DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (US 2018/0188529) in view of Kusafuka et al. (US 2023/0026137).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses a display apparatus for a vehicle (see figures 1A-1B, for instance), the display apparatus comprising: a picture generation device (20) comprising a light output device (21) and configured to output a projection image; an optical path separator (30) configured to reflect a first projection image (L2) corresponding to a part of the projection image from the picture generation device (20); a light transmittance changer (42) configured to change light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) reflected from the optical path separator (31); a screen (70) having one surface onto which the first projection image (L2) passing through the light transmittance changer (42) is projected; wherein the picture generation device outputs a second projection image (L1) corresponding to another part of the projection image to a windshield (200). However, Sato does not expressly disclose a signal processing device configured to control light transmittance of the light transmittance changer, wherein the signal processing device is further configured to reduce a difference between a first luminance of the first projection image based on a first optical path passing through the picture generation device, the optical path separator, the light transmittance changer, and the screen, and a second luminance of the second projection image based on a second optical path passing through the picture generation device and the windshield.
Kusafuka discloses a display apparatus for a vehicle (see figures 1 and 12, for instance), including a signal processing device (5) configured to control light transmittance of the light transmittance changer (11), wherein the signal processing device (5) is further configured to reduce (see claim 19, “wherein the controller adjusts luminance of the first image to match luminance of the second image”) a difference between a first luminance of the first projection image (V3 / V2, see also figure 12, images 51 and 52) based on a first optical path passing through the picture generation device (12), the optical path separator (9), the light transmittance changer (11), and the screen (4), and a second luminance of the second projection image (V1) based on a second optical path passing through the picture generation device and the windshield (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the signal processing device to match luminances between first and second images as Kusafuka to control the light transmittance changer of Sato. The motivation for doing so would have been to be entirely in a light transmission state to transmit image light uniformly, as taught by Kusafuka ([0066]).
Regarding claim 2, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein in case in which luminance of the first projection image (L2) reflected from the optical path separator (30) is greater than luminance of the second projection image (L1) reflected from the windshield (200) and a luminance difference between the first projection image and the second projection image increases, the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to decrease the light transmittance of the first projection image.
Regarding claim 3, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to control the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) to be lower at night than during day.
Regarding claim 4, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to control output power of the light output device (21) to be lower at night than during day.
Regarding claim 5, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 102) is configured to: control the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) to be at a first level in a first mode; and control the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) to be at a second level in a second mode.
Regarding claim 6, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 5, wherein in case in which a luminance difference between the second projection image (L1) and the first projection image (L2) is a first value in the first mode, the signal processing device is configured to control the luminance difference between the second projection image (L1) and the first projection image (L2) to be a second value lower than the first value in the second mode.
Regarding claim 7, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to change internal illumination of the vehicle, or a setting input, the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) based on at least one of external illumination of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 8, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to decrease the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2), in response to an increase in difference between external illuminance of the vehicle and internal illuminance of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to control, for each frame, luminance of the first projection image output (L2) from the light output device to be less than luminance of the second projection image (L1) output from the light output device (21).
Regarding claim 10, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to: output the first projection image (L2) and the second projection image (L1) from the light output device (21) at a first frame rate in a first mode; and output the first projection image (L2) and the second projection image (L1) from the light output device (21) at a second frame rate greater than the first frame rate control in a second mode after the first mode, while controlling luminance of the first projection image (L2) output from the light output device to be less than luminance of the second projection image output (L1) from the light output device (21).
Regarding claim 11, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light output device (21) comprises a light source and a digital mirror device ([0032]) configured to reflect light output from the light source, and wherein the signal processing device ([0032], ‘control board’) is configured to turn off an area corresponding to the first projection image of the digital mirror device during a first period.
Regarding claim 12, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein the signal processing device ([0032], ‘control board’) is configured to switch on or off an area corresponding to the second projection image (L1) of the digital mirror device ([0032]) during the first period.
Regarding claim 13, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light output device (21) comprises a light source and a liquid crystal panel (‘LCOS’; [0032]) configured to output the first projection image (L2) and the second projection image (L1) based on light output from the light source, and wherein the signal processing device ([0032], ‘control board’) is configured to turn off an area corresponding to the first projection image of the liquid crystal panel during a first period.
Regarding claim 14, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 13, wherein the signal processing device ([0032], ‘control board’) is configured to switch on or off an area corresponding to the second projection image of the liquid crystal panel ([0032]) during the first period.
Regarding claim 15, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmittance changer (42) is attached onto the one surface of the screen.
Regarding claim 16, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a diffusion portion (41) disposed between the picture generation device (20) and the windshield (200).
Regarding claim 17, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light transmittance changer (42) comprises an electrochromic material, a liquid crystal, or a suspended particle (Kusafuka 11; [0029]).
Regarding claim 18, Sato discloses a display apparatus for a vehicle (see figure, for instance), the display apparatus comprising: a picture generation device (20) comprising a light output device (21) and configured to output a projection image (L); a light transmittance changer (42) configured to change light transmittance of a first projection image (L2) corresponding to a part of the projection image from the picture generation device (20); an optical path separator (60) configured to reflect the first projection image (L2) passing through the light transmittance changer (42); a screen (70) having one surface onto which the first projection image (L2) reflected from the optical path separator (60) is projected; wherein the picture generation device (20) outputs a second projection image (L1) corresponding to another part of the projection image (L) to a windshield (200). However, Sato does not expressly disclose a signal processing device configured to control light transmittance of the light transmittance changer, wherein the signal processing device is further configured to reduce a difference between a first luminance of the first projection image based on a first optical path passing through the picture generation device, the light transmittance changer, the optical path separator, and the screen, and a second luminance of the second projection image based on a second optical path passing through the picture generation device and the windshield.
Kusafuka discloses a display apparatus for a vehicle (see figures 1-2, for instance), including a light transmittance changer (11) configured to change light transmittance of the first projection image (10) reflected from the optical path separator (8), and a signal processing device (5) configured to control light transmittance of the light transmittance changer (11), wherein the signal processing device (5) is further configured to reduce (see claim 19, “wherein the controller adjusts luminance of the first image to match luminance of the second image”) a difference between a first luminance of the first projection image (V3 / V2, see also figure 12, images 51 and 52) based on a first optical path passing through the picture generation device (12), the light transmittance changer (11), the optical path separator (9), and the screen (4), and a second luminance of the second projection image (V1; see also figure 12, image 51) based on a second optical path passing through the picture generation device and the windshield (4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the signal processing device of Kusafuka to control the light transmittance changer of Sato. The motivation for doing so would have been to control the spatial spread of the projected light, while also changing a diffusive property of an intermediate light between a scattering state in a public viewing mode and a non-scattering state in a private viewing mode, as taught by Kusafuka ([0007], [0010]).
Regarding claim 19, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the signal processing device (Kusafuka 5) is configured to: control the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) to be at a first level in a first mode, and control the light transmittance of the first projection image (L2) to be at a second level in a second mode (Kusafuka [0045], “high light-transmittance” vs “low light-transmittance state”).
Regarding claim 20, Sato in view of Kusafuka discloses the display apparatus of claim 18, wherein the light transmittance changer (Kusafuka 11) is attached onto a partial surface of an output end of the picture generation device (Kusafuka 9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 3/23/2026