DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-06-2023 acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Italy on 03-15-2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IT102021000003026 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means for selective conveyance” in claim 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 20-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is rejected because it recites the phrases "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 20 is rejected because it recites limitation “said at least one padded product” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected because it recites limitation “said down” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected because it recites limitation “said initial padded product” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected because it recites limitation “said first separation chamber” in line 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected because it recites limitation “the aspirated down” in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 is rejected because it recites limitation “said second separation chamber” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 is rejected because it recites limitation “said optional separation chamber” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 is rejected because it recites limitation “said down suction” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 is rejected because it recites limitation “the step” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 is rejected because it recites limitation “the contain” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 is rejected because it recites limitation “said at least one first collection container” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 is rejected because it recites the phrases "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 28 is rejected because it recites limitation “said cutting” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 is rejected because it recites limitation “said first separation chamber” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 is rejected because it recites limitation “said second chamber” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 is rejected because it recites limitation “said second separation chamber” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 33 is rejected because it recites limitation “said cutting” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 is rejected because it recites the phrases "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 34 is rejected because it recites limitations “means for selective conveyance” is vague and indefinite since it does not have any specific structure as disclosed in the specification.
Claim 36 is rejected because it recites limitation “said mechanical agitators” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 is rejected because it recites limitation “the optional second separation chamber” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 is rejected because it recites limitation “the hood” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 is rejected because it recites the phrases "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-21, 23-28, and 33-38 is/are rejected, to the degree of definite, under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oka et al. (2023/0347383).
Regarding claim 20, Oka discloses a method for recovering down from products padded with down (fig 1, para 0025), such as items of clothing, comforters, pillows and the like, comprising a step of feeding at least one product padded with down in input to a conveyance line, and further comprising the steps of:
cutting adapted to shred said at least one padded product (member 10), so as to obtain a shredded material in which said down (member 2) is mixed with debris of other components of said initial padded product, such as fabric, stitching threads, zip fasteners, buttons and the like (member 3), said shredded material being subsequently caused to advance along said conveyance line (members 30 to 40);
mechanical agitation of said shredded material inside at least one first separation chamber (member 21) along the conveyance line, said mechanical agitation being adapted to separate at least part of said down from said shredded material (para 0041);
suction of the separated down (para 0054), said suction being performed at said first separation chamber and upstream (member 61) and/or downstream (member 23) of the first separation chamber;
collection of the aspirated down in at least one down collection container (member 40).
Regarding claim 21, Oka discloses a second step of mechanical agitation of said shredded material inside at least one second separation chamber (member 50), in order to separate down from the shredded material that arrives from said first separation chamber, said suction being applied also to said second separation chamber (para 0037).
Regarding claim 23, Oka discloses said down suction is applied also during said cutting step, at a cutting station arranged upstream of said first separation chamber (para 0039).
Regarding claim 24, Oka discloses said down collection step provides for conveying into distinct collection containers (member 40) the down aspirated upstream of said first separation chamber and the down aspirated in at least said first and/or said second separation chamber (para 0052).
Regarding claim 25, Oka discloses the step of transferring the content of said at least one first collection container to a point of the conveyance line upstream of said first separation chamber (fig 1, para 0057) or of said second separation chamber.
Regarding claim 26, Oka discloses said cutting step comprises a first, guillotine cutting step (i.e. longitudinal direction) followed by a second, rotary cutting step (transverse direction, para 0039).
Regarding claim 27, Oka discloses said mechanical agitation step is performed in said first and/or said second chamber by means of at least one beating roller which has a substantially horizontal rotation axis (members 25-26).
Regarding claim 28, Oka discloses an apparatus for recovering down from padded products, such as items of clothing, comforters, pillows or the like, which comprises an inlet for feeding products padded with down, a conveyance line, and at least one outlet for collecting the down recovered from the padded products fed at the inlet (fig 1, member 12), said apparatus further comprising, along said conveyance line:
at least one cutting station (member 10) adapted to receive from the inlet said padded products, to cut them and to release a shredded material onto said conveyance line as a consequence of said cutting;
downstream of said at least one cutting station, at least one first separation chamber (member 21) provided with at least one mechanical agitator (members 25-26) for said shredded material, said at least one mechanical agitator being adapted to separate at least part of said down from said shredded material;
said apparatus further comprising:
suction means (para 0054) which are connected to suction ports arranged along said conveyance line, at said first separation chamber and upstream (member 61) and/or downstream (member 23) of the first separation chamber along the conveyance line, in order to aspirate the down separated from said shredded material and convey it toward at least one collection container (para 0046 to 0047).
