DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-9 and 12-21 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 12, 19, and 21.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed March 17, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9 and 12-21 are currently pending in the Application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections for claims 12-21 previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed December 18th, 2025.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claims 1-9 and 12-21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references fail to teach a path correction signal that produces sound and/or light-based signal including directional indicators indicating a direction of correction, and further argues that the cited systems rely on automatic control rather than providing visual or audible guidance to an operator. The Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. These arguments are not persuasive. Tucker teaches a visual display including computer-generated images and directional bars that show the operator what control inputs are required to correct the path (See paragraph [0097].). The directional bars constitute directional indicators that visually indicate the direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, and the visual display constitutes a light-based signal indicating correction needed. Tucker further teaches that the operator guides the machine based on the displayed guidance (See paragraph [0107].). Accordingly, the claimed path correction signal and operator-responsive excavation are taught by Tucker. To the extent Applicant argues that Hodel merely shows position relative to a path and does not provide directional indicators, Tucker teaches providing directional guidance to correct deviations, and it would have been obvious to incorporate such guidance into Hodel’s system in order to improve operator control and accuracy during excavation operations. Applicant’s arguments regarding Richardson and Ready-Campbell are not persuasive, as the current rejection does not rely on these references for the argued limitations. Accordingly, the combination of Hodel and Tucker teaches the argued limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodel (US 20230134855 A1) in view of Tucker (US 20140297343 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hodel teaches A device for maintaining a predefined path for an excavation trench, the device comprising: one or more GPS receivers (See at least paragraph [0015], “FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary work machine 100. The work machine 100 is embodied as a hydraulic excavator herein. Although shown as the hydraulic excavator, it may be understood that the work machine 100 may alternatively include other work machines such as motor graders, mining shovels, dozers, tractors, or compactors, without any limitations. The work machine 100 may include a manual machine, an autonomous machine, or a semi-autonomous machine. The work machine 100 may perform one or more excavation operations at a construction site. In some examples, the work machine 100 may be used for trench excavation operations or foundation excavation operations” and paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138.”); one or more control units (See at least paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100.”); one or more storage units (See at least paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100.”); one or more user interfaces (See at least paragraph [0019], “The work machine 100 includes a turn table 125. The turn table 125 is mounted on the undercarriage structure 120, upon which the upper structure 114, including an operator cabin 126, may be pivotally mounted. The turn table 125 defines a first axis “A1”. The work machine 100 also includes the operator cabin 126 supported by the frame 112. The operator cabin 126 may move relative to the undercarriage structure 120, about the first axis “A1”. Such a movement of the operator cabin 126 may be referred to as a yaw movement of the operator cabin 126. Further, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more input devices 128 (shown in FIG. 2). The input devices 128 may include a lever, a button, a joystick, and the like. Moreover, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more output devices 130 (shown in FIG. 2). In an example, the output device 130 may include a display screen. In some examples, the output device 130 may embody a touch screen device that may include means to provide outputs to a machine operator and may also include means to receive inputs, that may be physical inputs or virtual inputs, from the machine operator. In some examples, the input and output devices 128, 130 may be present at a base station (not shown) which may be located remotely with respect to the work machine 100.”); and one or more direction guidance displays (See at least paragraph [0054], “Further, the controller 146 may generate a second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 based on the updated operating parameters, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. More particularly, the drive module 154 may generate the second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that the second control signal “O2” may be generated in a manner that is similar to the determination of the first control signal “O1” as explained earlier in this section. Further, the drive module 154 may provide the second control signal “O2” to the machine controller 134 to control the ground engaging members 122 for moving the work machine 100 in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the path tracker module 156 may provide a visual feed of the travel of the work machine 100 to notify the operator regarding the alignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the output device 130 may display the visual feed of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, an image or a video including a line/curve representing the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be overlayed on the ground surface 124. Such an image or video may additionally or optionally include a graphical representation of the work machine 100 so the machine operator is made aware of the alignment or misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the control unit determines whether positioning coordinates received from the GPS receiver deviate from a predefined path for an excavation trench and transmits a path correction signal to the direction guidance display to produce a sound and/or light-based signal indicating any correction needed to maintain the predetermined path for an excavation trench, and the predefined path comprises a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with a naked eye from a location where the GPS receiver receives positioning coordinates (See at least Fig. 9, paragraph [0097], “In one embodiment, the Dig Director 111 is a visual display including a digital monitor and computer-generated images of the Site Data Record, the Dig Plan, and the Digging Tool position all rendered on the monitor in real-time. In addition, any deviation of the Digging Tool alignment from the Dig Plan is indicated, and directional bars showing the machine operator what control inputs are required to correct the path of the Digging Tool”, paragraph [0105], “In one embodiment, an excavator guidance system processes inputs from the GPS to establish its known position, compares the position to a construction design to determine the lateral alignment and vertical elevation of the desired excavation, and consults a data base for the presence of utilities or other obstructions located within the work path”, paragraph [0107], “The "Where do I want to go" question is related to the "Dig Plan" synthesized from the construction drawing Lateral and Vertical alignments. The Dig Plan may be over-laid on the Site Data Record and presented visually to the machine operator. The operator can guide the machine manually by reference to this presentation and its Dig Director, or turn guidance over to a Machine Guidance module for automated operation”, and paragraph [0108], “The "Where should I be" question is answered by comparing the current position to the desired position depicted on a construction specification. Any deviation between the two is determined by the system's Resolver module, measured and displayed on a monitor. Preferably, the excavation Machine Longitudinal Axis is aligned with (overlay) the Lateral Alignment