DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/531,022 filed 12/06/2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 13-16, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuchler et al (US 2018/0138993 A1) in view of Yu (US 2004/0028227 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kuchler teaches a wireless device comprising: a transmitter; and logic at least one of coupled to or integrated within the transmitter, the logic to:
generate a artifact within a portion of a packet to be transmitted during a round trip timing estimation of an enclosure having a receiver (Kuchler: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0004], [0099]-[0100], generating a validation sequence/artifact, in a packet during a RTT; see also [0025]-[0028]); and
cause a frequency of samples of bit patterns of the portion of the packet to be modified based on the artifact before the transmitter transmits the packet to the receiver (Kuchler: Fig. 8; [0098]-[0099], the validation sequence is modify through spreading and interleaving as shown on Fig. 8).
Kuchler does not explicitly disclose the artifact is in a frequency domain.
Yu discloses frequency domain artifact (Yu: Fig. 1; [0011]; [0037] partial encryption done in the frequency domain).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kuchler wherein the artifact is in a frequency domain as disclosed by Yu to provide a system for partial encryption of streamed-formatted media (Yu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 9, Kuchler teaches a method comprising:
generating, by logic of a transmitter, a artifact within a portion of a packet to be transmitted during a round trip timing estimation of an enclosure having a receiver (Kuchler: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0004], [0099]-[0100], generating a validation sequence/artifact, in a packet during a RTT; see also [0025]-[0028]); and
causing a frequency of samples of bit patterns of the portion of the packet to be modified based on the artifact before the transmitter transmits the packet to the receiver (Kuchler: Fig. 8; [0098]-[0099], the validation sequence is modify through spreading and interleaving as shown on Fig. 8).
Kuchler does not explicitly disclose the artifact is in a frequency domain.
Yu discloses frequency domain artifact (Yu: Fig. 1; [0011]; [0037] partial encryption done in the frequency domain).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kuchler wherein the artifact is in a frequency domain as disclosed by Yu to provide a system for partial encryption of streamed-formatted media (Yu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, Kuchler teaches a system comprising: an antenna; a transmission device that is to transmit a packet; a receiving device to receive the pattern; and logic at least one of coupled to or integrated with the transmission device, the logic to:
generate a artifact within a portion of the packet to be transmitted during a round trip timing estimation of an enclosure having the receiving device (Kuchler: Fig. 1; [0003]-[0004], [0099]-[0100], generating a validation sequence/artifact, in a packet during a RTT; see also [0025]-[0028]); and cause
a frequency of samples of bit patterns of the portion of the packet to be modified based on the artifact before the transmission device transmits the packet to the receiving device (Kuchler: Fig. 8; [0098]-[0099], the validation sequence is modify through spreading and interleaving as shown on Fig. 8).
Kuchler does not explicitly disclose the artifact is in a frequency domain.
Yu discloses frequency domain artifact (Yu: Fig. 1; [0011]; [0037] partial encryption done in the frequency domain).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kuchler wherein the artifact is in a frequency domain as disclosed by Yu to provide a system for partial encryption of streamed-formatted media (Yu: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2, 10 and 18, Kuchler in view of Yu teaches wherein to generate the frequency domain artifact, the logic is to: identify one or more bit patterns within the portion of the packet; and modify one or more bit waveforms of the one or more identified bit patterns (Kuchler: Fig. 8; [0098]-[0099], the validation sequence is modify through spreading and interleaving as shown on Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Kuchler in view of Yu teaches wherein to identify the one or more bit patterns, the logic is further to: randomly perform a Boolean operation on the one or more bit patterns to change a value of a portion of a bit waveform of the one or more bit patterns (Yu: [0037], [0063], [0065]-[0066] XOR/Boolean operation).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Kuchler in view of Yu teaches wherein to modify the one or more bit waveforms, the logic is to: modify a portion of the one or more bit waveforms in a time domain associated with the portion of the packet (Kuchler: Fig. 8; [0098]-[0099], the validation sequence is modify through spreading and interleaving as shown on Fig. 8).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478