motor operated switch which responds to actuation signals from switch controller 30).
Dani et al (US 2013/0242445 A1) teaches, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 2, The service switch 250 is operably coupled to controllably interrupt and restore connections)
Washington (US 2008/0100146 A1) teaches, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 1, ¶ 72 a position sensing and verification module)
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858