2. Claims 1-4, 6-18, and 20 are pending. Bolded claim language below regards newly amended subject matter with a corresponding new rejection citation. Newly amended subject matter that is not bolded does not comprise a new rejection citation (utilizes previous interpretation that is unchanged in view of the new language) or is a newly added claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 15-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewin et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2014/0310611), herein after referred to as Lewin, in view of Storm et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0004520), herein after referred to as Storm, and further in view of Olson et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0385227), herein after referred to as Olson.
Regarding independent claim 1, Lewin discloses a distributed display method (abstract), comprising:
creating, by a first terminal (Figure 4 reference first mobile device 10), a first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes to store UI elements 60 in memory. Stored UI elements 60 is interpreted as a memory data object.); and
displaying, by the first terminal, a first interface of a first application, wherein the first interface comprises a first part and a second part (Figure 1 reference first mobile device 10 displaying first application/screen 16 of a first interface comprising first part/first UI element 12 (A) and second part/second UI element 14 (B) as described in paragraph [0025].) based on the first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes described the UI framework 36a to obtained UI elements 60 from memory to have them rendered on the display 34 for application 38.),
based on detecting that a first preset condition is met (Figure 2 and paragraph [0026] describes first terminal mobile device 10 is paired (first preset condition) with a second mobile device 18.), displaying, by the first terminal (Figure 2 reference first terminal 10.), a second interface of the first application, wherein the second interface comprises the first part, and the second interface does not comprise the second part (Figure 2 reference first terminal 10 displaying only the first part/first UI element 12 as a second application (paired UI) and not displaying the second part/second UI element 14.); and
sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal (Paragraphs [0003]-[0004] describes the routine of pairing regarding short range communication between devices, communicating between devices is within the scope of a first device sending a message to another device.), [ ] and display a third interface of the first application after installing the one of the first application or the lightweight application of the first application (Paragraphs [0078]-[0079] describes applications can be pre-installed during manufacture or can be added after manufacture via third party. Paragraph [0026] describes when the second mobile device 18 is paired/messages with the first device 10 the second device 18, thereafter, displays a portion of the user interface as shown in figure 2.), the third interface comprises the second part, and the third interface does not comprise the first part (Figure 2 reference second terminal 18 displaying the second part/second UI element 14 (not displayed by the first terminal 10) and does not display the first part/first UI element 12 (that is displayed by the first terminal 10).), wherein a screen size of the first terminal is larger than a screen size of the second terminal (The above rejection utilizes the device 10 as the claimed first terminal and device 18 as the claimed second terminal. Paragraph [0063] describes wherein either device is capable of comprising the application 38 which initiates the establishment of the virtual screen between screens 16 and 20, describing that device 18 (depicted in figure 2 to comprise a larger screen 20 than screen 16 of device 10) may be considered the first device.);
sending, by the first terminal (10), [ ], wherein [ ] the first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes to store UI elements 60 in memory. Stored UI elements 60 is interpreted as a memory data object.) is used by the second terminal to [ ] , read content in the first memory data object, and display the second part of the third interface based on the first memory data object (Figure 8 and paragraph [0059] describes UI framework 36a obtains/reads the UI elements 60 stored in memory on first terminal 10. Paragraph [0058] describes UI framework 36a of the first terminal 10 can communicate with UI framework 36b of the second terminal 18 in order to determine screen size, among other things that may be relevant to rending the UI on the screen 20 of the second terminal 18. Figure 11 and paragraph [0064] describes step 92 to send the UI elements to the second device to be received in step 94.).
Lewin does not specifically disclose sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application.
Storm discloses sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application (Figures 1 through 5 and paragraphs [0030]-[0044] describes a download request from a second device 102 and the second device 102 has received a first message/file package from a first device 104/108. Method 300 details clearer understanding of installation of the application including: the first file package 310 is used to (processes 315-335) for installing the application. Paragraph [0039] specifically emphasizes to automatically initiated the download request (processes 315+330) for installation 335 of the application. This describes processes 315-330 to use the first message as a means to notify/inform/in response to the second device to automatically install 335 the application. Figure 4 is different from figure 3 such that only one process of authentication 415 is required rather than two (320+325). Figure 5 includes an additional verification message.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s communication between first and second terminals with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application yielding the predictable results of reducing a user’s burden associated with downloading and installing an application by saving significant time and data usage as disclosed by Storm (paragraph [0007]).
Further, Lewin does not specifically disclose sending, by the first terminal, an identifier of the first memory data object to the second terminal, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to read content in the first memory data object, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to determine the first memory data object based on the identifier of the first memory data object.
