DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed October 31st, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 4 are currently amended. Applicant’s amendments to the disclosure and claims have overcome the objections to the claims and the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 1st, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, Ln. 16, for clarity, Examiner suggests “the variable brake is open in one side surface thereof” should read --the variable brake is open on the one side surface of the variable brake--
Claim 1, Ln. 19, “the other side surface” lacks antecedent basis. Examiner suggests “the other side surface” should read --a second side surface--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginjo (JP H03050865) in view of Sekimoto (Espacenet English translation of JP 2011206013A and Figures of corresponding Foreign Patent Literature provided with Information Disclosure Statement), Gen (JP 2005245365 A), and Muckridge (US 5,655,722).
Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1 from Ginjo
Regarding Claim 1, Ginjo, Figures 1-5 and annotated Figure 1 above, teaches a fishing reel (fishing reel; See Ginjo, Claim 1, Ln. 1) comprising:
a spool 2 configured such that a shaft 5 extends therethrough to be axially mounted on a reel body 1 and a fishing line is wound thereon (See Ginjo, Fig. 1);
magnet holders 20 provided in a circumferential direction of the facing portion 31, coupled in a direction of an inner or outer circumferential surface of the facing portion 31 to be movable forwards and backwards in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool 2 (See Ginjo, Claim 1, Ln. 5-8), and comprising magnets 22 mounted to form opposing surfaces with respect to the facing portion 31 (See Ginjo, Fig. 1); and
a braking force control means 10’ for moving the magnet holders 20 forwards and backwards (See Ginjo, Claim 1, Ln. 3-8),
Ginjo teaches all the elements of the fishing reel except for a variable brake able to be moved along the axial direction of the spool and biased toward the spool, further comprising a shaft fitting portion, a plurality of holes, a fixed cam, and a variable cam.
However, Sekimoto, Figures 1-3, teaches a variable brake 50 comprising a facing portion 54 provided in a circumferential direction of the spool 18, wherein the variable brake 50 is coupled to one end of the shaft 14 to be movable forwards and backwards in an axial direction of the spool 18 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0013, Ln. 4-5) and is elastically supported toward the spool 18 (See Sekimoto, Para. 0015, Ln. 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Ginjo with a variable brake movable forwards and backwards in an axial direction of the spool, as taught by Sekimoto, for the purpose of improving casting distance and preventing backlash (i.e. allowing for different braking performance in each region the variable brake moves through along the axis of the spool) (See Sekimoto, Para. 0007, Ln. 1-9).
Figure 2. Annotated Figure 5 from Gen
Gen, Figures 1-2, Figures 5-6, and annotated Figure 2 above, teaches wherein a shaft fitting portion 200a protrudes from a central portion of one side surface 200’ of the variable brake 200, the shaft 1b extends through and is coupled to the shaft fitting portion 200a, a diameter of the variable brake 200 gradually increases from the shaft fitting portion 200a towards the facing portion 30a, and the facing portion 30a has a cylindrical shape (circular tube; See Gen, Para. 0017, Ln. 2) and is connected to one end of the variable brake 200 such that the variable brake 200 is open on the one side surface 200’,
wherein the variable brake 200 comprises a fixed cam 10 coupled to an open area on one side of the spool 1 and a variable cam 21a coupled to the other side surface 200’’ of the variable brake 200, and
wherein the fixed cam 10 and the variable cam 21a are matingly coupled to each other in an engagement structure, and contact surfaces of the fixed cam 10 and the variable cam 21a have cam slope portions 13, 22 having a predetermined degree of slope (See Gen, Para. 0011, Ln. 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ginjo and Sekimoto, with a shaft fitting portion, a fixed cam, and a variable cam, as taught by Gen, for the purpose of reducing manufacturing costs and improving device durability and reliability for the prevention of backlash (See Gen, Para. 0007, Ln. 6 - Para. 0008, Ln. 4).
Muckridge, Figures 1-5, teaches a plurality of through-holes 110 arranged radially around the shaft fitting portion 82.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ginjo, Sekimoto, and Gen with a plurality of through holes, as taught by Muckridge, for the purpose of weight reduction (See Muckridge, Col. 5, Ln. 44-52).
Regarding Claim 2, Ginjo in view of Sekimoto, Gen, and Muckridge are advanced above.
Ginjo further teaches wherein the braking force control means 10’ comprises: a dial cam 10 configured to rotate in the circumferential direction of the spool 2 at one side of each of the magnet holders 20 and comprising a cam portion 11 configured to press and move the magnet holder 20 forwards and backwards in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool 2 (See Ginjo, Fig. 1 and 4-5); and
a control dial 12 provided on a side cover 3 to rotate the dial cam 10 (See Ginjo, Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 3, Ginjo in view of Sekimoto, Gen, and Muckridge are advanced above.
Ginjo further teaches wherein each of the magnet holder 20 comprises a protrusion 21 protruding from one side surface thereof and configured to be pressed, and
the cam portion 11 comprises a pressing groove circumferentially formed in the other side surface of the dial cam 10 such that the protrusion 21 configured to be pressed is fitted thereto, wherein the cam portion 11 is configured to press the protrusion 21 configured to be pressed, with a distance thereof from a center of the dial cam 10 gradually increasing in a direction from one end to the other end thereof (See Ginjo, Fig. 4, Claim 1, Ln. 5-8).
Regarding Claim 4, Ginjo in view of Sekimoto, Gen, and Muckridge are advanced above.
Ginjo further teaches a spool cover 30 comprising:
a receiving portion 33 on one side of the magnet holders 20 so as to receive the magnet holders 20 (See Ginjo, Claim 1, Ln. 9-11) and
guide projections 34 configured to guide the magnet holders 20 in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool 2 (See Ginjo, Claim 2, Ln. 4-7); and
guide recesses 23 configured to guide the magnet holders 20 in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool 2 (See Ginjo, Claim 2, Ln. 4-7).
Although the guide recesses are located on the magnet holders instead of the spool cover, these recesses mate with the guide projections located on the spool cover for the purpose of guiding the magnet holders in a direction perpendicular to the axial direction of the spool. Switching the location of the recesses and projections is an obvious matter of design choice and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the guide recess on the spool cover.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pg. 5-8, filed October 31st, 2025, have been fully considered.
Regarding the objections to the Claims, Applicant has submitted acceptable amendments. Therefore, the objections have been withdrawn. However, new objections are raised based on lack of antecedent basis and to improve clarity.
Regarding the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant has amended the claim. The amendments are sufficient to overcome the previously set forth rejection. Therefore, this rejection has been withdrawn. However, a new ground of rejection has been set forth under 35 U.S.C. 103 based on the amended claim.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Ginjo in view of Sekimoto, Gen, and Muckridge are utilized in the current rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 (See Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 above).
Regarding the rejections of Claims 2-4, the claims are dependents of rejected claim 1 and Applicant has provided no additional arguments. Therefore, these claims are also rejected based on the new ground of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654