Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-14 recite an apparatus (machine) and therefore fall into a statutory category.
Step 2A – Prong 1 (Is a Judicial Exception Recited?):
Referring to claims 1-14, the claims recite a manner of managing tasks and conversations among users, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation covers concepts covered under the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas.
The abstract idea portion of the claims is as follows:
[A work activity processing apparatus based on a work object, comprising: a memory unit comprising] a work activity map memory area related to a work activity map related to at least one member and containing at least one work activity, and a chat room memory area related to the work activity map and related to a chat room implemented through a message thread; [and a circuitry configured to] generate, based on receiving a chat room creation request from a first member related to a work activity, a work activity object, which indicates the work activity including a link to enter the chat room, by associating the chat room with a work activity comprising work activity contents or multimedia attached file, create, in the chat room, a work object related to the work activity object and comprising a work generator, a work processor, and work contents, and add the work object as a work message to the message thread related to the chat room to update the message thread and then update the work activity map to include the work activity including the link and the work message, wherein the work activity including the link is displayed in the work activity map to enable a second member to enter the chat room through the link.
Where the portions not bracketed recite the abstract idea.
Here the claims are directed to certain methods of organizing human activity in particular managing personal interactions and relationships between people (following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. In the present application concepts directed to a manner of managing tasks and conversations between users. (See paragraphs 9-10, and 17).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in managing personal interactions and relationships between people, it falls under the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04.
Step 2A-Prong 2 (Is the Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?):
The examiner views the following as the additional elements:
A work activity processing apparatus. (See paragraph 45)
A memory unit. (See paragraph 49)
Circuitry. (See Abstract and paragraph 86)
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they act to merely “apply” the abstract idea using generic computing components and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f))
The combination of these additional elements and/or results oriented steps are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f)) Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception?):
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Therefore claim 2 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 3-14 further define the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the generic circuitry (See Abstract and paragraph 86) for merely implementing the abstract idea using generic computing components which does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claims 3-14 are considered to be patent ineligible.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uthe (US 20170093874) in view of Lobo et al. (US 20150100503).
Referring to claim 1,
Uthe, which is directed to generating and managing multiple chat features within a collaborative efforts or system such as a war room, chat room, social network, instant messaging, etc. which enable multiple chat threads within a single collaborative effort system, teaches
A work activity processing apparatus based on a work object, comprising: a memory unit comprising a work activity map memory area related to a work activity map related to at least one member and containing at least one work activity, and a chat room memory area related to the work activity map and related to a chat room implemented through a message thread; (Uthe paragraph 12 teaching a collaborative effort system can refer to a group chat, virtual war room, instant messaging, sms, online community, website, or other social or collaborative applications, processes and/or system. Uthe paragraph 17 teaching that the users systems can execute a user interface application, such as an web browser, to contact the host system via the Internet. Uthe paragraph 18 teaching that the storage device includes data relating to the collaborative effort system and/or data relating to a problem to be solved. The storage may be implemented using a variety of devices for storing electronic information. The data stored on the storage devices can include one or more search and search history databases. The storage device may be implemented using memory contained in the host system or be a separate physical device. Information stored in the storage device can be retrieved and manipulate using the host system or a user system. Uthe paragraph 34 teaching users may be added and removed from any thread or group of threads. Uthe paragraph 43 teaching the memory can be configured to persist the set of users authorized to each thread in the collaborative effort system and in aggregate the set of users having access to the entire collaborative effort system. A transcript or record of the discussions taking place in the collaborative effort system may be spanning all threads and the access or authorization may be saved therewith. Therefore after the effort is completed, the transcript may be made available by users with specific levels of access or assigned authorizations such that the record can be made searchable to help with future problems. The newly added user may be able to only view the thread for the period after they have been added or they can see the entire thread. The new user may only be able to view the list of participants that have access to the same thread(s) as the new user. Uthe paragraph 45 teaching the present invention may be a system, method and/or a computer program product.))
