DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Limitation
Claims
Support/Interpretation
“a mode displaying module configured to . . .”
1
See the mode displaying module 206 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0044
“a temperature varying module configured to . . .”
1
See the temperature varying module 208 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0045
“a parameter determining module configured to . . .”
1
See the parameter determining module 210 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0046
“a resource utilization module configured to . . .”
1
See the resource utilization module 212 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0047
“a condition notifying module configured to . . .”
2
See the condition notifying module 214 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0048
“a battery consumption controlling module configured to . . .”
3
See the battery consumption controlling module 216 as illustrated in figure 2 and as described in paragraph 0049
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the metes and bounds of the term “values” in the phrase “wherein the primary enclosure comprises one or more values with one or more ports” and the subsequent references to “the values” in the claim are unclear. How does the primary enclosure have values with ports? Examiner assumes that the enclosure and ports are physical components but values are data objects. Are values utilized to control the ports and are associated with the primary enclosure? The abstract recites: “The refrigerant supply to each enclosure is controlled by activating ports associated with valves.” Are all of the references to values in claim 1 supposed to be valves? Or is there some other relationship between the primary enclosure, values, and the ports?
Claims 2-10 depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 1 and are rejected based on the dependency to claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the metes and bounds of the term “values” in the phrase “wherein varying temperature for refrigeration is based on actuating each of one or more ports associated with each of the one or more values for controlling an amount of the refrigerant supply to each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure” is unclear. How are the ports associated with the values? Examiner assumes that the ports are physical components but values are data objects. Are values utilized to control the ports? The abstract recites: “The refrigerant supply to each enclosure is controlled by activating ports associated with valves.” Are all of the references to values in claim 11 supposed to be valves? Or is there some other relationship between the values and the ports?
Claims 12-16 depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 11 and are rejected based on the dependency to claim 11.
Regarding claim 17, the metes and bounds of the term “values” in the phrase “wherein varying temperature for refrigeration is based on actuating each of one or more ports associated with each of the one or more values for controlling an amount of the refrigerant supply to each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure” is unclear. How are the ports associated with the values? Examiner assumes that the ports are physical components but values are data objects. Are values utilized to control the ports? The abstract recites: “The refrigerant supply to each enclosure is controlled by activating ports associated with valves.” Are all of the references to values in claim 17 supposed to be valves? Or is there some other relationship between the values and the ports?
Claims 18-20 depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 11 and are rejected based on the dependency to claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0131408 (Zeigler) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0381473 (Enomoto).
Claim 1:
The cited prior art describes a system for selective thermoregulation of a plurality of temperature-controlled enclosures in automobiles, the system comprising: (Zeigler: “The control for this operation is provided by an intelligent power generation management controller 30 that monitors various system parameters and the availability of power sources on the vehicle.” Paragraph 0030; “The present invention relates generally to over-the-road and off-road vehicle air conditioning systems, and more particularly to vehicle mounted heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems utilizing variable speed motor driven compressors and controls therefor.” Paragraph 0002)
a primary enclosure comprised of a first plurality of thermoregulation units positioned in an exterior region of an automobile, configured to supply a varying amount of refrigerant and store one or more objects for a selective thermoregulation, wherein the primary enclosure comprises one or more values with one or more ports; (Zeigler: see the engine compartment 126 (i.e., primary enclosure) and the compressors 106, 108 in the engine compartment 126 as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042)
a plurality of secondary enclosures, coupled to the primary enclosure through one or more tubular structures associated with the one or more values and comprised of a second plurality of thermoregulation units, configured to receive the varying amount of refrigerant from the primary enclosure and store the one or more objects for the selective thermoregulation; (Zeigler: see the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and evaporators 114, 132 connected to the compressors 106, 108 via the valves 140, 142 and lines as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042)
wherein the plurality of secondary enclosures is positioned in at least one of a front surface and a rear surface of an interior region of the automobile; (Zeigler: see the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) at the front and rear of the vehicle 102 as illustrated in figure 7)
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a processor or memory as described below. However, Enomoto teaches the processor and memory as described below.
