Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2023-0027560, filed on 03/02/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US 20240194510A1) in view of BAEK et al. (US 20220144542A1) (cited on the IDS).
Regarding Claim 1, Song teaches a storage apparatus for a plurality of semiconductor devices, comprising:
a plurality of frames (Frame 103 of 120; Frame 103 of 130) stacked at least partially on top of one another in a vertical direction, each frame of the plurality of frames comprising at least one guide rail (310) extending in a first horizontal direction;
a plurality of shelves (122 shelves of 120; 132 shelves of 130) provided to be slidably movable on the plurality of frames along the at least one guide rail, each shelf of the plurality of shelves configured to accommodate a portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices on an upper surface of the shelf ([0055]); and
a driving portion (330, 340) provided to be movable in the first horizontal direction along the at least one guide rail, the driving portion configured to grip at least one selected shelf from among the plurality of shelves and to move, in the first horizontal direction ([0011], [0062]) one or more shelves that are engaged to each other, the one or more shelves comprising the at least one selected shelf. (Figs. 6A-B; [0076])
Song does not teach a coupling portion comprising first couplers and second couplers that are selectively engaged with each other by an external control signal, the first couplers provided on a first side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves the second couplers provided on a second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the second side surface being opposite to the first side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface extending along a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction; wherein the one or more shelves are engaged to each other by respective first and respective second couplers to move them together.
Baek et al. teaches a coupling portion (180) comprising first couplers (184) and second couplers (182) that are selectively engaged with each other by an external control signal ([0029]), the first couplers provided on a first side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves the second couplers provided on a second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves (see Fig. 4), the second side surface being opposite to the first side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface extending along a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction (Fig. 4); wherein the one or more shelves are engaged to each other by respective first and respective second couplers to move them together([0029], [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage apparatus of Song with a coupling portion comprising first couplers and second couplers that are selectively engaged with each other by an external control signal, the first couplers provided on a first side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves the second couplers provided on a second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves as taught by Baek et al. for the purpose of being able to actively control which shelves are moved in conjunction with one another by selective engagement of the couplers enabling the driving portion to engage any shelf, rather than the most upstream shelf, to move a group of shelves.
Regarding Claim 4, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of frames comprises a lower frame (Song, frame 103 of 130) and an upper frame (Song, frame 102 of 130) stacked on the lower frame,
wherein the at least one selected shelf comprises a plurality of shelves disposed in the vertical direction on the lower frame and the upper frame, and
wherein the plurality of shelves slide together with each other in the first horizontal direction (Song, [0076], [0077]); Fig. 5B; Baek [0029]; capable by moving the driving portion of different layers together at the same time).
Regarding Claim 5, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein lowermost shelves disposed on a lowermost frame, from among the plurality of frames, are fixed so as to prevent movement in the first horizontal direction (Song, [0054], Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 5, wherein a first number of shelves disposed on frames stacked on the lowermost frame is smaller than a second number of the lowermost shelves disposed on the lowermost frame (Song, Fig 1; [0059]).
Regarding Claim 7, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the first couplers comprises a permanent magnet (Baek et al., 184), and wherein each of the second couplers comprises an electromagnet (Baek et al., 182).
Regarding Claim 9, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 1, wherein the driving portion is further configured: to move at a predetermined speed; to start to move at a gradually increasing speed; and to stop moving at a gradually decreasing speed (Song, [0014]; the drive source may be a motor, broadest reasonable interpretation of which allows the driving source to be controlled at a predetermined speed. “gradually” is not further defined therefor given its broadest reasonable interpretation, because changes in speed are not instantaneous it is able to gradually increase in speed or decrease in speed).
Regarding Claim 11, Song teaches a storage system for a plurality of semiconductor devices, comprising:
a driving rail (230) extending in a first horizontal direction;
a storage apparatus (101, 106, see Fig 1) extending along the driving rail, the storage apparatus configured to accommodate the plurality of semiconductor devices; and
a transport device (240, 250) movable on the driving rail, the transport device configured to load the plurality of semiconductor devices to the storage apparatus and to unload the plurality of semiconductor devices from the storage apparatus ([0051], [0069]), wherein the storage apparatus comprises:
a plurality of frames (Frame 103 of 120; Frame 103 of 130) stacked at least partially on top of one another in a vertical direction, each frame of the plurality of frames comprising at least one guiderail (310) extending in the first horizontal direction, each frame of the plurality of frames comprising an opening portion opened in the vertical direction (30), the transport device being configured to pass through the opening portion to move between the plurality of frames ([0078]; see Fig 5B-5E);
a plurality of shelves (122 shelves of 120; 133 shelves of 130) provided to be slidably movable on the plurality of frames along the at least one guide rail, each shelf of the plurality of shelves configured to accommodate a portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices on an upper surface of the shelf ([0055]);
a driving portion (330, 340) provided to be movable in the first horizontal direction along the at least one guide rail, the driving portion configured to grip at least one selected shelf from among the plurality of shelves and to move, in the first horizontal direction ([0011], [0062]) one or more shelves that are engaged to each other the one or more shelves comprising the at least one selected shelf. (Figs. 6A-B; [0076])
Song does not teach a coupling portion comprising first couplers and second couplers that are selectively engaged with each other by an external control signal, the first couplers provided on a first side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the second couplers provided on a second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the second side surface being opposite to the first side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface extending along a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction; wherein the one or more shelves are engaged to each other by respective first and respective second couplers to move them together.