and a circuitry configured to generate, a work activity object, which indicates the work activity, by associating the chat room with a work activity comprising work activity contents or multimedia attached file, (Uthe paragraph 23 teaching that in Figure 2 a first window is displayed which includes a war room number and a description of the problem within the war room. There is additionally one or more modifiable fields that provide additional general information related to the problem. Uthe paragraph 24 teaching the second window may provide information and contain content regarding the process to reach a solution this second window can be a chat window, discussion, threads, or log of the process including the content of the collaborative efforts submitted by users of the collaborative elements. This content may be log elements that can be threads, comments on threads, entries provided by users, pictures, URL links etc. Each log element may be a thread that addresses one sub-problem, a comment directed to a specific user, thoughts and conversations, etc. Each log element may be an entry in the collaborative effort system in the interface that has been submitted. Uthe paragraph 25 teaching that new thread-level log elements may be created by a user interacting with an entry element. Entry element may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window such as provide a comment, add a new thread and comments, therein, and/or pose questions. Uthe paragraph 28 teaching that the user interface may take any number of formats and/or configurations such that the interface may be a single window multiple aspects or multiple windows where each window is a separate feature of the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
create, in the chat room, a work object related to the work activity object and comprising a work generator, a work processor, and work contents, (Uthe paragraph 23 teaching that in Figure 2 a first window is displayed which includes a war room number and a description of the problem within the war room. There is additionally one or more modifiable fields that provide additional general information related to the problem. Uthe paragraph 24 teaching the second window may provide information and contain content regarding the process to reach a solution this second window can be a chat window, discussion, threads, or log of the process including the content of the collaborative efforts submitted by users of the collaborative elements. This content may be log elements that can be threads, comments on threads, entries provided by users, pictures, URL links etc. Each log element may be a thread that addresses one sub-problem, a comment directed to a specific user, thoughts and conversations, etc. Each log element may be an entry in the collaborative effort system in the interface that has been submitted. Uthe paragraph 25 teaching that new thread-level log elements may be created by a user interacting with an entry element. Entry element may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window such as provide a comment, add a new thread and comments, therein, and/or pose questions. Uthe paragraph 28 teaching that the user interface may take any number of formats and/or configurations such that the interface may be a single window multiple aspects or multiple windows where each window is a separate feature of the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 29 teaching that within the second window (chat area) of the user interface are multiple parallel threads that may be presented wherein each thread may be a log element of the collaborative effort system. Each thread can be commented on individually and can be created for different purposes. For example a thread could be created asking a particular user or users to investigate a particular aspect of the problem. Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
and add the work object as a work message to the message thread related to the chat room to update the message thread and then update the work activity map (Uthe paragraph 23 teaching that in Figure 2 a first window is displayed which includes a war room number and a description of the problem within the war room. There is additionally one or more modifiable fields that provide additional general information related to the problem. Uthe paragraph 24 teaching the second window may provide information and contain content regarding the process to reach a solution this second window can be a chat window, discussion, threads, or log of the process including the content of the collaborative efforts submitted by users of the collaborative elements. This content may be log elements that can be threads, comments on threads, entries provided by users, pictures, URL links etc. Each log element may be a thread that addresses one sub-problem, a comment directed to a specific user, thoughts and conversations, etc. Each log element may be an entry in the collaborative effort system in the interface that has been submitted. Uthe paragraph 25 teaching that new thread-level log elements may be created by a user interacting with an entry element. Entry element may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window such as provide a comment, add a new thread and comments, therein, and/or pose questions. The entry element 204 b is how a user may generate a new log element 204 a, thus expanding the top-level or thread-level content within the collaborative effort system. Similarly, log elements 204 a may be created within a thread by a user interacting with comments element 204 c. Comments element 204 c may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window 204, such as to provide a comment and/or pose a question; all within the context of a given thread. The comments element 204 c may be used to generate new log elements 204 d within a specific thread, thus expanding the discussion within a given thread. As the entry elements 204 b and comments element 204 c are used to create new content, the log elements 204 a, 204 c that are already within the second window 204 may scroll upward and out of the second window 204. Uthe paragraph 28 teaching that the user interface may take any number of formats and/or configurations such that the interface may be a single window multiple aspects or multiple windows where each window is a separate feature of the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 29 teaching that within the second window (chat area) of the user interface are multiple parallel threads that may be presented wherein each thread may be a log element of the collaborative effort system. Each thread can be commented on individually and can be created for different purposes. For example a thread could be created asking a particular user or users to investigate a particular aspect of the problem. Uthe paragraph 36 teaching further, although not shown herein, those of skill in the art will appreciate that the user interface of the collaborative effort system may include a summary view in one of the windows, e.g., the third window, where each user or group of users, e.g., a team, can provide updates and/or statements on progress. In this manner the collaborative effort can be partitioned multiple ways (e.g., by user(s), by threads, by technologies, etc.) and it may be easy to see the entire view while enabling sharing of context across all users of the collaborative effort system.)