of the construction feature design. In addition, the vertical elevation of the trench floor, centerline of a bore or other reference is displayed and differences (deviations) from the Dig Plan alignment are determined.” The excavator guidance system processes GPS inputs, compares the current position to a construction design (dig plan), and determines deviation between the current and desired positions. The dig plan defines the excavation path, including a predefined path comprising a start point and an end point, as shown in Fig. 9, and utilizes GPS-based positioning such that the path is not dependent on visual observation from the excavation site. The visual display indicates deviation and provides directional guidance to correct the path, corresponding to transmitting a path correction signal to a direction guidance display to produce a light-based signal indicating correction needed.); wherein the path correction signal comprises directional indicators displayed on the direction guidance display that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path (See at least paragraph [0097], “In one embodiment, the Dig Director 111 is a visual display including a digital monitor and computer-generated images of the Site Data Record, the Dig Plan, and the Digging Tool position all rendered on the monitor in real-time. In addition, any deviation of the Digging Tool alignment from the Dig Plan is indicated, and directional bars showing the machine operator what control inputs are required to correct the path of the Digging Tool.” The visual display provides directional indicators, such as directional bars, that indicate the direction of correction required to return to the predefined path.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize the control unit determining whether positioning coordinates received from the GPS receiver deviate from a predefined path for an excavation trench and transmits a path correction signal to the direction guidance display to produce a sound and/or light-based signal indicating any correction needed to maintain the predetermined path for an excavation trench, and the predefined path comprises a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with a naked eye from a location where the GPS receiver receives positioning coordinates, wherein the path correction signal comprises directional indicators displayed on the direction guidance display that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097], [0105], [0107], [0108].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Regarding Claim 3, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel teaches wherein the device receives the positioning coordinates of a start point and an end point of the predefined path through the user interface and stores them in the storage unit (See at least paragraph [0019], “The work machine 100 includes a turn table 125. The turn table 125 is mounted on the undercarriage structure 120, upon which the upper structure 114, including an operator cabin 126, may be pivotally mounted. The turn table 125 defines a first axis “A1”. The work machine 100 also includes the operator cabin 126 supported by the frame 112. The operator cabin 126 may move relative to the undercarriage structure 120, about the first axis “A1”. Such a movement of the operator cabin 126 may be referred to as a yaw movement of the operator cabin 126. Further, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more input devices 128 (shown in FIG. 2). The input devices 128 may include a lever, a button, a joystick, and the like. Moreover, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more output devices 130 (shown in FIG. 2). In an example, the output device 130 may include a display screen. In some examples, the output device 130 may embody a touch screen device that may include means to provide outputs to a machine operator and may also include means to receive inputs, that may be physical inputs or virtual inputs, from the machine operator. In some examples, the input and output devices 128, 130 may be present at a base station (not shown) which may be located remotely with respect to the work machine 100”, paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100”, and [0035], “In an example, the path planning module 152 may determine and display the multiple desired movement paths 140, 142, 144 on the output device 130. In such examples, the machine operator may select any one of the desired movement paths 140, 142, 144. Alternatively, the machine operator may generate the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 in real time using touch screen devices present in the operator cabin 126. For example, the ground surface 124 may be depicted on the touch screen device and the operator may draw the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 on the touch screen device. Moreover, in some examples, the machine operator may use the imaging device to generate the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, personnel may generate a design line on the ground surface 124 and the imaging device may be used to capture an image of the design line. Further, the path planning module 152 may analyze the images of the design line captured by the imaging device to generate the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel teaches wherein the control unit is implemented by one or more computing units (See at least paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100” and paragraph [0033], “The controller 146 may also include a processor 150. The processor 150 may be communicably coupled with the memory 148. The processor 150 may receive and process one or more input signals received from the input device 128, the output device 130, the first sensor 132, the second sensor 138, and the machine controller 134. The processor 150 may include a processing unit such as a digital signal processor (DSP), an application-specific system processor (ASSP), an application-specific instruction set processor (ASIP), and the like. The processor 150 may also include a microprocessor, and/or any processing logic such as a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), and the like. The processor 150 may include an arithmetic logic unit (ALU) to execute one or more arithmetic and logical functions.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel teaches wherein the computing unit recognizes information inputted through the user interface, received from the positioning system receiver and the storage unit, performs an operation of determining a variance between the predefined path and current location of the device, and outputs a path correction signal to the direction guidance display (See at least paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138”, paragraph [0036], “In another example, the path planning module 152 may retrieve the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 from the memory 148, based on application requirements. In yet another example, the path planning module 152 may itself determine the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100. In an example, the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be specified off-board, such as, via a desktop application, and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be subsequently loaded onto the memory 148. For example, the memory 148 may store a work plan for the excavation operation and based on the work plan, the path planning module 152 may determine the desired movement path 140, 142, 144”, paragraph [0050], “The processor 150 may further include the path tracker module 156. The path tracker module 156 may be communicably coupled to the first sensor 132, the second sensor 138, the input device 128, and the output device 130. The controller 146 may receive a feedback from the sensor 132, 138 to determine the alignment of the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 during the travel of the work machine 100 along the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the feedback may be received after regular intervals of time”, and paragraph [0054], “Further, the controller 146 may generate a second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 based on the updated operating parameters, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. More particularly, the drive module 154 may generate the second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that the second control signal “O2” may be generated in a manner that is similar to the determination of the first control