DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4 of Claim 1, there is an extra space and comma inserted between “header field, , and a data field.” Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,911,580 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are directed to a signal format comprising a legacy header field, an EDMG header field and a data field and further a length field comprising bandwidth information. Below is a table showing the correspondence between instant Claims 1-3 and 5-7 and Claims 1-4 of the conflicting Patent, with differences underlined.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/531,366)
Conflicting Patent
(US 10,911,580 B2)
Claim No.
1
A transmission apparatus comprising:
A transmitting device comprising:
1
transmission signal generation circuitry which, in operation, generates a signal including
a transmission signal generation circuit that generates a transmission signal using a frame format including
a legacy short training field (STF), a legacy channel estimation field (CEF),
a legacy header field,
a legacy header field,
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field,
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field,
an EDMG-STF, an EDMG-CEF, and
and a data field; and
a data field; and
transmission circuitry which, in operation, transmits the generated signal,
a transmission circuit that transmits the generated transmission signal using one or more channels, wherein
wherein the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits,
the legacy header field includes a data length field comprising multiple bits,
to a legacy terminal, the multiple bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field are used to indicate data length information,
to an EDMG terminal,
to an EDMG terminal,
a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
a subset of the multiple bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field is used to indicate bandwidth information related to the one or more channels over which the transmission signal is transmitted, and
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the signal.
one or more remaining bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field are used to indicate the data length information to the EDMG terminal.
2
The transmission apparatus according to Claim 1,
See above
1
wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted.
a subset of the multiple bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field is used to indicate bandwidth information related to the one or more channels over which the transmission signal is transmitted, and
3
The transmission apparatus according to Claim 2,
The transmitting device according to claim 1, wherein
2
wherein the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
5
A transmission method comprising:
A transmission method comprising:
3
generating a signal including
generating a transmission signal using a frame format including
a legacy short training field (STF),
a legacy channel estimation field (CEF),
a legacy channel estimation field (CEF),
a legacy header field,
a legacy header field,
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field, and
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field,
an EDMG-STF, an EDMG-CEF, and
a data field; and
a data field; and
transmitting the generated signal, wherein
transmitting the generated transmission signal using one or more channels, wherein
the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits,
the legacy header field includes a data length field comprising multiple bits,
to a legacy terminal, the multiple bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field are used to indicate data length information,
to an EDMG terminal,
to an EDMG terminal,
a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is used for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
a subset of the multiple bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field is used to indicate bandwidth information related to the one or more channels over which the transmission signal is transmitted, and
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the signal.
one or more remaining bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field are used to indicate the data length information to the EDMG terminal.
6
The transmission method according to Claim 5,
See above
3
wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted.
a subset of the multiple bits of the data length field included in the legacy header field is used to indicate bandwidth information related to the one or more channels over which the transmission signal is transmitted, and
7
The transmission method according to Claim 6,
The transmission method according to claim 3, wherein
4
wherein the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
As indicated above, the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the conflicting Patent and is covered by the conflicting Patent. The instant application and the conflicting Patent are claiming common subject matter, and the difference in limitation(s) are merely differences in wording. Therefore, Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting in light of the conflicting Patent Claims 1-4.
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No.11,876,591 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are directed to a signal format comprising a legacy header field, an EDMG header field and a data field and further a length field comprising bandwidth information. Below is a table showing the correspondence between instant Claims 1-4 and Claims 1-4 of the conflicting Patent, with differences underlined.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/531,366)
Conflicting Patent
(US 11,876,591 B2)
Claim No.
1
A transmission apparatus comprising:
A reception apparatus comprising:
1
transmission signal generation circuitry which, in operation, generates a signal including
reception circuitry which, in operation, receives a signal including
a legacy header field,
a legacy header field,
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field,
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field, and
and a data field; and
a data field; and
transmission circuitry which, in operation, transmits the generated signal, wherein
decoding circuitry which, in operation, decodes data included in the data field of the received signal, wherein:
the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits,
the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits,
to an EDMG terminal,
the reception apparatus is an EDMG terminal, and
a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the signal.
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the received signal.
2
The transmission apparatus according to Claim 1,
The reception apparatus according to claim 1,
2
wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted.
wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted.
