DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 09/16/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 09/16/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1-17, 31-41 and 43-44 are pending
Claims 1, 10, 31 and 40 are amended
Claims 18-30 and 42 are canceled
Claims 1-17, 31-41 and 43-44 are rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17, 31-41 and 43-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHANG et al. (US 20080095037 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chang, in view of Chen et al. (US 20110159911 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chen, and further in view of BHARADWAJ et al. (US 20170070961 A1), hereinafter referenced as Bharadwaj.
Regarding claims 1 and 31, Chang teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0003]-Chang discloses apparatus and method for communicating resource allocation information for a Relay Station (RS) in a BWA system. Para. [0008]-Chang discloses data is transmitted from a BS to a plurality of Mobile Stations (MSs). Para. [0015]-Chang discloses The RS can be classified into a fixed RS having a low mobility, a nomadic RS (e.g., laptop computer) having a nomadic feature, and a mobile RS having the same mobility as an MS (Mobile Station). Para. [0020-0021]-Chang discloses the apparatus includes a scheduler for generating scheduling information by performing scheduling for an RS and for determining a valid duration for the scheduling information; a control information generator for generating a resource allocation message containing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and a transmitter for processing the resource allocation message in a physical layer and for transmitting the resource allocation message to the RS ... The apparatus includes a receiver for receiving a resource allocation message from a Base Station (BS) or an upper layer RS; a control information reader for reading the resource allocation message and for obtaining scheduling information and information on a valid duration for the scheduling information; a memory for storing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and a controller for controlling communication with the BS or the upper layer RS by using the scheduling information during the valid duration) to cause the UE to:
receive, from the network entity, scheduling information for an uplink communication (Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs. Para. [0014]-Chang discloses mobile communication system that operates in a high frequency region experiences constraint in a throughput and a service coverage due to a high path loss),
the scheduling information comprises a resource mapping vector indicative of an assigned subset of orthogonal resources of a plurality of orthogonal resources and a repetition code for the uplink communication (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication. Tables 3-7, Fig. 4, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses scheduler 400, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP IEs to be transmitted to each RS. Further, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP messages (i.e., DL MAP/UL MAP) by combining the MAP IEs ... , each MAP IE may include at least one element selected from a group consisting of a valid duration of scheduling information. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme); and
transmit, to the network entity and via the assigned subset of orthogonal resources, the uplink communication in accordance with the repetition code (Para. [0058]-Chang discloses the UL burst may be transmitted by using the resource according to the UL burst information. Para. [0052]-Chang discloses a DL burst is transmitted after being mapped to a corresponding resource (or region) according to the scheduling information, and an UL burst is received by using the resource. Para. [0006]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system).
Chang fails to explicitly teach transmit, to a network entity, an indication of a pathloss value for a communication channel between the UE and the network entity and an uplink power for the UE.
However, Chen teaches transmit, to a network entity, an indication of a pathloss value for a communication channel between the UE and the network entity and an uplink power for the UE (Para. [0022]-Chen discloses the UE sends an indication of its actual transmit power level to the eNB in order to synchronize the power control state at the UE and eNB. Such indication can include a pathloss estimate, CQI report, power headroom report, or a report of transmit power level and/or the expected received power level to the eNB for scheduling and resource allocation).
Chang and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems, dealing with uplink power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chang to incorporate the teachings of Chen on pathloss and uplink power, with a motivation to transmit an indication of pathloss and uplink power to the base station, and achieve high-speed mobile communication, (Chang, Para. [0005]).
Chang fails to explicitly teach the assigned subset of orthogonal resources is based at least in part on the pathloss value and the uplink power.
