DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because of the following problems.
In Figure 3, it seems that two of the reference numbers “251” pointing at two opposing surfaces of the movable housing 30 are pointing at wrong places because other Figures of the drawings show the reference number “251” is located at the stationary housing 20.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “10D” shown in Figure 3.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: FLOATING-TYPE CONNECTOR AND CONNECTOR ASSEMBLY.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 13 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3, “the first direction” should be -- a first direction -- because line 3 introduced this first direction for the first time.
Claim 13, line 2, “the first bend” should be -- a first bend -- and line 5, “the second bend” should be -- a second bend --.
Claim 20, lines 4-5, “the first direction” should be -- a first direction -- because line 4-5 introduced this first direction for the first time.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 13 and claim 17 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 12. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
All the limitations of claim 15 are already recited in all the limitations of claims 11-13.
Also, all the limitation of claim 17 are already recited in all the limitations of claims 11-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the fixation retention portion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite, “a fixation retention portion”.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the movable retention portion" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 does not recite, “a movable retention portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al (US 10,615,528 B2).
Suzuki discloses a connector 1, comprising: (claim 1) a plurality of contacts 4 arranged along a predetermined first to form a first row and a second row in parallel (see Figs. 1-2 and 6), positioned on a reference surface encompassing a first direction X and a second direction Y orthogonal to the first direction X, and bonded to an object P1 to be bonded; a stationary housing 6 surrounding the plurality of contacts 4 and positioned on the reference surface (see Fig. 6); and a movable housing 7 that sections an interior 8c of the stationary housing 6 into an area closer to the first row and an area closer to the second row, and is displaceable in the first direction X and the second direction Y with respect to the stationary housing 6; (claim 11) wherein each of the contacts 4 includes a fixation retention portion 4b retained by the stationary housing 6, and a movable retention portion 4d retained by the movable housing 7.
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki discloses a connector assembly, comprising: a first connector 1, including: a plurality of contacts 4 arranged along a predetermined first to form a first row and a second row in parallel (see Figs. 1-2 and 6), positioned on a reference surface encompassing a first direction X and a second direction Y orthogonal to the first direction X, and bonded to an object P1 to be bonded; a stationary housing 6 surrounding the plurality of contacts 4 and positioned on the reference surface; and a movable housing 7 that sections an interior 8c of the stationary housing 6 into an area closer to the first row and an area closer to the second row, and is displaceable in the first direction X and the second direction Y with respect to the stationary housing 6; and a second connector 2 mated with the movable housing 7 of the first connector 1.
Claim(s) 1-13, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kobayashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0069493 A1).
(claim 1) Kobayashi discloses a connector 1, comprising: a plurality of contacts 30 arranged along a predetermined first to form a first row and a second row in parallel (see Fig. 1), positioned on a reference surface (not labeled, see Fig. 1) encompassing a first direction X and a second direction Y orthogonal to the first direction X, and bonded to an object 101 to be bonded; a stationary housing 10 surrounding the plurality of contacts 30 and positioned on the reference surface; and a movable housing 20 that sections an interior of the stationary housing 10 into an area closer to the first row and an area closer to the second row, and is displaceable in the first direction X and the second direction Y with respect to the stationary housing 10.
(claim 2) wherein the contacts 30 are retained by the stationary housing 10 and the movable housing 20.
(claim 3) wherein the stationary housing 10 includes facing portions 40 positioned to face the reference surface in the interior of the stationary housing 10 (see Fig. 1).
(claim 4) wherein portions 21d of the movable housing 20 are positioned between the facing portions 40 and the reference surface.
(claim 5) wherein the facing portions 40 are formed each of two sides 11 of the stationary housing 10 in the first direction X (see Fig. 1).
(claim 6) wherein first gaps (not labeled, see Fig. 4 showing the portions 21d in the first gaps) exist between the movable housing 20 and the facing portions 40 in the first direction X;
(claim 7) wherein regions that are positioned on both sides of the stationary housing 10 in the second direction Y, and include second gaps (not labeled, see Fig. 4) between the movable housing 20 and the stationary housing 10 in the second direction Y, are formed in the stationary housing 10.
