Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 7, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 pertaining to “Thus, as illustrated in Fig. 2 and discussed above, voltage sensor 32 is coupled on the line side only and does not sense load side values. Thus, the "samples of the voltage measurements" discussed in paragraph 0022 refer to line side measurements from sensor 32. Thus, paragraph 0022 does not teach summing the difference between line side and load side values.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Independent claim 1 recites the limitation “sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase.” The limitation does not recite how many of the line and voltage differences are determined not how many of the sums are determined. Thus the examiner considers the BRI of the claim in view of the specification as shown below.
For the time period from t0 to t2, the sampled sum of difference is obtained using the equation below.
Vsum-difference-t0-t2 = (|Vload-t0| - |Vline-t0|) + (|Vload-t1| - |Vline-t1|) + (|Vload-t2| - |Vline-t2|)
Where, |Vload-t0|is the load voltage at t0, |Vline-t0| is the line voltage at t0, |Vload-t1|is the load voltage at t1, |Vline-t1| is the line voltage at t1, |Vload-t2|is the load voltage at t2, |Vline-t2| is the line voltage at t2, and Vsum-difference-t0-t2 is the sum of difference between the line-side voltage and load side voltage.
For a Vline = 110 V,
Vsum-difference-t0-t2 = (|110| - |110|) + (|110| - |110|) + (|110| - |110|) = (0) + (0) + (0) = 0
If the predetermined threshold is 1 V, the position sensing value provides a true value.
For the time period from t7 to t9, the sampled sum of difference is obtained using the equation below.
Vsum-difference-t7-t9 = (|Vload-t7| - |Vline-t7|) + (|Vload-t8| - |Vline-t8|) + (|Vload-t9| - |Vline-t9|)
Where, |Vload-t7|is the load voltage at t7, |Vline-t7| is the line voltage at t7, |Vload-t8|is the load voltage at t8, |Vline-t8| is the line voltage at t8, |Vload-t9|is the load voltage at t9, |Vline-t9| is the line voltage at t9, and Vsum-difference-t7-t9 is the sum of difference between the line-side voltage and load side voltage.
For a Vline = 110 V,
Vsum-difference-t7-t9 = (|0| - |110|) + (|0| - |110|) + (|0| - |110|) = (110) + (110) + (110) = 330
If the predetermined threshold is 1 V, the position sensing value provides a false value.
The limitation is at best an ambiguous, generic, mathematical operation that can be performed by a processor. The limitation of ”sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase” is not an inventive concept and thus the burden of proof lies with the applicant to show that it is an inventive concept. The examiner does not rely on Shuey 709 fig 2 to teach to teach measuring a line side voltage and load side voltage. The examiner relies on Shuey 709, fig. 6. Shuey 709, fig. 6 teaches measuring a line side voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) and load side voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber). The examiner relies on Shuey 900 to teach “summing the difference between line side and load side values (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32, analog-to-digital converter/digital signal processor (A/D-DSP); ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage)”. The DSP taught by Shuey 900 performs the generic mathematical function of summing a difference. It would be obvious for one skilled in the art to combine Shuey 709 with Shuey 900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
In response to Applicant's argument on page 10 – 11 pertaining to “Applicant admits that sensor 110 coupled to the load side is introduced in paragraph 0023, however, nothing in this paragraph discusses comparing the load side and line side measurements. … Thus, the load side signals are measured, provided to the microprocessor and then a decision is made about the load side only. There is no discussion of the line side or any comparison to the line side.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Shuey 900 teaches, comparing a line voltage and a load voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage).
