DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
This Office Action is responsive to Election/Restriction, dated 02/05/2026. Applicant elected Group I (claims 1-17) without traverse. Applicant has cancelled claims 18-30 directed to Group II.
Claim Status:
Claims 1-17 and 31-43 are pending
Claims 1-17 are Elected
Claims 18-30 are canceled
Claims 31-43 are new
Claims 1-17 and 31-43 are rejected
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 and 31-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHANG et al. (US 20080095037 A1), hereinafter referenced as Chang.
Regarding claims 1, 10, 31 and 40, Chang teaches a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0003]-Chang discloses apparatus and method for communicating resource allocation information for a Relay Station (RS) in a BWA system. Para. [0008]-Chang discloses data is transmitted from a BS to a plurality of Mobile Stations (MSs). Para. [0015]-Chang discloses The RS can be classified into a fixed RS having a low mobility, a nomadic RS (e.g., laptop computer) having a nomadic feature, and a mobile RS having the same mobility as an MS (Mobile Station). Para. [0020-0021]-Chang discloses the apparatus includes a scheduler for generating scheduling information by performing scheduling for an RS and for determining a valid duration for the scheduling information; a control information generator for generating a resource allocation message containing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and a transmitter for processing the resource allocation message in a physical layer and for transmitting the resource allocation message to the RS ... The apparatus includes a receiver for receiving a resource allocation message from a Base Station (BS) or an upper layer RS; a control information reader for reading the resource allocation message and for obtaining scheduling information and information on a valid duration for the scheduling information; a memory for storing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and a controller for controlling communication with the BS or the upper layer RS by using the scheduling information during the valid duration) to cause the UE to:
transmit, to a network entity, an indication of a pathloss value for a communication channel between the UE and the network entity and an uplink power for the UE (Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs. Para. [0014]-Chang discloses mobile communication system that operates in a high frequency region experiences constraint in a throughput and a service coverage due to a high path loss ... The RS can be classified into a fixed RS having a low mobility, a nomadic RS (e.g., laptop computer) having a nomadic feature, and a mobile RS having the same mobility as an MS);
receive, from the network entity and based at least in part on the pathloss value and the uplink power, scheduling information for an uplink communication (Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs. Para. [0014]-Chang discloses mobile communication system that operates in a high frequency region experiences constraint in a throughput and a service coverage due to a high path loss),
the scheduling information comprises a resource mapping vector indicative of an assigned subset of orthogonal resources of a plurality of orthogonal resources and a repetition code for the uplink communication (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication. Tables 3-7, Fig. 4, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses scheduler 400, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP IEs to be transmitted to each RS. Further, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP messages (i.e., DL MAP/UL MAP) by combining the MAP IEs ... , each MAP IE may include at least one element selected from a group consisting of a valid duration of scheduling information. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme); and
transmit, to the network entity and via the assigned subset of orthogonal resources, the uplink communication in accordance with the repetition code (Para. [0058]-Chang discloses the UL burst may be transmitted by using the resource according to the UL burst information. Para. [0052]-Chang discloses a DL burst is transmitted after being mapped to a corresponding resource (or region) according to the scheduling information, and an UL burst is received by using the resource. Para. [0006]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system).