signal “O1” as explained earlier in this section. Further, the drive module 154 may provide the second control signal “O2” to the machine controller 134 to control the ground engaging members 122 for moving the work machine 100 in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the path tracker module 156 may provide a visual feed of the travel of the work machine 100 to notify the operator regarding the alignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the output device 130 may display the visual feed of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, an image or a video including a line/curve representing the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be overlayed on the ground surface 124. Such an image or video may additionally or optionally include a graphical representation of the work machine 100 so the machine operator is made aware of the alignment or misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 6, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel teaches wherein the positioning system receiver is a high-precision positioning board which acquires signals from one or more satellite positioning systems, along with accuracy enhancement data, to provide a high level of positional accuracy (See at least paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138.”).
Regarding Claim 13, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the excavation path correction instructions comprise a visible indicator on the excavation guidance device (See at least paragraph [0054], “Further, the controller 146 may generate a second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 based on the updated operating parameters, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. More particularly, the drive module 154 may generate the second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that the second control signal “O2” may be generated in a manner that is similar to the determination of the first control signal “O1” as explained earlier in this section. Further, the drive module 154 may provide the second control signal “O2” to the machine controller 134 to control the ground engaging members 122 for moving the work machine 100 in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the path tracker module 156 may provide a visual feed of the travel of the work machine 100 to notify the operator regarding the alignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the output device 130 may display the visual feed of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, an image or a video including a line/curve representing the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be overlayed on the ground surface 124. Such an image or video may additionally or optionally include a graphical representation of the work machine 100 so the machine operator is made aware of the alignment or misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 14, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the excavation guidance device comprises a positioning system receiver, a control unit, a storage unit, a user interface, and a direction guidance display (See at least paragraph [0019], “The work machine 100 includes a turn table 125. The turn table 125 is mounted on the undercarriage structure 120, upon which the upper structure 114, including an operator cabin 126, may be pivotally mounted. The turn table 125 defines a first axis “A1”. The work machine 100 also includes the operator cabin 126 supported by the frame 112. The operator cabin 126 may move relative to the undercarriage structure 120, about the first axis “A1”. Such a movement of the operator cabin 126 may be referred to as a yaw movement of the operator cabin 126. Further, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more input devices 128 (shown in FIG. 2). The input devices 128 may include a lever, a button, a joystick, and the like. Moreover, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more output devices 130 (shown in FIG. 2). In an example, the output device 130 may include a display screen. In some examples, the output device 130 may embody a touch screen device that may include means to provide outputs to a machine operator and may also include means to receive inputs, that may be physical inputs or virtual inputs, from the machine operator. In some examples, the input and output devices 128, 130 may be present at a base station (not shown) which may be located remotely with respect to the work machine 100”, paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138”, paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100”, and paragraph [0054], “Further, the controller 146 may generate a second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 based on the updated operating parameters, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. More particularly, the drive module 154 may generate the second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that the second control signal “O2” may be generated in a manner that is similar to the determination of the first control signal “O1” as explained earlier in this section. Further, the drive module 154 may provide the second control signal “O2” to the machine controller 134 to control the ground engaging members 122 for moving the work machine 100 in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the path tracker module 156 may provide a visual feed of the travel of the work machine 100 to notify the operator regarding the alignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the output device 130 may display the visual feed of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, an image or a video including a line/curve representing the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be overlayed on the ground surface 124. Such an image or video may additionally or optionally include a graphical representation of the work machine 100 so the machine operator is made aware of the alignment or misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 15, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the control unit determines whether positioning coordinates received from the positioning system receiver deviate from a predefined path and generates a path correction signal for displaying on the direction guidance display (See at least paragraph [0050], “The processor 150 may further include the path tracker module 156. The path tracker module 156 may be communicably coupled to the first sensor 132, the second sensor 138, the input device 128, and the output device 130. The controller 146 may receive a feedback from the sensor 132, 138 to determine the alignment of the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 during the travel of the work machine 100 along the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the feedback may be received after regular intervals of time”, paragraph [0051], “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the path tracker module 156 may receive the feedback from the first sensor 132 and/or the second sensor 138 to determine the alignment of the work implement 116 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 during the travel of the work machine 100 along the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In one example, the path tracker module 156 may receive input signals from the second sensor 138 to determine the alignment or the misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 based on the location of the work machine 100 relative to the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In another example, the path tracker module 156 may receive input signals from the first sensor 132 to determine the alignment or the misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 based on the yaw angle of the operator cabin 126. In yet another example, the alignment or the misalignment of the work machine 100 may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138”, paragraph [0052], “In some examples, the feedback may be indicative of an amount by which the work machine 100 is offset from the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the feedback may be indicative of a current offset distance between a center of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that, in some examples, the path tracker module 156 may retrieve a value for an allowable offset distance from the memory 148. In situations wherein the current offset distance is greater than the allowable offset distance, the path tracker module 156 may determine the misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144”, and paragraph [0054], “Further, the controller 146 may generate a second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 based on the updated operating parameters, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. More particularly, the drive module 154 may generate the second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that the second control signal “O2” may be generated in a manner that is similar to the determination of the first control signal “O1” as explained earlier in this section. Further, the drive module 154 may provide the second control signal “O2” to the machine controller 134 to control the ground engaging members 122 for moving the work machine 100 in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the path tracker module 156 may provide a visual feed of the travel of the work machine 100 to notify the operator regarding the alignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the output device 130 may display the visual feed of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, an image or a video including a line/curve representing the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be overlayed on the ground surface 124. Such an image or video may additionally or optionally include a graphical representation of the work machine 100 so the machine operator is made aware of the alignment or misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 17, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the excavation guidance device receives the positioning coordinates of the start point and the end point of the predefined path through the user interface and stores them in the storage unit (See at least paragraph [0019], “The work machine 100 includes a turn table 125. The turn table 125 is mounted on the undercarriage structure 120, upon which the upper structure 114, including an operator cabin 126, may be pivotally mounted. The turn table 125 defines a first axis “A1”. The work machine 100 also includes the operator cabin 126 supported by the frame 112. The operator cabin 126 may move relative to the undercarriage structure 120, about the first axis “A1”. Such a movement of the operator cabin 126 may be referred to as a yaw movement of the operator cabin 126. Further, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more input devices 128 (shown in FIG. 2). The input devices 128 may include a lever, a button, a joystick, and the like. Moreover, the operator cabin 126 may include one or more output devices 130 (shown in FIG. 2). In an example, the output device 130 may include a display screen. In some examples, the output device 130 may embody a touch screen device that may include means to provide outputs to a machine operator and may also include means to receive inputs, that may be physical inputs or virtual inputs, from the machine operator. In some examples, the input and output devices 128, 130 may be present at a base station (not shown) which may be located remotely with respect to the work machine 100”, paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100”, and [0035], “In an example, the path planning module 152 may determine and display the multiple desired movement paths 140, 142, 144 on the output device 130. In such examples, the machine operator may select any one of the desired movement paths 140, 142, 144. Alternatively, the machine operator may generate the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 in real time using touch screen devices present in the operator cabin 126. For example, the ground surface 124 may be depicted on the touch screen device and the operator may draw the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 on the touch screen device. Moreover, in some examples, the machine operator may use the imaging device to generate the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, personnel may generate a design line on the ground surface 124 and the imaging device may be used to capture an image of the design line. Further, the path planning module 152 may analyze the images of the design line captured by the imaging device to generate the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the control unit is implemented by one or more computing units (See at least paragraph [0029], “The controller 146 may include a memory 148. The memory 148 may include a flash memory, a random-access memory (RAM), an electrically erasable programmable read-only memory (EEPROM), and the like. The memory 148 may be used to store data such as algorithms, instructions, arithmetic operations, and the like. The controller 146 may execute various types of digitally-stored instructions, such as a software program or an algorithm program, retrieved from the memory 148, or a firmware program which may enable the controller 146 to perform a wide variety of operations. In some examples, the memory 148 may store data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100” and paragraph [0033], “The controller 146 may also include a processor 150. The processor 150 may be communicably coupled with the memory 148. The processor 150 may receive and process one or more input signals received from the input device 128, the output device 130, the first sensor 132, the second sensor 138, and the machine controller 134. The processor 150 may include a processing unit such as a digital signal processor (DSP), an application-specific system processor (ASSP), an application-specific instruction set processor (ASIP), and the like. The processor 150 may also include a microprocessor, and/or any processing logic such as a field-programmable gate array (FPGA), an application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC), and the like. The processor 150 may include an arithmetic logic unit (ALU) to execute one or more arithmetic and logical functions.”).
Regarding Claim 19, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the computing unit recognizes information inputted through the user interface, received from the positioning system receiver and the storage unit, performs an operation of determining a variance between the predefined path and current location of the excavation guidance device, and outputs a position correction signal to the direction guidance display (See at least paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138”, paragraph [0036], “In another example, the path planning module 152 may retrieve the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 from the memory 148, based on application requirements. In yet another example, the path planning module 152 may itself determine the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 for the work machine 100. In an example, the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be specified off-board, such as, via a desktop application, and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be subsequently loaded onto the memory 148. For example, the memory 148 may store a work plan for the excavation operation and based on the work plan, the path planning module 152 may determine the desired movement path 140, 142, 144”, paragraph [0050], “The processor 150 may further include the path tracker module 156. The path tracker module 156 may be communicably coupled to the first sensor 132, the second sensor 138, the input device 128, and the output device 130. The controller 146 may receive a feedback from the sensor 132, 138 to determine the alignment of the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 during the travel of the work machine 100 along the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the feedback may be received after regular intervals of time”, and paragraph [0054], “Further, the controller 146 may generate a second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 based on the updated operating parameters, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. More particularly, the drive module 154 may generate the second control signal “O2” for controlling the travel of the work machine 100, such that the one or more components 116 of the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that the second control signal “O2” may be generated in a manner that is similar to the determination of the first control signal “O1” as explained earlier in this section. Further, the drive module 154 may provide the second control signal “O2” to the machine controller 134 to control the ground engaging members 122 for moving the work machine 100 in alignment with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In some examples, the path tracker module 156 may provide a visual feed of the travel of the work machine 100 to notify the operator regarding the alignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the output device 130 may display the visual feed of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. For example, an image or a video including a line/curve representing the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 may be overlayed on the ground surface 124. Such an image or video may additionally or optionally include a graphical representation of the work machine 100 so the machine operator is made aware of the alignment or misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection below. Hodel teaches wherein the positioning system receiver is a high-precision positioning board which acquires signals from one or more satellite positioning systems, along with accuracy enhancement data, to provide a high level of positional accuracy (See at least paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138.”).