Uthe does not teach or suggest and a circuitry configured to generate, based on receiving a chat room creation request from a first member related to a work activity, a work activity object, which indicates the work activity including a link to enter the chat room, update the work activity map to include the work activity including the link and the work message, update the work activity map to include the work activity including the link and the work message,
However, Lobo, which is directed to a unified collaborative tool and workspace, teaches
and a circuitry configured to generate, based on receiving a chat room creation request from a first member related to a work activity, a work activity object, which indicates the work activity including a link to enter the chat room (Lobo paragraphs 50-51 teaching in some implementations, the method includes creating, by a processor of a computing device (e.g., a server), upon input by a user, a new context by: assigning to the new context a set of resources associated with the context; determining a set of users associated with the new context to whom a graphical representation of the context will be made visually available; and determining a time associated with the new context; and changing, by a processor of a computing device (e.g., a server), upon input by a user, one or more of (i) the set of resources associated with a given context; (ii) the set of users associated with the given context; and (iii) determining the time associated with the given context. The context includes one or more projects, meetings, conferences, events, collaborations, ventures, tasks, and/or research endeavors. The set of resources associated with a given context includes one or more persons, documents, locations (e.g., rooms, buildings), devices, assignments, printers, presentation hardware, computers, display monitors, tasks, calendars, documents, multimedia files (e.g., videos), graphics, and audio files. Lobo paragraph 132 teaching to promote ease of use, the system may allow configurations of a given contextual collaboration to be modified directly on a contextual collaboration of the contextual list 102. As shown in FIG. 2, in some implementations, the contextual list 102 includes one or more graphical widgets to initiate a dialogue box or to effect a change to a contextual collaboration. A priority indicator 216, or a graphical portion thereof, for example, is rendered as a widget comprising a graphical icon 224 and a corresponding text 226. The indicator 216, in some implementations, provides an input to the system to modify (e.g., to increment or decrement) the priority level among the selectable levels provided by the system and/or initiates a dialogue box to select a value. In some implementations, the text 226 may be rendered as a link. Lobo paragraph 163 teaching a context list may be created for each user associated with the enterprise (e.g., employees of the enterprise, guests of the enterprise, administrators of the enterprise, etc.). Each context list 102 is tailored to a specific user or group of users and contains one or more contexts (namely, contextual collaboration 104). Each contextual collaboration 104 includes one or more projects, meetings, conferences, events, collaborations, ventures, tasks, and/or research endeavors. Lobo paragraph 166 teaching for example, a contextual collaboration may be related to an event, such as a meeting or conference. A set of resources associated with the event may be assigned to the event. The set of resources includes a set of invitees or participants (e.g., along with their titles, positions, roles at the meeting, employers, guest status, etc.), documents to be presented at the meeting, documents relevant to the meeting (e.g., to be discussed before the meeting), a meeting room and/or location, hardware devices to be used at the meeting (e.g., projection/display equipment), and/or support staff available for the meeting. Invitees may be authorized to access (e.g., read-only access, viewing access) to the resources associated with the event, such as those to be presented at the meeting. Lobo paragraph 168 teaching contextual collaborations may also be assigned to another context as a nested contextual collaboration. In some implementations, contextual collaborations may be nested within another contextual collaboration using links. For example, a logistics contextual collaboration may be assigned to an event context. The logistics context may have its own associated set of resources, such as a meeting room, a start and/or end time, an electronic calendar entry (e.g., local, intranet, or internet-based), a remote connection to the event, an access password or access channel to the event, and/or hardware (e.g., computer(s), projector(s), printer(s)) that are available for the event. Lobo paragraph 178 teaching For example, a user may select a contextual collaboration 104 d and view context details 506 associated with that context. A contextual collaboration 104 could be, for example, a meeting that has contents 508 associated with it. The context detail 506 provides a user with relationships or links to the associated content, such as the attendees of the meeting, the documents to be presented in the meeting, devices (projectors or displays) that the meeting will use, the location(s) of the meeting and/or the scheduled time. The user may view and download 518 details regarding the content 508 associated with any context 104 on their context list 102. Lobo paragraph 310 teaching various implementations of the systems and techniques described here can be realized in digital electronic circuitry, integrated circuitry, specially designed ASICs (application specific integrated circuits), computer hardware, firmware, software, and/or combinations thereof. These various implementations can include implementation in one or more computer programs that are executable and/or interpretable on a programmable system including at least one programmable processor, which may be special or general purpose, coupled to receive data and instructions from, and to transmit data and instructions to, a storage system, at least one input device, and at least one output device.)