(claim 8) wherein the facing portions 40 extend in the first direction X and the second direction Y have a plate shape (see Figs. 1 and 4).
(claim 9) wherein recesses (not labeled, see Fig. 5 showing an opened space above the surface 213) that are dented at positions of the facing portions 40 in the first direction X and can receive the facing portions 40 are formed in the movable housing 20.
(claim 10) wherein the regions extend in the first direction X and a mating direction Z in which the movable housing 20 is mated with a mating connector 100, in an area closer to the reference surface than the facing portions 40, and on both the sides of the stationary housing 10 in the first direction X.
(claim 11) wherein each of the contacts 30 includes a fixation retention portion 32 retained by the stationary housing 10, and a movable retention portion 34 retained by the movable housing 20.
(claim 12) wherein a first bend 33b and a second bend 33d are formed between the fixation retention portion 32 and the movable retention portion 34.
(claim 13) wherein each of the contacts 30 comprises: a first section 33a extending from the fixation retention portion 32 to the first bend 33b toward a side opposite to the reference surface; a second section 33c extending from the first bend 33b toward the reference surface, and is contiguous to the movable retention portion 34 via the second bend 33d; and a third section 35 extending from the movable retention portion 34 to a terminating end 35b that is connected to a contact 130 of a mating connector 100 with which the movable housing 20 is mated, toward the side opposite to the reference surface;
(claim 15) wherein: each of the contacts comprises a fixation retention portion 32 that is retained by the stationary housing 10, and a movable retention portion 34 that is retained by the movable housing 20; a first bend 33b and a second bend 33d are formed between the fixation retention portion 32 and the movable retention portion 34; and each of the contacts 30 comprises: a first section 33e that extends from the fixation retention portion 32 to the first bend 33b toward a side opposite to the reference surface; a second section 33c that extends from the first bend 33b toward the reference surface, and is contiguous to the movable retention portion 34 via the second bend 33d; and a third section 35 that extends from the movable retention portion 34 to a terminating end 35b that is connected to a contact 130 of a mating connector 100 with which the movable housing 20 is mated, toward the side opposite to the reference surface.
(claim 17) wherein: each of the contacts comprises the fixation retention portion 32 that is retained by the stationary housing 10, and the movable retention portion 34 that is retained by the movable housing 20; and a first bend 33b and a second bend 33d are formed between the fixation retention portion 32 and the movable retention portion 34.
Regarding claim 20, Kobayashi discloses a connector assembly 1, 100, comprising: a first connector 1, including: a plurality of contacts 30 arranged along a predetermined first to form a first row and a second row in parallel (see Figs. 1 and 3), positioned on a reference surface encompassing a first direction X and a second direction Y orthogonal to the first direction X, and bonded to an object 101 to be bonded; a stationary housing 10 surrounding the plurality of contacts 30 and positioned on the reference surface; and a movable housing 20 that sections an interior of the stationary housing 10 into an area closer to the first row and an area closer to the second row, and is displaceable in the first direction X and the second direction Y with respect to the stationary housing 10; and a second connector 100 mated with the movable housing 20 of the first connector 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0069493 A1) in view of Suzuki et al (US 10,615,528 B2).
Regarding claim 16, Kobayashi does not disclose a chamfer separated in the second direction Y with respect to the first section with approaching from the fixation retention portion toward the first bend is formed on an inner wall of the stationary housing.
On the other hand, Suzuki discloses an inner wall of the stationary housing 6 having a chamfer 8a2 separated in the second direction Y with respect to the first section 4c1 with approaching from the fixation retention portion 4b toward the first bend 4c2 such that the first section 4c1 does not come in contact with the inner wall of the stationary housing 6 event when the movable housing y is elastically deformed outward in the second direction Y (see column 12, lines 66-67 to column 13, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the connector taught by Kobayashi such that the inner wall of the stationary housing to have a chamfer as taught by Suzuki because the chamfer prevents the first section of the contact from come in contact with the inner wall of the stationary housing event when the movable housing y is elastically deformed outward in the second direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/hmh/
/Hae Moon Hyeon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831