Regarding Claim 21, Hodel teaches A method for excavating an excavation path, the method comprising: a. providing an excavation guidance device which i. acquires the positioning coordinates of a start point (See at least paragraph [0023], “FIG. 2 illustrates a system 136 for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 during the excavation operation. It should be noted that the system 136 described herein may be associated with semi-autonomous, manual, or autonomous work machines, without any limitations. Further, the system 136 may facilitate a semi-autonomous travel feature of the work machine 100. The system 136 includes one or more sensors 138 to generate data indicative of one or more position parameters of the work machine 100. The sensor 138 may be hereinafter interchangeably referred to as a second sensor 138. Further, the position parameter includes one or more of an orientation of the work machine 100 and a location of the work machine 100. The orientation of the work machine 100 may be indicative of a data related to a heading direction of the work machine 100. Further, the second sensor 138 may also generate data related to the location of the work machine 100 at a worksite. In some examples, the position parameter may also include a position of the operator cabin 126 (see FIG. 1) relative to the undercarriage structure 120 (see FIG. 1) of the work machine 100. More particularly, the first sensor 132 may provide the position of the operator cabin 126 relative to the undercarriage structure 120 of the work machine 100” and paragraph [0056], “FIG. 3 illustrates the exemplary first desired movement path 140 for the work machine 100. The first desired movement path 140 includes the straight path herein. The work machine 100 may be disposed at a starting point “SP” at a beginning of an excavation operation. Further, the first desired movement path 140 includes a first excavation position “P1” of the work machine 100 and a second excavation position “P2” of the work machine 100. It should be noted that a distance defined between the first excavation position “P1” and the second excavation position “P2” is exemplary in nature and the distance may increase or decrease, as per application requirements.”); ii. acquires the positioning coordinates of an end point (See at least paragraph [0023], “FIG. 2 illustrates a system 136 for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 during the excavation operation. It should be noted that the system 136 described herein may be associated with semi-autonomous, manual, or autonomous work machines, without any limitations. Further, the system 136 may facilitate a semi-autonomous travel feature of the work machine 100. The system 136 includes one or more sensors 138 to generate data indicative of one or more position parameters of the work machine 100. The sensor 138 may be hereinafter interchangeably referred to as a second sensor 138. Further, the position parameter includes one or more of an orientation of the work machine 100 and a location of the work machine 100. The orientation of the work machine 100 may be indicative of a data related to a heading direction of the work machine 100. Further, the second sensor 138 may also generate data related to the location of the work machine 100 at a worksite. In some examples, the position parameter may also include a position of the operator cabin 126 (see FIG. 1) relative to the undercarriage structure 120 (see FIG. 1) of the work machine 100. More particularly, the first sensor 132 may provide the position of the operator cabin 126 relative to the undercarriage structure 120 of the work machine 100” and paragraph [0056], “FIG. 3 illustrates the exemplary first desired movement path 140 for the work machine 100. The first desired movement path 140 includes the straight path herein. The work machine 100 may be disposed at a starting point “SP” at a beginning of an excavation operation. Further, the first desired movement path 140 includes a first excavation position “P1” of the work machine 100 and a second excavation position “P2” of the work machine 100. It should be noted that a distance defined between the first excavation position “P1” and the second excavation position “P2” is exemplary in nature and the distance may increase or decrease, as per application requirements.”); iii. determines a path of excavation from the start point to the end point (See at least paragraph [0037], “Further, the controller 146 determines one or more operating parameters of the work machine 100 to reach the desired location “L1” based on the data indicative of the position parameter of the work machine 100 and the data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. Specifically, the path planning module 152 may determine the operating parameters to reach the desired location “L1” based on the data indicative of the position parameter of the work machine 100 and the data indicative of the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”); iv. acquires its positioning coordinates when it is positioned in the excavation site (See at least paragraph [0024], “The second sensor 138 may include an inertial measurement unit (IMU), a global positioning system (GPS) module, and the like. In an example, the system 136 may include the IMU as well the GPS module. Alternatively, the system 136 may include the GPS module alone. The IMU may include an electronic device that measures and provides parameters, such as, a velocity of the work machine 100, the orientation of the work machine 100, and the like, using a combination of accelerometers, gyroscopes, and magnetometers. The IMU may be located at the upper structure 110 of the work machine 100. Further, the GPS module may include a known satellite-based radionavigation system. The GPS module may provide parameters, such as, the location of the work machine 100 and/or the orientation of the work machine 100. In some examples, the system 136 may include a pair of GPS modules. For example, such a pair of GPS modules may provide information related to a current heading direction of the work machine 100. In some examples, the operating parameter may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138.”); v. determines any correction needed to maintain the path of excavation (See at least paragraph [0051], “In the illustrated example of FIG. 2, the path tracker module 156 may receive the feedback from the first sensor 132 and/or the second sensor 138 to determine the alignment of the work implement 116 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 during the travel of the work machine 100 along the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In one example, the path tracker module 156 may receive input signals from the second sensor 138 to determine the alignment or the misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 based on the location of the work machine 100 relative to the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In another example, the path tracker module 156 may receive input signals from the first sensor 132 to determine the alignment or the misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144 based on the yaw angle of the operator cabin 126. In yet another example, the alignment or the misalignment of the work machine 100 may be determined based on a combination of the inputs received from the first and second sensors 132, 138” and paragraph [0052], “In some examples, the feedback may be indicative of