DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites, “…….., the amount of electric power that is available from a traction battery to power the SDU and a main drive unit (MDU) compared to a total amount of power requested by the SDU and MDU, where the disconnect clutch is configured to couple the SDU to a wheel.”
Applicant’s specification in several places recites, “ adjusting an amount of electric power delivered to a secondary drive unit (SDU) to synchronize a rotational speed of the SDU to a driveline rotational speed in response to a request to close a disconnect clutch.”
There is no support for the claim limitation, “…….., the amount of electric power that is available from a traction battery to power the SDU and a main drive unit (MDU) compared to a total amount of power requested by the SDU and MDU, where the disconnect clutch is configured to couple the SDU to a wheel.”
The rest of the claims are rejected for depending on a rejected base claims of for having similar deficiencies as the rejected base claim.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites, “adjusting an amount of electric power delivered to a secondary drive unit (SDU) to synchronize a rotational speed of the SDU to a driveline rotational speed in response to a request to close a disconnect clutch and the amount of electric power that is available from a traction battery to power the SDU and a main drive unit (MDU) compared to a total amount of power requested by the SDU and MDU, where the disconnect clutch is configured to couple the SDU to a wheel.”
There is no antecedent basis for the claimed, “the amount of electric power that is available from a traction battery to……”.
In addition, the limitation, “adjusting an amount of electric power delivered to a secondary drive unit …………… in response to a request to close a disconnect clutch and the amount of electric power that is available from a traction battery ………, where the disconnect clutch is configured to couple the SDU to a wheel” appears to be incomplete with missing words that throw off the clarity of the claim language.
The rest of the claims are rejected for depending on a rejected base claims of for having similar deficiencies as the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 12145438) in view of (JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a method for operating a vehicle, comprising:
adjusting an amount of power (col. 3, lines 20-52; fig. 1) delivered to a main drive unit (MDU) (first electric motor; col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, lines 55-63) and a secondary drive unit (SDU) (first electric motor; col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, lines 55-63) in response to a request to close a disconnect clutch (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63) and a maximum amount of power (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54) that is available from a traction battery (178; col. 4, lines 47-61), where the disconnect clutch is configured to couple the SDU to one or more wheels (col. 5, lines 20-24; col. 9, lines 27-67).
Zhao discloses the claimed disconnect clutch and drive unit, but does not disclose in detail how the clutch and motor are connected.
However, the prior art (JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1) teaches of a detailed connection of a disconnect clutch (38, fig. 1), a secondary drive motor (SDU 18; fig. 1), and a (differential 42, fig. 1), wherein the disconnect clutch includes an input side and an output side, wherein the input side is coupled to the SDU and the output side is coupled to a differential and is configured to couple the SDU to a first axle and a second axle of the vehicle {first and second axles are connected to one or more wheels 26a, b; fig. 1; citing, [0026] The engine 14 and the second motor 18 are connected to a common drive shaft 28, and the front wheels are connected via an oil pump 32, a first clutch 34, a pulley mechanism 36, a second clutch 38, a gear mechanism 40, and a first differential gear 42. 26a and 26b are driven. The first motor 16 drives the rear wheels 27 a and 27 b via the third clutch 46, the drive shaft 47 and the differential gear 48. The first clutch 34 and the second clutch 38 can be replaced by a starting clutch or a forward / reverse switching clutch.}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhao as taught by prior art, (JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1) to improve performance in a regenerative process of the Zhoa device when the Zhao device is connected as shown by prior art (see abstract of JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao discloses the method of claim 1, where the traction battery is configured to deliver power to the MDU and the SDU (178; col. 4, lines 47-61), and wherein the method includes determining how much power stored in the traction battery is available to the MDU and the SDU to propel the vehicle before adjusting the amount of power (see chart of fig. 20; sec col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, lines 52; col. 4, lines 33-61; col. 36, lines 46 to col. 37, lines 16, lines 46-65)
Regarding claim 3, Zhao discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising adjusting the amount of power delivered to the MDU and the SDU based on an urgency indication level (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao discloses the method of claim 3, where the urgency indication level comprises at least three levels including a low urgency, a medium urgency, and a high urgency (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63), and wherein the urgency indication level indicates a timeliness for closing the disconnect clutch (col. 13, lines 55-66; col. 17, lines 1-12; col. 30, lines 64 to col. 31, lines 55).
