Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1–15 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are directed to the teachings of Zhong et al. as applied in the prior rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102. However, the present rejection constitutes a new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. §103, and therefore does not rely solely on Zhong et al. for the teachings specifically challenged by Applicant.
Applicant argues that Zhong et al. fail to disclose a measurer configured to measure both electrical conductivity and a flow property of a prepared dry electrode mixture, asserting that the feed rate disclosed in paragraphs [0088] and [0094]–[0095] merely represents a supply rate to a jet mill rather than a flow property of the mixture, and that the internal resistance disclosed in paragraph [0094] relates only to a manufactured electrode rather than the dry mixture itself.
With respect to electrical conductivity, Zhong et al. disclose measurement of electrical resistivity of the dry compounded mixture prior to film formation, as shown in Table 4 and described in paragraph [0097]. Electrical resistivity is the inverse of electrical conductivity, and thus Zhong et al. disclose measurement of electrical conductivity of the prepared dry electrode mixture.
With respect to flow behavior, Zhong et al. disclose that the dry compounded mixture comprises a powder mixture of an electrode active material, a conductive material, and a binder, and that the mixture exhibits flow-related behavior affecting homogeneity, clumping, and settling (paragraph [0093]). Zhong et al. further disclose evaluating the influence of feed rate on the properties of the dry compounded mixture through systematic experimentation and analysis (paragraphs [0093]–[0102]; Figures 1i–1n). In this context, feed rate reflects the ability of the prepared dry powder mixture to flow under processing conditions and is used in Zhong et al. as a parameter indicative of mixture flowability and processability.
Zhong et al. further disclose that characteristics of the dry electrode mixture and resulting film, including tensile strength, resistivity (conductivity), and capacitance, are evaluated based on the measured electrical properties and flow-related process behavior through design-of-experiments analysis and process optimization (paragraphs [0094]–[0102]). Thus, Zhong et al. disclose evaluation of dry mixture characteristics based on measured electrical conductivity in combination with flow-related behavior of the prepared mixture.
Nevertheless, to the extent that Zhong et al. do not explicitly disclose a quantitative flow index or a direct measurement of flow property based on shear collapse behavior of the prepared dry electrode mixture, the Examiner has introduced Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2022/0238865 A1) in the present rejection. Takahashi et al. expressly disclose measuring flow properties of powder mixtures using direct shear testing under applied normal stress to determine shear collapse behavior and flowability indices. Takahashi et al. therefore address any alleged deficiencies in Zhong et al. regarding explicit measurement of powder flow properties.
Accordingly, when Zhong et al. are considered in combination with Takahashi et al., the claimed measurer configured to measure electrical conductivity and a flow property of a prepared dry electrode mixture, as well as a controller configured to evaluate characteristics of the mixture based on those measurements, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Applicant’s arguments are therefore not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhong et al. (U.S. 2013/0157141 A1, previously cited) in view of Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2022/0238865 A1, newly cited).
Regarding Claim 1 Zhong et al. disclose a dry electrode mixture comprising an electrode active material, a conductive material, and a binder (0085, 0097, 0106), and an apparatus including a housing or chamber corresponding to a frame (0090). Zhong further discloses measurement of electrical resistivity of the dry compounded mixture prior to film formation (Table 4; 0097), which inherently corresponds to measurement of electrical conductivity. Zhong further discloses evaluation of characteristics of the dry electrode mixture and resulting film based on measured electrical properties and process conditions, including determining suitability for film formation and quality through analysis of experimental data and process optimization (0094–0102; Figs. 1i–1n), corresponding to a controller configured to evaluate characteristics of the dry electrode mixture.
However, Zhong does not explicitly disclose measuring a flow property of the prepared dry electrode mixture as recited.
Takahashi et al. disclose measuring a flow property of a powder mixture by performing a direct shear test for powders, in which a powder layer is subjected to increasing shear stress under an applied normal stress to induce shear collapse (0107–0113). Takahashi further discloses calculating a flow function coefficient (ff_c) based on measured normal stress and shear stress, which quantitatively represents flowability of the powder mixture (0104–0114). Takahashi expressly teaches using such measured flow properties to evaluate powder packing characteristics and processability (0104–0106).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Zhong’s diagnostic apparatus to include measurement of a flow property of the prepared dry electrode mixture as taught by Takahashi, because Zhong already seeks to evaluate and optimize dry electrode mixture suitability for film formation and processing, and incorporating a known powder flowability measurement under shear would provide a predictable and quantitative means to assess mixture behavior prior to film formation.
As to claim 2, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 1, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose a holder configured to receive the dry electrode mixture (30 in Fig. 2a; receiving dry compounded material comprising electrode active material, conductive material, and binder [0097] & [0106]); and a housing configured to apply a shear stress to the dry electrode mixture in the holder while applying pressure to the dry electrode mixture (housing or chamber confining the dry electrode mixture [0090]; application of shear stress to the dry electrode mixture during mechanical processing [0086], [0104]; concurrent application of pressure to the dry electrode mixture during processing and consolidation [0086], [0104]); wherein the housing comprises a probe configured to measure the electrical conductivity of the dry electrode mixture (measurement of electrical resistivity of the dry compounded mixture prior to film formation [0097], Table 4; resistivity being the inverse of electrical conductivity; measurement performed on the dry electrode mixture within the housing during processing [0097]).
As to claim 3, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 2, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose a moving portion connected to the housing and configured to move and rotate the housing with respect to the frame (via housing or chamber, see [0090]); and a driver (via motor drive see Fig. 2 & [0088]) configured to provide a moving force and a rotational force to the moving portion (see Fig. 2g & [0115]).
