Claim Status
The status of claims 1-10 is:
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are:
“image processing apparatus” in claims 1-6
“feature extractor” in claims 1, 3, 6, and 8-9
“identifier” in claims 1, 4, and 8-9.
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, and 10are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nogami et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No 2020/0118263, hereinafter “Nogami”).
Regarding claim 1, Nogami discloses an image processing apparatus that estimates each region type of plural types of regions included in an image (Nogami Abstract: “A defect detecting unit detects a defect of an object in an input image”, defect region and non-defect region), comprising:
a feature extractor configured to output a feature vector corresponding to each of pixels of an image that is input, as intermediate output data (Nogami [0120]: “In a third embodiment, the defect feature amount is extracted from a feature map generated using a CNN (Convolutional Neural Network)”); and
an identifier configured to output output data in which region types of the respective pixels of the image are estimated, on the basis of the intermediate output data output from the feature extractor (Nogami [0127]: “Although the defect determination unit 112 is described here as generating the score map using a sigmoid function, which is often used at the output layer of a neural network, the score map can be generated through a different method instead. For example, the defect determination unit 112 may calculate the score for each pixel by inputting the feature vector v.sub.i,j of each pixel into an SVM”; Nogami [0128]: “Using the score map calculated by the defect determination unit 112, the defect separating unit 113 and the region setting unit 114 can carry out the process of specifying one defect at a time and the process of setting the ROI for each defect, in the same manner as in the first embodiment”), wherein
the region types include at least two types of a first region and a second region (Nogami [0127]: “Although the defect determination unit 112 is described here as generating the score map using a sigmoid function, which is often used at the output layer of a neural network, the score map can be generated through a different method instead. For example, the defect determination unit 112 may calculate the score for each pixel by inputting the feature vector v.sub.i,j of each pixel into an SVM”, defect region and non-defect region),
a region where the closest known feature vector is a first feature vector corresponding to a known pixel belonging to the first region is a domain of the first feature vector in a feature space (Nogami [0127]: “Although the defect determination unit 112 is described here as generating the score map using a sigmoid function, which is often used at the output layer of a neural network, the score map can be generated through a different method instead. For example, the defect determination unit 112 may calculate the score for each pixel by inputting the feature vector v.sub.i,j of each pixel into an SVM”),
a region where the closest known feature vector is a second feature vector corresponding to a known pixel belonging to the second region is a domain of the second feature vector in the feature space (Nogami [0127]: “Although the defect determination unit 112 is described here as generating the score map using a sigmoid function, which is often used at the output layer of a neural network, the score map can be generated through a different method instead. For example, the defect determination unit 112 may calculate the score for each pixel by inputting the feature vector v.sub.i,j of each pixel into an SVM”),
when the feature vector output from the feature extractor belongs to the domain of the first feature vector, the identifier estimates that a pixel corresponding to the feature vector belongs to the first region (Nogami [0128]: “Using the score map calculated by the defect determination unit 112, the defect separating unit 113 and the region setting unit 114 can carry out the process of specifying one defect at a time and the process of setting the ROI for each defect, in the same manner as in the first embodiment”),
and when the feature vector output from the feature extractor belongs to the domain of the second feature vector, the identifier estimates that a pixel corresponding to the feature vector belongs to the second region (Nogami [0128]: “Using the score map calculated by the defect determination unit 112, the defect separating unit 113 and the region setting unit 114 can carry out the process of specifying one defect at a time and the process of setting the ROI for each defect, in the same manner as in the first embodiment”).
Regarding claim 10, it is rejected under the same analysis as claim 10 above.
Regarding claim 2, Nogami discloses the apparatus, wherein the feature space is three-dimensional (Nogami Fig. 11: shows the feature space is three-dimensional).
Regarding claim 3, Nogami discloses the apparatus, wherein the feature extractor is a machine learning model (Nogami [0120]: “In a third embodiment, the defect feature amount is extracted from a feature map generated using a CNN (Convolutional Neural Network)”).
Regarding claim 5, Nogami discloses the apparatus, wherein the image is a captured image of an object, and the first region is a defect region indicating a defect of the object (Nogami [0128]: “Using the score map calculated by the defect determination unit 112, the defect separating unit 113 and the region setting unit 114 can carry out the process of specifying one defect at a time and the process of setting the ROI for each defect, in the same manner as in the first embodiment”).