Regarding claim 5, Zhao discloses the method of claim 4, where the high urgency is determined based on a determination of a change in coefficient of friction of a traveling surface, or a detection of wheel slip above a calibratable threshold (col. 15, lines 8-28).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao discloses the method of claim 4, where the low urgency is determined based on an ambient temperature (col. 24, lines 28-48).
Regarding claim 7, Zhao discloses the method of claim 4, where the medium urgency is determined based on a rough road being detected (traction; col. 15, lines 8-28).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao discloses a vehicle system, comprising:
a first electric machine (110, fig. 1) selectively coupled to a front axle via a disconnect clutch (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63);
a second electric machine (112, fig. 1) coupled to a rear axle (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63);
one or more controllers including executable instructions stored in non-transitory memory that cause the one or more controllers to control power delivery to the first electric machine and the second electric machine according to a first strategy in response to not operating the first electric machine in a speed synchronization mode (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63); and
additional executable instructions that cause the one or more controllers to control power delivery to the first electric machine and the second electric machine according to a second strategy in response to operating the first electric machine in the speed synchronization mode (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Zhao discloses the claimed disconnect clutch and drive unit, but does not disclose in detail how the clutch and motor are connected.
However, the prior art (JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1) teaches of a detailed connection of a disconnect clutch (38, fig. 1), a first electric machine (motor 18; fig. 1), and a (differential 42, fig. 1), wherein an input of the disconnect clutch 38 is coupled to the first electric machine 18 and an output of the disconnect clutch 38 is coupled to the differential 42;
a front drive unit {gear set 40 and differential 42; fig. 1; citing [0026]. The engine 14 and the second motor 18 are connected to a common drive shaft 28, and the front wheels are connected via an oil pump 32, a first clutch 34, a pulley mechanism 36, a second clutch 38, a gear mechanism 40, and a first differential gear 42. 26a and 26b are driven. The first motor 16 drives the rear wheels 27 a and 27 b via the third clutch 46, the drive shaft 47 and the differential gear 48. The first clutch 34 and the second clutch 38 can be replaced by a starting clutch or a forward / reverse switching clutch} configured to transfer power from the first electric machine 18 to the first axle {first and second axles are connected to one or more wheels 26a, b; fig. 1; citing, [0026] The engine 14 and the second motor 18 are connected to a common drive shaft 28, and the front wheels are connected via an oil pump 32, a first clutch 34, a pulley mechanism 36, a second clutch 38, a gear mechanism 40, and a first differential gear 42. 26a and 26b are driven. The first motor 16 drives the rear wheels 27 a and 27 b via the third clutch 46, the drive shaft 47 and the differential gear 48. The first clutch 34 and the second clutch 38 can be replaced by a starting clutch or a forward / reverse switching clutch.};
a second electric machine (motor16, fig. 1) coupled to a rear axle via a second differential {48, fig. 1; citing, [0026] The engine 14 and the second motor 18 are connected to a common drive shaft 28, and the front wheels are connected via an oil pump 32, a first clutch 34, a pulley mechanism 36, a second clutch 38, a gear mechanism 40, and a first differential gear 42. 26a and 26b are driven. The first motor 16 drives the rear wheels 27 a and 27 b via the third clutch 46, the drive shaft 47 and the differential gear 48. The first clutch 34 and the second clutch 38 can be replaced by a starting clutch or a forward / reverse switching clutch.}; and
a rear drive unit (third clutch 46, the drive shaft 47 and the differential gear 48) configured to transfer power from the second electric machine 16 to the rear axle {fig. 1; citing, [0026] The engine 14 and the second motor 18 are connected to a common drive shaft 28, and the front wheels are connected via an oil pump 32, a first clutch 34, a pulley mechanism 36, a second clutch 38, a gear mechanism 40, and a first differential gear 42. 26a and 26b are driven. The first motor 16 drives the rear wheels 27 a and 27 b via the third clutch 46, the drive shaft 47 and the differential gear 48. The first clutch 34 and the second clutch 38 can be replaced by a starting clutch or a forward / reverse switching clutch.}; and