a controlling unit comprising one or more hardware processors, and a memory coupled to the one or more hardware processors, wherein the memory comprises a plurality of modules in form of a of programmable instructions executable by the one or more hardware processors, wherein the plurality of modules comprises: (Zeigler: “The control for this operation is provided by an intelligent power generation management controller 30 that monitors various system parameters and the availability of power sources on the vehicle.” Paragraph 0030) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
a mode displaying module configured to display a plurality of thermoregulation modes being selectable by a user based on a type of the one or more objects stored in each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure; (Zeigler: see the user I/O display/controls 78 as illustrated in figure 7; see the engine compartment 126 (i.e., primary enclosure) and the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042)
a temperature varying module configured to vary temperature of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, based on each of a selected mode in the plurality of thermoregulation modes for each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, wherein varying temperature for refrigeration is based on actuating each of one or more ports associated with each of the one or more values for controlling an amount of the refrigerant supply to each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure; (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059)
a parameter determining module configured to periodically determine one or more vehicle parameters associated with the automobile, upon varying the temperature; and (Zeigler: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the intelligent power generation management controller 30 monitor various system parameters to perform its modulation control function. Both the exterior ambient temperature 66 and the vehicle's interior ambient temperature 68 are monitored by the controller 30 to determine a compressor capacity to achieve and maintain the interior set point temperature.” Paragraph 0039; “The controller 30 also monitors the compressor power consumption 70 and the total system power consumption 72 in its modulation of the compressor speed and capacity.” Paragraph 0040)
a resource utilization module configured to control the amount of the refrigerant supply, a heat generation for each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, and battery consumption, based on the periodically determined one or more vehicle parameters. (Zeigler: “This information is used by the controller 30 to modulate the compressor 14 to ensure that the available power sources are not depleted beyond a predetermined power capacity for those times that a limited power source is being utilized. The controller 30 can reduce the compressor speed and capacity if the monitored power consumption exceeds appropriate levels. These parameters are also utilized to provide system protection from over load faults.” Paragraph 0040; “By utilizing a variable speed compressor 14 driven by brushless DC motor 12, the vehicle's air conditioning system may be operated during both engine on and engine off (no idle) conditions. The provision of the variable speed compressor 14 also allows the system to operate at a lower capacity during engine off operation to conserve the amount of stored energy available for usage by the system from the vehicle's batteries 34.” Paragraph 0030; “The controller 30 will then reduce the compressor speed and capacity so as to not draw an excessive amount of power from the battery. The speed and capacity of the compressor may be increased as needs demand as determined by the controller 30. However, the controller 30 will not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system 34 that would result in an insufficient amount of power remaining available to start the vehicle, or not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system that will reduce the life of the system.” Paragraph 0037; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40 uses a treated liquid-to-air heat exchanger 48 located within the vehicle's interior to provide cooling to the passenger compartments. To provide heating of the vehicle passenger compartments a coolant heater 50 may be utilized in the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40.” Paragraph 0034)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Zeigler, namely, a vehicle air conditioning and heating system, with the known techniques of Enomoto, namely, an air conditioning system, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Zeigler to control a vehicle air conditioning and heating system with various heated/cooled enclosures with the teachings of Enomoto to control an air conditioning system and provide data about the system would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved temperature control system (i.e., the combination of the references provides for the control of an air conditioning system for an automobile with various enclosures using a controller with a processor and memory based on the teachings of the control of an air conditioning system for an automobile with various enclosures using a controller in Zeigler and the teachings of air conditioning control using a controller with a processor and memory in Enomoto).