However, Bharadwaj teaches the assigned subset of orthogonal resources is based at least in part on the pathloss value and the uplink power (Para. [0008]-Bharadwaj discloses an apparatus (e.g., an access point) for wireless communication. The apparatus may be configured to determine a target receiver power level for uplink transmissions received at the apparatus, to determine uplink power control information based on the determined target receiver power level for uplink multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (UL MU-MIMO) transmission or uplink orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (UL OFDMA) transmission, and to transmit a frame that includes the determined uplink power control information to a station scheduled by the apparatus for uplink transmission. Para. [0104]-Bharadwaj discloses the uplink power control information may be determined based on one or more of an MCS to be used by each scheduled station, an uplink pathloss of each scheduled station, a maximum transmit power for each scheduled station, a minimum transmit power for each scheduled station, a number of stations scheduled for uplink transmission on a same RU, a transmission history for each scheduled station, and an RU size. (See also Fig. 3, Para. [0062])).
Bharadwaj is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with power control regulation in uplink transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chang in view of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Bharadwaj on orthogonal resource allocation, with a motivation for uplink power and pathloss-based resource allocation, and guarantee dynamic connectivity, (Bharadwaj, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claims 10 and 40, Chang teaches a network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0003]-Chang discloses apparatus and method for communicating resource allocation information for a Relay Station (RS) in a BWA system. Para. [0008]-Chang discloses data is transmitted from a BS to a plurality of Mobile Stations (MSs). Para. [0015]-Chang discloses The RS can be classified into a fixed RS having a low mobility, a nomadic RS (e.g., laptop computer) having a nomadic feature, and a mobile RS having the same mobility as an MS (Mobile Station). Para. [0020-0021]-Chang discloses the apparatus includes a scheduler for generating scheduling information by performing scheduling for an RS and for determining a valid duration for the scheduling information; a control information generator for generating a resource allocation message containing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and a transmitter for processing the resource allocation message in a physical layer and for transmitting the resource allocation message to the RS ... The apparatus includes a receiver for receiving a resource allocation message from a Base Station (BS) or an upper layer RS; a control information reader for reading the resource allocation message and for obtaining scheduling information and information on a valid duration for the scheduling information; a memory for storing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and a controller for controlling communication with the BS or the upper layer RS by using the scheduling information during the valid duration) to cause the network entity to:
output, to the plurality of UEs, respective scheduling information for respective uplink communications for the plurality of UEs (Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs. Para. [0014]-Chang discloses mobile communication system that operates in a high frequency region experiences constraint in a throughput and a service coverage due to a high path loss),
the respective scheduling information comprising respective resource mapping vectors indicative of respective assigned subsets of orthogonal resources of a plurality of orthogonal resources and respective repetition codes for the respective uplink communications (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication. Tables 3-7, Fig. 4, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses scheduler 400, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP IEs to be transmitted to each RS. Further, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP messages (i.e., DL MAP/UL MAP) by combining the MAP IEs ... , each MAP IE may include at least one element selected from a group consisting of a valid duration of scheduling information. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme); and
obtain, from the plurality of UEs via the respective assigned subsets of orthogonal resources, the respective uplink communications in accordance with the respective repetition codes (Para. [0058]-Chang discloses the UL burst may be transmitted by using the resource according to the UL burst information. Para. [0052]-Chang discloses a DL burst is transmitted after being mapped to a corresponding resource (or region) according to the scheduling information, and an UL burst is received by using the resource. Para. [0006]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system).
Chang fails to explicitly teach obtain, from a plurality of user equipments (UEs), indications of respective pathloss values for respective communication channels between the plurality of UEs and the network entity and respective uplink powers for the plurality of UEs.
However, Chen teaches obtain, from a plurality of user equipments (UEs), indications of respective pathloss values for respective communication channels between the plurality of UEs and the network entity and respective uplink powers for the plurality of UEs (Para. [0022]-Chen discloses the UE sends an indication of its actual transmit power level to the eNB in order to synchronize the power control state at the UE and eNB. Such indication can include a pathloss estimate, CQI report, power headroom report, or a report of transmit power level and/or the expected received power level to the eNB for scheduling and resource allocation).