Baek et al. teaches a coupling portion (180) comprising first couplers (184) and second couplers (182) that are selectively engaged with each other by an external control signal ([0029]), the first couplers provided on a first side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the second couplers provided on a second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves (see Fig 4), the second side surface being opposite to the first side surface, the first side surface and the second side surface extending along a second horizontal direction perpendicular to the first horizontal direction; wherein the one or more shelves are engaged to each other by respective first and respective second couplers to move them together([0029], [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the storage apparatus of Song with a coupling portion comprising first couplers and second couplers that are selectively engaged with each other by an external control signal, the first couplers provided on a first side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves the second couplers provided on a second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves as taught by Baek et al. for the purpose of being able to actively control which shelves are moved in conjunction with one another by selective engagement of the couplers enabling the driving portion to engage any shelf, rather than the most upstream shelf, to move a group of shelves.
Regarding Claim 14, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of frames comprise a lower frame (Song, Frame 103 of 130), and an upper frame (Song, Frame 103 of 120) stacked on the lower frame, wherein the at least one selected shelf comprises a plurality of shelves disposed in the vertical direction, on the lower frame and the upper frame, and wherein the plurality of shelves slide together with each other in the first horizontal direction(Song, [0057]; Fig. 5B; Baek [0029]; capable by moving the driving portion of different layers together at the same time).
Regarding Claim 15, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage system of claim 1, wherein lowermost shelves disposed on a lowermost frame, from among the plurality of frames, are fixed so as to prevent movement in the first horizontal direction (Song, [0054], Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 16, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage system of claim 15, wherein a first number of shelves disposed on frames stacked on the lowermost frame is smaller than a second number of the lowermost shelves disposed on the lowermost frame (Song, Fig 1; [0059]).
Regarding Claim 18, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage system of claim 1, wherein the driving portion is further configured: to move at a predetermined speed; to start to move at a gradually increasing speed; and to stop moving at a gradually decreasing speed (Song, [0014]; the drive source may be a motor, broadest reasonable interpretation of which allows the moving body to be controlled at a predetermined speed. “gradually” is not further defined therefor given its broadest reasonable interpretation, because changes in speed are not instantaneous it is able to gradually increase in speed or decrease in speed).
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG (US 20240194510A1) in view of BAEK et al. (US 20220144542A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16, and 18 above, and further in view of TSUBAKI et al. (US 20210257239A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 1.
Song in view of Baek et al. does not teach a gas supply portion comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes coupled to the plurality of shelves and configured to supply a purge gas to the portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices stored in a carrier accommodated on each shelf of the plurality of shelves.
Tsubaki et al. teaches a gas supply portion (130) comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes (33, 133, 233; see Fig 5) coupled to a plurality of shelves (Fig. 1; 20) and configured to supply a purge gas to the portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices stored in a carrier accommodated on each shelf of the plurality of shelves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storage apparatus of Beak et al. with the gas supply of Tsubaki et al. to apply purge gas to maintain the cleanliness of the stored objects, including semiconductor devices, by displacing unwanted gases or contaminants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that supplying purge gas is well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 3, Song in view Baek et al. as modified with Tsubaki et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 2, wherein the plurality of gas supply pipes comprise flexible pipes (Tsubaki et al., 33, 133; Fig 5) configured to supply the purge gas based on the plurality of shelves sliding on the at least one guide rail.
Regarding Claim 12, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage system of claim 11.
Song in view of Baek does not teach a gas supply portion comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes coupled to the plurality of shelves and configured to supply a purge gas to the portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices stored in a carrier accommodated on each shelf of the plurality of shelves.
Tsubaki et al. teaches a gas supply portion (130) comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes (33, 133, 233; see Fig 5) coupled to the plurality of shelves (Fig. 1) and configured to supply a purge gas to the portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices stored in a carrier accommodated on each shelf of the plurality of shelves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the storage apparatus of Song in view of Beak et al. with the gas supply of Tsubaki et al. to apply purge gas to maintain the cleanliness of the stored objects, including semiconductor devices, by displacing unwanted gases or contaminants. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that supplying purge gas is well known in the art.