Olson discloses sending (Figure 1 130), by the first terminal (112), an identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) (Paragraph [0043] describes a second computing device 124 can generate a remote descriptor that is an object that uniquely identifies a location of an object in memory 116.) to the second terminal (110) ([0044] 124/112 can send the remote descriptor to device 126/110 over network 130 to device 126.), wherein the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) is used by the second terminal (110) to read content in the first memory data object (object stored in 116) ([0044] 124/112 can send the remote descriptor to device 126/110 over network 130 in which device 126 can process/read to identify where to obtain the object (described in [0043] to be an identified location in memory 116).), wherein the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) is used (processed) by the second terminal (110) to determine the first memory data object (object stored in 116) based on the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) ([0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s first terminal memory that stores a memory data object in communication with a second terminal with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, an identifier of the first memory data object to the second terminal, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to read content in the first memory data object, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to determine the first memory data object based on the identifier of the first memory data object yielding the predictable results of reducing the data transported across data pipelines reducing the need for bulk data transfer at every boundary as disclosed by Olsen ( [0033]).
Regarding claim 2, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the detecting that the first preset condition is met comprises:
detecting that a distance between the second terminal and the first terminal is less than or equal to a threshold (Paragraph [0026] describes the condition as pairing. Paragraphs [0003]-[0004] describes pairing as a short range communication method. “Short range” includes an inherent difference to “long range” or any other range not considered short. Said difference includes an inherent threshold such that all range that is not short range is greater than said threshold. This inherent threshold interpretation is further supported in view of short range communication subsystems 30 (figure 4) and paragraph [0031] that describes Bluetooth and figure 11 steps 80 and 82 described in paragraph [0062] Bluetooth discovery for determining if a device is within proximity to another device.);
detecting that a distance between the second terminal and the first terminal is less than or equal to a threshold and the second terminal approaches the first terminal;
detecting that the second terminal collides with the first terminal; or
detecting a first operation that a user enables a collaborative display function on the first terminal (Pairing a device falls within the scope of a user enabling a “collaborative display function” since paragraph [0026] describes pairing causes the display sharing UI of figure 2.).
Regarding claim 4, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein a layout style of the first part in the second interface is different from a layout style of the first part in the first interface (Figure 2 depicts the first terminal in the vertical orientation layout when pairing with a second terminal 18 in a different layout (horizontal layout). Figure 1 depicts the first terminal displaying the first part/first UI 12 in either the vertical or horizontal layout (different from the pairing mode of figure 2 in which the first terminal 10 is in the vertical layout).).
Regarding claim 6, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein after the sending, by the first terminal, the first message to the second terminal, the method further comprises:
displaying, by the first terminal, a fourth interface of the first application based on the first terminal detecting a second preset condition is met, wherein the fourth interface comprises the first part and the second part (Please note that the fourth interface and the first interface are claimed to be identical. Therefore, the rejection of the first interface regarding figure 1 depicting first part 12 and second part 14 is found to be identical since display of the first terminal in an unpaired state is the same.),
wherein the detecting that the second preset condition is met comprises:
detecting that a distance between the second terminal and the first terminal is greater than a threshold;
detecting that the second terminal moves away from the first terminal; or
detecting a second operation that a user exits a collaborative display function on the first terminal (Figure 1 depicts an unpaired state between the first terminal 10 and second terminal 18. Paragraph [0026] describes the user to pair the two devices for figure 2. It is inherent that Bluetooth connection can be unpaired. Therefore, the unpaired state of figure 1 is considered the first interface before connection and figure 1 is also considered the fourth interface after unpairing from a paired connection. Please note secondary reference Kim (utilized for claim 3) is not utilized in this rejection because it is unnecessary in view of the claim language but should be noted to disclose detection of movement changes in figures 5-8C.).
Regarding independent claim 15, Lewin discloses a first terminal, comprising:
a memory configured to store program instructions;
a processor configured to execute the program instructions (Figure 15 reference processor 302 and memory 306 and/or 308 described in paragraphs [0072]-[0073].), to cause the first terminal to perform:
creating, by a first terminal (Figure 4 reference first mobile device 10), a first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes to store UI elements 60 in memory. Stored UI elements 60 is interpreted as a memory data object.); and
displaying a first interface of a first application, wherein the first interface comprises a first part and a second part (Figure 1 reference first mobile device 10 displaying first application/screen 16 of a first interface comprising first part/first UI element 12 (A) and second part/second UI element 14 (B) as described in paragraph [0025].) based on the first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes described the UI framework 36a to obtained UI elements 60 from memory to have them rendered on the display 34 for application 38.); and
when detecting that a first preset condition is met (Figure 2 and paragraph [0026] describes first terminal mobile device 10 is paired (first preset condition) with a second mobile device 18.), displaying a second interface of the first application, wherein the second interface comprises the first part, and the second interface does not comprise the second part (Figure 2 reference first terminal 10 displaying only the first part/first UI element 12 as a second application (paired UI) and not displaying the second part/second UI element 14.); and
sending a first message to a second terminal (Paragraphs [0003]-[0004] describes the routine of pairing regarding short range communication between devices, communicating between devices is within the scope of a first device sending a message to another device.), [ ] and display a third interface of the first application after installing the one of the first application or the lightweight application of the first application (Paragraphs [0078]-[0079] describes applications can be pre-installed during manufacture or can be added after manufacture via third party. Paragraph [0026] describes when the second mobile device 18 is paired/messages with the first device 10 the second device 18, thereafter, displays a portion of the user interface as shown in figure 2.), the third interface comprises the second part, and the third interface does not comprise the first part (Figure 2 reference second terminal 18 displaying the second part/second UI element 14 (not displayed by the first terminal 10) and does not display the first part/first UI element 12 (that is displayed by the first terminal 10).);
sending, by the first terminal (10), [ ], wherein [ ] the first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes to store UI elements 60 in memory. Stored UI elements 60 is interpreted as a memory data object.) is used by the second terminal to [ ] , read content in the first memory data object, and display the second part of the third interface based on the first memory data object (Figure 8 and paragraph [0059] describes UI framework 36a obtains/reads the UI elements 60 stored in memory on first terminal 10. Paragraph [0058] describes UI framework 36a of the first terminal 10 can communicate with UI framework 36b of the second terminal 18 in order to determine screen size, among other things that may be relevant to rending the UI on the screen 20 of the second terminal 18. Figure 11 and paragraph [0064] describes step 92 to send the UI elements to the second device to be received in step 94.).