Claim 2:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a notification described below. However, Enomoto teaches the notification as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of modules further comprises: a condition notifying module configured to output at least one of notifications and reminders on a user device associated with the user and a display associated with the automobile, regarding current conditions of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, and in an event of unexpected condition of the automobile. (Enomoto: “a notification device configured to notify an error of the air conditioner; and a control unit configured to control an air-conditioning operation. The control unit includes an acquisition unit configured to acquire the internal temperature, a setting unit configured to set an appropriate temperature range in the cold storage, a determination unit configured to determine whether the internal temperature is within the appropriate temperature range, and a notification control unit configured to control an error notification using the notification device. The notification control unit is configured to perform a temperature error notification when the internal temperature is out of the appropriate temperature range after a pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed, and does not perform the temperature error notification before the pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed.” Paragraph 0026; “The occupant notification device 45 has, for example, a display device such as a display screen that visually notifies the occupant.” Paragraph 0062) (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 3:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1, wherein the plurality of modules further comprises: a battery consumption controlling module configured to control a battery consumption when the automobile is not in operation. (Zeigler: “This information is used by the controller 30 to modulate the compressor 14 to ensure that the available power sources are not depleted beyond a predetermined power capacity for those times that a limited power source is being utilized. The controller 30 can reduce the compressor speed and capacity if the monitored power consumption exceeds appropriate levels. These parameters are also utilized to provide system protection from over load faults.” Paragraph 0040; “By utilizing a variable speed compressor 14 driven by brushless DC motor 12, the vehicle's air conditioning system may be operated during both engine on and engine off (no idle) conditions. The provision of the variable speed compressor 14 also allows the system to operate at a lower capacity during engine off operation to conserve the amount of stored energy available for usage by the system from the vehicle's batteries 34.” Paragraph 0030; “The controller 30 will then reduce the compressor speed and capacity so as to not draw an excessive amount of power from the battery. The speed and capacity of the compressor may be increased as needs demand as determined by the controller 30. However, the controller 30 will not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system 34 that would result in an insufficient amount of power remaining available to start the vehicle, or not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system that will reduce the life of the system.” Paragraph 0037; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40 uses a treated liquid-to-air heat exchanger 48 located within the vehicle's interior to provide cooling to the passenger compartments. To provide heating of the vehicle passenger compartments a coolant heater 50 may be utilized in the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40.” Paragraph 0034)
Claim 4:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a notification in an event of unexpected condition as described below. However, Enomoto teaches the notification in an event of unexpected condition as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 2,
wherein the unexpected condition of the automobile comprises at least one of
a battery deficiency,
a perception sensor breakdown,
a cooling function failure, (Enomoto: “a notification device configured to notify an error of the air conditioner; and a control unit configured to control an air-conditioning operation. The control unit includes an acquisition unit configured to acquire the internal temperature, a setting unit configured to set an appropriate temperature range in the cold storage, a determination unit configured to determine whether the internal temperature is within the appropriate temperature range, and a notification control unit configured to control an error notification using the notification device. The notification control unit is configured to perform a temperature error notification when the internal temperature is out of the appropriate temperature range after a pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed, and does not perform the temperature error notification before the pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed.” Paragraph 0026; “The occupant notification device 45 has, for example, a display device such as a display screen that visually notifies the occupant.” Paragraph 0062) (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059)
a heating function failure, and
an operation failure of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure due to extreme weather.
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 5:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1,
wherein the one or more vehicle parameters comprises at least one of
a battery capacity of the automobile,
operation time,
internal temperature of the automobile, and (Zeigler: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the intelligent power generation management controller 30 monitor various system parameters to perform its modulation control function. Both the exterior ambient temperature 66 and the vehicle's interior ambient temperature 68 are monitored by the controller 30 to determine a compressor capacity to achieve and maintain the interior set point temperature.” Paragraph 0039; “The controller 30 also monitors the compressor power consumption 70 and the total system power consumption 72 in its modulation of the compressor speed and capacity.” Paragraph 0040)
external temperatures of the automobile. (Zeigler: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the intelligent power generation management controller 30 monitor various system parameters to perform its modulation control function. Both the exterior ambient temperature 66 and the vehicle's interior ambient temperature 68 are monitored by the controller 30 to determine a compressor capacity to achieve and maintain the interior set point temperature.” Paragraph 0039; “The controller 30 also monitors the compressor power consumption 70 and the total system power consumption 72 in its modulation of the compressor speed and capacity.” Paragraph 0040)
Claim 6:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of thermoregulation modes comprises at least one of
a beverage mode,
a vegetable mode,
an anti-freezing mode,
an anti-burned by high-temperature mode,
an anti-rotten by high-temperature mode, and
a custom mode. (Zeigler: see the user I/O display/controls 78 as illustrated in figure 7; see the engine compartment 126 (i.e., primary enclosure) and the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042)
Claim 7:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1,
wherein the first plurality of thermoregulation units comprises at least one of
a control panel,
an inner container,
an evaporator,
an electrothermal film,
an insulation layer,
an outer container,
a condenser, (Zeigler: see the condenser 110 as illustrated in figure 7)
a cooling fan, (Zeigler: see the air mover 144 as illustrated in figure 7)
a filter,
a three-way/four-way valve,
a heating resistor,
a shockproof elements, and
a compressor, (Zeigler: see the compressors 106, 108 as illustrated in figure 7)
wherein the compressor, the condenser, and the cooling fan are disposed in the primary enclosure and positioned in an exterior region of an automobile to discharge the noise and heat outside a driving room of the automobile. (Zeigler: see the condenser 110, air mover 144, and the compressors 106, 108 in the engine compartment 126 as illustrated in figure 7)
Claim 8:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1,
wherein the second plurality of thermoregulation units comprises at least one of
an inner container,
an evaporator, (Zeigler: see the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and evaporators 114, 132 connected to the compressors 106, 108 via the valves 140, 142 and lines as illustrated in figure 7)
an electrothermal film,
an insulation layer,
an outer container,
a heating resistor,
a shockproof element, and
a cover.
