DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following: request for continued examination filed on June 22, 2026, the amendments to claims filed on May 1, 2026, and the information disclosure stamen filed on June 22, 2026.
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20 are pending. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent. Claims 5, 12, and 19 are cancelled by applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 22, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on May 1, 2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inbar et al (US 20210389879) in view of Seol et al (US 20120268988 A1)
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Inbar teaches a system comprising:
a memory device (Fig. 1: 104); and
a processing device (Fig. 1: 102), operatively coupled with the memory device (Fig. 1: 104), to perform operations comprising:
performing a first programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL1, Zone A) on a first set of cells (Fig 14: Plane 0, Plane 1) associated with a first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of a first die (Fig. 14: Zone A) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104);
identifying, based on a first predefined value, a second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of a second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104), wherein the first predefined value is a shift in an index value of the first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the first die (Fig. 14: Zone A) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104); and
performing a second programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL0, Zone B) on a second set of cells (Fig 14: Plane 2, Plane 3) associated with the second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of the second die (Fig. 14: Zone B), wherein the second wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) is associated with a different index (Fig. 14: 0) value than the first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the first die (Fig. 14: Zone A).
Inbar fails to teach wherein the first predefined value is determined based on grouping wordlines of each die by raw bit error rate (RBER).
Seol teaches grouping word lines based on the bit error rate. (para “word lines WL0-WLm are divided into an upper word line group UWLG and a lower word line group LWLG. The upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may be determined depending on which select line, i.e., the string select line SSL or the ground select line GSL, the word lines are adjacent or closest to. The upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may be determined depending on bit error rates of the memory cells connected to each word line group. In this case, the number of word lines in the upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may vary depending on the bit error rates.”)
Seol states in paragraph 37 that organizing the cells based on bit error rates can improve the overall storage capacity of a non-volatile memory devices. Therefore, this would represent an obvious improvement to the operation of non-volatile memories. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Seol to the teachings of Inbar to produce a memory where the wordlines are grouped based on the bit error rates of cells on a given word line.
Regarding Claim 2, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 1. Inbar further teaches the limitations of claim 1 further comprising:
receiving a request to perform a third programming operation (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL);
identifying, based on a second predefined value, a third wordline of a third die of the memory device, wherein the second predefined value is a shift in an index value of the second wordline of the second die of the memory device; and (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL)
performing the third programming operation on a third set of cells associated with the third wordline of the third die, wherein the third wordline of the third die is associated with a different index value than the first wordline of the first die and the second wordline of the second die. (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL)
Inbar teaches a plurality of die (para 35) and that multiple parallel programming operations can occur in parallel (Fig. 14: programming both zones at different WL) and that this programming method can be used in multi-zone arrangements where each zone consists of two planes each (para 115-116). Thus, a third programming operation in a third die based on a second predefined value is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 3, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 1. Inbar further teaches wherein performing the first programming operation comprises performing a write operation (para 114-116; Fig. 14: programming both zones at different WL; the write operation and programming are used interchangeably to refer to the same thing. It is well understood in the art that a write operation and programming operation are the same for non-volatile memories).
Regarding Claim 7, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 1. Inbar further teaches wherein the first predefined value is computed using a hardware accelerator (para 34; “The XOR engines 224/254 and ECC engines 226/256 are dedicated hardware circuits, known as hardware accelerators.”) associated with the memory device (Fig. 1: 104).
Regarding Independent Claim 8, Inbar teaches a method comprising:
computing a predefined value associated with each die of a memory device (Fig. 1: 104), wherein the predefined value is a shift in an index value of each wordline associated with each die of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104);
receiving a request to perform a first programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL1, Zone A);
identifying, based on the predefined value, a first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of a first die (Fig. 14: Zone A) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104);
performing the first programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL1, Zone A) on a first set of cells (Fig 14: Plane 0, Plane 1) associated with the first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the first die of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104);
identifying, based on the predefined value, a second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of a second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104); and
performing a second programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL0, Zone B) on a second set of cells (Fig 14: Plane 2, Plane 3) associated with the second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of the second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) , wherein the second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of the second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) is associated with a different index value (Fig. 14: 0) than the first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the first die (Fig. 14: Zone B).