Lewin does not specifically disclose sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application.
Storm discloses sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application (Figures 1 through 5 and paragraphs [0030]-[0044] describes a download request from a second device 102 and the second device 102 has received a first message/file package from a first device 104/108. Method 300 details clearer understanding of installation of the application including: the first file package 310 is used to (processes 315-335) for installing the application. Paragraph [0039] specifically emphasizes to automatically initiated the download request (processes 315+330) for installation 335 of the application. This describes processes 315-330 to use the first message as a means to notify/inform/in response to the second device to automatically install 335 the application. Figure 4 is different from figure 3 such that only one process of authentication 415 is required rather than two (320+325). Figure 5 includes an additional verification message.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s communication between first and second terminals with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application yielding the predictable results of reducing a user’s burden associated with downloading and installing an application by saving significant time and data usage as disclosed by Storm (paragraph [0007]).
Further, Lewin does not specifically disclose sending, by the first terminal, an identifier of the first memory data object to the second terminal, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to read content in the first memory data object, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to determine the first memory data object based on the identifier of the first memory data object.
Olson discloses sending (Figure 1 130), by the first terminal (112), an identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) (Paragraph [0043] describes a second computing device 124 can generate a remote descriptor that is an object that uniquely identifies a location of an object in memory 116.) to the second terminal (110) ([0044] 124/112 can send the remote descriptor to device 126/110 over network 130 to device 126.), wherein the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) is used by the second terminal (110) to read content in the first memory data object (object stored in 116) ([0044] 124/112 can send the remote descriptor to device 126/110 over network 130 in which device 126 can process/read to identify where to obtain the object (described in [0043] to be an identified location in memory 116).), wherein the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) is used (processed) by the second terminal (110) to determine the first memory data object (object stored in 116) based on the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) ([0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s first terminal memory that stores a memory data object in communication with a second terminal with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, an identifier of the first memory data object to the second terminal, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to read content in the first memory data object, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to determine the first memory data object based on the identifier of the first memory data object yielding the predictable results of reducing the data transported across data pipelines reducing the need for bulk data transfer at every boundary as disclosed by Olsen ( [0033]).
Regarding claim 16, Lewin discloses the first terminal according to claim 15, wherein the detecting that the first preset condition is met comprises:
detecting that a distance between the second terminal and the first terminal is less than or equal to a threshold (Paragraph [0026] describes the condition as pairing. Paragraphs [0003]-[0004] describes pairing as a short range communication method. “Short range” includes an inherent difference to “long range” or any other range not considered short. Said difference includes an inherent threshold such that all range that is not short range is greater than said threshold. This inherent threshold interpretation is further supported in view of short range communication subsystems 30 (figure 4) and paragraph [0031] that describes Bluetooth and figure 11 steps 80 and 82 described in paragraph [0062] Bluetooth discovery for determining if a device is within proximity to another device.);
detecting that a distance between the second terminal and the first terminal is less than or equal to a threshold and the second terminal approaches the first terminal;
detecting that the second terminal collides with the first terminal; or
detecting a first operation that a user enables a collaborative display function on the first terminal (Pairing a device falls within the scope of a user enabling a “collaborative display function” since paragraph [0026] describes pairing causes the display sharing UI of figure 2.).
Regarding claim 18, Lewin discloses the first terminal according to claim 15, wherein a layout style of the first part in the second interface is different from a layout style of the first part in the first interface (Figure 2 depicts the first terminal in the vertical orientation layout when pairing with a second terminal 18 in a different layout (horizontal layout). Figure 1 depicts the first terminal displaying the first part/first UI 12 in either the vertical or horizontal layout (different from the pairing mode of figure 2 in which the first terminal 10 is in the vertical layout).).
