DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/06/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9-13, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2022/0295237 A1, hereinafter Zhang.)
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a system for joint communication and radar sensing ([Figure 3, 310] and [0052] the wireless device 310 may be a radar device for determining radio frequency sensing information, [0002] capable of supporting communication with multiple users, i.e. joint communication) comprising: at least one communication transmitter unit ([Figure 3, 318] transmitter)) configured to transmit at least one communication pilot signal; at least one radar transmitter unit configured to transmit at least one radar pilot signal ([Figure 3], [0048] and [0052] Some of the transmissions may carry reference (pilot) signals (RS), i.e. the transmitter and receiver may be configured to send pilot signals, and a transmitter/receiver 318 with a corresponding transmit processor 316 and receive processor 370 that are configured to perform radar transmission and measurement); a control unit ([Figure 3, 375]) configured to schedule a transmission of the at least one communication transmitter unit ([Figure 7, 720] and [0070] The first radar 702 may transmit, at 718, the transmission schedule to the second radar 704 and/or the first radar 702 may transmit, at 718, the transmission schedule to the third radar) or the at least one radar transmitter unit using a time delay ([Figure 4] and [0060] FIG. 4 item 402 may measure a time delay between transmission of the radar signal and reception of the return signal. That is, transmissions may use a time delay); and at least one receiver unit configured to receive the at least one radar pilot signal with the time delay with respect to the at least one communication pilot signal ([Figure 4] and [0060] reception of the return signal for determining a distance to the object from which the return signal was reflected).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses at least one communication pilot signal or the at least one radar pilot signal correspond to a waveform with a prefix ([0046] The symbols on DL may be cyclic prefix. [0048] Some of the transmissions may carry reference (pilot) signals (RS). That is, signal transmission symbols may be cyclic prefix on a pilot signal).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses the prefix is a cyclic prefix ([0046] The symbols on DL may be cyclic prefix).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses the control unit ([Figure 3, 375]) is configured to generate the time delay corresponding to a predefined time range within the prefix ([0060] A time delay may be measured corresponding to a predefined time range within [0046] a cyclic prefix).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses the control unit ([Figure 3, 375]) is configured to schedule transmissions by scheduling the at least one communication transmitter unit and the at least one radar transmitter unit using a time delay ([Figure 7, 720] and [0070] The first radar 702 may transmit, at 718, the transmission schedule to the second radar 704 and/or the first radar 702 may transmit, at 718, the transmission schedule to the third radar. That is, a radar group may transmit signals on [0019] a transmission schedule, based on [0060] a time delay, via [0048] pilot signals from the transmitters) such that a separation of the radar and communication pilot signals is determinable at the at least one receiver unit by range-domain orthogonality at the at least one receiver unit ([0056] Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358, may be provided to different antennas 352 via separate transmitters 354TX, i.e. the ability to separate communication and radar sensing channels).
Regarding claim 13, the claimed limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in the combination of claims 9 and 11.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7, 8, 14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2022/0295237 A1, hereinafter Zhang) in view of Sahin et al. (US 2022/0350009 A1, hereinafter Sahin.)
Regarding claim 2, Zhang discloses the control unit ([Figure 3, 375]).
Zhang does not specifically disclose to generate a frequency shift for the at least one communication transmitter unit or the at least one radar transmitter unit, and wherein the at least one receiver unit is further configured to receive the at least one radar pilot signal with the frequency shift with respect to the at least one communication pilot signal. However, Sahin discloses a system for ([0003] modulating joint radar communication signals via the use of frequency shifting. [Figure 3] and [0064]-[0066] a frequency shift may be applied to the reference signal waveform (i.e., the reference signal 304 of FIG. 3), i.e. a frequency shift is related to the radar pilot signal. That is, a receiver/transmitter unit is configured to receive/transmit a pilot signal with a frequency shift).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to generate a frequency shift for the at least one communication transmitter unit or the at least one radar transmitter unit, and wherein the at least one receiver unit is further configured to receive the at least one radar pilot signal with the frequency shift with respect to the at least one communication pilot signal, as taught by Sahin, in order to enhance data communication capabilities ([0012]).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses the control unit ([Figure 3, 375]) is configured to: generate the time delay using a digital pilot modulation; or generate the time delay using one or more time delay units ([0060] A time delay may be measured between transmission of the radar signal and reception from another signal for determining a distance to the object from which the return signal was received, i.e. generating a time delay using multiple time delay units measured from multiple signals).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the control unit ([Figure 3, 375]).
Zhang does not specifically disclose to generate the frequency shift using a digital pilot modulation; or generate the frequency shift using one or more frequency offsets. However, Sahin discloses ([Figure 3] and [0065] frequency shifting the reference signal waveform, i.e. the reference signal 304 of FIG. 3, read on generating the frequency shift via a digital pilot modulation signal.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang to generate the frequency shift using a digital pilot modulation; or generate the frequency shift using one or more frequency offsets, as taught by Sahin, in order to enhance data communication capabilities ([0012]).