an amount by which the work machine 100 is offset from the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. In an example, the feedback may be indicative of a current offset distance between a center of the work machine 100 and the desired movement path 140, 142, 144. It should be noted that, in some examples, the path tracker module 156 may retrieve a value for an allowable offset distance from the memory 148. In situations wherein the current offset distance is greater than the allowable offset distance, the path tracker module 156 may determine the misalignment of the work machine 100 with the desired movement path 140, 142, 144.”); b. excavating an excavation site at the start point (See at least paragraph [0023], “FIG. 2 illustrates a system 136 for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 during the excavation operation. It should be noted that the system 136 described herein may be associated with semi-autonomous, manual, or autonomous work machines, without any limitations. Further, the system 136 may facilitate a semi-autonomous travel feature of the work machine 100. The system 136 includes one or more sensors 138 to generate data indicative of one or more position parameters of the work machine 100. The sensor 138 may be hereinafter interchangeably referred to as a second sensor 138. Further, the position parameter includes one or more of an orientation of the work machine 100 and a location of the work machine 100. The orientation of the work machine 100 may be indicative of a data related to a heading direction of the work machine 100. Further, the second sensor 138 may also generate data related to the location of the work machine 100 at a worksite. In some examples, the position parameter may also include a position of the operator cabin 126 (see FIG. 1) relative to the undercarriage structure 120 (see FIG. 1) of the work machine 100. More particularly, the first sensor 132 may provide the position of the operator cabin 126 relative to the undercarriage structure 120 of the work machine 100” and paragraph [0057], “For reaching the first excavation position “P1”, the work machine 100 may travel in a direction “D1”. Once the work machine 100 reaches the first excavation position “P1”, the work machine 100 may perform excavation operations at the first excavation position “P1”. Further, when the work machine 100 is to be moved from the first excavation position “P1” to the second excavation position “P2”, the operator may send the input “I1” (see FIG. 2) to the controller 146 (see FIG. 2). Based on the receipt of the input “I1”, the controller 146 may generate the first control signal “O1” (see FIG. 2) to move the work machine 100 from the first excavation position “P1” towards the second excavation position “P2” such that the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140.”); c. positioning the excavation guidance device in the excavation site (See at least paragraph [0023], “FIG. 2 illustrates a system 136 for controlling the travel of the work machine 100 during the excavation operation. It should be noted that the system 136 described herein may be associated with semi-autonomous, manual, or autonomous work machines, without any limitations. Further, the system 136 may facilitate a semi-autonomous travel feature of the work machine 100. The system 136 includes one or more sensors 138 to generate data indicative of one or more position parameters of the work machine 100. The sensor 138 may be hereinafter interchangeably referred to as a second sensor 138. Further, the position parameter includes one or more of an orientation of the work machine 100 and a location of the work machine 100. The orientation of the work machine 100 may be indicative of a data related to a heading direction of the work machine 100. Further, the second sensor 138 may also generate data related to the location of the work machine 100 at a worksite. In some examples, the position parameter may also include a position of the operator cabin 126 (see FIG. 1) relative to the undercarriage structure 120 (see FIG. 1) of the work machine 100. More particularly, the first sensor 132 may provide the position of the operator cabin 126 relative to the undercarriage structure 120 of the work machine 100” and paragraph [0057], “For reaching the first excavation position “P1”, the work machine 100 may travel in a direction “D1”. Once the work machine 100 reaches the first excavation position “P1”, the work machine 100 may perform excavation operations at the first excavation position “P1”. Further, when the work machine 100 is to be moved from the first excavation position “P1” to the second excavation position “P2”, the operator may send the input “I1” (see FIG. 2) to the controller 146 (see FIG. 2). Based on the receipt of the input “I1”, the controller 146 may generate the first control signal “O1” (see FIG. 2) to move the work machine 100 from the first excavation position “P1” towards the second excavation position “P2” such that the work machine 100 is in alignment with the desired movement path 140.”).
Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches iv. outputs a sound and/or light-based signal that indicates any correction needed to maintain the path of the excavation, wherein the sound and/or light-based signal comprises directional indicators that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path (See at least paragraph [0097], “In one embodiment, the Dig Director 111 is a visual display including a digital monitor and computer-generated images of the Site Data Record, the Dig Plan, and the Digging Tool position all rendered on the monitor in real-time. In addition, any deviation of the Digging Tool alignment from the Dig Plan is indicated, and directional bars showing the machine operator what control inputs are required to correct the path of the Digging Tool.” The system outputs a light-based signal via a visual display that indicates correction needed, including directional indicators, such as directional bars, that indicate the direction of correction required to return to the predefined path.); d. excavating the path of the excavation according to the sound and/or light-based signal displayed on the excavation guidance device (See at least paragraph [0107], “The "Where do I want to go" question is related to the "Dig Plan" synthesized from the construction drawing Lateral and Vertical alignments. The Dig Plan may be over-laid on the Site Data Record and presented visually to the machine operator. The operator can guide the machine manually by reference to this presentation and its Dig Director, or turn guidance over to a Machine Guidance module for automated operation.” The system displays the excavation path and guidance, and the operator excavates by guiding the machine based on the displayed signal.); e. modifying, in response to the sound and/or light-based signal, the excavation to follow along the path of the excavation (See at least paragraph [0107], “The "Where do I want to go" question is related to the "Dig Plan" synthesized from the construction drawing Lateral and Vertical alignments. The Dig Plan may be over-laid on the Site Data Record and presented visually to the machine operator. The operator can guide the machine manually by reference to this presentation and its Dig Director, or turn guidance over to a Machine Guidance module for automated operation.” The system provides guidance that causes the operator to modify the excavation in response to the displayed signal to follow the excavation path.); f. continuing excavation along the path of the excavation, and h. repeating steps c. through f. until the end point is reached (See at least paragraph [0107], “The "Where do I want to go" question is related to the "Dig Plan" synthesized from the construction drawing Lateral and Vertical alignments. The Dig Plan may be over-laid on the Site Data Record and presented visually to the machine operator. The operator can guide the machine manually by reference to this presentation and its Dig Director, or turn guidance over to a Machine Guidance module for automated operation.” The system provides continuous guidance such that the operator continues excavation along the path until completion.), wherein the excavation path comprises a trench having a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with the naked eye from the excavation site during the acquisition of the positioning coordinates by the excavation guidance device (See at least Fig. 9, paragraph [0105], “In one embodiment, an excavator guidance system processes inputs from the GPS to establish its known position, compares the position to a construction design to determine the lateral alignment and vertical elevation of the desired excavation, and consults a data base for the presence of utilities or other obstructions located within the work path.” The system defines the excavation path with a start point and an end point, as explicitly shown in Fig. 9, and utilizes GPS-based positioning such that the path is not dependent on visual observation from the excavation site.