DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller et al. in US Patent 5172711. Mueller teaches a device for enjoying an outdoor space, the device comprising: a parasol (12’) connected to a distal end of a pole (16’), a parasol fan (18) disposed along an inner surface of the parasol so as to direct airflow downward; and a net (86) disposed downward of the parasol fan, wherein the net defines a compartment between the net and a portion of the inner surface of the parasol that the parasol fan occupies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Goodling in US Patent 11401728. Mueller teaches a solar panel (82) electrically connected to the pole (via 84) for powering one or more electronic devices, but is silent on the details of the panel or the use of a device charger. Goodling teaches an umbrella including a pole (111) and comprising a solar fabric (163) along an outer surface of the parasol for powering one or more electronic device chargers (153) operatively associated with the pole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mueller by using the solar panels to power device chargers as taught by Goodling in order to allow the user to charge their electronic device
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mueller as applied to Claim 1 above in view of Korman in US Patent 9006940. Mueller teaches a solar panel (82) electrically connected to the pole (via 84) for powering one or more electronic devices, but is silent on the use of a device charger. Korman teaches an umbrella including a solar panel (166) electrically connected (via 158) to a pole (154) for powering one or more electronic device chargers (160) operatively associated with the pole. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Mueller by using the solar panels to power device chargers as taught by Korman in order to allow the user to charge their electronic device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Westman, and Covington teach umbrellas with fans. Weaver, Kelley, and Magalde et al. teach umbrellas with screens. Klein et al., Chaimovski et al., and Grierson teach umbrellas with solar panels.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah Chandler Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636