Regarding claim 20, Lewin discloses the first terminal according to claim 15, wherein the program instruction further cause the processor to perform:
displaying a fourth interface of the first application based on the first terminal detecting a second preset condition is met, wherein the fourth interface comprises the first part and the second part (Please note that the fourth interface and the first interface are claimed to be identical. Therefore, the rejection of the first interface regarding figure 1 depicting first part 12 and second part 14 is found to be identical since display of the first terminal in an unpaired state is the same.), wherein
the detecting that the second preset condition is met comprises:
detecting that a distance between the second terminal and the first terminal is greater than a threshold;
detecting that the second terminal moves away from the first terminal; or
detecting a second operation that a user exits a collaborative display function on the first terminal (Figure 1 depicts an unpaired state between the first terminal 10 and second terminal 18. Paragraph [0026] describes the user to pair the two devices for figure 2. It is inherent that Bluetooth connection can be unpaired. Therefore, the unpaired state of figure 1 is considered the first interface before connection and figure 1 is also considered the fourth interface after unpairing from a paired connection. Please note secondary reference Kim (utilized for claim 3) is not utilized in this rejection because it is unnecessary in view of the claim language but should be noted to disclose detection of movement changes in figures 5-8C.).
5. Claim(s) 3, 9-10, 12-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewin-Storm-Olson in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0225076), herein after referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 3, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 2,
further comprising:
[ ], determining, by the first terminal, that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part (Figure 1 and paragraph [0025] reference first terminal 10 in a vertical and horizontal orientations. The second part/second UI 14 is oriented on the bottom side of the vertical orientation and right side of the horizontal orientation (as oriented in the figure) for display in the first interface. Paragraph [0025] does not describe an instance of pairing in the horizontal orientation. However, figure 2 and paragraph [0026] describes the vertical orientation in which the second part 14 is disposed on the bottom side (first side) when pairing with a second terminal 18 in a different layout (horizontal layout).).
Lewin does not specifically disclose to perform the above determination based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal.
Kim discloses based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal, determining, by the first terminal, that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part (Figures 5-8B depict a first terminal 100 and second terminal 200. Figures 6-7 and paragraphs [0107]-[0108] describes to determine the second terminal 200 location to be at a particular side of the first terminal 100 such that UI screen 620/720 of the second terminal 200 displays the first terminal 100 respective area (area 513 on the left side when the second terminal is located on the left side, figure 6, and area 511 on the top side when the second terminal is located on the upper side, figure 7).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s determining, by the first terminal, that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part with the known technique of being based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal yielding the predictable results of providing a multi UI service with decreased cost in development and maintenance of the application and without decreased data transmission speed as disclosed by Kim (paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
Regarding independent claim 9, Lewin discloses a distributed display method (abstract), comprising:
creating, by a first terminal (Figure 4 reference first mobile device 10), a first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes to store UI elements 60 in memory. Stored UI elements 60 is interpreted as a memory data object.); and
displaying, by the first terminal, a first interface of a first application, wherein the first interface comprises a first part and a second part (Figure 1 reference first mobile device 10 displaying first application/screen 16 of a first interface comprising first part/first UI element 12 (A) and second part/second UI element 14 (B) as described in paragraph [0025].) based on the first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes described the UI framework 36a to obtained UI elements 60 from memory to have them rendered on the display 34 for application 38.),
when detecting that a first preset condition (Figure 2 and paragraph [0026] describes a first and second device pair. Figure 4 and paragraph [0031] describes the pairing as short/near range communication protocol such as Bluetooth. Figure 11 steps 80 and 82 described in paragraph [0062] describes the first device to detect that the second device is in proximity via Bluetooth discovery.) is met, determining, by the first terminal based on one or more of [ ], a type of the second terminal (Paragraph [0028] describes pairing between multiple different types of devices such as portable devices exampled as smart phones, tablet computers, or portable gaming systems; and stationary non-portable devices exampled as in-vehicle infotainment screen, a public kiosk or digital signage screen, or home television.), a type of the first terminal (Paragraph [0028] describes pairing between multiple different types of devices such as portable devices exampled as smart phones, tablet computers, or portable gaming systems; and stationary non-portable devices exampled as in-vehicle infotainment screen, a public kiosk or digital signage screen, or home television. Figure 9 depicts an embodiment of two different types of devices based on their content displayed as described in paragraph [0060].), a device feature of the second terminal, a device feature of the first terminal (Figure 8 and paragraph [0058] describes the first mobile device 10 to communicate with UI framework of the second mobile device 18 in order to determine the screen size (device feature). Figure 12 and paragraph [0065] describes in step 112 for the second device to receive a request to determine screen dimensions to determine the screen dimensions that can be utilized to render the UI of the shared screen (claims 