a traction battery (15, fig. 1) electrically coupled to the first electric machine ((motor 18; fig. 1) and the second electric machine (motor16, fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhao as taught by prior art, (JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1) to improve performance in a regenerative process of the Zhoa device when the Zhao device is connected as shown by prior art (see abstract of JP 3924540 B2; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao discloses the vehicle system of claim 8, wherein the vehicle system includes a traction battery (178, fig. 1; col. 4, lines 33-61) electrically coupled to the first electric machine (102, fig. 1; col. 4, lines 33-61) and the second electric machine (106, fig.1; col. 4, lines 33-61), and where the first strategy is different from the second strategy (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63), and
where the first strategy includes adjusting power supplied to the first electric machine according to a present rotational speed of the first electric machine and the second electric machine, torque request and estimation of the actual motor torque of the first electric machine and the second electric machine, power available from the traction battery (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63), and
a power request split between the first electric machine and the second electric machine (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao discloses the vehicle system of claim 9, where the second strategy adjusts power supplied to the first electric machine and the second electric machine according to a disconnect clutch closing urgency (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63) in response to an amount of power available from the traction battery being less than a total requested power of the first electric machine and the second electric machine, and wherein the disconnect clutch closing urgency indicates a timeliness for closing the disconnect clutch (see chart of fig. 20; sec col. 2, lines 66 to col. 3, lines 52; col. 4, lines 33-61; col. 13, lines 55-66; col. 17, lines 1-12; col. 30, lines 64 to col. 31, lines 55; col. 36, lines 46 to col. 37, lines 16, lines 46-65) (col. 13, lines 55-66; col. 17, lines 1-12; col. 30, lines 64 to col. 31, lines 55).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao discloses the vehicle system of claim 11, further comprising prioritizing power supplied to the first electric machine over power delivered to the second electric machine when the disconnect clutch closing urgency is at the high level, and where power supplied to the first electric machine is a full power request for speed synchronization (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Regarding claim 13, Zhao discloses the vehicle system of claim 11, further comprising prioritizing power supplied to the second electric machine over power delivered to the first electric machine when the disconnect clutch closing urgency is at the low level, and where power supplied to the second electric machine is a full power request for vehicle propulsion to meet driver demand (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Regarding claim 14, Zhao discloses the vehicle system of claim 11, further comprising equalizing power supplied to the first electric machine and the second electric machine when the disconnect clutch closing urgency is at the medium level, where power supplied to the first electric machine is based on a first power request ratio, the first power request ratio a power request of the first electric machine divided by a total power request of the first electric machine and the second electric machine, and where power supplied to the second electric machine is based on a second power request ratio, the second power request ratio a power request of the second electric machine divided by a total power request of the first electric machine and the second electric machine (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao discloses the vehicle system of claim 8, where the speed synchronization mode includes adjusting a rotational speed of the first electric machine to a driveline rotational speed (col. 3, lines 20-52; col. 5, lines 3-50; col. 6, lines 7-54; col. 26, 21-35, lines 55-63).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not disclose:
11. (Currently amended) The vehicle system of claim 10, where the disconnect clutch closing urgency is one of a low level, a medium level, and a high level, wherein at high urgency the disconnect clutch closes within 200 milliseconds of a request to close the disconnect clutch.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657