update the work activity map to include the work activity including the link and the work message, (Lobo paragraph 168 teaching contextual collaborations may also be assigned to another context as a nested contextual collaboration. In some implementations, contextual collaborations may be nested within another contextual collaboration using links. For example, a logistics contextual collaboration may be assigned to an event context. The logistics context may have its own associated set of resources, such as a meeting room, a start and/or end time, an electronic calendar entry (e.g., local, intranet, or internet-based), a remote connection to the event, an access password or access channel to the event, and/or hardware (e.g., computer(s), projector(s), printer(s)) that are available for the event. Lobo paragraph 169 teaching after creating or updating a context list, data representing the content of the newly created or updated context list is transmitted to a user (304). The data may be transmitted via a network, such as the network 604 described in relation to FIG. 6. The newly created or updated context list associated with a user is displayed on a graphical user interface the user's computing device (306). Lobo paragraphs 178-179 teaching for example, a user may select a contextual collaboration 104 d and view context details 506 associated with that context. A contextual collaboration 104 could be, for example, a meeting that has contents 508 associated with it. The context detail 506 provides a user with relationships or links to the associated content, such as the attendees of the meeting, the documents to be presented in the meeting, devices (projectors or displays) that the meeting will use, the location(s) of the meeting and/or the scheduled time. The user may view and download 518 details regarding the content 508 associated with any context 104 on their context list 102. Users may wish to add a contextual collaboration 510 to or remove a contextual collaboration 514 from a context list 102. In some implementations, the system automatically updates the context list 102 when contextual collaborations are added or removed from a context list 102. Similarly, in some implementations, the system automatically updates the contextual collaboration 506 and/or the context list 102 when content is added or removed from a context detail 506 when the users add a content 512 or remove a content 516 associated with a context detail 506.)
wherein the work activity including the link is displayed in the work activity map to enable a second member to enter the chat room through the link. (Lobo paragraph 168 teaching contextual collaborations may also be assigned to another context as a nested contextual collaboration. In some implementations, contextual collaborations may be nested within another contextual collaboration using links. For example, a logistics contextual collaboration may be assigned to an event context. The logistics context may have its own associated set of resources, such as a meeting room, a start and/or end time, an electronic calendar entry (e.g., local, intranet, or internet-based), a remote connection to the event, an access password or access channel to the event, and/or hardware (e.g., computer(s), projector(s), printer(s)) that are available for the event. Lobo paragraph 169 teaching after creating or updating a context list, data representing the content of the newly created or updated context list is transmitted to a user (304). The data may be transmitted via a network, such as the network 604 described in relation to FIG. 6. The newly created or updated context list associated with a user is displayed on a graphical user interface the user's computing device (306). Lobo paragraphs 178-179 teaching for example, a user may select a contextual collaboration 104 d and view context details 506 associated with that context. A contextual collaboration 104 could be, for example, a meeting that has contents 508 associated with it. The context detail 506 provides a user with relationships or links to the associated content, such as the attendees of the meeting, the documents to be presented in the meeting, devices (projectors or displays) that the meeting will use, the location(s) of the meeting and/or the scheduled time. The user may view and download 518 details regarding the content 508 associated with any context 104 on their context list 102. Users may wish to add a contextual collaboration 510 to or remove a contextual collaboration 514 from a context list 102. In some implementations, the system automatically updates the context list 102 when contextual collaborations are added or removed from a context list 102. Similarly, in some implementations, the system automatically updates the contextual collaboration 506 and/or the context list 102 when content is added or removed from a context detail 506 when the users add a content 512 or remove a content 516 associated with a context detail 506.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the project collaboration environment for facilitating the completion of tasks as taught in Uthe to incorporate and a circuitry configured to generate, based on receiving a chat room creation request from a first member related to a work activity, a work activity object, which indicates the work activity including a link to enter the chat room, update the work activity map to include the work activity including the link and the work message, update the work activity map to include the work activity including the link and the work message, as taught in Lobo with the motivation of facilitating the creation of contextual collaborations such as conferences, tasks or collaborations among multiple users, facilitating the delivery of a corresponding link so that invited users may enter the contextual collaboration through updating of the invited users contextual list with the corresponding contextual collaboration. (Lobo paragraphs 132, 163, 168 and 178)
Referring to claim 2,
Uthe further teaches wherein the work activity maps each are intrinsically assigned to each user in user information of a user memory area and are related to at least one member comprising the intrinsically assigned user. (Uthe paragraph 26 teaching that the user-specific information may be provided within the supporting elements, such as user position, user access, company affiliation etc. Uthe paragraphs 34 teaching that that user(s) may be added and removed any thread or group of threads. A new user may only to be able to see content that is generated in the thread from the point the new user is granted access. A new user may only view or be shown threads the new user has been granted access to. Uthe paragraph 43 teaching that the collaborative effort system, or memory, may be configured to persist the set of users authorized to each thread in the collaborative effort system.)