In response to Applicant's argument on page 11 pertaining to “The Office Action points to paragraph 0028 as teaching comparing the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage as recited in Claim 1. … This paragraph of Shuey '900 is a generic paragraph discussing basic functions of the microprocessor and nowhere does it indicate that differences are calculated and sums are compared as recited in Claim 1. … Office Action, page 7. Nothing in the cited paragraphs or the reference as a whole suggests comparing the line side and load side, much less comparing the sum of the differences as recited in Claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As mentioned above, the limitation of ”sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase” is a generic mathematical operation performed by a processor. Shuey 900 teaches ”sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase” (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32, analog-to-digital converter/digital signal processor (A/D-DSP); ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage). Shuey 900 further teaches, comparing the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch)
In response to Applicant's argument on page 12 pertaining to “As discussed above, independent Claims 14 and 15 have been amended to include similar recitations to the highlighted recitations of Claim 1. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that independent Claims 14 and 15 and the claims that depend therefrom, if any, are patentable over the cited combination for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to Claim 1.”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Similar response to independent claims 14 and 15 as the response to independent claim 1 above.
Therefore, applicant’s argument is not persuasive, and the rejection under 35 U.S.C § 103 of claims 1 – 15, 17 – 20 as being unpatentable over Shuey (US 2008/0258709 A1) (herein after Shuey ’709) in view of Shuey et al (US 2015/0247900 A1) (herein after Shuey ‘900) is maintained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 15, 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shuey (US 2008/0258709 A1) (herein after Shuey ’709) in view of Shuey et al (US 2015/0247900 A1) (herein after Shuey ‘900).
Regarding Claim 1, Shuey ‘709 teaches in Fig 1, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 1, processor 110, load side voltage sensor 115, source side voltage sensor 130, current sensor 120, disconnect switch 125) associated with a device (Fig. 1, power meter device 100), — the position of the one or more switch poles being determined by measuring a current across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 signal corresponding to the amount of current flowing through the current sensor 120): if a current greater than or equal to a predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed), or if a current less than the predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125); —.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — the position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, — determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 teaches, — the position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 each sample is taken periodically within a configurable period), the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 routed to the subscriber), the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side (Fig. 1, source side 160, load side 170), — determine a line voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value (Fig. 2, reference GND 207) over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In analogous art, Shuey ‘900 teaches, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; Examiner interpretation: the differences are obtained by subtracting the load side voltage from the line side voltage at each sample, the obtained differences are summed(added)) for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage; Examiner interpretation: the abnormal/normal condition (predetermined threshold) is determined by comparing the line side and load side voltages); and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch) associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set low if the switch should be closed; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are equal, the switch is closed, the value is true, the sum is less than the threshold); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set high, for example, if the switch should be open; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are not equal, the switch is open, the value is false, the sum exceeds the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Shuey ‘709 the position sensing and verification module configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold; taught by Shuey ‘900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
Regarding Claim 2, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with, the position of the one or more switch poles confirmed closed when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 3, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 2, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 2, wherein confirmation of the closed position of the one or more switch poles includes detecting that the load voltage is present on the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125; ¶ 29 Processor 110 uses the load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber).
Regarding Claim 4, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position of the one or more switch poles confirmed open when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold for the one or more switch poles; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 5, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 4, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 4, wherein confirmation of the open position of the one or more switch poles includes detecting that there is no load voltage on the one or more line phases (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125; ¶ 29 Processor 110 uses the load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber).
Regarding Claim 6, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, further configured to: detect a bypass state or a partial bypass state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that the power metering device 110 may be bypassed at least at one of the load side contacts; Examiner interpretation: all the contacts open is a bypass, at least one contact open is a partial bypass) when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 7, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, further configured to: detect a bypass state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that the power metering device 110 may be bypassed at least at one of the load side contacts; Examiner interpretation: all the contacts open is a bypass) when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 8, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, further configured to: detect a partial bypass state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that the power metering device 110 may be bypassed at least at one of the load side contacts; Examiner interpretation: at least one line phase has voltage) when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 1, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device and the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the switch pole is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to close the service disconnect switch 125; ¶ 24 120/208 VAC dual phase meter; Examiner interpretation: dual phase, one contact is open and the other closed) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 9, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 1, which this claim depends on.
Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 1, wherein the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage comprises the true value or the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE, FALSE) for each of the one or more line phases of the device, the true value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) of the device and the false value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are not within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage comprising a true value or a false value for each of the one or more line phases of the device, a true value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are within the predetermined threshold of the device and a false value indicating that the line voltage and the load voltage are not within the predetermined threshold of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 10, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) and the true value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE (i.e. there is a voltage present)) is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed closed when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be closed and a true value is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 11, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed) and the true value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE (i.e. there is a voltage present)) is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed closed when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be closed and a true value is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 12, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches,12. The position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module, wherein the position of the one or more switch poles is confirmed open when the position of the one or more switch poles is determined to be open and a false value is indicated for the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 13, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 9, which this claim depends on.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing and verification module of Claim 9, wherein the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are confirmed open when the positions of all of the one or more switch poles are determined to be open and a false value is indicated for all of the one or more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 14, Shuey ‘709 teaches in Fig 1, a meter (Fig. 1, watt-hour meter) for measuring an amount of service provided to a customer, the meter comprising a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 1, processor 110, load side voltage sensor 115, source side voltage sensor 130, current sensor 120, disconnect switch 125) associated with a device (Fig. 1, power meter device 100), — the position of the one or more switch poles being determined by measuring a current across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 signal corresponding to the amount of current flowing through the current sensor 120): if a current greater than or equal to a predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed), or if a current less than the predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125); —.
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — a position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of the device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, — determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 teaches, — a position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of the device over a predetermined time period (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 each sample is taken periodically within a configurable period), the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 routed to the subscriber), the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side (Fig. 1, source side 160, load side 170), — determine a line voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value (Fig. 2, reference GND 207) over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with a position sensing and verification module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Shuey ‘709 fail to teach — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In analogous art, Shuey ‘900 teaches, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; Examiner interpretation: the differences are obtained by subtracting the load side voltage from the line side voltage at each sample, the obtained differences are summed(added)) for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage; Examiner interpretation: the abnormal/normal condition (predetermined threshold) is determined by comparing the line side and load side voltages); and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch) associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set low if the switch should be closed; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are equal, the switch is closed, the value is true, the sum is less than the threshold); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set high, for example, if the switch should be open; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are not equal, the switch is open, the value is false, the sum exceeds the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Shuey ‘709 the position sensing and verification module configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold; taught by Shuey ‘900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
Regarding Claim 15, Shuey ‘709 teaches in Fig 1, a position sensing module (Fig. 1, processor 110, load side voltage sensor 115, source side voltage sensor 130, current sensor 120, disconnect switch 125) associated with a device (Fig. 1, power meter device 100), — the position of the one or more switch poles being determined by measuring a current across the one or more switch poles (Fig. 1, ¶ 26 signal corresponding to the amount of current flowing through the current sensor 120): if a current greater than or equal to a predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 Power is supplied, when the service disconnect switch 125 is closed), or if a current less than the predetermined current threshold is detected, the position is open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125); —
In Fig 1, Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — the position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, — determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In Fig 6, Shuey ‘709 teaches, — the position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 each sample is taken periodically within a configurable period), the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer (Fig. 1, ¶ 25 routed to the subscriber), the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side (Fig. 1, source side 160, load side 170), — determine a line voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 27 voltage sensor 130 monitors the voltage levels present at the source side 160) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value (Fig. 2, reference GND 207) over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage (Fig. 1, ¶ 29 load side voltage sensor 115 to monitor the conditions at the subscriber) for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; —
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing module configured to: determine a position of one or more switch poles associated with one or more line phases of a device over a predetermined time period, the one or more switch poles being configured to connect service to or disconnect service from a customer, the one or more switch poles defining, for each line phase, a line side and a load side, determine a line voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to a first reference value over the predetermined time period; determine a load voltage for the one or more line phases of the device with respect to the first reference value over the predetermined time period; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Shuey ‘709 fails to teach, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold.
