Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows: The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 17/844,071, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. This application claims priority claim to Application 17/844071, which is directed to completely different subject matter. It is believed that priority to Application 17/884071 was intended.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Pending claims 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of patented claims 1-3 of prior U.S. Patent No. 11,873,921. This is a statutory double patenting rejection. The pending: patented claim correspondence is as follows: 4:1, 5:2 and 6:3. The pending: patented claims are identical except that pending claim 4 is in dependent format (i.e., there is no difference in scope).
Applicant is advised that a terminal disclaimer may not be used to overcome a "same invention" type double patenting rejection. In re Thor-ington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969); MPEP § 804.02.
Pending claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patented claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,921. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference amounts to the patented claim reciting more than the pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Collin (US 1,076,665), which discloses:
1. An apparatus for controlling a metering valve, comprising:
a servo-valve (52, 57, 58) comprising an actuator (52) for operating said servo-valve; and
a tube (59, between 48 and 58) having a first end connected to said servo-valve (see FIG 2) and an opposite second end for connection to a metering valve (see FIG 2, showing the tubes capability of connecting to a metering valve, such as to the body 5 of metering valve 8, 10) and to allow said servo-valve to control the metering valve (page 2 line 92 to page 3 line 29), wherein said tube has a predetermined length (as shown in FIG 2) to thermally isolate said actuator and said servo-valve from the metering valve to prevent an increase in a temperature of said actuator caused by heat from the metering valve above an operating temperature of said actuator (this limitation is given limited patentable weight as it relates to an intended use or effect of the tube, and is met by Collin in that the tube is capable of achieving such an effect, as the tube serves to separate the servo-valve from the metering valve, thereby decreasing conductive heat transfer therebetween).
3. An apparatus for metering a fluid, comprising:
a metering valve (5, 8, 10) for metering a fluid;
a servo-valve (52, 57, 58) comprising an actuator (52) for operating said servo-valve; and
a tube (59, between 48 and 58) having a first end connected to said servo-valve (see FIG 2) and an opposite second end for connection to a metering valve (see FIG 2, showing the tubes capability of connecting to a metering valve, such as to the body 5 of metering valve 8, 10) and to allow said servo-valve to control the metering valve (page 2 line 92 to page 3 line 29), wherein said tube has a predetermined length (as shown in FIG 2) to thermally isolate said actuator and said servo-valve from the metering valve to prevent an increase in a temperature of said actuator caused by heat from the metering valve above an operating temperature of said actuator (this limitation is given limited patentable weight as it relates to an intended use or effect of the tube, and is met by Collin in that the tube is capable of achieving such an effect, as the tube serves to separate the servo-valve from the metering valve, thereby decreasing conductive heat transfer therebetween).
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Laumen (US 2020/0232346), which discloses:
1. An apparatus for controlling a metering valve, comprising:
a servo-valve (17) comprising an actuator (22) for operating said servo-valve; and
a tube (the member in which 16 is located, and against the right side of which the left side of spring 13 rests; see FIG 3) having a first end connected to said servo-valve and an opposite second end for connection to a metering valve (as positioned in FIG 3, it is between servo-valve 17 and metering valve 8) and to allow said servo-valve to control the metering valve (via fluid communication therethrough), wherein said tube has a predetermined length (as shown in FIG 3) to thermally isolate said actuator and said servo-valve from the metering valve to prevent an increase in a temperature of said actuator caused by heat from the metering valve above an operating temperature of said actuator (this limitation is given limited patentable weight as it relates to an intended use or effect of the tube, and is met by Laumen in that the tube is capable of achieving such an effect; as the tube serves to separate the servo-valve from the metering valve, thereby decreasing conductive heat transfer therebetween).
2. The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a cooling system (23) to provide cooling to said servo-valve.
3. An apparatus for metering a fluid, comprising:
a metering valve (8) for metering a fluid;
a servo-valve (17) comprising an actuator (22) for operating said servo-valve; and
a tube (the member in which 16 is located, and against the right side of which the left side of spring 13 rests; see FIG 3) having a first end connected to said servo-valve and an opposite second end for connection to a metering valve (as positioned in FIG 3, it is between servo-valve 17 and metering valve 8) and to allow said servo-valve to control the metering valve (via fluid communication therethrough), wherein said tube has a predetermined length (as shown in FIG 3) to thermally isolate said actuator and said servo-valve from the metering valve to prevent an increase in a temperature of said actuator caused by heat from the metering valve above an operating temperature of said actuator (this limitation is given limited patentable weight as it relates to an intended use or effect of the tube, and is met by Laumen in that the tube is capable of achieving such an effect; as the tube serves to separate the servo-valve from the metering valve, thereby decreasing conductive heat transfer therebetween).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laumen in view of Collin.
Laumen discloses the invention as claimed, with arguable exception to the member in which 16 is located constituting a “tube”. Relatedly, Laumen discloses each of the metering valve and servo valve to be embodied in a single block-like valve housing (see FIG 3). Collin teaches that it was known in the art at the time of filing to embody a similar servo-valve in a first valve housing, which is connected by a tube (59) to a second housing of a similar metering valve. To modularize Laumen’s valve such that individual parts of the housing could be replaced in the event of localized failure, it would have been obvious to use a tube to connect separate metering valve and servo-valve housings, as taught by Collin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2004/0124259, US 3,908,382, US 3,818,699 and US 6,804,963 disclose steam systems using water injector and metering units.
/WILLIAM M MCCALISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
12/3/25