Response to Arguments
Applicant election of claims 6-10 and 16-20 is noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-10, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Tiwar (US 20210099968).
Regarding claim 6, Tiwar teaches, a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 1, el. 100), the method comprising:
identifying whether the UE is in an automatic selection mode (Paragraph 42 and 66: automatic SNPN selection mode procedure);
in case that the UE is in the automatic selection mode, determining a coverage of a subscribed standalone non-public network (SNPN) (Paragraph 66, 125, 42: The selection of the second SNPN may be necessitated due to user selection or because the UE (100) may have lost coverage of the first SNPN to which the UE (100) is registered. The second SNPN is selected by one of: automatic SNPN selection mode procedure and manual SNPN mode selection procedure); and
based on the determined coverage of the subscribed SNPN, registering to the subscribed SNPN (Paragraph 42: The UE (100) is already registered with the first standalone non-public networks (SNPN) and may be configured with multiple subscriptions for a plurality of the standalone non-public networks (SNPN). The SNPN networks are independent networks and may not communicate with each other. The selection of the second SNPN may be necessitated due to user selection or because the UE (100) may have lost coverage of the first SNPN to which the UE (100) is registered. The second SNPN is selected by one of: automatic SNPN selection mode procedure and manual SNPN mode selection procedure. Further, the registration management engine (182) is configured to reset a registration attempt counter on selection of the second SNPN. The registration request message comprises a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) and cleartext IE(s), wherein the SUCI is determined from subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the second SNPN available at the UE).
Regarding claim 7, Tiwar teaches, switching on the UE; or starting to operate in a SNPN access operation mode (Paragraph 141: SNPN access mode: A UE operating in SNPN access mode only selects stand-alone non-public networks over Uu and Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 8, Tiwar teaches, wherein the UE follows a recovery from a lack of coverage (Paragraph 124: the predetermined condition includes a case that the terminal has lost a coverage of the first SNPN and the terminal recovers from a lack of coverage).
Regarding claim 9, Tiwar teaches, wherein the UE does not return to a registered SNPN or an equivalent SNPN after determining the coverage of the subscribed SNPN (Paragraph 52, 42).
Regarding claim 10, Tiwar teaches, wherein the subscribed SNPN is for a selected entry of a list of subscriber data (Paragraph 127: the terminal is configured with a list of subscriber data, and the list of subscriber data includes an SNPN identity).
Regarding claim 16, Tiwar teaches A user equipment (ULE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller (mobile, el. 100, Fig. 1) configured to: identify whether the UE is in an automatic selection mode, in case that the UE is in the automatic selection mode, determine a coverage of a subscribed standalone non-public network (SNPN), and based on the determined coverage of the subscribed SNPN, register to the subscribed SNPN (see claim 6 rejection).
Regarding claim 17, see claim 7 rejections.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 8 rejections.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 9 rejections.
Regarding claim 20, see claim 10 rejections.
Conclusion
/MARIA EL-ZOOBI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692