Claim 9:
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure is wounded with the one or more tubular structures that function as evaporators to cool down air and the objects, when operating in a cold mode of the plurality of thermoregulation modes. (Zeigler: see the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and evaporators 114, 132 connected to the compressors 106, 108 via the valves 140, 142 and lines as illustrated in figure 7; “As depicted in FIG. 11, the secondary air conditioning loop 164 and a portion of the multi-circuited evaporator 162 are disposed in a hermitically sealed housing 178. The other portion of the evaporator 162 projects out of the housing 178, is in thermal communication with the interior 122, and is able to be coupled to the existing refrigerant lines found in the vehicle. Therefore, the modular secondary air conditioning loop 164 is easily and conveniently attached to or disposed within the vehicle 102 (e.g., in a side compartment of the vehicle 102, in the battery compartment, and the like).” Paragraph 0070)
Claim 11:
The cited prior art describes a method for selective thermoregulation of a plurality of temperature-controlled enclosures in automobiles, the method comprising: (Zeigler: “The control for this operation is provided by an intelligent power generation management controller 30 that monitors various system parameters and the availability of power sources on the vehicle.” Paragraph 0030; “The present invention relates generally to over-the-road and off-road vehicle air conditioning systems, and more particularly to vehicle mounted heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) systems utilizing variable speed motor driven compressors and controls therefor.” Paragraph 0002)
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a processor as described below. However, Enomoto teaches the processor as described below.
displaying, by one or more hardware processors, a plurality of thermoregulation modes being selectable by a user based on a type of one or more objects stored in a primary enclosure and each of plurality of secondary enclosures; (Zeigler: see the user I/O display/controls 78 as illustrated in figure 7; see the engine compartment 126 (i.e., primary enclosure) and the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
varying, by the one or more hardware processors, temperature of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, based on each of a selected mode in the plurality of thermoregulation modes for each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, wherein varying temperature for refrigeration is based on actuating each of one or more ports associated with each of the one or more values for controlling an amount of the refrigerant supply to each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure; (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
periodically determining, by the one or more hardware processors, one or more vehicle parameters associated with the automobile, upon varying the temperature; and (Zeigler: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the intelligent power generation management controller 30 monitor various system parameters to perform its modulation control function. Both the exterior ambient temperature 66 and the vehicle's interior ambient temperature 68 are monitored by the controller 30 to determine a compressor capacity to achieve and maintain the interior set point temperature.” Paragraph 0039; “The controller 30 also monitors the compressor power consumption 70 and the total system power consumption 72 in its modulation of the compressor speed and capacity.” Paragraph 0040) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
controlling, by the one or more hardware processors, the amount of the refrigerant supply, a heat generation for each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, and battery consumption, based on the periodically determined one or more vehicle parameters. (Zeigler: “This information is used by the controller 30 to modulate the compressor 14 to ensure that the available power sources are not depleted beyond a predetermined power capacity for those times that a limited power source is being utilized. The controller 30 can reduce the compressor speed and capacity if the monitored power consumption exceeds appropriate levels. These parameters are also utilized to provide system protection from over load faults.” Paragraph 0040; “By utilizing a variable speed compressor 14 driven by brushless DC motor 12, the vehicle's air conditioning system may be operated during both engine on and engine off (no idle) conditions. The provision of the variable speed compressor 14 also allows the system to operate at a lower capacity during engine off operation to conserve the amount of stored energy available for usage by the system from the vehicle's batteries 34.” Paragraph 0030; “The controller 30 will then reduce the compressor speed and capacity so as to not draw an excessive amount of power from the battery. The speed and capacity of the compressor may be increased as needs demand as determined by the controller 30. However, the controller 30 will not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system 34 that would result in an insufficient amount of power remaining available to start the vehicle, or not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system that will reduce the life of the system.” Paragraph 0037; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40 uses a treated liquid-to-air heat exchanger 48 located within the vehicle's interior to provide cooling to the passenger compartments. To provide heating of the vehicle passenger compartments a coolant heater 50 may be utilized in the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40.” Paragraph 0034) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 12:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a notification s described below. However, Enomoto teaches the notification as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 11 further comprising: outputting, by the one or more hardware processors, at least one of notifications and reminders on a user device associated with the user and a display associated with the automobile, regarding current conditions of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, and in an event of unexpected condition of the automobile. (Enomoto: “a notification device configured to notify an error of the air conditioner; and a control unit configured to control an air-conditioning operation. The control unit includes an acquisition unit configured to acquire the internal temperature, a setting unit configured to set an appropriate temperature range in the cold storage, a determination unit configured to determine whether the internal temperature is within the appropriate temperature range, and a notification control unit configured to control an error notification using the notification device. The notification control unit is configured to perform a temperature error notification when the internal temperature is out of the appropriate temperature range after a pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed, and does not perform the temperature error notification before the pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed.” Paragraph 0026; “The occupant notification device 45 has, for example, a display device such as a display screen that visually notifies the occupant.” Paragraph 0062) (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 13:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a processor described below. However, Enomoto teaches the processor as described below.