3
The transmission apparatus according to Claim 2, wherein
The reception apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
3
the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
4
The transmission apparatus according to Claim 1,
The reception apparatus according to claim 1,
4
wherein the remaining bits of the Length field is set so that spoofing error is less than a threshold value and is non-negative.
wherein the remaining bits of the Length field is set so that spoofing error is less than a threshold value and is non-negative.
As indicated above, the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the conflicting Patent and is covered by the conflicting Patent. The instant application and the conflicting Patent are claiming common subject matter, and the difference in limitation(s) are merely differences in wording. Therefore, Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting in light of the conflicting Patent Claims 1-4.
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,876,591 B2 in view of Eitan (US 2016/0309457 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claims are directed to a signal format comprising a legacy CEF field, a legacy header field, an EDMG header field, and a data field, and further a length field comprising bandwidth information. Below is a table showing the correspondence between instant Claims 5-8 and Claims 5-8 of the conflicting Patent, with differences underlined.
Claim No.
instant application
(18/531,366)
Conflicting Patent
(US 11,876,591 B2)
Claim No.
5
A transmission method comprising:
A reception method for a reception apparatus, the reception method comprising:
5
generating a signal including
receiving a signal including
a legacy channel estimation field (CEF),
Eitan (US 2016/0309457 A1) Fig 4A signal header comprising L-CEF (i.e. legacy CEF) field
a legacy header field,
a legacy header field,
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field, and
an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field and
a data field; and
a data field; and
transmitting the generated signal, wherein
decoding data included in the data field of the received signal, wherein:
the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits,
the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits,
to an EDMG terminal,
the reception apparatus is an EDMG terminal, and
a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is used for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the signal.
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the received signal.
6
The transmission method according to Claim 5,
The reception method according to claim 5,
6
wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted.
wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted.
7
The transmission method according to Claim 6, wherein
The reception method according to claim 6, wherein
7
the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
8
The transmission method according to Claim 6,
The reception method according to claim 5,
8
wherein the remaining bits of the Length field is set so that spoofing error is less than a threshold value and is non-negative.
wherein the remaining bits of the Length field is set so that spoofing error is less than a threshold value and is non-negative.
Conflicting Patent does not teach the below limitation of instant Claim 5:
a legacy channel estimation field (CEF),
Eitan does teach the below limitation:
a legacy channel estimation field (CEF) (Eitan Fig 4A signal header comprising L-CEF (i.e. legacy CEF) field),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Conflicting Patent to include a legacy CEF field in the signal format as taught by Eitan. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to support legacy channel estimation in order to leverage existing infrastructure and signaling formats.
As indicated above, the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the conflicting Patent in view of Eitan and is covered by the conflicting Patent in view of Eitan. The instant application and the conflicting Patent (and Eitan) are claiming common subject matter, and the difference in limitation(s) are merely differences in wording. Therefore, Claims 5-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness type double patenting in light of the conflicting Patent Claims 5-8 and further in view of Eitan Fig 4A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eitan (US 2016/0309457 A1) in view of Jo (US 2017/0111099 A1).
Eitan teaches a signal format comprising at least a legacy header field, an EDMG header field, and a data field. See for example Fig. 3A and 3B recreated below for an exemplary embodiment of the signal format, wherein the L-Header of 3A is a “legacy header field” and the EDMG Header of Fig 3A is an “EDMG header field”.
Regarding Claim 1, Eitan discloses the below limitation(s): transmission signal generation circuitry which, in operation, generates a signal (Eitan Fig 2A TX frame processing system 202 (i.e. transmission signal generation circuitry); [0005] apparatus comprises a processing system configured to generate a frame (i.e. signal)) including a legacy header field (Fig 4A signal comprising L-Header (i.e. legacy header) field), an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field (Fig 4A signal comprising EDMG header field), , and a data field (Fig 4A signal comprising payload data field); and
transmission circuitry which, in operation, transmits the generated signal, … to an EDMG terminal (Fig 2A interface 208 (i.e. transmission circuitry); Fig 1 step 108 802.11ad (i.e. legacy) frames + portion of new frame (i.e. EDMG header field(s)) transmitted to updated legacy user device (i.e. EDMG terminal) and/or step 110 new frame (i.e. EDMG header field(s)) transmitted to new protocol user device (i.e. EDMG terminal)),
wherein the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits (Fig 3B payload data length is 24 bits),
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the signal (Fig 3B wherein length field is a payload data length; see also [0042]).