Inbar fails to teach wherein the first predefined value is determined based on grouping wordlines of each die by raw bit error rate (RBER).
Seol teaches grouping word lines based on the bit error rate. (para “word lines WL0-WLm are divided into an upper word line group UWLG and a lower word line group LWLG. The upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may be determined depending on which select line, i.e., the string select line SSL or the ground select line GSL, the word lines are adjacent or closest to. The upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may be determined depending on bit error rates of the memory cells connected to each word line group. In this case, the number of word lines in the upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may vary depending on the bit error rates.”)
Seol states in paragraph 37 that organizing the cells based on bit error rates can improve the overall storage capacity of a non-volatile memory devices. Therefore, this would represent an obvious improvement to the operation of non-volatile memories. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Seol to the teachings of Inbar to produce a memory where the wordlines are grouped based on the bit error rates of cells on a given word line.
Regarding Claim 9, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 8. Inbar further teaches the method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving a request to perform a third programming operation (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL);
identifying, based on the predefined value, a third wordline of a third die of the memory device (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL); and
performing the third programming operation on a third set of cells associated with the third wordline of the third die, wherein the third wordline of the third die is associated with a different index value than the first wordline of the first die and the second wordline of the second die. (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL)
Inbar teaches a plurality of die (para 35) and that multiple parallel programming operations can occur in parallel (Fig. 14: programming both zones at different WL) and that this is programming method can be used in multi-zone arrangements where each zone consists of two planes each (para 115-116). Thus, a third programming operation in a third die based on a second predefined value is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 10, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 8. Inbar further teaches wherein performing the first programming operation comprises performing a write operation (para 114-116; Fig. 14: programming both zones at different WL; the write operation and programming are used interchangeably to refer to the same thing. It is well understood in the art that a write operation and programming operation are the same for non-volatile memories).
Regarding Claim 14, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 8. Inbar further teaches wherein the predefined value is computed using a hardware accelerator (para 34; “The XOR engines 224/254 and ECC engines 226/256 are dedicated hardware circuits, known as hardware accelerators.”) associated with the memory device (Fig. 1: 104).
Regarding Independent Claim 15, Inbar teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (Fig. 1: 104) comprising instructions that, when executed by a processing device (Fig. 1: 102), cause the processing device (Fig. 1: 102) to perform operations comprising:
performing a first programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL1, Zone A) on a first set of cells (Fig 14: Plane 0, Plane 1) associated with a first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of a first die (Fig. 14: Zone A) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104);
identifying, based on a first predefined value, a second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of a second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104), wherein the first predefined value is a shift in an index value of the first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the first die (Fig. 14: Zone A) of the memory device (Fig. 1: 104); and
performing a second programming operation (Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL, WL0, Zone B) on a second set of cells (Fig 14: Plane 2, Plane 3) associated with the second wordline (Fig. 14: WL0) of the second die (Fig. 14: Zone B), wherein the second wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the second die (Fig. 14: Zone B) is associated with a different index (Fig. 14: 0) value than the first wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) of the first die (Fig. 14: Zone A).
Inbar fails to teach wherein the first predefined value is determined based on grouping wordlines of each die by raw bit error rate (RBER).
Seol teaches grouping word lines based on the bit error rate. (para “word lines WL0-WLm are divided into an upper word line group UWLG and a lower word line group LWLG. The upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may be determined depending on which select line, i.e., the string select line SSL or the ground select line GSL, the word lines are adjacent or closest to. The upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may be determined depending on bit error rates of the memory cells connected to each word line group. In this case, the number of word lines in the upper word line group UWLG and the lower word line group LWLG may vary depending on the bit error rates.”)
Seol states in paragraph 37 that organizing the cells based on bit error rates can improve the overall storage capacity of a non-volatile memory devices. Therefore, this would represent an obvious improvement to the operation of non-volatile memories. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Seol to the teachings of Inbar to produce a memory where the wordlines are grouped based on the bit error rates of cells on a given word line.