The cited prior art describes the method of claim 11 further comprising: controlling, by the one or more hardware processors, a battery consumption, when the automobile is not in operation. (Zeigler: “This information is used by the controller 30 to modulate the compressor 14 to ensure that the available power sources are not depleted beyond a predetermined power capacity for those times that a limited power source is being utilized. The controller 30 can reduce the compressor speed and capacity if the monitored power consumption exceeds appropriate levels. These parameters are also utilized to provide system protection from over load faults.” Paragraph 0040; “By utilizing a variable speed compressor 14 driven by brushless DC motor 12, the vehicle's air conditioning system may be operated during both engine on and engine off (no idle) conditions. The provision of the variable speed compressor 14 also allows the system to operate at a lower capacity during engine off operation to conserve the amount of stored energy available for usage by the system from the vehicle's batteries 34.” Paragraph 0030; “The controller 30 will then reduce the compressor speed and capacity so as to not draw an excessive amount of power from the battery. The speed and capacity of the compressor may be increased as needs demand as determined by the controller 30. However, the controller 30 will not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system 34 that would result in an insufficient amount of power remaining available to start the vehicle, or not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system that will reduce the life of the system.” Paragraph 0037; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40 uses a treated liquid-to-air heat exchanger 48 located within the vehicle's interior to provide cooling to the passenger compartments. To provide heating of the vehicle passenger compartments a coolant heater 50 may be utilized in the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40.” Paragraph 0034) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 is substantially similar to claim 4 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale described therein.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the unexpected condition of the automobile comprises at least one of a battery deficiency, a perception sensor breakdown, a cooling function failure, a heating function failure, and an operation failure of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure due to extreme weather.
Claim 15:
Claim 15 is substantially similar to claim 5 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale described therein.
15. The method of claim 11, wherein the one or more vehicle parameters comprises at least one of a battery capacity of the automobile, operation time, internal temperature of the automobile, and external temperatures of the automobile.
Claim 16:
Claim 16 is substantially similar to claim 6 and is rejected based on the same reasons and rationale described therein.
16. The method of claim 11, wherein the plurality of thermoregulation modes comprises at least one of a beverage mode, a vegetable mode, an anti-freezing mode, an anti-burned by high-temperature mode, an anti-rotten by high-temperature mode, and a custom mode.
Claim 17:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a processor or memory as described below. However, Enomoto teaches the processor and memory as described below.