Eitan does not disclose the below limitation(s): a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
In the same field of endeavor of signal formats comprising legacy and EDMG fields, Jo does disclose the below limitation(s): a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted (Jo [0052] EDMG-Header-A may include a bandwidth field which indicates a bandwidth in which the corresponding PPDU is transmitted), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Eitan to include indicating a bandwidth to transmit the signal on in a legacy header as taught by Jo. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate bandwidth resources that have been reserved for the signal in order to perform congestion management and/or load balancing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Eitan and Jo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 2, Eitan and Jo disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 1.
Eitan further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted (Eitan Fig 3B which teaches the format comprises a 3-bit channel field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned transmission apparatus to include indicating channels in a legacy header as taught by Eitan. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate channel resources that have been reserved for the signal in order to perform congestion management and/or load balancing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Eitan and Jo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 3, Eitan and Jo disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 2.
Eitan does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
In the same field of endeavor of signal formats comprising legacy and EDMG fields, Jo does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands (Jo [0026] a plurality of channels may be provided and one channel may have a bandwidth of 2.16 GHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned transmission apparatus to transmit the signal on a 2.16 GHz frequency as taught by Jo. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to use 2.16 GHz frequency channels in order to use standard bandwidth size for channels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Eitan and Jo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 5, Eitan discloses the below limitation(s): generating a signal (Eitan [0005] apparatus comprises a processing system configured to generate a frame (i.e. signal)) including a legacy channel estimation field (CEF) (Fig 4A signal comprising L-CEF (i.e. legacy CEF) field), a legacy header field (Fig 4A signal comprising L-Header (i.e. legacy header) field), an enhanced directional multi-gigabit (EDMG) header field (Fig 4A signal comprising EDMG header field), and a data field (Fig 4A signal comprising payload data field); and
transmitting the generated signal, …to an EDMG terminal (Fig 1 step 108 802.11ad (i.e. legacy) frames + portion of new frame (i.e. EDMG header field(s)) transmitted to updated legacy user device (i.e. EDMG terminal) and/or step 110 new frame (i.e. EDMG header field(s)) transmitted to new protocol user device (i.e. EDMG terminal)),
wherein the legacy header field includes a Length field comprising multiple bits (Fig 3B payload data length is 24 bits),
remaining bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field are for indicating data length information of the signal (Fig 3B wherein length field is a payload data length; see also [0042]).
Eitan does not disclose the below limitation(s): a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is used for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted, and
In the same field of endeavor of signal formats comprising legacy and EDMG fields, Jo does disclose the below limitation(s): a subset of the multiple bits of the Length field included in the legacy header field is used for indicating bandwidth over which the signal is transmitted (Jo [0052] EDMG-Header-A may include a bandwidth field which indicates a bandwidth in which the corresponding PPDU is transmitted), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the teaching of Eitan to include indicating a bandwidth to transmit the signal on in a legacy header as taught by Jo. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate bandwidth resources that have been reserved for the signal in order to perform congestion management and/or load balancing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Eitan and Jo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 6, Eitan and Jo disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 5.
Eitan further discloses the below limitation(s): wherein the bandwidth comprises one or more channels over which the signal is transmitted (Eitan Fig 3B which teaches the format comprises a 3-bit channel field).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned transmission method to include indicating channels in a legacy header as taught by Eitan. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to indicate channel resources that have been reserved for the signal in order to perform congestion management and/or load balancing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Eitan and Jo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 7, Eitan and Jo disclose the limitation(s) of Claim 6.
Eitan does not disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands.
In the same field of endeavor of signal formats comprising legacy and EDMG fields, Jo does disclose the below limitation(s): wherein the one or more channels are any of a 2.16 GHz band, a combination of 2.16 GHz bands, a concatenation of 2.16 GHz bands, and a combination of concatenated 2.16 GHz bands (Jo [0026] a plurality of channels may be provided and one channel may have a bandwidth of 2.16 GHz).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the aforementioned transmission method to transmit the signal on a 2.16 GHz frequency as taught by Jo. The suggestion/motivation to do so would have been to use 2.16 GHz frequency channels in order to use standard bandwidth size for channels. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Eitan and Jo to obtain the invention, as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/SHAWN D MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412