Regarding Claim 16, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 15. Inbar further teaches wherein the processing device (Fig. 1: 102) is to perform operations further comprising:
identifying, based on a second predefined value, a third wordline of a third die of the memory device, wherein the second predefined value is a shift in an index value of the second wordline of the second die of the memory device; and (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL)
performing the third programming operation on a third set of cells associated with the third wordline of the third die, wherein the third wordline of the third die is associated with a different index value than the first wordline of the first die and the second wordline of the second die. (para 116 “The embodiment of FIG. 14 illustrates an embodiment in which multiple zones can be assigned to a single die, and where each of the zones is assigned to multiple planes (two planes each).”; Fig. 14: 2 programming both zones at different WL)
Inbar teaches a plurality of die (para 35) and that multiple parallel programming operations can occur in parallel (Fig. 14: programming both zones at different WL) and that this programming method can be used in multi-zone arrangements where each zone consists of two planes each (para 115-116). Thus, a third programming operation in a third die based on a second predefined value is anticipated.
Regarding Claim 17, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 15. Inbar further teaches wherein performing the first programming operation comprises performing a write operation (para 114-116; Fig. 14: programming both zones at different WL; the write operation and programming are used interchangeably to refer to the same thing. It is well understood in the art that a write operation and programming operation are the same for non-volatile memories).
Regarding Claim 20, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 15. Inbar further teaches wherein the predefined value is computed using a hardware accelerator (para 34; “The XOR engines 224/254 and ECC engines 226/256 are dedicated hardware circuits, known as hardware accelerators.”) associated with the memory device (Fig. 1: 104).
Claims 4, 6, 11, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inbar et al (US 20210389879) and Seol et al (US 20120268988 A1) in view of Krakulak et al (US 20160147582).
Regarding Claim 4, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Inbar teaches applying an index value to one wordline (Fig. 14: WL1) in one die (Fig. 14: Zone A) and a different index value (Fig. 14: WL2) in another die (Fig. 14: Zone B).
Inbar fails to teach a look-up table that can be used to identify word line index values and apply value to shift from one index value in one die to an index value in another.
However, Krakulak teaches a table of word line values for the purpose of performing operations on memory cells (para 39; “Each wordline of a block may be represented in the table.”).
Inbar states that “When programming memory cells to different word lines that are in different fingers of different blocks in different planes of a die, each of the word lines needs to receive a programming voltage Vpgm. Because the word lines are in different sub-blocks of different blocks (and are likely to be at different word line positions), it is likely that one of the word lines will program faster than the other word line due to the different word line positions.” Thus, it would be advantageous to have a table that stores word lines index values that can be used to identify the word line being programmed so a different word line in a different die can be programmed in order to speed up the programming operation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Krakulak to the teachings of Inbar to produce a memory device that retrieves a predefined value from a table based on a current first word line selected in a first die and then applies the predefined value to the index value of the value of the first word line to select a second word line with a different index value in a second die.
Regarding Claim 6, Inbar, Seol, and Krakulak teach the limitations of Claim 1. Inbar Fails to teach wherein the first predefined value is computed based on an error count associated with each die of the memory device.
Krakulak teaches keeping an error count with in the memory (para 3).
It is well understood that correcting for errors in memory arrays often need to be accounted for by counting the number of errors in the cells of the array in order to prevent read errors. Thus, it would be obvious to apply the methodology of counting errors and correcting for it when shifting between word lines that are selected between the die of the memory device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Krakulak to the teachings of Inbar in order to produce a predefined value used to shift the index value of a first word line in one die to a second value in another word line based on the error count associated with each die.
Regarding Claim 11, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 8. Claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Regarding Claim 13, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 8. Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6.
Regarding Claim 18, Inbar and Seol teach the limitations of Claim 15. Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Applicant’s first argument seems to rely largely on the basis that memory Zones described in Inbar are not analogous to memory die. However, both are just arbitrarily defined regions of memory cells. Within the context of this application which is largely focused on a method of operating memory devices the is no difference since both focus one how word lines are being selected in relation to one another.
Applicant’s argument then focuses on the amendment to independent claims 1, 8, and 15, which bases the grouping of word lines based on raw bit error rates. This limitation is addressed by the addition of Seol, which teaches grouping word lines in a memory based on bit error rates. Therefore, the rejection of these claims are maintained.
Conclusion
/JOSEPH FIDELIS STORMES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2825
/Donald HB Braswell/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2825