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize iv. outputting a sound and/or light-based signal that indicates any correction needed to maintain the path of the excavation, wherein the sound and/or light-based signal comprises directional indicators that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, d. excavating the path of the excavation according to the sound and/or light-based signal displayed on the excavation guidance device, e. modifying, in response to the sound and/or light-based signal, the excavation to follow along the path of the excavation, and f. continuing excavation along the path of the excavation, and h. repeating steps c. through f. until the end point is reached, wherein the excavation path comprises a trench having a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with the naked eye from the excavation site during the acquisition of the positioning coordinates by the excavation guidance device, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097], [0105], [0107].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Regarding Claim 2, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the path correction signal is generated when a user input element on the user interface is activated (See at least paragraph [0065], “The utility designating unit 440 may also have input from the readers and recorders 321 and 323 of FIGS. 3D and 3E. In this case, the asset location data will also include the error compensation signal at the output of error detectors 322 and 324. This error signal is used by the utility designating unit 440 to provide an additional buffer or area around the utility based on the degree of error that is shown by the error correction signal” and paragraph [0068], “The facility file may be provided by a direct coupling between the converter 441 and the controller 550 on the digging equipment. In this case the asset location data is provided to the utility designating unit 440 on the digging equipment by a memory device or by an Internet coupling or line coupling to a location where the asset location data is stored. Alternatively to the direct coupling, the facility file data may be provided on a memory medium to the controller 550 or may be transmitted to the controller 550 by way of the internet, wireless communication, or direct coupling by line to a facility where the facility file is stored for the particular project site. The controller 550 may include a facility file memory 551 and a GIS file memory 552. The controller 550 further includes a microprocessor and memory 553 that includes software for performing a unique filtration process that identifies the utilities and/or protected areas that are within the selected range of the equipment at the project site. The equipment (digger) is represented by an input modem 554 that provides the OPS location of the equipment at the project site. The OPS location of the equipment is determined by a precision GPS receiver 560 that provides its input to the controller 550 through the modem or GPS equipment location block 554.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize the control unit determining whether positioning coordinates received from the GPS receiver deviate from a predefined path for an excavation trench and transmits a path correction signal to the direction guidance display to produce a sound and/or light-based signal indicating any correction needed to maintain the predetermined path for an excavation trench, and the predefined path comprises a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with a naked eye from a location where the GPS receiver receives positioning coordinates, wherein the path correction signal comprises directional indicators displayed on the direction guidance display that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, and generate the path correction signal when a user input element on the user interface is activated, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0065], [0068], [0097], [0105], [0107], [0108].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Regarding Claim 8, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 6, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the positioning system receiver receives a high-accuracy positioning signal which can have an accuracy of up to 20 cm (See at least paragraph [0055], “In some embodiments Precision Integration (PI) involves the use of an X, Y coordinate, and sometimes also a Z coordinate (e.g., altitude or depth), signal having a horizontal (X, Y coordinate) accuracy within Centimeters, without RTK and millimeter accuracy with RTK and vertical (Z coordinate) accuracy within centimeters without RTK. This accuracy may be provided in collecting utility location data and in creating a geographical information system (GIS) database, called a PI Landbase, that are combined in various steps of the system to provide a PI SDR that in combination substantially implements the PI process. Accordingly, collected utility location information may be accurate to within centimeters without RTK and within millimeters when using RTK. As used herein, the term precision location may be defined as being within centimeters without RTK, and within millimeters when using RTK.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize the control unit determining whether positioning coordinates received from the GPS receiver deviate from a predefined path for an excavation trench and transmits a path correction signal to the direction guidance display to produce a sound and/or light-based signal indicating any correction needed to maintain the predetermined path for an excavation trench, and the predefined path comprises a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with a naked eye from a location where the GPS receiver receives positioning coordinates, wherein the path correction signal comprises directional indicators displayed on the direction guidance display that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, and wherein the positioning system receiver receives a high-accuracy positioning signal which can have an accuracy of up to 20 cm, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0055], [0097], [0105], [0107], [0108].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Regarding Claim 9, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 6, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the positioning system receiver receives an ultra-high- accuracy positioning signal which can have an accuracy of 1 cm when located in an open area (See at least paragraph [0055], “In some embodiments Precision Integration (PI) involves the use of an X, Y coordinate, and sometimes also a Z coordinate (e.g., altitude or depth), signal having a horizontal (X, Y coordinate) accuracy within Centimeters, without RTK and millimeter accuracy with RTK and vertical (Z coordinate) accuracy within centimeters without RTK. This accuracy may be provided in collecting utility location data and in creating a geographical information system (GIS) database, called a PI Landbase, that are combined in various steps of the system to provide a PI SDR that in combination substantially implements the PI process. Accordingly, collected utility location information may be accurate to within centimeters without RTK and within millimeters when using RTK. As used herein, the term precision location may be defined as being within centimeters without RTK, and within millimeters when using RTK.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize the control unit determining whether positioning coordinates received from the GPS receiver deviate from a predefined path for an excavation trench and transmits a path correction signal to the direction guidance display to produce a sound and/or light-based signal indicating any correction needed to maintain the predetermined path for an excavation trench, and the predefined path comprises a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with a naked eye from a location where the GPS receiver receives positioning coordinates, wherein the path correction signal comprises directional indicators displayed on the direction guidance display that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, and wherein the positioning system receiver receives an ultra-high- accuracy positioning signal which can have an accuracy of 1 cm when located in an open area, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0055], [0097], [0105], [0107], [0108].