Referring to claim 3,
Uthe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to provide a work activity map link that can enter each of work activity maps intrinsically assigned to each of members related to a work activity map through the work activity map. (Uthe paragraph 21 teaching During a collaborative effort, one or more users, e.g., SMEs and other persons, may use a user system 102 to communicate through the network 106 and participate in a discussion on the host system 104 employing the collaborative effort system 110. In some embodiments, users or groups of users may be divided into different groups and/or threads that are carried out in parallel. Uthe paragraph 24 teaching that the log elements may be threads, comments on threads, entries provided by users, URL links, etc. Uthe paragraph 26 teaching the third window 206 may provide additional information and/or options within the user interface 200. For example, as shown, the third window 206 may include supporting elements 206 a. One supporting element 206 a may be a status element that indicates the duration of the problem, e.g., when the problem was identified, and may also include milestone or event timers such as indicators when meetings or calls may be required of the users of the collaborative effort system. Supporting elements 206 a may also include links or other methods of retrieving and/or accessing information, programs, etc. that are outside of the interface 200 and/or outside of the collaborative effort system. For example, a supporting element 206 a may provide direct access for a user to access operational or ownership details of an application shown here as “App: ABC.” Supporting elements 206 a may also include a listing of the users (list 206 b), e.g., the SMEs and other persons involved with the project/problem, and further may enable direct contact between one or more specific users. For example, a supporting element 206 a may enable a direct messaging service to users of the collaborative effort system. Other user-specific information may be provided within the supporting elements 206 a, such as user position, user access, company affiliation, etc. Further, links to runbooks or other pre-existing material that are associated with the problem and/or associated with systems, elements, etc. associated with the program or other systems that includes the problem may be provided in supporting elements 206 a. Uthe paragraph 27 teaching as noted, one of the supporting elements 206 a in the third window 206 may be the list 206 b of the participants and/or groups participating in the collaborative effort system. Each of the users within the list 206 b may be associated, authorized, and/or organized into various groups that may have access to some or all of the threads of the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 30 teaching for example, the creator of the new thread may be able to provide a list of users that should have visibility to the new thread and the ability to participate in the thread. In such an example, the list of authorized users may be selected from a drop-down menu, check-box list, etc. that provides a list of all users, user groups, and/or combinations thereof that are participating in the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 31 teaching in another example, different groups of users may have access to different threads, and at least one coordinator may have access or visibility across all threads. As used herein a coordinator may be a manager or other user that has access to all threads, and all other users may have access to a subset of the threads. In some embodiments, multiple coordinators may participate in the collaborative effort system, and in some such embodiments, each coordinator may have access to a sub-set, with no coordinator having access to all threads. Uthe paragraph 43 teaching that the memory may be configured to persist the set of users authorized to each thread in the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
Referring to claim 4,
Uthe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to in response to receiving a work activity without a chat room generation request, update the work activity map based on the work activity. (Uthe paragraph 24 teaching the second window 204 may provide information and contain content regarding the process to reach a solution to the problem. That is, the second window 204 may be a chat window, discussion, threads, or log of the process including the content of the collaborative effort submitted by users of the collaborative effort system. The content may be represented by one or more log elements 204 a that are located within the second window 204. The log elements 204 a may be threads, comments on threads, entries provided by users, pictures, URL links, etc., hereinafter “content.” Comments on specific threads may be provided in a comments element 204 c. For example, each log element 204 a may be a thread that addresses one sub-problem, a comment directed to a specific user, thoughts and conversations, etc., or combinations thereof. Alternatively, or in combination, log elements 204 a may be each entry within the collaborative effort system within the second window 204. Each log element 204 a may be an entry in the collaborative effort system in interface 200 that has already been submitted. The log elements 204 a thus form the content of the collaborative effort system. Uthe paragraph 25 teaching new thread-level log elements 204 a may be created by a user interacting with an entry