12-13). Also, Paragraph [0034] examples the basic UI elements as a button, a human-computer interaction manner (device feature for claim 14).), a device status of the second terminal, and a device status of the first terminal (Figure 11 reference steps 84 and 86 described in paragraph [0062] to regard a pairing process between the first and second terminals 10 and 18 (a device status of paired/unpaired).) (The claim language of “one or more of” is grammatically identical in interpretation as “at least one of”. “At least one of” before a list of x, y, AND z grammatically describes the claim to require one of x and one of y and one of z limitations (Superguide Corp. V. DirecTV Enterprises, Inc., 69 USPQ2d 1865 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).), that the first terminal is to display a second interface and the second terminal is to display a third interface, wherein the second interface comprises the first part and does not comprise the second part, and the third interface comprises the second part and does not comprise the first part (Figure 2 reference first terminal 10 displaying only the first part/first UI element 12 as a second application (paired UI on first device) and not displaying the second part/second UI element 14 while the second terminal 18 is displaying only the second part/second UI element 14 as third application (paired UI on second device) and not displaying the first part/first UI element 12.);
displaying, by the first terminal, the second interface; and
sending, by the first terminal, a first message to the second terminal (Paragraphs [0003]-[0004] describes the routine of pairing regarding short range communication between devices, communicating between devices is within the scope of a first device sending a message to another device.), [ ] and display a third interface of the first application after installing the one of the first application or the lightweight application of the first application (Paragraphs [0078]-[0079] describes applications can be pre-installed during manufacture or can be added after manufacture via third party. Paragraph [0026] describes when the second mobile device 18 is paired/messages with the first device 10 the second device 18, thereafter, displays a portion of the user interface as shown in figure 2.);
sending, by the first terminal (10), [ ], wherein [ ] the first memory data object (Paragraph [0059] describes to store UI elements 60 in memory. Stored UI elements 60 is interpreted as a memory data object.) is used by the second terminal to [ ] , read content in the first memory data object, and display the second part of the third interface based on the first memory data object (Figure 8 and paragraph [0059] describes UI framework 36a obtains/reads the UI elements 60 stored in memory on first terminal 10. Paragraph [0058] describes UI framework 36a of the first terminal 10 can communicate with UI framework 36b of the second terminal 18 in order to determine screen size, among other things that may be relevant to rending the UI on the screen 20 of the second terminal 18. Figure 11 and paragraph [0064] describes step 92 to send the UI elements to the second device to be received in step 94.).
Lewin does not specifically disclose determining, by the first terminal based on a location of a second terminal relative to the first terminal.
Kim discloses determining, by the first terminal based on a location of a second terminal relative to the first terminal (Figures 5-8B and 9 depict a first terminal 100 and second terminal 200. Figures 6-7 and paragraphs [0107]-[0108] describes to determine the second terminal 200 location to be at a particular side of the first terminal 100 such that UI screen 620/720 of the second terminal 200 displays the first terminal 100 respective area (area 513 on the left side when the second terminal is located on the left side, figure 6, and area 511 on the top side when the second terminal is located on the upper side, figure 7). Figure 9 and paragraph [0214] describes additional detection of the second terminal at the left and lower sides of the first terminal.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s determining, by the first terminal, that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part with the known technique of being based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal yielding the predictable results of providing a multi UI service with decreased cost in development and maintenance of the application and without decreased data transmission speed as disclosed by Kim (paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
Lewin does not specifically disclose sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application.
Storm discloses sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application (Figures 1 through 5 and paragraphs [0030]-[0044] describes a download request from a second device 102 and the second device 102 has received a first message/file package from a first device 104/108. Method 300 details clearer understanding of installation of the application including: the first file package 310 is used to (processes 315-335) for installing the application. Paragraph [0039] specifically emphasizes to automatically initiated the download request (processes 315+330) for installation 335 of the application. This describes processes 315-330 to use the first message as a means to notify/inform/in response to the second device to automatically install 335 the application. Figure 4 is different from figure 3 such that only one process of authentication 415 is required rather than two (320+325). Figure 5 includes an additional verification message.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s communication between first and second terminals with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, a first message to a second terminal, wherein the first message carries a lightweight installation package of the first application and is used to notify the second terminal to automatically install the package of the first application yielding the predictable results of reducing a user’s burden associated with downloading and installing an application by saving significant time and data usage as disclosed by Storm (paragraph [0007]).
Further, Lewin does not specifically disclose sending, by the first terminal, an identifier of the first memory data object to the second terminal, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to read content in the first memory data object, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to determine the first memory data object based on the identifier of the first memory data object.
