DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a safing sector cover including a locking shelf must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The locking shelf (1110) is part of the safing sector slide member (130), e.g., paragraph 23 (also see figures 8-10, the locking shelf 1110 is part of safing sector slide member 130, NOT part of safing sector cover 120). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 1: the term “movable arm” should read “locking arm”.
Claim 8, line 1: the term “movable arm” should read “locking arm”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 1, the claim requires that the safing sector comprises both “a safing sector cover…including a locking shelf” and “a safing sector slide member.” However, looking at the drawings, it is clear that locking shelf (1110) is part of the safing sector slide member (130). Further confusing the matter, the specification recites both “the locking shelf of the safing sector cover” (at least para. 4) and “the locking shelf of the safing sector slide member” (at least para. 23).
Does Applicant intend for there to be two different locking shelves? Is the safing sector slide member considered part of the safing sector cover? The claim language is confusing at best, and the metes and bounds thereof are unclear. For purposes of examination, the examiner will consider the claim as requiring a locking shelf that is either one of a part of the safing sector cover or the safing sector slide member. It is strongly suggested that Applicant amend claim 1 to recite “a safing sector slide member…including a locking shelf,” in lieu of “a safing sector cover…including a locking shelf.” Further, the limitation “the locking shelf of the safing sector cover,” found in claims 2, 4, 6, 7, and 9, should be changed to read “the locking shelf of the safing sector slide member.” Correction and/or clarification are required.
In reference to claims 3 and 8, the term “install/uninstall” is considered indefinite, since it is unclear what effect the slash mark is intended to have upon the term. Further, the specification fails to provide any guidance as to the meaning this term, or the metes and bounds thereof. For purposes of examination, the examiner will consider said term as reading “install and uninstall.” Correction and/or clarification are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Garwood (11441864).
In reference to claim 1, Garwood discloses a safing sector for a minigun including a housing with an opening adjacent to barrels of the minigun, comprising:
a safing sector cover (120) configured to cover the opening of the housing of the minigun and including a locking shelf (470+500);
one or more retaining pin assemblies (150) configured to retain the cover to the housing of the minigun;
a safing sector slide member (130) configured to slide forward and rearward relative to the safing sector cover;
a safing sector slide control mechanism (140) configured to impart the forward and rearward sliding movement of the safing sector slide member relative to the safing sector cover between at least a fire position and a safe position, where the barrels of the minigun may be rotated electrically without firing and without bolt assemblies becoming damaged, the safing sector slide control mechanism includes a locking arm (520) configured to impart forward and rearward sliding movement of the safing sector slide member relative to the safing sector cover, and a locking mechanism (620) pivotally coupled to the locking arm and including a locking mechanism shelf stop (680) to engage the locking shelf of the safing sector cover to lock the locking arm and the safing sector slide member in the fire position (figures 1A-3D).
In reference to claim 2, Garwood discloses the claimed invention (figure 4: the portion of locking arm 520 that defines holes 600 is the pivoting base; the portion of end 640 of locking mechanism 620 that defines hole 670 is the base pivotally coupled to the pivoting base; figures 1A-1D show the fire position; figures 2A-2D show the safe position).
In reference to claim 3, Garwood discloses the claimed invention (figures 1A-1D show a fire position, figures 2A-2D show a safe position, and figures 3A-3D show an install and uninstall position).
In reference to claim 4, Garwood discloses the claimed invention (spring 660).
In reference to claim 5, Garwood discloses the claimed invention (knobs 860).
In reference to claim 6, Garwood discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 1 (also see column 5, lines 13-57).
In reference to claim 7, Garwood discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the references to claims 1 and 2 (also see column 5, lines 13-57).
In reference to claim 8, Garwood discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the references to claims 1-3 (also see paragraph bridging columns 5-6).
In reference to claim 9, Garwood discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 4 (also see column 5, lines 13-57).
In reference to claim 10, Garwood discloses the claimed invention, as set forth above in the reference to claim 5 (paragraph bridging columns 4-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see attached Notice of References Cited.
GABRIEL J. KLEIN
Examiner
Art Unit 3641
/Gabriel J. Klein/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641