Chang and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of communication systems, dealing with uplink power.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chang to incorporate the teachings of Chen on pathloss and uplink power, with a motivation to transmit an indication of pathloss and uplink power to the base station, and achieve high-speed mobile communication, (Chang, Para. [0005]).
Chang fails to explicitly teach the respective assigned subsets of orthogonal resources are based at least in part on the respective pathloss values and the respective uplink powers.
However, Bharadwaj teaches the respective assigned subsets of orthogonal resources are based at least in part on the respective pathloss values and the respective uplink powers (Para. [0008]-Bharadwaj discloses an apparatus (e.g., an access point) for wireless communication. The apparatus may be configured to determine a target receiver power level for uplink transmissions received at the apparatus, to determine uplink power control information based on the determined target receiver power level for uplink multi-user multiple-input-multiple-output (UL MU-MIMO) transmission or uplink orthogonal frequency-division multiple access (UL OFDMA) transmission, and to transmit a frame that includes the determined uplink power control information to a station scheduled by the apparatus for uplink transmission. Para. [0104]-Bharadwaj discloses the uplink power control information may be determined based on one or more of an MCS to be used by each scheduled station, an uplink pathloss of each scheduled station, a maximum transmit power for each scheduled station, a minimum transmit power for each scheduled station, a number of stations scheduled for uplink transmission on a same RU, a transmission history for each scheduled station, and an RU size. (See also Fig. 3, Para. [0062])).
Bharadwaj is considered to be analogous because it is in the same field of communication systems, dealing with power control regulation in uplink transmissions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Chang in view of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Bharadwaj on orthogonal resource allocation, with a motivation for uplink power and pathloss-based resource allocation, and guarantee dynamic connectivity, (Bharadwaj, Para. [0006]).
Regarding claims 2 and 11 and 32 and 41, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 and The method of claim 40 respectively,
Chang further teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity and subsequent to transmission of the uplink communication, an update to at least one of the pathloss value or the uplink power (Para. [0011]-Chang discloses because a plurality of MSs having mobility exists within a cell. Since a channel state of each MS changes from moment to moment, a BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs. Para. [0015]-Chang discloses the RS can be classified into a fixed RS having a low mobility, a nomadic RS (e.g., laptop computer) having a nomadic feature, and a mobile RS having the same mobility as an MS);
receive, from the network entity and based at least in part on the update, second scheduling information for a second uplink communication (Para. [0011]-Chang discloses because a plurality of MSs having mobility exists within a cell. Since a channel state of each MS changes from moment to moment, a BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs),
the second scheduling information comprises a second resource mapping vector indicative of a second assigned subset of orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources and a second repetition code for the second uplink communication (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication. Tables 3-7, Fig. 4, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses scheduler 400, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP IEs to be transmitted to each RS. Further, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP messages (i.e., DL MAP/UL MAP) by combining the MAP IEs ... , each MAP IE may include at least one element selected from a group consisting of a valid duration of scheduling information. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme); and
transmit, to the network entity and via the second assigned subset of orthogonal resources, the second uplink communication in accordance with the repetition code (Para. [0058]-Chang discloses the UL burst may be transmitted by using the resource according to the UL burst information. Para. [0052]-Chang discloses a DL burst is transmitted after being mapped to a corresponding resource (or region) according to the scheduling information, and an UL burst is received by using the resource. Para. [0006]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system. Para. [0051]-Chang discloses an RS-MAP message (or RS-MAP burst) is transmitted to a plurality of RSs. According to the RS-MAP message, forward data is received from a BS (or upper-layer RS), and backward data is transmitted to the BS (or upper-layer RS)).
Regarding claims 3 and 12 and 33, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches a length of the repetition code is equal to a quantity of orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication {2 bits in size}. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme).