Olson discloses sending (Figure 1 130), by the first terminal (112), an identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) (Paragraph [0043] describes a second computing device 124 can generate a remote descriptor that is an object that uniquely identifies a location of an object in memory 116.) to the second terminal (110) ([0044] 124/112 can send the remote descriptor to device 126/110 over network 130 to device 126.), wherein the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) is used by the second terminal (110) to read content in the first memory data object (object stored in 116) ([0044] 124/112 can send the remote descriptor to device 126/110 over network 130 in which device 126 can process/read to identify where to obtain the object (described in [0043] to be an identified location in memory 116).), wherein the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) is used (processed) by the second terminal (110) to determine the first memory data object (object stored in 116) based on the identifier (remote descriptor) of the first memory data object (object stored in 116) ([0044]-[0046]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s first terminal memory that stores a memory data object in communication with a second terminal with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, an identifier of the first memory data object to the second terminal, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to read content in the first memory data object, wherein the identifier of the first memory data object is used by the second terminal to determine the first memory data object based on the identifier of the first memory data object yielding the predictable results of reducing the data transported across data pipelines reducing the need for bulk data transfer at every boundary as disclosed by Olsen ( [0033]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the determining, based on one or more of the location of the second terminal relative to the first terminal, the type of the second terminal, the type of the first terminal, the device feature of the second terminal, the device feature of the first terminal, the device status of the second terminal, and the device status of the first terminal, that the first terminal is to display the second interface and the second terminal is to display the third interface comprises:
when the second terminal is located on the left of/above the first terminal, determining that the first terminal is to display right content of the first interface and the second terminal is to display left content of the first interface (Figures 5-6 reference second terminal 200 disposed on the left side of first terminal 100 such that the first terminal displays the right content (all of figure 5 content minus left area 513) and the second terminal displays the left content (area 513) as described in paragraph [0107].);
when the second terminal is located on the left of/above the first terminal, determining that the first terminal is to display lower content of the first interface and the second terminal is to display upper content of the first interface (Figures 5 and 7 reference second terminal 200 disposed on the upper side of the first terminal 100 such that the first terminal displays the lower content (all of figure 5 minus upper area 511) and the second terminal displays the upper content (area 511) as described in paragraph [0108].);
when the second terminal is located on the right of/below the first terminal, determining that the first terminal is to display left content of the first interface and the second terminal is to display right content of the first interface (Figure 9 depicts an additional embodiment wherein second terminal 200-3 is to the right side of the first terminal 100 such that the first terminal displays left content (content minus 915) and the second terminal displays the right content 915 as described in paragraph [0219].); or
when the second terminal is located on the right of/below the first terminal, determining that the first terminal is to display upper content of the first interface and the second terminal is to display lower content of the first interface (Figure 9 depicts an additional embodiment wherein second terminal 200-4 is to the lower side of the first terminal 100 such that the first terminal displays upper content (content minus 917) and the second terminal displays the lower content 917 as described in paragraph [0219].).
Regarding claim 12, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the determining, based on one or more of the location of the second terminal relative to the first terminal, the type of the second terminal, the type of the first terminal, the device feature of the second terminal, the device feature of the first terminal, the device status of the second terminal, and the device status of the first terminal, that the first terminal is to display the second interface and the second terminal is to display the third interface comprises:
when the device type of the first terminal is a first type, and/or the device type of the second terminal is a second type, displaying, by the first terminal, display-type content of the first interface (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes an embodiment of the second mobile device 18 displaying display-type content of the first interface. While claim 9 cites second mobile device 18 as the second terminal is it noted for claims 9 and 12 the first and second mobile device s 12 and 18 may be swapped in interpretation such that the second mobile device 18 is interpreted as the first terminal. This interpretation is supported in view of paragraph [0063] describes the master/slave relationship may have other configurations beyond the exampled first mobile device 10 as the master device.), and displaying, by the second terminal, interaction-type content of the first interface (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] reference second terminal/first mobile device 10 displaying interaction-type content.), wherein
the display-type content comprises one or more of document content, web page content, video content, and main body content of an application (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes the first terminal 18 displaying main body content of an application to rotate/zoom based on the interaction of the second terminal 10.); and the interaction-type content comprises one or more of a button (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] reference zoom and rotate buttons 12’ of the second terminal 10.), a menu, a catalog, a tool bar, a remark, a keyboard, and a tag; and the first type is different from the second type (Figure 9 reference displayed content of buttons 12’ on second terminal 10 different from the type of main body content 14’ displayed on first terminal 18.).
Regarding claim 13, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein a device feature comprises a screen size (Paragraph [0028] describes pairing between multiple different types of devices such as portable devices exampled as smart phones, tablet computers, or portable gaming systems; and stationary non-portable devices exampled as in-vehicle infotainment screen, a public kiosk or digital signage screen, or home television.); and
the determining, based on one or more of the location of the second terminal relative to the first terminal, the type of the second terminal, the type of the first terminal, the device feature of the second terminal, the device feature of the first terminal, the device status of the second terminal, and the device status of the first terminal, that the first terminal is to display the second interface and the second terminal is to display the third interface further comprises:
based on a screen size of the first terminal is greater than that of the second terminal, displaying, by the first terminal, display-type content of the first interface (Figure 8 and paragraph [0058] describes the first mobile device 10 to communicate with UI framework of the second mobile device 18 in order to determine the screen size. Figure 12 and paragraph [0065] describes in step 112 for the second device to receive a request to determine screen dimensions to determine the screen dimensions that can be utilized to render the UI of the shared screen. Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes an embodiment of the second mobile device 18 having a screen size that is bigger than the first mobile device 10 and displaying display-type content of the first interface. While claim 9 cites second mobile device 18 as the second terminal is it noted for claims 9 and 13 the first and second mobile devices 12 and 18 may be swapped in interpretation such that the second mobile device 18 is interpreted as the first terminal. This interpretation is supported in view of paragraph [0063] describes the master/slave relationship may have other configurations beyond the exampled first mobile device 10 as the master device and that both devices may comprise application 38 that establishes the virtual screen that incorporates the display screen 16 and 20.), and displaying, by the second terminal, interaction-type content of the first interface (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] reference second terminal/first mobile device 10 displaying interaction-type content.), wherein
the display-type content comprises one or more of document content, web page content, video content, and main body content of an application (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes the first terminal 18 displaying main body content of an application to rotate/zoom based on the interaction of the second terminal 10.); and the interaction-type content comprises one or more of a button (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] reference zoom and rotate buttons 12’ of the second terminal 10.), a menu, a catalog, a tool bar, a remark, a keyboard, and a tag.