Regarding claims 2 and 11 and 32 and 41, Chang teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 and The method of claim 40 respectively,
Chang further teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit, to the network entity and subsequent to transmission of the uplink communication, an update to at least one of the pathloss value or the uplink power (Para. [0011]-Chang discloses because a plurality of MSs having mobility exists within a cell. Since a channel state of each MS changes from moment to moment, a BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs. Para. [0015]-Chang discloses the RS can be classified into a fixed RS having a low mobility, a nomadic RS (e.g., laptop computer) having a nomadic feature, and a mobile RS having the same mobility as an MS);
receive, from the network entity and based at least in part on the update, second scheduling information for a second uplink communication (Para. [0011]-Chang discloses because a plurality of MSs having mobility exists within a cell. Since a channel state of each MS changes from moment to moment, a BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Fig. 4, Para. [0046]-Chang discloses scheduler 400 performs resource-scheduling for a relay zone by using channel information (i.e., Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) information) reported from RSs),
the second scheduling information comprises a second resource mapping vector indicative of a second assigned subset of orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources and a second repetition code for the second uplink communication (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication. Tables 3-7, Fig. 4, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses scheduler 400, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP IEs to be transmitted to each RS. Further, the RS-MAP generator 402 generates MAP messages (i.e., DL MAP/UL MAP) by combining the MAP IEs ... , each MAP IE may include at least one element selected from a group consisting of a valid duration of scheduling information. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme); and
transmit, to the network entity and via the second assigned subset of orthogonal resources, the second uplink communication in accordance with the repetition code (Para. [0058]-Chang discloses the UL burst may be transmitted by using the resource according to the UL burst information. Para. [0052]-Chang discloses a DL burst is transmitted after being mapped to a corresponding resource (or region) according to the scheduling information, and an UL burst is received by using the resource. Para. [0006]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system. Para. [0051]-Chang discloses an RS-MAP message (or RS-MAP burst) is transmitted to a plurality of RSs. According to the RS-MAP message, forward data is received from a BS (or upper-layer RS), and backward data is transmitted to the BS (or upper-layer RS)).
Regarding claims 3 and 12 and 33 and 42, Chang teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 and The method of claim 40 respectively,
Chang further teaches a length of the repetition code is equal to a quantity of orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources (Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels, and a repetition coding indication {2 bits in size}. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme).
Regarding claims 4 and 34, Chang teaches the UE of claim 1 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches the plurality of orthogonal resources are shared for a plurality of UEs, and the plurality of UEs includes the UE (Para. [0006-0008]-Chang discloses to facilitate flexible allocation of UpLink (UL)/DownLink (DL) resources in an OFDM based Broadband Wireless Access (BWA) system, a Base Station (BS) transmits UL/DL resource allocation information {Scheduling Information} for every frame ..., a MAP message is used in an IEEE 802.16 based system ... the DL frame is defined as a time period in which data is transmitted from a BS to a plurality of Mobile Stations (MSs). The UL frame is defined as a time period in which data is transmitted from a plurality of MSs to a BS in a predetermined area. Para. [0051]-Chang discloses an RS-MAP message (or RS-MAP burst) is transmitted to a plurality of RSs).
Regarding claims 5 and 13 and 35 and 43, Chang teaches the UE of claim 4 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 34 and The method of claim 40 respectively,
Chang further teaches a quantity of UEs of the plurality of UEs is greater than a quantity of orthogonal resources of the plurality of orthogonal resources (Figs. 1-2, Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels {6 bits in Table 1; 7 bitsin Table 2; and sum total of S+L Subchannel Logical Number as in Figs. 1 and 2}. Para. [0006-0008]-Chang discloses a time period in which data is transmitted from a plurality of MSs to a BS in a predetermined area. Para. [0051]-Chang discloses an RS-MAP message (or RS-MAP burst) is transmitted to a plurality of RSs. Para. [0034]-Chang discloses scheme used in the BWA system may be either an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) scheme or an Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiple Access (OFDMA) scheme).
Regarding claims 6 and 14 and 36, Chang teaches the UE of claim 4 and The network entity of claim 13 and The method of claim 34 respectively,
Chang further teaches a quantity of assigned orthogonal resources for each of the plurality of UEs is equal (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol. Para. [0011]-Chang discloses BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame {each MS has at least one sub-channel allocation in every frame}, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Para. [0036]-Chang discloses the resource allocation message is intermittently transmitted to the RS, a size of control information (i.e., MAP information) contained in a limited frame).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 and 37, Chang teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches the plurality of orthogonal resources are a plurality of frequency resources associated with a same time resource (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol {same OFDM symbol - time unit}).