Regarding claim 6, Nogami discloses a learning method of the extractor in the apparatus, comprising the steps of:
preparing a learning image including the first region and the second region (Nogami [0123]: “On the other hand, the process for detecting the defect can be carried out in the same manner as in the first embodiment, and a CNN can be used to improve the efficiency of the processing”; Nogami [0090]: “Such training data can be prepared as follows. First, a human views the crack image indicated in FIG. 7A, and enters information of the position and width of the crack. FIG. 7B is a diagram illustrating a method for entering this information. As illustrated in FIG. 7B, the human enters the position of the crack indicated in FIG. 7A. For example, the creator of the data can specify the pixels at which a single crack is located, and can specify the pixels at which a different crack is located”);
defining the first region that is known and the second region that is known in the learning image (Nogami [0123]: “On the other hand, the process for detecting the defect can be carried out in the same manner as in the first embodiment, and a CNN can be used to improve the efficiency of the processing”; Nogami [0090]: “Such training data can be prepared as follows. First, a human views the crack image indicated in FIG. 7A, and enters information of the position and width of the crack. FIG. 7B is a diagram illustrating a method for entering this information. As illustrated in FIG. 7B, the human enters the position of the crack indicated in FIG. 7A. For example, the creator of the data can specify the pixels at which a single crack is located, and can specify the pixels at which a different crack is located”);
inputting the first region that is known and the second region that is known, to the feature extractor, and outputting the feature vector from the feature extractor (Nogami [0091]: “Then, on the basis of this data, a set including an image feature amount and a class label is prepared for a single crack, and the classifier F is trained using this set so as to determine a crack width. The image feature amount for the single crack can be extracted in the same manner as in steps S205 and S206”); and
adjusting a parameter of the feature extractor such that the feature vector corresponding to the first region and the feature vector corresponding to the second region are separated from each other in the feature space (Nogami [0107]: “Additionally, in this case, the accuracy at which the attributes are determined can be improved by changing the parameters x (FIG. 6 or FIG. 7B), which are used to determine the range of the ROI, in accordance with the resolution of the input image. In the above-described example, the parameters x express the number of pixels with the defect on their center, and thus it is necessary to change the parameters x in accordance with the resolution in order to use the same part of the detection target as the ROI when the resolution of the input image changes”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami in view of Mendes Rodrigues et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No 2019/0188855, hereinafter “Mendes”).
Regarding claim 4, Nogami does not explicitly disclose the apparatus, wherein the identifier is a nearest neighbor identifier. (However Nogami does disclose that [0127]: “Although the defect determination unit 112 is described here as generating the score map using a sigmoid function, which is often used at the output layer of a neural network, the score map can be generated through a different method instead”).
However, Mendes teaches the apparatus, wherein the identifier is a nearest neighbor identifier (Mendes [0068]: “For example, a simple classifier such as kNN (k-Nearest Neighbour) could be applied to determine whether a patch from a new scan falls into the defect class or the non-defect class”).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the nearest neighbor identifier as taught by Mendes with the apparatus of Nogami because it would be a simple substitution (as suggested by Nogami [0127]). This motivation for the combination of Nogami and Mendes is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (B) Simple substitution of one known element for another known element to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nogami in view of Theverapperuma et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No 2022/0024485, hereinafter “Theverapperuma”).
Regarding claim 7, Nogami does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein
the step d) includes adjusting the parameter such that a loss function decreases, and
the loss function is a function in which attractive force acts between feature vectors corresponding to the same region type among the region types and repulsive force acts between feature vectors corresponding to different region types among the region types.
However, Theverapperuma teaches the method, wherein
the step d) includes adjusting the parameter such that a loss function decreases (Theverapperuma [0097]: “The depth images generated as a result of processing the training images can then be compared to corresponding ground truth depth information (e.g., the correct depth value for each pixel in a training image) to adjust the CNN by changing weights and/or bias values for one or more layers of the CNN such that a loss function is minimized”);
and the loss function is a function in which attractive force acts between feature vectors corresponding to the same region type among the region types and the loss function is a function in which attractive force acts between feature vectors corresponding to the same region type among the region types (Theverapperuma [0097]: “The depth images generated as a result of processing the training images can then be compared to corresponding ground truth depth information (e.g., the correct depth value for each pixel in a training image) to adjust the CNN by changing weights and/or bias values for one or more layers of the CNN such that a loss function is minimized”, the loss function is implied to act this way if it is to improve the CNN).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the loss function of Theverapperuma with the method of Nogami because implementing a loss function would improve the accuracy of the method by further refining the parameters of the extractor which would make its extractions more accurate. This motivation for the combination of Nogami and Theverapperuma is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AIDAN KEUP/Examiner, Art Unit 2666 /Molly Wilburn/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666