DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 4/10/2026, claims 1, 8 and 10- 11 are amended and claims 5- 7, 9, 14- 16 are cancelled. Claims 1- 4, 8, 10- 13 are pending for examinations. Further previously given rejection based on 35 USC 112 second paragraph has been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 4/10/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claim; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, therefore considered a new reference Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0098982 A1). Here Sun teaches in [0037] regarding ... a target RAN node (i.e. second access network device) receives a second handover message from a second network node (i.e. first access network device), where the second handover message includes an identifier of at least one source network slice, and the second handover message further includes at least one of the following: an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice re-mapping, and an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice fallback. The target RAN node performs admission control based on the second handover message, where the admission control is used to determine whether to perform network slice re-mapping on the at least one QoS flow, and determine an identifier of a network slice to which the at least one QoS flow is re-mapped; or the admission control is used to determine whether to fall back the at least one QoS flow to a default network slice….
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 4, 8, 10- 11, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0196248 A1) in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0098982 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches a measurement information collection method (see abstract and Fig. 1G and 1H), comprising:
determining, by a first access network device, second identity information according to first identity information in received Quality Of Experience (QoE) measurement collection configuration information (see Fig. 1G,H wherein NG-RAN as a first access network device which receives QoE measurement configurations from OAM; now in context with [0133- 0135] refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) (i.e. first identity information here) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 (i.e. second identity information) and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE); and
sending, by the first access network device, measurement configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the measurement configuration information comprises the second identity information, and the measurement configuration information is used to indicate the terminal device to obtain a QoE measurement report and send the QoE measurement report and the second identity information (already described above see [0133] in operation 1h-25, the base station 1h-05 may transmit, to the UE AS 1h-10 (i.e. terminal device), logged QoE measurement configuration information for QoE measurement …which is received from an OAM or CN. ..; now refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station..).
wherein determining, by the first access network device, the second identity information according to the first identity information in received QoE measurement collection configuration information comprises: mapping, by the first access network device, the first identity information in the QoE measurement collection configuration information to the second identity information according to mapping information (see Fig. 1G,H wherein NG-RAN as a first access network device which receives QoE measurement configurations from OAM; now in context with [0133- 0135] refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) (i.e. first identity information here) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 (i.e. second identity information) and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE).
But fails to state about wherein the first identity information is also used to determine a network slice corresponding to the QoE measurement; and in a case of handover from the first access network device to a second access network device, sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device; wherein sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device during a procedure of initiating a handover request to the second access network device.
However Sun teaches in [0037] regarding ... a target RAN node (i.e. second access network device) receives a second handover message from a second network node (i.e. first access network device), where the second handover message includes an identifier of at least one source network slice, and the second handover message further includes at least one of the following: an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice re-mapping, and an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice fallback. The target RAN node performs admission control based on the second handover message, where the admission control is used to determine whether to perform network slice re-mapping on the at least one QoS flow, and determine an identifier of a network slice to which the at least one QoS flow is re-mapped; or the admission control is used to determine whether to fall back the at least one QoS flow to a default network slice….
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Jeong to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first identity information is also used to determine a network slice corresponding to the QoE measurement; and in a case of handover from the first access network device to a second access network device, sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device; wherein sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device during a procedure of initiating a handover request to the second access network device; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Jeong in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, Jeong teaches further comprising: in a case where the QoE measurement report and the second identity information are received, determining, by the first access network device, the first identity information according to the second identity information; and determining, by the first access network device, address information of a core network device corresponding to the QoE measurement collection configuration information according to the first identity information, and sending the QoE measurement report to the core network device based on the address information.; see [0136]... The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE. …
Regarding claim 4, Jeong in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first identity information is a QoE reference identity; Jeong already discussed above in claim 1 see [0136] a QoE reference value.
Regarding claim 8, Jeong teaches a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the terminal device is caused to (see abstract and Fig. 1G and 1H; UE as a terminal here), comprising:
in a case where the terminal device receives measurement configuration information from a first access network device, obtain a Quality Of Experience (QoE) measurement report, wherein the measurement configuration information comprises second identity information, and the second identity information is determined by the first access network device according to first identity information (see [0133] in operation 1h-25, the base station 1h-05 may transmit, to the UE AS 1h-10 (i.e. terminal device), logged QoE measurement configuration information for QoE measurement …which is received from an OAM or CN. ..; now refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) (i.e. first identity information here) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 (i.e. second identity information) and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE); and
send the QoE measurement report and the second identity information (already discussed above see [0136].. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE. …)
wherein the first access network device maps the first identity information in the QoE measurement collection configuration information to the second identity information according to mapping information (see Fig. 1G,H wherein NG-RAN as a first access network device which receives QoE measurement configurations from OAM; now in context with [0133- 0135] refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) (i.e. first identity information here) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 (i.e. second identity information) and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE).
But fails to state about wherein the first identity information is also used to determine a network slice corresponding to the QoE measurement; and in a case of handover from the first access network device to a second access network device, sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device; wherein sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device during a procedure of initiating a handover request to the second access network device.
However Sun teaches in [0037] regarding ... a target RAN node (i.e. second access network device) receives a second handover message from a second network node (i.e. first access network device), where the second handover message includes an identifier of at least one source network slice, and the second handover message further includes at least one of the following: an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice re-mapping, and an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice fallback. The target RAN node performs admission control based on the second handover message, where the admission control is used to determine whether to perform network slice re-mapping on the at least one QoS flow, and determine an identifier of a network slice to which the at least one QoS flow is re-mapped; or the admission control is used to determine whether to fall back the at least one QoS flow to a default network slice….