Regarding claims 8 and 16 and 38, Chang teaches the UE of claim 7 and The network entity of claim 15 and The method of claim 37 respectively,
Chang further teaches the assigned subset of orthogonal resources comprise two or more adjacent frequency resources of the plurality of frequency resources (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol. Para. [0011]-Chang discloses BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame {each MS has at least one sub-channel allocation in every frame}, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Figs. 1-2, Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels {sum total of S+L Subchannel Logical Number as in Figs. 1 and 2}).
Regarding claims 9 and 17 and 39, Chang teaches the UE of claim 1 and The network entity of claim 10 and The method of claim 31 respectively,
Chang further teaches to transmit the uplink communication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the uplink communication via a plurality of transmission layers (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol {with each transmission instance corresponding to a transmission layer for each MS}. Para. [0011]-Chang discloses BS has to perform resource-scheduling with respect to each MS for every frame {each MS has at least one sub-channel allocation in every frame}, and the result has to be reported for every frame. Figs. 1-2, Tables 1-2, Para. [0047]-Chang discloses the scheduling information may be selected from a group consisting of an OFDMA symbol offset for a corresponding burst, a sub-channel offset, boosting information, the number of OFDMA symbols, the number of sub-channels),
the resource mapping vector indicates which orthogonal resource of the assigned subset of orthogonal resources are assigned to which of the plurality of transmission layers (Figs. 1-2, Para. [0013]-Chang discloses a basic unit of data transmission is a sub-channel in a frequency domain and a symbol in a time domain. As described above, in the OFDM based BWA system, a DL burst and an UL burst in a frame can be allocated to at least one sub-channel and one OFDM symbol {with each transmission instance corresponding to a transmission layer for each MS} ... the control information, which is reported to the users by using the DL-MAP and UL-MAP. Para. [0022]-Chang discloses generating a resource allocation message containing the scheduling information and the valid duration information; and processing the resource allocation message in a physical layer and for transmitting the resource allocation message to the RS. Fig. 4, Para. [0045]-Chang discloses the transmitter may be a BS (or an upper-layer RS) which broadcasts RS-MAP information).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Fujita et al. (US 20080014976 A1)-discloses In the scheduler, for each of the mobile terminals which are the objects of scheduling, calculation is performed of an evaluation value relating to the priority of allocation of radio resources by means of a predetermined evaluation formula including radio quality information relating to radio quality between a base station and the mobile terminal; and controlling is performed of the evaluation value of a mobile terminal whose instantaneous radio quality is evaluated to be lower than the required radio quality by said radio quality evaluating means, to a value lower than an evaluation value of a mobile terminal whose instantaneous radio quality is evaluated to be equal to or higher than the required radio quality. As a result, it becomes possible to realize effective use of radio resources following the instantaneous variation of radio quality and to assure the coverage of a cell…. …Fig. 1-5
Vujcic Dragan (US 20080267126 A1)-discloses method of coordinating resources for repetition of random access bursts performed by a mobile terminal, the method comprising: determining groups of access slots based on parameters from a network, wherein each access slot is defined by any combination of frequency, time and code, and the access slots are organized according to a frequency pattern; transmitting an access burst on an access slot from a chosen group of access slots; and re-transmitting the access burst on the next access slot from the chosen group of access slots …. …Fig. 1-5
Vujcic et al. (US 20080279257 A1)-discloses method of determining random access resources performed by a mobile terminal, the method comprising: receiving information on available random access resources from a network; deciding how to derive the random access resources to be allowed based on default values or information received from the network; measuring received signal quality of at least one of a cell to be accessed and a neighboring cell; and deriving the allowed random access resources based on the deciding and the measuring .… …Fig. 1-5
Yerramalli et al. (US 20160036581 A1)-discloses techniques for indicating a frame format for transmissions using unlicensed radio frequency spectrum bands. A UE may receive, from a base station, a frame format indicator associated with a transmission opportunity for transmissions in an unlicensed radio frequency spectrum band. The UE may determine a time-division duplexing (TDD) configuration for the transmission opportunity based at least in part on the frame format indicator …. …Fig. 1-5
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472