Regarding Claim 13, Song in view of Baek et al. as modified with Tsubaki et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 12, wherein the plurality of gas supply pipes comprise flexible pipes (Tsubaki et al., 33, 133; Fig. 5) configured to supply the purge gas based on the plurality of shelves sliding on the at least one guide rail.
Regarding Claim 20, Song teaches a plurality of frames, each frame of the plurality of frames (Frame 103 of 120; Frame 103 of 130) comprising a guide rail (310) extending in a horizontal direction and a driving portion movable along the guide rail, the plurality of frames being stacked at least partially on top of each other in a vertical direction (Fig. 1);
a plurality of shelves (122 shelves of 120; 132 shelves of 130) configured to accommodate the plurality of semiconductor devices on upper surfaces of the plurality of shelves, and configured to be slidably movable along the guide rail through the driving portion of each frame of the plurality of frames ([0062]) and wherein a plurality of second shelves disposed on one or more selected shelves slidably move in the horizontal direction together with the one or more selected shelves (Figs. 6A-B; [0076]).
Song does not teach each shelf of the plurality of shelves comprising a permanent magnet on a first side surface and an electromagnet on a second side surface opposite to the first side surface; wherein one or more shelves selected from among the plurality of shelves disposed adjacent to each other are engaged to each other through the permanent magnet and the electromagnet to slidably move together in the horizontal direction.
Song does not teach a gas supply portion comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes coupled to the plurality of shelves and configured to supply a purge gas to the plurality of semiconductor devices.
Baek et al. teaches each shelf of the plurality of shelves comprising a permanent magnet (184) on a first side surface and an electromagnet (182) on a second side surface opposite to the first side surface; wherein one or more shelves selected from among the plurality of shelves disposed adjacent to each other are engaged to each other through the permanent magnet and the electromagnet to slidably move together in the horizontal direction ([0029, 0030]).
Tsubaki et al. teaches a gas supply portion (130) comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes (33, 133, 233; see Fig 5) coupled to the plurality of shelves (Fig. 1) and configured to supply a purge gas to the portion of the plurality of semiconductor devices stored in a carrier accommodated on each shelf of the plurality of shelves.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the storage apparatus of Song with a permanent magnet on a first side surface and an electromagnet on a second side surface opposite to the first side surface of Baek et al. and further modify Song with a gas supply portion comprising a plurality of gas supply pipes coupled to the plurality of shelves and configured to supply a purge gas to the plurality of semiconductor devices of Tsubaki et al. to achieve to storage apparatus that can couples shelves together to be moved and supply purge gas to the plurality of semiconductor devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Song with Baek et al. for the purpose of being able to actively control which shelves are moved in conjunction with one another by selective engagement of the couplers enabling the driving portion to engage any shelf, rather than the most upstream shelf, to move a group of shelves. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify Song with Tsubaki et al. to maintain the cleanliness of stored devices on the storage apparatus which is well known in the art.
Claim(s) 10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SONG (US 20240194510A1) in view of BAEK et al. (US 20220144542A1) as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 9, 11, 14-16, and 18 above, and further in view of Yoshio (JP 3728037B2).
Regarding Claim 10, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 1 Song in view of Baek et al. does not teach further comprising: elastic members provided
on the first side surface and the second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the elastic members configured to absorb an impact from other shelves from among the plurality of shelves.
Yoshio teaches bumpers for protecting a shelf from impacts and collisions ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shelves of Song in view of Baek et al. with the bumpers of Yoshino to achieve a storage apparatus shelves with elastic members provided on the first side surface and the second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the elastic members configured to absorb an impact from other shelves from among the plurality of shelves for the purpose of reducing the effect of impacts on the shelves.
Regarding Claim 19, Song in view of Baek et al. teaches the storage apparatus of claim 11.
Song in view of Baek et al. does not teach wherein the storage apparatus further comprising: elastic members provided on the first side surface and the second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the elastic members configured to absorb an impact from other shelves from among the plurality of shelves.
Yoshio teaches bumpers for protecting a shelf from impacts and collisions ([0027]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shelves of Song in view of Baek et al. with the bumpers of Yoshino to achieve a storage apparatus with shelves with elastic members provided on the first side surface and the second side surface of each shelf of the plurality of shelves, the elastic members configured to absorb an impact from other shelves from among the plurality of shelves for the purpose of reducing the effect of impacts on the shelves.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee et al. (US 20230052015A1), Murata et al. (US 20090238664A1) and Yoneda et al. (US 20200043763A1) disclose similar stockers.
/ERNESTO A SUAREZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/ADARSH NEUPANE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655