DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nigam (US Pat No. 8,769,553).
Regarding claim 1, Nigam teaches an application deployment method applied to a first device connected to a second device, wherein the first device comprises a first application, the first application comprises a plurality of capability modules that are configured to be used for installation, the capability module is configured to implement one or more functions (Fig 1; col 2 line 57 to col 3 line 3, wherein a software application is developed to run on a set of deployment platform’s, wherein the application contains various revisions, i.e. modules), and the method comprises:
determining, by the first device based on capability information of the second device (col 5 lines 32-40), a first target capability module suitable for installation on the second device from the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application (col 5 lines 3-17, wherein platform specific applications are defined for different target platforms); and
sending, by the first device, the first target capability module to the second device (col 2 line 57 to col 3 line 3, wherein the application is targeted to run on the second device; col 6 lines 45-50, wherein the application runs on the deployment platform).
Regarding claim 10, Nigam teaches wherein the first device is further connected to a third device, and the method further comprises: determining, by the first device based on capability information of the third device (col 5 lines 32-40), a second target capability module suitable for installation on the third device from the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application (col 5 lines 3-17, wherein platform specific applications are defined for different target platforms); and sending, by the first device, the second target capability module to the third device (col 2 line 57 to col 3 line 3, wherein the application is targeted to run on the second device; col 6 lines 45-50, wherein the application runs on the deployment platform).
Regarding claim 11, Nigam teaches an application deployment method applied to a second device connected to a first device, wherein the first device comprises a first application, the first application comprises a plurality of capability modules configured to be used for installation (Fig 1; col 2 line 57 to col 3 line 3, wherein a software application is developed to run on a set of deployment platform’s, wherein the application contains various revisions, i.e. modules), the capability module has a capability of implementing one or more functions, and the method comprises:
receiving, by the second device, a first target capability module from the first device (col 5 lines 3-17, wherein platform specific applications are defined for different target platforms), wherein the first target capability module is one of the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application (col 5 lines 32-40); and
installing, by the second device, the first target capability module (col 2 line 57 to col 3 line 3, wherein the application is targeted to run on the second device; col 6 lines 45-50, wherein the application runs on the deployment platform).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigam (US Pat No. 8,769,553) in view of Juncker et al. (US PG Pub No. 2008/0040417 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Nigam does not teach further comprising, before determining, by the first device based on the capability information of the second device, the first target capability module suitable for installation on the second device from the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application: receiving, by the first device, a first message from the second device, wherein the first message comprises the capability information of the second device.
Juncker teaches the computer device 202 (i.e. second device) may need to transmit its capabilities to the server 206 (i.e. first device) (Fig 5; [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to receive, by the first device, a first message from the second device, wherein the first message comprises the capability information of the second device. One would be motivated by the desire to ensure that the second device has registered its capabilities with the first device as taught by Juncker.
Regarding claim 3, Juncker teaches further comprising: displaying, by the first device, a first interface comprising device identifiers of one or more second devices; receiving, by the first device, a first operation, wherein the first operation is an operation of selecting a device identifier of the second device on the first interface; and sending, by the first device, a query request message to the second device in response to the first operation ([0014]; [0020]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 12, Nigam does not teach wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the second device, a first message to the first device, wherein the first message comprises capability information of the second device.
Juncker teaches the computer device 202 (i.e. second device) may need to transmit its capabilities to the server 206 (i.e. first device) (Fig 5; [0068]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to receive, by the first device, a first message from the second device, wherein the first message comprises the capability information of the second device. One would be motivated by the desire to ensure that the second device has registered its capabilities with the first device as taught by Juncker.
Regarding claim 13, Juncker teaches further comprising before sending, by the second device, the first message to the first device: receiving, by the second device, a query request message from the first device, wherein the query request message is used to query the capability information of the second device ([0014]; [0020]; [0063]).
Regarding claim 14, Juncker teaches wherein sending, by the second device, the first message to the first device comprises: sending, by the second device, the first message to the first device in response to the second device establishing a connection to the first device (Fig 5; [0068]).
Regarding claim 15, Juncker teaches wherein the capability information of the second device comprises one or more of a device type, a device version, a device level, a device hardware capability, or a CPU-ABI type of the second device ([0041]).