Regarding claim 14, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein a device feature comprises a human-computer interaction manner (Paragraph [0034] examples the basic UI elements as a button, a human-computer interaction manner.); and
the determining, based on one or more of the location of the second terminal relative to the first terminal, the type of the second terminal, the type of the first terminal, the device feature of the second terminal, the device feature of the first terminal, the device status of the second terminal, and the device status of the first terminal, that the first terminal is to display the second interface and the second terminal is to display the third interface further comprises:
when a priority of a human-computer interaction manner of the first terminal is higher than a priority of a human-computer interaction manner of the second terminal (Figure 11 and paragraph [0063] describes designating the first device 10/first terminal as the master/primary device and the second device/second terminal 18 as the slave/secondary device (a description of priority).), displaying, by the first terminal, interaction-type content of the first interface (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes the first terminal 10 to display interaction-type content 12.), and displaying, by the second terminal, display-type content of the first interface (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes the second terminal 18 to display display-type content.), wherein
the display-type content comprises one or more of document content, web page content, video content, and main body content of an application (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] describes the first terminal 18 displaying main body content of an application to rotate/zoom based on the interaction of the second terminal 10.); and the interaction-type content comprises one or more of a button (Figure 9 and paragraph [0060] reference zoom and rotate buttons 12’ of the second terminal 10.), a menu, a catalog, a tool bar, a remark, a keyboard, and a tag.
Regarding claim 17, Lewin discloses the first terminal according to claim 16, wherein the program instruction further cause the processor to perform:
[ ], determining that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part (Figure 1 and paragraph [0025] reference first terminal 10 in a vertical and horizontal orientations. The second part/second UI 14 is oriented on the bottom side of the vertical orientation and right side of the horizontal orientation (as oriented in the figure) for display in the first interface. Paragraph [0025] does not describe an instance of pairing in the horizontal orientation. However, figure 2 and paragraph [0026] describes the vertical orientation in which the second part 14 is disposed on the bottom side (first side) when pairing with a second terminal 18 in a different layout (horizontal layout).).
Lewin does not specifically disclose to perform the above determination based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal.
Kim discloses based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal, determining, by the first terminal, that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part (Figures 5-8B depict a first terminal 100 and second terminal 200. Figures 6-7 and paragraphs [0107]-[0108] describes to determine the second terminal 200 location to be at a particular side of the first terminal 100 such that UI screen 620/720 of the second terminal 200 displays the first terminal 100 respective area (area 513 on the left side when the second terminal is located on the left side, figure 6, and area 511 on the top side when the second terminal is located on the upper side, figure 7).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s determining, by the first terminal, that content on the first side in the first interface is the second part, and content that is not on the first side in the first interface is the first part with the known technique of being based on detecting that the second terminal approaches the first terminal from a first side of the first terminal yielding the predictable results of providing a multi UI service with decreased cost in development and maintenance of the application and without decreased data transmission speed as disclosed by Kim (paragraphs [0002]-[0005]).
6. Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewin-Storm-Olson in view of Kang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0289308), herein after referred to as Kang.
Regarding claim 7, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 6.
Lewin does not specifically disclose wherein after the first terminal detects the second preset condition, the method further comprises: sending, by the first terminal, a second message to the second terminal, wherein the second message indicates the second terminal to exit the first application.
Kang discloses wherein after the first terminal detects the second preset condition, the method further comprises:
sending, by the first terminal, a second message to the second terminal, wherein the second message indicates the second terminal to exit the first application (Paragraph [0094] describes unpairing Bluetooth communication between devices utilizes an unpairing message to disconnect communication between the devices (exit of the application).).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s Bluetooth pairing communication with the known technique of sending, by the first terminal, a second message to the second terminal, wherein the second message indicates the second terminal to exit the first application yielding the predictable results of disconnecting the communication between paired devices as disclosed by Kang (paragraph [0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 6.
Lewin does not specifically disclose wherein the detecting that the second preset condition is met further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a third message indicating that the second terminal has exited the first application.