As to claim 4, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 3, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the housing comprises a blade (35) (see [0110]) rotatably disposed in the housing.
As to claim 5, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 4, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the probe is disposed at a shaft of the blade (35) (see [0110]) in the housing (see [0115]).
As to claim 6, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 1, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose a scale (via weight binder 23) provided on a bottom of the frame (via housing or chamber, see [0090]) and configured to measure a mass of the dry electrode mixture (via mass spectrometer, see [0082]).
As to claim 7, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 6, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the frame (via housing or chamber, see [0090]) comprises support protrusions configured to protrude from the frame (via housing or chamber, see [0090]), and wherein the support protrusions are configured to support a holder (30 of Fig. 2a) disposed on the scale (via weight binder 23) at a distance apart from the scale (see [0093] & [0108]) .
As to claim 8, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 1, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the controller is further configured to: compare the measured flow property (see Figs. 1k-1m) with a predetermined flow index; and determine that the dry electrode mixture is capable of being formed into a film, when the flow property (see Figs. 1k-1m) is within a range of the predetermined flow index (via feeding rate, see [0088] & [0095]).
As to claim 9, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 8, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the controller is further configured to: acquire an internal stress of the dry electrode mixture at a point in time when the dry electrode mixture collapses while increasing shear stress (via shear acts/force, see [0086 & 0104]) applied to the dry electrode mixture in a state in which a designated normal stress is applied to the dry electrode mixture; and calculate the flow property (see Figs. 1k-1m) by differentiating the internal stress with respect to the shear stress (via shear acts/force, see [0086 & 0104]).
As to claim 10, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 1, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the controller is further configured to predict a ratio of components of the dry electrode mixture by comparing the measured electrical conductivity with pre-collected data (see [0109] & [0112]).
As to claim 11, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 10, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the pre-collected data comprises ratios of components in each of a plurality of dry electrode mixtures (mixture of 12 & 14, see [0085]), dispersion conditions when each of the dry electrode mixtures (mixture of 12 & 14, see [0085]) is manufactured, electrical conductivity of each of the dry electrode mixtures (mixture of 12 & 14, see [0085]), and a degree of fibrillization of a binder (16 & 23) in each of the dry electrode mixtures (mixture of 12 & 14, see [0085]).
As to claim 12, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 11, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the controller is further configured to predict the ratio of the components in the dry electrode mixture and predict a degree of fibrillization of the binder (16 & 23) in the dry electrode mixture based on data of a dry electrode mixture having the same electrical conductivity as the measured electrical conductivity among the pre- collected data (see [0098], [0102]).
As to claim 13, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 2, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose a flattener configured to separate from the frame (via housing or chamber, see [0090]) and level the dry electrode mixture disposed in the holder (30 of Fig. 2a).
As to claim 14, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 13, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose a tray configured to have a cross-section greater than the holder (30 of Fig. 2a), wherein the holder (30 of Fig. 2a) is disposed on the tray; and a cutter mounted on the tray and configured to level the dry electrode mixture in the holder (30 of Fig. 2a) by rotation (see [0110]).
As to claim 15, Zhong et al. & Takahashi et al. disclose the diagnostic apparatus of claim 2, wherein Zhong et al. further disclose the holder (30 of Fig. 2a) further comprises a plurality of recesses indented from an inner surface of the holder (30 of Fig. 2a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2024/0372139 A1 to Molinski et al. disclose Dry gel polymer electrolytes as well as their methods of manufacture and use in electrochemical cells are disclosed. In some embodiments, a dry gel polymer electrolyte may include sulfolane, a high molecular weight polyethylene oxide, and a lithium salt. In embodiments in which the dry gel polymer electrolyte is included in the electrochemical cell, at least one layer of the dry gel polymer electrolyte may be disposed between an anode and a cathode of the electrochemical cell.
U.S. 2017/0207489 A1 to Zhamu et al. disclose a process for producing an alkali metal battery, comprising: (a) preparing multiple conductive porous layers (having at least 80% by volume of pores), multiple wet anode layers of an anode active material mixed with a liquid electrolyte, and multiple wet cathode layers of a cathode active material mixed with a liquid electrolyte; (b) stacking and consolidating a desired number of the porous layers and a desired number of wet anode layers to form an anode electrode; (c) placing a porous separator layer in contact with the anode electrode; (d) preparing a cathode electrode in a similar manner than anode; and (e) assembling all the components in a housing to produce the battery; wherein the anode active material has a material mass loading no less than 20 mg/cm.sup.2 in the anode and/or the cathode active material has a material mass loading no less than 30 mg/cm.sup.2 in the cathode electrode.
U.S. 2014/0346046 A1 to Andelman discloses a polarized electrode flow through capacitor comprises at least one each electrode material, with a pore volume that includes meso and micropores, with contained anionic or cationic groups. The polarized electrodes are in opposite polarity facing pairs, separated by a flow path or flow spacer. Both polarities of the particular attached ionic groups used are ionized at the working pH or composition of the particular feed solution supplied to inlet of the flow through capacitor. The contained groups cause the electrodes to be polarized so that they are selective to anions or cations. The polarized electrode flow through capacitor has better performance compared to identical flow through capacitors made from non-derivitized carbon. The capacitor electrode materials so derivitized provide this polarization function directly without need for a separate charge barrier material.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
January 2, 2026
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858