Claim(s) 4-9, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nigam (US Pat No. 8,769,553) in view of Young et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0138678 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Nigam does not teach each capability module comprised in the first application comprises a configuration list corresponding to the capability module; and determining, by the first device based on capability information of the second device, the first target capability module suitable for installation on the second device from the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application comprises: determining, by the first device based on the capability information of the second device and the configuration list corresponding to each capability module comprised in the first application, the first target capability module suitable for installation on the second device from the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application.
Young teaches generating a list of code modules based on the device capability definition wherein each code that is available to the device configuration service is certified as being compatible with a particular hardware component ([0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a configuration list corresponding to the capability module; and determining, by the first device based on the capability information of the second device and the configuration list corresponding to each capability module comprised in the first application, the first target capability module suitable for installation on the second device from the plurality of capability modules comprised in the first application. One would be motivated by the desire to filter for only modules that are compatible as taught by Young ([0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Young teaches the configuration list corresponding to each capability module comprises: one or more of a device type suitable for the capability module; a minimum device version requirement corresponding to the device type suitable for the capability module; a minimum device level suitable for the capability module; a hardware capability requirement of the capability module; a central processing unit-application binary interface (CPU-ABI) type supported by the capability module; and a scenario type suitable for the capability module ([0029], “use case”).
Regarding claim 6, Young teaches wherein the capability information of the second device comprises one or more of a device type, a device version, a device level, a device hardware capability, and a CPU-ABI type of the second device ([0022]).
Regarding claim 7, Young teaches before sending, by the first device, the first target capability module to the second device: sending, by the first device, attribute information of the first target capability module to the second device; and receiving, by the first device, a download request message from the second device, wherein the download request message comprises identification information of the first target capability module ([0019]; [0039-40]).
Regarding claim 8, Young teaches wherein the attribute information of the first target capability module comprises one or more of the following: a capability name, version information, and a capability type of the first target capability module; a size of the first target capability module; a quantity of times that the first target capability module is used on the first device; or a permission required by the first target capability module ([0029]).
Regarding claim 9, Young teaches displaying, by the first device, a second interface comprising an installation prompt of the first target capability module; receiving, by the first device, a second operation, wherein the second operation is an operation of selecting to install the first target capability module; and sending, by the first device, a second message to the second device in response to the second operation, wherein the second message indicates the second device to install the first target capability module ([0018]; [0020]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 16, Nigam does not teach further comprising before the receiving, by the second device, the first target capability module from the first device: sending, by the second device, a download request message to the first device, wherein the download request message comprises identification information of the first target capability module.
Young teaches sending, by the second device, a download request message to the first device, wherein the download request message comprises identification information of the first target capability module ([0019]; [0039-40]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to send, by the second device, a download request message to the first device, wherein the download request message comprises identification information of the first target capability module. One would be motivated by the desire to initiate the transfer of data via downloading as taught by Young.
Regarding claim 17, Young teaches wherein sending, by the second device, the download request message to the first device comprises: receiving, by the second device, attribute information of the first target capability module from the first device; deciding, by the second device based on the attribute information of the first target capability module, whether to install the first target capability module; and sending, by the second device, the download request message to the first device in response to the second device deciding to install the first target capability module (Figs 6-8).
Regarding claim 18, Young teaches wherein the attribute information of the first target capability module comprises one or more of the following: a capability name, version information, and a capability type of the first target capability module; a size of the first target capability module; a quantity of times that the first target capability module is used on the first device; or a permission required by the first target capability module ([0029]).
Regarding claim 19, Young teaches the second device comprises a preset decision condition; and deciding, by the second device based on the attribute information of the first target capability module, whether to install the first target capability module comprises: in response to determining, based on the attribute information of the first target capability module, that the first target capability module meets the preset decision condition, deciding, by the second device, to install the first target capability module ([0039-40]).
Regarding claim 20, Young teaches wherein the present decision condition comprises one or more of the following: remaining storage space of the second device is greater than a size of the first target capability module; remaining power of the second device is greater than a first threshold; the second device is currently in a screen-off and charging stat; a quantity of times that the first target capability module is used on the first device is greater than a second threshold; and a permission required by the first target capability module does not comprise a sensitive permission ([0041]).
Conclusion
/Eric C Wai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195