Regarding claims 4 and 34, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 1 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches the plurality of orthogonal resources are shared for a plurality of UEs, and the plurality of UEs includes the UE (Para. [0006-0008]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system ... the DL frame is defined as a time period in which data is transmitted from a BS to a plurality of Mobile Stations (MSs). The UL frame is defined as a time period in which data is transmitted from a plurality of MSs to a BS in a predetermined area. Para. [0051]-Chang discloses an RS-MAP message (or RS-MAP burst) is transmitted to a plurality of RSs).
Regarding claims 5 and 13 and 35 and 43, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 4 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 34 and The method of claim 40 respectively,
Chang further teaches a quantity of UEs of the plurality of UEs is greater than a quantity of orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources (Figs. 1-2, Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels {6 bits in Table 1; 7 bitsin Table 2; and sum total of S+L Subchannel Logical Number as in Figs. 1 and 2}. Para. [0006-0008]-Chang discloses a time period in which data is transmitted from a plurality of MSs to a BS in a predetermined area. Para. [0051]-Chang discloses an RS-MAP message (or RS-MAP burst) is transmitted to a plurality of RSs. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme).
Regarding claims 6 and 14 and 36, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 4 and The network entity of claim 13 and The method of claim 34 respectively,
Chang further teaches a quantity of assigned orthogonal resources for each of the plurality of UEs is equal (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol. Para. [0011]-Chang discloses BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame {each MS has at least one sub-channel allocation in every frame}, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Para. [0036]-Chang discloses the resource allocation message is intermittently transmitted to the RS, a size of control information (i.e., MAP information) contained in a limited frame).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 and 37, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches the plurality of orthogonal resources are a plurality of frequency resources associated with a same time resource (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol {same OFDM symbol - time unit}).
Regarding claims 8 and 16 and 38, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 7 and The network entity of claim 15 and The method of claim 37 respectively,
Chang further teaches the assigned subset of orthogonal resources comprise two or more adjacent frequency resources of the plurality of frequency resources (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol. Para. [0011]-Chang discloses BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame {each MS has at least one sub-channel allocation in every frame}, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Figs. 1-2, Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels {sum total of S+L Subchannel Logical Number as in Figs. 1 and 2}).
Regarding claims 9 and 17 and 39, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches to transmit the uplink communication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink communication via a plurality of transmission layers (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol {with each transmission instance corresponding to a transmission layer for each MS}. Para. [0011]-Chang discloses BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame {each MS has at least one sub-channel allocation in every frame}, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Figs. 1-2, Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels),
the resource mapping vector indicates which orthogonal resource of the assigned subset of orthogonal resources are assigned to which of the plurality of transmission layers (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol {with each transmission instance corresponding to a transmission layer for each MS} ... the control information, which is reported to the users by using the DL-MAP and UL-MAP. Para. [0022]-Chang discloses generating a resource allocation message containing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and processing the resource allocation message in a physical layer and for transmitting the resource allocation message to the RS. Fig. 4, Para. [0045]-Chang discloses the transmitter may be a BS (or an upper-layer RS) which broadcasts RS-MAP information).
Regarding claim 44, Chang, in view of Chen and Bharadwaj, teaches the UE of claim 1,
Chang further teaches the repetition code comprises a plurality of entries corresponding to the plurality of orthogonal resources (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication {2 bits in size}. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme),
the plurality of entries comprising: a subset of entries corresponding to the assigned subset of orthogonal resources that indicate respective coded values to be applied to respective repetitions of the uplink communication via the assigned subset of orthogonal resources, and one or more zero entries corresponding to one or more remaining orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources that are excluded from the assigned subset of orthogonal resources (Fig. 4, Para. [0048]-Chang discloses the encoder 404 may use a Convolutional Code (CC), a Block Turbo Code (BTC), a Convolutional Turbo Code (CTC), Zero Tailing Convolutional Code (ZT-CC), and so on. Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication {2 bits in size}. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new reference (BHARADWAJ et al. (US 20170070961 A1)) being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472