DETAILED ACTION
Applicant is requested to note that the Examiner for this application has changed.Future correspondence should be directed to Laura Schuberg, Art Unit 1631, whosecontact information can be found below.
This action is responsive to papers filed 04/24/2026.
Claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Claims 3-6, 9 and 12 have been amended. No claims have been newly added or newly canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-12 and 21-22) in the reply filed on 04/24/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Applicant’s reference to a species election appears to be a mistake as the restriction mailed out did not include a specie election requirement.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/24/2026.
Claims 1-12 and 21-22 have been examined on their merits.
Drawings
The renewed petition for color drawings filed 03/25/2024 has been reviewed and granted with the petition decision filed 04/19/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-10, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bual et al (Materiala 2018) as evidenced by Ijima et al (Gels, 2018).
Regarding claims 1-2, 7, 9-10, Bual disclose liver-derived extracellular matrix nanofibers used as a scaffold for in vitro culture of primary hepatocytes that are electrospun and the liver ECM is obtained from decellularized porcine liver tissue (Title, page 519-520, sections 2.1-2.3).
Regarding claim 4, Bual disclose wherein their decellularized ECM liver fiber contains collagen. Ijima provide evidence that the extracellular matrix of decellularized liver inherently contains collagen type I (page 2 section 2.1-page 4 section 2.2, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Bual disclose wherein polymer chains within the fiber are crosslinked (page 520 section 2.4-2.5).
Regarding claim 8, Bual disclose a device comprising the fiber wherein the device is a microwell of a cell culture plate (page 520 section 2.6.3).
Regarding claim 12, Bual disclose wherein the in vitro liver cell culture is used for testing drug metabolism (page 520, section 2.6.1-2.6.4) and thus is suitable for use as a liver model system for drug or chemical screening system.
Regarding claim 21, Bual disclose wherein their liver ECM fiber is obtained from a decellularized porcine ECM, dissolved in a solvent and electrospun to form a fiber (page 519-520 sections 2.1-2.3).
Therefore, the teaching of Bual et al anticipates Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bual et al (Materiala 2018) in view of Atala et al (US 2006/0204445).
Regarding claims 3-5, Bual disclose liver-derived extracellular matrix nanofibers used as a scaffold for in vitro culture of primary hepatocytes that are electrospun and the liver ECM is obtained from decellularized porcine liver tissue (Title, page 519-520, sections 2.1-2.3).
Bual disclose embodiments wherein the fibers containing liver ECM are less than 1 micron (nanofiber) or greater than 1 micron (microfiber) (see Figure 2A), but do not specifically disclose wherein the fiber has an average diameter of 1000 nm (1 micron microfiber) or an average diameter of 200 nm (nanofiber) or wherein the fibers further include collagen type I.
Atala disclose methods and composition for monitoring remodeling of an artificial tissue construct using a three-dimensional matrix scaffold of interconnected fibers (abstract, page 1 para 6-12), wherein the matrix is an electrospun matrix and a decellularized matrix (page 1 para 12). The decellularized matrix is obtained from liver (page para 29, para 31) and used to culture liver cells (page para 118). The fibers can have a diameter of about 200 nanometers or 1000 nanometers (1 micron) (page para 64). The matrix can further comprise collagen selected from a group consisting of collagen I (page para 10).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include fiber diameters with an average diameter of about 1000 nm or 200 nm in the liver ECM fibers of Bual because Atala teach and suggest that these are suitable and desirable fiber diameters for a decellularized ECM fiber matrix intended for cell culture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to further include fibers comprising collagen type I in the liver ECM fibers of Bual because Atala teach and suggest that these are suitable and desirable for a decellularized ECM fiber matrix intended for cell culture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Bual and Atala are directed to liver-derived extracellular matrix fibers that are electrospun and have an intended use as a scaffold for in vitro cell culture and the liver ECM is obtained from decellularized liver tissue.
Regarding claims 11 and 22, Bual do not specifically disclose the use of supportive cells in the in vitro liver cell culture comprising the fibers.
Atala disclose that it is desirable and beneficial to include cells that are capable of supporting growth and development of at least one additional cultured cell population (page para 30).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include supporting cells in the in vitro liver cell culture comprising electrospun liver-derived fibers of Bual because Atala teach that it is beneficial to include cells that are capable of supporting growth and development of at least one additional cultured cell population (page para 30). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because both Bual and Atala are directed to liver-derived extracellular matrix fibers that are electrospun and have an intended use as a scaffold for in vitro cell culture and the liver ECM is obtained from decellularized liver tissue.
Therefore, the combined teachings of Bual et al and Atala et al render obvious Applicant’s invention as claimed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Otsuka et al., “Contribution of Fibroblasts Cultured on 3D Silica Nonwoven Fabrics to Cocultured Hepatocytes Function”, Chemistry. Letters. 2014, Vol. 43, pp. 343–345. (Regarding the use of fibroblasts as a supportive cell type for hepatocytes).
LAURA J. SCHUBERG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1631
/LAURA SCHUBERG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1631