The cited prior art describes a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having programmable instructions stored therein, that when executed by one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to: (Zeigler: “The control for this operation is provided by an intelligent power generation management controller 30 that monitors various system parameters and the availability of power sources on the vehicle.” Paragraph 0030) (Enomoto: “The control unit and method thereof according to the present disclosure may be implemented by one or more special-purposed computers. Such a special-purposed computer may be provided (i) by configuring (a) a processor and a memory programmed to execute one or more functions embodied by a computer program” paragraph 0207)
display a plurality of thermoregulation modes being selectable by a user based on a type of the one or more objects stored in primary enclosure and each of plurality of secondary enclosures; (Zeigler: see the user I/O display/controls 78 as illustrated in figure 7; see the engine compartment 126 (i.e., primary enclosure) and the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042)
vary temperature of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, based on each of a selected mode in the plurality of thermoregulation modes for each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, wherein varying temperature for refrigeration is based on actuating each of one or more ports associated with each of the one or more values for controlling an amount of the refrigerant supply to each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure; (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059)
periodically determine one or more vehicle parameters associated with the automobile, upon varying the temperature; and (Zeigler: “As illustrated in FIG. 5, the intelligent power generation management controller 30 monitor various system parameters to perform its modulation control function. Both the exterior ambient temperature 66 and the vehicle's interior ambient temperature 68 are monitored by the controller 30 to determine a compressor capacity to achieve and maintain the interior set point temperature.” Paragraph 0039; “The controller 30 also monitors the compressor power consumption 70 and the total system power consumption 72 in its modulation of the compressor speed and capacity.” Paragraph 0040)
control the amount of the refrigerant supply, a heat generation for each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, and battery consumption, based on the periodically determined one or more vehicle parameters. (Zeigler: “This information is used by the controller 30 to modulate the compressor 14 to ensure that the available power sources are not depleted beyond a predetermined power capacity for those times that a limited power source is being utilized. The controller 30 can reduce the compressor speed and capacity if the monitored power consumption exceeds appropriate levels. These parameters are also utilized to provide system protection from over load faults.” Paragraph 0040; “By utilizing a variable speed compressor 14 driven by brushless DC motor 12, the vehicle's air conditioning system may be operated during both engine on and engine off (no idle) conditions. The provision of the variable speed compressor 14 also allows the system to operate at a lower capacity during engine off operation to conserve the amount of stored energy available for usage by the system from the vehicle's batteries 34.” Paragraph 0030; “The controller 30 will then reduce the compressor speed and capacity so as to not draw an excessive amount of power from the battery. The speed and capacity of the compressor may be increased as needs demand as determined by the controller 30. However, the controller 30 will not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system 34 that would result in an insufficient amount of power remaining available to start the vehicle, or not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system that will reduce the life of the system.” Paragraph 0037; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40 uses a treated liquid-to-air heat exchanger 48 located within the vehicle's interior to provide cooling to the passenger compartments. To provide heating of the vehicle passenger compartments a coolant heater 50 may be utilized in the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40.” Paragraph 0034)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 18:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe a notification s described below. However, Enomoto teaches the notification as described below.
The cited prior art describes the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: output at least one of notifications and reminders on a user device associated with the user and a display associated with the automobile, regarding current conditions of each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure, and in an event of unexpected condition of the automobile. (Enomoto: “a notification device configured to notify an error of the air conditioner; and a control unit configured to control an air-conditioning operation. The control unit includes an acquisition unit configured to acquire the internal temperature, a setting unit configured to set an appropriate temperature range in the cold storage, a determination unit configured to determine whether the internal temperature is within the appropriate temperature range, and a notification control unit configured to control an error notification using the notification device. The notification control unit is configured to perform a temperature error notification when the internal temperature is out of the appropriate temperature range after a pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed, and does not perform the temperature error notification before the pre-cooling by the air conditioner is completed.” Paragraph 0026; “The occupant notification device 45 has, for example, a display device such as a display screen that visually notifies the occupant.” Paragraph 0062) (Zeigler: see the control of temperature among the compartments 128, 130 126 as described in paragraphs 0054, 0055, 0059; “If desired, the sleeper compartment 130 of the vehicle is cooled while the cab compartment 128 is not, and vice versa. To provide selective cooling in this manner, a metering device (e.g., a coolant flow control valve), a thermostatic control, or other like device is employed to route refrigerant. Therefore, refrigerant is equally or disproportionately delivered to one or both of the evaporator 114 and sleeper evaporator 132.” Paragraph 0054; “The valves 140, 142 selectively permit or restrict a flow of refrigerant to each of the compressors 106, 108.” Paragraph 0059)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 19:
The cited prior art describes the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: control a battery consumption when the automobile is not in operation. (Zeigler: “This information is used by the controller 30 to modulate the compressor 14 to ensure that the available power sources are not depleted beyond a predetermined power capacity for those times that a limited power source is being utilized. The controller 30 can reduce the compressor speed and capacity if the monitored power consumption exceeds appropriate levels. These parameters are also utilized to provide system protection from over load faults.” Paragraph 0040; “By utilizing a variable speed compressor 14 driven by brushless DC motor 12, the vehicle's air conditioning system may be operated during both engine on and engine off (no idle) conditions. The provision of the variable speed compressor 14 also allows the system to operate at a lower capacity during engine off operation to conserve the amount of stored energy available for usage by the system from the vehicle's batteries 34.” Paragraph 0030; “The controller 30 will then reduce the compressor speed and capacity so as to not draw an excessive amount of power from the battery. The speed and capacity of the compressor may be increased as needs demand as determined by the controller 30. However, the controller 30 will not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system 34 that would result in an insufficient amount of power remaining available to start the vehicle, or not allow an amount of power to be discharged from the battery storage system that will reduce the life of the system.” Paragraph 0037; “As illustrated in FIG. 2, the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40 uses a treated liquid-to-air heat exchanger 48 located within the vehicle's interior to provide cooling to the passenger compartments. To provide heating of the vehicle passenger compartments a coolant heater 50 may be utilized in the secondary low pressure coolant loop 40.” Paragraph 0034)
Claim 20:
Zeigler does not explicitly describe storing described below. However, Enomoto teaches the storing as described below.