element 204 b. Entry element 204 b may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window 204, such as provide a comment, add a new thread and comments therein, and/or pose questions. The entry element 204 b is how a user may generate a new log element 204 a, thus expanding the top-level or thread-level content within the collaborative effort system. Similarly, log elements 204 a may be created within a thread by a user interacting with comments element 204 c. Comments element 204 c may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window 204, such as to provide a comment and/or pose a question; all within the context of a given thread. The comments element 204 c may be used to generate new log elements 204 d within a specific thread, thus expanding the discussion within a given thread. As the entry elements 204 b and comments element 204 c are used to create new content, the log elements 204 a, 204 c that are already within the second window 204 may scroll upward and out of the second window 204. Uthe paragraph 29 teaching within the second window 304 of the user interface 300, i.e., the chat area, multiple parallel threads 305 may be presented, wherein each thread 305 may be a log element of the collaborative effort system. Each thread 305 can be commented on individually and can be created for different purposes. For example, a thread could be created asking a user or group of users to investigate a particular aspect of the problem. As another example, a thread could be created for a whole team, e.g., a group of users, to focus on one area of the problem. In such divisions, only certain users may need or have access to the associated thread, but may not need or be entitled to have access to other portions of the collaborative effort. Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
Referring to claim 5,
Uthe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to align at least one work activity or work activity object included in the work activity map in most recently update order to display the at least one work activity or work activity object at a specific portion of the work activity map. (Uthe paragraph 25 teaching new thread-level log elements 204 a may be created by a user interacting with an entry element 204 b. Entry element 204 b may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window 204, such as provide a comment, add a new thread and comments therein, and/or pose questions. The entry element 204 b is how a user may generate a new log element 204 a, thus expanding the top-level or thread-level content within the collaborative effort system. Similarly, log elements 204 a may be created within a thread by a user interacting with comments element 204 c. Comments element 204 c may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window 204, such as to provide a comment and/or pose a question; all within the context of a given thread. The comments element 204 c may be used to generate new log elements 204 d within a specific thread, thus expanding the discussion within a given thread. As the entry elements 204 b and comments element 204 c are used to create new content, the log elements 204 a, 204 c that are already within the second window 204 may scroll upward and out of the second window 204. Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
Referring to claim 6,
Uthe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive a second work object from a second member through the work activity already received from the first member, and add, as a second work message, the second work object to the message thread related to the chat room in which a work processor and a work generator included in the received work object are participating. (Uthe paragraph 24 teaching that is, the second window 204 may be a chat window, discussion, threads, or log of the process including the content of the collaborative effort submitted by users of the collaborative effort system. The content may be represented by one or more log elements 204 a that are located within the second window 204. The log elements 204 a may be threads, comments on threads, entries provided by users, pictures, URL links, etc., hereinafter “content.” Comments on specific threads may be provided in a comments element 204 c. For example, each log element 204 a may be a thread that addresses one sub-problem, a comment directed to a specific user, thoughts and conversations, etc., or combinations thereof. Uthe paragraph 25 teaching that new thread-level log elements may be created by a user interacting with an entry element. Entry element may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window such as provide a comment, add a new thread and comments, therein, and/or pose questions. The entry element 204 b is how a user may generate a new log element 204 a, thus expanding the top-level or thread-level content within the collaborative effort system. Similarly, log elements 204 a may be created within a thread by a user interacting with comments element 204 c. Comments element 204 c may be configured to allow users to type information into the second window 204, such as to provide a comment and/or pose a question; all within the context of a given thread. The comments element 204 c may be used to generate new log elements 204 d within a specific thread, thus expanding the discussion within a given thread. Uthe paragraph 29 teaching for example, a thread could be created asking a user or group of users to investigate a particular aspect of the problem. As another example, a