DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 13-16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment filed 05/19/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guthrie et al (US 2020/0119462 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guthrie teaches a wireless device comprising:
a transmitter; and
logic at least one of coupled to or integrated within the transmitter, the logic to:
generate, based on a portion of a packet to be transmitted during a round-trip timing estimation of an enclosure having a receiver, a frequency domain artifact (Guthrie: Figs. 49-50; [0340]-[0343], [0348]-[0349] generate a cryptographically random variation/artifact in a packet transmitted during RTT estimation); and
cause a frequency of samples of bit patterns of the portion of the packet to be modified based on the artifact before the transmitter transmits the packet to the receiver (Guthrie: Figs. 49-50; [0340]-[0343], [0348]-[0349] generate a cryptographically random variation/artifact in a packet transmitted during RTT estimation; [0381]-[0382] cryptographically random length tones/frequency domain).
Regarding claim 9, Guthrie teaches a method comprising:
generating, by logic of a transmitter and based on a portion of a packet to be transmitted during a round-trip timing estimation of an enclosure having a receiver, a frequency domain artifact (Guthrie: Figs. 49-50; [0340]-[0343], [0348]-[0349] generate a cryptographically random variation/artifact in a packet transmitted during RTT estimation); and
causing a frequency of samples of bit patterns of the portion of the packet to be
modified based on the artifact before the transmitter transmits the packet to the receiver (Guthrie: Figs. 49-50; [0340]-[0343], [0348]-[0349] generate a cryptographically random variation/artifact in a packet transmitted during RTT estimation; [0381]-[0382] cryptographically random length tones/frequency domain).
Regarding claim 17, Guthrie teaches a system comprising: an antenna; a transmission device that is to transmit a packet; a receiving device to receive the pattern; and logic at least one of coupled to or integrated with the transmission device, the logic to:
generate, based on a portion of a packet to be transmitted during a round-trip timing estimation of an enclosure having a receiver, a frequency domain artifact (Guthrie: Figs. 49-50; [0340]-[0343], [0348]-[0349] generate a cryptographically random variation/artifact in a packet transmitted during RTT estimation); and
cause a frequency of samples of bit patterns of the portion of the packet to be
modified based on the artifact before the transmitter transmits the packet to the receiver (Guthrie: Figs. 49-50; [0340]-[0343], [0348]-[0349] generate a cryptographically random variation/artifact in a packet transmitted during RTT estimation; [0381]-[0382] cryptographically random length tones/frequency domain).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Guthrie teaches wherein to generate the frequency domain artifact, the logic is to: identify one or more bit patterns within the portion of the packet; and modify one or more bit waveforms of the one or more identified bit patterns (Guthrie [0322], [0403]).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Guthrie teaches wherein to modify the one or more bit waveforms, the logic is to: modify a portion of the one or more bit waveforms in a time domain associated with the portion of the packet (Guthrie: Figs. 57-59; [0381]-[0382] cryptographically random length tones).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guthrie et al (US 2020/0119462 A1) in view of Yu (US 2004/0028227 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Guthrie does not explicitly disclose but Yu teaches wherein to identify the one or more bit patterns, the logic is further to: randomly perform a Boolean operation on the one or more bit patterns to change a value of a portion of a bit waveform of the one or more bit patterns (Yu: [0037], [0063], [0065]-[0066] XOR/Boolean operation).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guthrie wherein to identify the one or more bit patterns, the logic is further to: randomly perform a Boolean operation on the one or more bit patterns to change a value of a portion of a bit waveform of the one or more bit patterns as disclosed by Yu to provide a system for partial encryption of streamed-formatted media (Yu: Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478