Kang discloses wherein the detecting that the second preset condition is met further comprises: receiving, by the first terminal, a third message indicating that the second terminal has exited the first application (Paragraph [0094] describes the communication handler 120 of the primary device 100 (first device) to receive an unpairing message from the secondary device to unpair and stop/disconnect communication between the devices.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s unpairing with the known technique of receiving, by the first terminal, a third message indicating that the second terminal has exited the first application yielding the predictable results of disconnecting the communication between paired devices as disclosed by Kang (paragraph [0094]).
7. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewin-Storm-Olson-Kim in view of Jung et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0095014), herein after referred to as Jung.
Regarding claim 11, Lewin discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the determining, based on one or more of the location of the second terminal relative to the first terminal, the type of the second terminal, the type of the first terminal, the device feature of the second terminal, the device feature of the first terminal, the device status of the second terminal, and the device status of the first terminal, that the first terminal is to display the second interface and the second terminal is to display the third interface further comprises:
[ ]; or
when the first interface comprising a [ ] page of a [ ] application and a floating window, determining that the first terminal is to display the [ ] page of the [ ] application and the second terminal is to display a page of an application corresponding to the floating window; or determining that the second terminal is to display the fifth page of the fourth application and the first terminal is to display a page of an application corresponding to the floating window (Figure 9 depicts the first terminal 10 to display a page of an application comprising user interface buttons of zoom and rotate functions. The second terminal 18 depicts a floating window comprising shaped objects that can be rotated or zoomed according to the activated functions of the first terminal 10 as described in paragraph [0060].).
Lewin does not specifically disclose a particular page number of the application to be displayed on the first or second terminal.
Jung discloses when the first interface comprising a first page and a second page of a first application, determining that the first terminal is to display the first page of the first application and the second terminal is to display the second page of the first application (Figure 1 and paragraph [0044] describes wherein multiple devices share pages of content. Figure 6 and paragraphs [0101]-[0104] describes a first device 100 to display a page 60 and a second device 200 to display a page 62. Figures 7-9 depicts various touch gesture control directions to change the pages of the respective first and second devices. In view of figure 7 a first page 1-1 is a first page of a first application depicted on the first device. Paragraph [0109] describes a horizontal input on the device (first or second) causes a sequential change to the page of the current application displayed on the device that received the input. Paragraph [0110] describes that a vertical input on the device causes the device to change the page to pages of a different device. The example of the paragraph describes the first device is display page 1-2 and receives vertical directional 72 input to then display 2-1 (the first page of the second application of the second device). This describes the second device displaying page 2-2 (second page of the second application) to receive a vertical gesture upwards to display page 1-2 (second page of the first application) while the first page 1-1 of the first application is displayed on the first device.);
when the first interface comprising a third page of a second application and a fourth page of a third application, determining that the first terminal is to display the third page of the second application and the second terminal is to display the fourth page of the third application (Following the above describes examples of paragraphs [0109]-[0110] and figure 7, the first device can display the page 2-3 (third page of the second application) and second device can display the page 3-4 (fourth page of the third application). To further emphasize the discloser if both devices start at their native first page and application (1-1 for first device and 2-1 for the second device) the first device would receive vertical gesture 72 to select page 2-1 and a horizontal gesture 70 to select page 2-3. The second device would receive a vertical gesture 74 to select 3-1 and horizontal gesture 70 to select page 3-4.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Lewin’s shared user interface with the known technique of selecting particular pages of various applications to be displayed; including: a first page and a second page of a first application, determining that the first terminal is to display the first page of the first application and the second terminal is to display the second page of the first application or when the first interface comprising a third page of a second application and a fourth page of a third application, determining that the first terminal is to display the third page of the second application and the second terminal is to display the fourth page of the third application yielding the predictable results of a technique in which each device effectively displays and uses a screen of another device as disclosed by Jung (paragraph [0004]).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 6/17/2026 have been fully considered and are found unpersuasive. Applicant argues Storm does not disclose the claimed first message because Storm discloses the first file package includes only a portion of information usable for installation of the application on the second device.
The claim language specifically states that the first message carries a “lightweight” installation package of the first application. Lightweight is defined, in the scope of software, to regard programs designed to have small memory footprint, low CPU usage, and overall low usage of system resources. Receiving a portion of information usable for installing the application is within the scope of a lightweight installation as defined above. The claim specifically states a lightweight installation package of the application and not include language to limit the scope of interpretation that the first message comprises all necessary data in order to full install and execute the application as argued.
Applicant’s next argument regards Storm paragraph [0039]. Said paragraph specifically states the download request may be automatically initiated upon receipt of a file package from another mobile device AND the requested application may be provided to the requesting device upon receipt of appropriate credentials. It is true that Storm discloses an additional step of requesting/receiving credentials. However, said paragraph also describes that the authentication can happen before providing the file package for automatic download of the application. Further, the rejection in combination utilizes the teaching of sending a message for automatically installing the package of the application and does not utilize the additional steps/teaching of authenticating since only the ability of performing the step of automatically installing the package of the application is required.
Applicant’s next argument regards newly amended subject matter in view of Stroud. Newly cited art Olson is utilized in combination to reject the subject matter.
This action is final necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
9. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621