Regarding claim 33, Oka discloses said at least one cutting station is connected to said suction means, so as to aspirate any down that has been separated as a consequence of said cutting (fig 1).
Regarding claim 34, Oka discloses said at least one cutting station comprises a preliminary cutting station, preferably of the guillotine type (i.e. longitudinal direction), and a rotary cutting station(transverse direction) downstream of said preliminary cutting station, said suction means being connected to said rotary cutting station (para 0039).
Regarding claim 35, Oka discloses means for selective conveyance of the down aspirated by virtue of the suction means, said conveyance means (member 30) being configured to convey separately, into respective collection containers, the down aspirated upstream and downstream of a given point of the conveyance line.
Regarding claim 36, Oka discloses said mechanical agitators comprise beating rollers which have a substantially horizontal rotation axis (para 0041).
Regarding claim 37, Oka discloses said first separation chamber comprises a step cleaner, which is closed in an upper region by a respective hood (member 23) which is coupled to at least one respective port connected to said suction means.
Regarding claim 38, Oka discloses said first separation chamber or the optional second separation chamber comprises a spiked roller, which has a substantially horizontal rotation axis and is surmounted by a respective hood which is coupled to at least one respective port connected to said suction means, said hood defining, between said at least one respective port and the volume occupied by said spiked roller, a closed free space in which the down separated from said shredded material is released by means of the rotation of said spiked roller, said spiked roller preferably comprising longitudinal blades between which said spikes are interposed (members 25-26, para 0047).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 and 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oka et al. (2023/0347383) as applied to claims 21 and 28 above, and further in view of Fisher (5,316,150).
Regarding claim 22, Oka teaches all limitations of the claim except the shredded material is caused to fall by gravity into said second separation chamber or into a third separation chamber downstream of said second separation chamber along said conveyance line, so that during the fall said shredded material strikes against obstacle surfaces provided inside said second or third separation chamber, releasing additional down, said suction being applied also to said optional third separation chamber.
Fisher teaches a method having a step of the shredded material is caused to fall by gravity into said second separation chamber (member 25) or into a third separation chamber (member 41) downstream of said second separation chamber along said conveyance line, so that during the fall said shredded material strikes against obstacle surfaces provided inside said second or third separation chamber, releasing additional down (figs 1-3), said suction being applied also to said optional third separation chamber (col 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the method of Oka by adding more of chambers, as taught by Fisher, in order to collect as much as down material.
Regarding claim 29, Oka teaches all limitations of the claim except downstream of said first separation chamber along said conveyance line, at least one second separation chamber which is adapted to receive, via the conveyance line, the shredded material that arrives from the first separation chamber, said second chamber being connected to at least one respective suction port in order to aspirate, by virtue of said suction means, additional down from said shredded material that arrives from the first separation chamber.
Fisher teaches an apparatus having downstream of said first separation chamber (member 15) along said conveyance line, at least one second separation chamber (member 25) which is adapted to receive, via the conveyance line, the shredded material that arrives from the first separation chamber, said second chamber being connected to at least one respective suction port in order to aspirate, by virtue of said suction means, additional down from said shredded material that arrives from the first separation chamber (col 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Oka by adding more of chambers, as taught by Fisher, in order to collect as much as down material.
Regarding claim 30, the modified apparatus Oka-Fisher discloses said second separation chamber comprises a second mechanical agitator for the shredded material (Oka, members 25-26 and Fisher, col 4).
Regarding claim 31, the modified apparatus Oka-Fisher teaches all limitations of the claim and Fisher further teaches downstream of said second separation chamber (member 25), a third separation chamber (member 42) in which the shredded material that arrives from said second separation chamber is caused to fall by gravity against obstacle surfaces which are internal to said third separation chamber, so that during the fall said shredded material strikes against said obstacle surfaces, releasing additional down, said third separation chamber being connected to said suction means and comprising an exit for the outflow of the residues of said shredded material that have fallen by gravity (col 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the apparatus of Oka by adding more of chambers, as taught by Fisher, in order to collect as much as down material.
Regarding claim 32, the modified apparatus Oka-Fisher discloses said obstacle surfaces are substantially inclined toward said exit, said third separation chamber further comprising at least one third mechanical agitator(Oka, members 25-26 and Fisher, col 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732