thread could be created for a whole team, e.g., a group of users, to focus on one area of the problem. Uthe paragraph 38 teaching that a collaborative effort system (war room) may be formed and subsequently receives input to form one or more threads. Each thread may be formed for a specific task to be solved and/or for a specific purpose, such as a discussion on a particular topic, etc. Uthe paragraph 43 teaching that the collaborative effort system, or memory associated, may be configured to persist the set of users authorized to each thread. Furthermore, a transcript or record of the discussions taking place in the collaborative effort system may be saved spanning all the threads. It is interpreted that the war room is updated based on the created thread and subsequent inputs on the threads from authorized users. Therefore, users may provide/add content to an existing thread.) Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
Referring to claim 7,
Uthe further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to enable the second member to enter the chat room through the received work activity or enable the second member to enter the chat room through the link to the chat room provided to the work activity map. (Uthe paragraph 30-31 teaching however, when a new thread is created, a user can limit access to the new thread. For example, the creator of the new thread may be able to provide a list of users that should have visibility to the new thread and the ability to participate in the thread. In such an example, the list of authorized users may be selected from a drop-down menu, check-box list, etc. that provides a list of all users, user groups, and/or combinations thereof that are participating in the collaborative effort system. In this manner, a user that creates a thread is enabled to identify different users or user groups for different threads. In another example, different groups of users may have access to different threads, and at least one coordinator may have access or visibility across all threads. As used herein a coordinator may be a manager or other user that has access to all threads, and all other users may have access to a subset of the threads. Uthe paragraph 34 teaching that users may be added and removed from any thread or group of threads, when a user gains access to the new thread the new user may view the entire transcript of the thread or may limit the content to that only generated in the thread from the point the user is granted access. Additionally a new user granted access to the entire collaborative effort system may view or be shown only the threads the new user has been granted access to. Uthe paragraph 47 teaching that in some embodiments electronic circuitry such as FPGAs or PLAs may execute the computer readable program instruction by using the state information of the computer readable program instructions to personalize the electronic circuitry to perform aspects of the invention.)
Referring to claim 12,
Lobo further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to in response to receiving a filtering request of a work object, filter at least a portion of all work objects related to the work activity map to provide a filtered work object list comprising a related chat room entrance link to a related chat room. (Lobo paragraphs 160-161 teaching still referring to FIG. 1, in some implementations, the interface includes a search input 116. The search input 116 causes the system to filter and display the contextual collaborations 104 that meets the search criterion to which a user has access. The search may include keywords of any elements of collaboration (e.g., the name, expiration information, priority, conversation, tasks, statuses, due dates, documents, tags, creation time, etc.). The search input 216 may include a reset widget 218 that resets the filtering criterion which causes all collaborations (either active or archived depending on the navigable tab 208, 210) associated with the user to be presented. A search engine may perform both indexing and searching of data. In some implementations, the system graphically renders sorting options 224 and filter options 226. The options 224, 226 may display selectable text widget 228, icons 230, and checkboxes 232 to promote quick identification of such options by the users. The sorting options 224, in some implementations, include selectable sorting criteria, which are based on, for example, creation information 228, expiration information 230, most active collaboration 232, and priority value 234. The filter options 226, in some implementations, include selectable filtering criteria, which are based on, for example, favorites 236, created by an author 238, created by a defined user 240, and attention needed 242. Lobo paragraph 163 teaching a context list may be created for each user associated with the enterprise (e.g., employees of the enterprise, guests of the enterprise, administrators of the enterprise, etc.). Each context list 102 is tailored to a specific user or group of users and contains one or more contexts (namely, contextual collaboration 104). Each contextual collaboration 104 includes one or more projects, meetings, conferences, events, collaborations, ventures, tasks, and/or research endeavors. Lobo paragraph 166 teaching for example, a contextual collaboration may be related to an event, such as a meeting or conference. A set of resources associated with the event may be assigned to the event. The set of resources includes a set of invitees or participants (e