The cited prior art describes the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 17, wherein the one or more hardware processors are further configured to: store at least one of a selection, a modification, an addition, and a routine of the plurality of thermoregulation modes. (Enomoto: “In step S102, a pre-cooling start time is stored. The pre-cooling start time is a time when the air-conditioning operation is started in order to keep the refrigerator inside temperature within the appropriate temperature range. The pre-cooling includes an air-conditioning operation that lowers the refrigerator inside temperature from the outside air temperature to a temperature below the upper limit in order to start the low temperature transportation.” Paragraph 0073) (Zeigler: see the user I/O display/controls 78 as illustrated in figure 7; see the engine compartment 126 (i.e., primary enclosure) and the cab compartment 128 (i.e., secondary enclosures) and the sleeper compartment 130 (i.e., secondary enclosures) as illustrated in figure 7; “In one embodiment, the interior 122 of the vehicle 102 is divided into a cab compartment 128 and a sleeper compartment 130.” Paragraph 0053; “Control parameters from the user will typically include the desired operating mode of the HVAC system including off, heat, and cool modes of operation. Likewise a temperature setting may also be input through this I/O device 78.” Paragraph 0042)
Zeigler and Enomoto are combinable for the same rationale as set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0131408 (Zeigler) in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0381473 (Enomoto) and further in view of
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0251008 (Androulakis).
Claim 10:
Zeigler and Enomoto do not explicitly describe a plurality of heaters as described below. However, Androulakis teaches the plurality of heaters as described below.
The cited prior art describes the system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of secondary enclosures and the primary enclosure comprises a plurality of electrothermal films to heat up the air and the objects, through electricity, when operating in a heat mode of the plurality of thermoregulation modes. (Androulakis: see the heaters as described in paragraphs 0068, 0085) (Enomoto: see the electric heater as described in paragraph 0054) (Zeigler: “In an alternate embodiment illustrated in FIG. 3, an air heater 52 may be provided in the air outlet duct 54 of the vehicle HVAC system. This may be a fuel fired heater (FFH) or a resistance-type heater. In this configuration, the intelligent power generation management controller 30 need not operate either the high pressure coolant loop or the low pressure coolant loop, but instead only operate a circulation fan 56 and the air heater 52 to provide the necessary heating for the vehicle passenger compartments.” Paragraph 0035)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Zeigler, namely, a vehicle air conditioning and heating system, with the known techniques of Enomoto, namely, an air conditioning system, and the known techniques of Androulakis, namely, a thermal conditioning system for vehicle regions, would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. Accordingly, applying the teachings of Zeigler to control a vehicle air conditioning and heating system with various heated/cooled enclosures with the teachings of Enomoto to control an air conditioning system and provide data about the system and the teachings of Androulakis to control an air conditioning system with various components would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved temperature control system (i.e., the combination of the references provides for the control of an air conditioning system for an automobile with various enclosures and various heaters using a controller with a processor and memory based on the teachings of the control of an air conditioning system for an automobile with various enclosures using a controller in Zeigler and the teachings of air conditioning control using a controller with a processor and memory in Enomoto and the teachings of thermal conditioning of vehicle regions using a plurality of heaters in Androulakis).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0107506 describes a multi-mode thermal management system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0156032 describes a distributed refrigeration system.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0137243 describes an integrated control system for combined galley refrigeration unit and cabin air conditioning system.
/Christopher E. Everett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2117