In analogous art, Shuey ‘900 teaches, — sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage (Fig. 2, ¶ 22 samples of the voltage measurements and calculates energy consumption; Examiner interpretation: the differences are obtained by subtracting the load side voltage from the line side voltage at each sample, the obtained differences are summed(added)) for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases (Fig. 2, ¶ 28 abnormal condition detection … electrical parameters based on source side voltage signals provided by source side voltage sensor 32; ¶ 23 load-side voltage sensor 110 may provide a voltage signal that is indicative of load-side voltage; Examiner interpretation: the abnormal/normal condition (predetermined threshold) is determined by comparing the line side and load side voltages); and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 an indicator … the indicator indicates the expected position of disconnect switch) associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set low if the switch should be closed; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are equal, the switch is closed, the value is true, the sum is less than the threshold); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 30 the indicator is a single bit, set high, for example, if the switch should be open; Examiner interpretation: if the line side voltage and the load side voltage are not equal, the switch is open, the value is false, the sum exceeds the threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 by combining the position sensing and verification module taught by Shuey ‘709 the position sensing and verification module configured to: sum a difference between the line-side voltage and the load-side voltage for each phase; compare the sum of the difference between the line voltage and the load voltage to determine if the sum is within a predetermined threshold for the one or more line phases; and confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison; provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold; and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold; taught by Shuey ‘900 for the benefit of determining the expected type of condition of a device based on the position of a switch [Shuey ‘900: ¶ 31].
Regarding Claim 17, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 16, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is closed (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225) if the position is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may close the service disconnect switch 125) and the true value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 TRUE (i.e. there is a voltage present)) is indicated for the one more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with, the position sensing module, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is closed if the position is determined to be closed and the true value is indicated for the one more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 18, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 16, which this claim depends on.
Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 15, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is open (Fig. 6, ¶ 54 confirm the status of the service disconnect switch 225; Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) if the position is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 28 processor 110 may open the service disconnect switch 125) and the false value (Fig. 6, ¶ 57 FALSE (i.e. no voltage present)) is indicated for the one more line phases of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 by combining the position sensing module taught by Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 with the position sensing module, further configured to: confirm the position of the one or more switch poles is open if the position is determined to be open and a false value is indicated for the one more line phases of the device; taught by Fig 6 of Shuey ‘709 for the benefit of detecting an abnormal line condition separate from a switch position [Shuey ‘709: ¶ 32].
Regarding Claim 19, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 15, wherein a total fault state or a partial fault state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that an abnormal line condition may be present) is detected when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be open (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to open the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Regarding Claim 20, Shuey ‘709 in in view of Shuey ‘900 teaches the limitations of claim 15, which this claim depends on.
Fig 1 of Shuey ‘709 further teaches, the position sensing module of Claim 15, wherein a total fault state or a partial fault state of the device (Fig. 1, ¶ 42 determine that an abnormal line condition may be present) is detected when the comparison of the line voltage to the load voltage is not within the predetermined threshold (Fig. 6, ¶ 49 the load side voltage sensor 315 detects each time that the voltage thresholds are met) and the position of the switch pole is determined to be closed (Fig. 1, ¶ 31 the utility company may decide to close the service disconnect switch 125) for at least one of the one or more line phases of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KIM (US 2016/0268079 A1) teaches, confirm the position of the one or more switch poles associated with the one or more line phases of the device based on the comparison (Fig. 2, ¶ 55 determine whether or not the contact status of the latch relay 30 is in an open state is a method of comparing the input voltage and output voltage of the latch relay detected from the voltage detection devices 32, 33); provide a true value if the sum is less than the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 55 the input voltage and output voltage of the latch relay provided by the voltage detection devices 32, 33 are substantially the same); and provide a false value if the sum exceeds the predetermined threshold (Fig. 2, ¶ 55 the input voltage and output voltage of the latch relay provided by the voltage detection devices 32, 33 are substantially different).
Gelbien et al (US 6275366 B1) teaches, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 2, Normally closed switch 24 is preferably a motor operated switch which responds to actuation signals from switch controller 30).
Dani et al (US 2013/0242445 A1) teaches, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 2, The service switch 250 is operably coupled to controllably interrupt and restore connections)
Washington (US 2008/0100146 A1) teaches, a position sensing and verification module (Fig. 1, ¶ 72 a position sensing and verification module)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH O. NYAMOGO/
Examiner
Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/21/2026