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Jeong to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first identity information is also used to determine a network slice corresponding to the QoE measurement; and in a case of handover from the first access network device to a second access network device, sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device; wherein sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device during a procedure of initiating a handover request to the second access network device; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches a first access network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the first access network device is caused to (see abstract and Fig. 1G and 1H), comprising:
determine second identity information according to first identity information in received Quality Of Experience (QoE) measurement collection configuration information (see Fig. 1G,H wherein NG-RAN as a first access network device which receives QoE measurement configurations from OAM; now in context with [0133- 0135] refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) (i.e. first identity information here) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 (i.e. second identity information) and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE); and
send measurement configuration information to a terminal device, wherein the measurement configuration information comprises the second identity information, and the measurement configuration information is used to indicate the terminal device to obtain a QoE measurement report and send the QoE measurement report and the second identity information (already described above see [0133] in operation 1h-25, the base station 1h-05 may transmit, to the UE AS 1h-10 (i.e. terminal device), logged QoE measurement configuration information for QoE measurement …which is received from an OAM or CN. ..; now refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station..).
wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the first access network device is caused to: map the first identity information in the QoE measurement collection configuration information to the second identity information according to mapping information (see Fig. 1G,H wherein NG-RAN as a first access network device which receives QoE measurement configurations from OAM; now in context with [0133- 0135] refer to [0136] ID (RRC level ID) used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an RRC level: This ID may be included in RRC signaling when configuring QoE measurements and reporting the measurements. For example, if the RRC level ID is set to 1 when configuring a QoE measurement, a UE AS layer or application layer may include the RRC level ID as 1 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration. Also, the RRC level ID may be mapped to a QoE reference (a value that identifies a QoE measurement configuration at OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE level) (i.e. first identity information here) in the base station. For example, the base station that has received a QoE measurement configuration with the QoE reference set to 351 may map the QoE reference to the RRC level ID of 3 (i.e. second identity information) and store the mapping therebetween. The base station may then deliver QoE measurement configuration information containing the RRC level ID of 3 to the UE. The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE).
But fails to state about wherein the first identity information is also used to determine a network slice corresponding to the QoE measurement; and in a case of handover from the first access network device to a second access network device, sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device; wherein sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device during a procedure of initiating a handover request to the second access network device.
However Sun teaches in [0037] regarding ... a target RAN node (i.e. second access network device) receives a second handover message from a second network node (i.e. first access network device), where the second handover message includes an identifier of at least one source network slice, and the second handover message further includes at least one of the following: an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice re-mapping, and an indication indicating whether at least one QoS flow of each of the at least one source network slice supports network slice fallback. The target RAN node performs admission control based on the second handover message, where the admission control is used to determine whether to perform network slice re-mapping on the at least one QoS flow, and determine an identifier of a network slice to which the at least one QoS flow is re-mapped; or the admission control is used to determine whether to fall back the at least one QoS flow to a default network slice….
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Jeong to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first identity information is also used to determine a network slice corresponding to the QoE measurement; and in a case of handover from the first access network device to a second access network device, sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device; wherein sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device comprises: sending, by the first access network device, the mapping information to the second access network device during a procedure of initiating a handover request to the second access network device; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 11, Jeong in view of Sun teaches as per claim 10, Jeon teaches wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the first access network device is caused to: in a case where the QoE measurement report and the second identity information are received, determining, by the first access network device, the first identity information according to the second identity information; and determining address information of a core network device corresponding to the QoE measurement collection configuration information according to the first identity information; wherein when the instructions are executed by the processor, the first access network device is further caused to send the QoE measurement report to the core network device based on the address information.; see [0136]... The UE may include information that the RRC level ID is 3 in a QoE measurement report generated based on the QoE measurement configuration information and transmit it to the base station, and the base station may confirm that the RRC level ID of 3 is mapped to QoE reference of 351 and transmit the QoE measurement report including the QoE reference of 351 to the OAM, CN, or TCE/MCE. …
Regarding claim 13, Jeong in view of Sun teaches as per claim 10, wherein the first identity information is a QoE reference identity; Jeong already discussed above in claim 10 see [0136] a QoE reference value.
Claim(s) 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0196248 A1) in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0098982 A1) in view of Qualcomm, “QoE configuration and reporting”, r2-210994; see IDS filed on 9/5/2024 page 2, Cite#2..
Regarding claim 3, Jeong in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, but Jeong fails to teach about wherein a data length of the second identity information is smaller than a data length of the first identity information; however Qualcomm states in page 3 regarding 6byte as a second identity and 3 byte as a first identity information. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Qualcomm with the teachings of Jeong in view of Sun to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein a data length of the second identity information is smaller than a data length of the first identity information; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Jeong in view of Sun teaches as per claim 10, but Jeong fails to teach about wherein a data length of the second identity information is smaller than a data length of the first identity information; however Qualcomm states in page 3 regarding 6byte as a second identity and 3 byte as a first identity information. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Qualcomm with the teachings of Jeong in view of Sun to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein a data length of the second identity information is smaller than a data length of the first identity information; greater way more standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479