Regarding claim 14, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Claims 3-5, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2022/0295237 A1, hereinafter Zhang) and Sahin et al. (US 2022/0350009 A1, hereinafter Sahin) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Trainin et al. (US 2021/0173065 A1, hereinafter Trainin.)
Regarding claim 3, Zhang discloses the control unit ([Figure 3, 375]) and wherein the at least one receiver unit is configured to perform channel estimation based on the time delay or the frequency shift in order to separate communication and radar sensing channels. ([0054] Each receiver may perform decisions based on channel estimates computed by the channel estimator 358 using [0060] a time delay or [0065] frequency shift. [0056] Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358, may be provided to different antennas 352 via separate transmitters 354TX, i.e. the ability to separate communication and radar sensing channels).
The combination of Zhang and Sahin does not specifically disclose to transmit the time delay or the frequency shift to the at least one receiver unit prior to the reception of the at least one communication pilot signal and the at least one radar pilot signal. However, Trainin discloses ([0075] the radar transmitter 710 may transmit a radar alert frame followed by a codeword sequence to the radar receiver 720 prior to transmitting the radar pulses 712. The radar alert frame may include timing information such as indicating a timing offset or delay. That is, a time delay or frequency shift may be transmitted prior to transmitting communication or radar pilot signals via the radar alert frame.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang and Sahin to include, transmitting a time delay or frequency shift to a receiver prior to receiving a communication and radar pilot signal, as taught by Trainin, in order to improve radar signals being implemented by existing wireless communication systems and networks and thus improve system performance.
Regarding claim 4, Zhang discloses at least one receiver unit ([Figure 3] and [0052] Transmitter/receiver 318) is configured to: perform the channel estimation in range-domain based on the time delay; or perform the channel estimation in Doppler-domain based on the frequency shift. ([Figure 1] and [0028] A radar device 103 may transmit a wireless signal 105 and use information about the signal to image an environment or determine information about a target 107 based on range, doppler, and/or angle information determined from the wireless signal. [Figure 7, 702] and [0074] Radar device 702 may perform operations such as range estimation, direction estimation, Doppler estimation, etc. That is, the receiver unit may be configured to perform estimations such as range-domain or Doppler-domain based on a [0060] time delay or [0065] frequency shift).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses at least one receiver unit is configured to generate range profiles based on the channel estimation in the Doppler-domain based on the frequency shift. ([Figure 1] and [0028] a radar device 103 may transmit a wireless signal 105 and use information about the signal to image an environment or determine information about a target 107 based on range, doppler, and/or angle information determined from the wireless signal. [Figure 3] and [0055] The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360 that stores program codes and data. That is, range can be calculated from the channel estimation from the Doppler-domain and frequency shift. The range can then be stored in memory as a range profile).
Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2022/0295237 A1, hereinafter Zhang,) Sahin et al. (US 2022/0350009 A1, hereinafter Sahin,) and Trainin et al. (US 2021/0173065 A1, hereinafter Trainin) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Laghezza et al. (US 2020/0348389 A1, hereinafter Laghezza.)
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses the at least one receiver unit ([Figure 3] and [0052] Transmitter/receiver 318).
The combination of Zhang,Sahin, and Trainin do not specifically disclose to combine the range profiles to generate a range-Doppler map, a range-velocity map, a delay- Doppler map, or a delay-velocity map. However, Laghezza discloses the range-Doppler map is calculated ([0046]), from the range profile of the radar signal ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Zhang, Sahin, and Trainin to include, generating a range-Doppler map, as taught by Laghezza, in order to enhance data communication ([0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Manolakos, Alexandros et al. (2022). Communication system radar signaling (US 2022/0283262 A1). Filed 2021-03-08. Discloses a communication device that includes a transceiver, memory and processor. The device may be capable of receiving and measuring wireless radar signal positions in accordance to power levels, and transmitting an indication of the positioning measurement to a network. (Figure 8 and Abstract)
Guenach, Mamoun et al. (2022). System and method for providing distributed wireless communication (US 2022/0150909 A1). Filed 2021-11-10. Discloses a scheduling unit configured to schedule wireless communication units for radar sensing for distributing wireless communication with respect to a UE dealing with radar sensing information. (Abstract)
Chen, Chulong et al. (2020). Methods and apparatus to implement compact time-frequency division multiplexing for mimo radar (US 2020/0233076 A1). Filed 2019-06-27. Discloses compact time-frequency division multiplexing for Multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) radar systems. (Abstract)
Yu, Zhibin et al. (2020). Device radar sensing (US 2020/0072963 A1). Filed 2017-03-31. Discloses a control system for radar signal transmitting based on a communication signal between two devices. (Abstract and Claim 1)
Tigrek, Recep Firat et al. (2009). Method for measuring the radial velocity of a target with a doppler radar (US 2009/0237292 A1). Filed 2009-02-23. Discloses transmitting a waveform signal with frequency carrier signals in order to improve Doppler response. (Abstract)
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699