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Regarding Claim 12, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein a transport medium comprises tubular transport systems transporting one or more of liquid materials, gaseous materials and solid materials, and mixtures thereof, and conductive elements or transmission elements carrying light-based signals or electricity-based signals (See at least paragraph [0060], “This apparatus includes a radar/sonar asset position reader and recorder 318 coupled to and controlled by a precision GPS receiver 319. This GPS receiver 319 may be the same as the GPS receiver 310 of FIG. 3A. Reader and recorder 318 includes an antenna array for transmitting radar and sonar signals into the ground and recording the return signals for locating any assets, such as utility lines, that are underground. This apparatus and method provides a measurement and record of the depth of the utility as well as the longitudinal and latitudinal coordinates of the location of the utility. Further, the reader and the recorder 318 determines and records the size and material of the pipe or conduit of the utility, such as gas pipes, communication lines, water lines and so forth. The output of the reader and recorder 318 may be an ASCII stream with fields for the longitudinal coordinate, latitudinal coordinate and identification of the asset or utility that is underground at the precise location” and paragraph [0138], “The signals discussed herein may take several forms. For example, in some embodiments a signal may be an electrical signal transmitted over a wire, other signals may consist of light pulses transmitted over an optical fiber or through another medium, some signals may comprise RF signal the travel through the air. A signal may comprise more than one signal. For example, a signal may consist of a series of signals. In addition, a group of signals may be collectively referred to herein as a signal. Signals as discussed herein also may take the form of data. For example, in some embodiments an application program may send a signal to another application program. Such a signal may be stored in a data memory.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize iv. outputting a sound and/or light-based signal that indicates any correction needed to maintain the path of the excavation, wherein the sound and/or light-based signal comprises directional indicators that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, d. excavating the path of the excavation according to the sound and/or light-based signal displayed on the excavation guidance device, e. modifying, in response to the sound and/or light-based signal, the excavation to follow along the path of the excavation, and f. continuing excavation along the path of the excavation, and h. repeating steps c. through f. until the end point is reached, wherein the excavation path comprises a trench having a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with the naked eye from the excavation site during the acquisition of the positioning coordinates by the excavation guidance device, and wherein a transport medium comprises tubular transport systems transporting one or more of liquid materials, gaseous materials and solid materials, and mixtures thereof, and conductive elements or transmission elements carrying light-based signals or electricity-based signals, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0060], [0097], [0105], [0107], [0138].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Regarding Claim 16, Hodel and Tucker teach The method of claim 21, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel does not explicitly disclose, however, Tucker, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the path correction signal is generated when a user input element on the user interface is activated (See at least paragraph [0065], “The utility designating unit 440 may also have input from the readers and recorders 321 and 323 of FIGS. 3D and 3E. In this case, the asset location data will also include the error compensation signal at the output of error detectors 322 and 324. This error signal is used by the utility designating unit 440 to provide an additional buffer or area around the utility based on the degree of error that is shown by the error correction signal” and paragraph [0068], “The facility file may be provided by a direct coupling between the converter 441 and the controller 550 on the digging equipment. In this case the asset location data is provided to the utility designating unit 440 on the digging equipment by a memory device or by an Internet coupling or line coupling to a location where the asset location data is stored. Alternatively to the direct coupling, the facility file data may be provided on a memory medium to the controller 550 or may be transmitted to the controller 550 by way of the internet, wireless communication, or direct coupling by line to a facility where the facility file is stored for the particular project site. The controller 550 may include a facility file memory 551 and a GIS file memory 552. The controller 550 further includes a microprocessor and memory 553 that includes software for performing a unique filtration process that identifies the utilities and/or protected areas that are within the selected range of the equipment at the project site. The equipment (digger) is represented by an input modem 554 that provides the OPS location of the equipment at the project site. The OPS location of the equipment is determined by a precision GPS receiver 560 that provides its input to the controller 550 through the modem or GPS equipment location block 554.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize iv. outputting a sound and/or light-based signal that indicates any correction needed to maintain the path of the excavation, wherein the sound and/or light-based signal comprises directional indicators that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, d. excavating the path of the excavation according to the sound and/or light-based signal displayed on the excavation guidance device, e. modifying, in response to the sound and/or light-based signal, the excavation to follow along the path of the excavation, and f. continuing excavation along the path of the excavation, and h. repeating steps c. through f. until the end point is reached, wherein the excavation path comprises a trench having a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with the naked eye from the excavation site during the acquisition of the positioning coordinates by the excavation guidance device, and wherein the path correction signal is generated when a user input element on the user interface is activated, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0065], [0068], [0097], [0105], [0107].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodel (US 20230134855 A1) in view of Tucker (US 20140297343 A1) and Ready-Campbell (US 20230031524 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Hodel and Tucker teach The device of claim 6, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Hodel and Tucker do not explicitly disclose, however, Ready-Campbell, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the positioning system receiver connects to one or more internet-based correction data servers (See at least paragraph [0054], “The network 105 represents the various wired and wireless communication pathways between the computers 120, the sensor assembly 110, and the excavation vehicle 115. Network 105 uses standard Internet communications technologies and/or protocols. Thus, the network 105 can include links using technologies such as Ethernet, IEEE 802.11, integrated services digital network (ISDN), asynchronous transfer mode (ATM), etc. Similarly, the networking protocols used on the network 150 can include the transmission control protocol/Internet protocol (TCP/IP), the hypertext transport protocol (HTTP), the simple mail transfer protocol (SMTP), the file transfer protocol (FTP), etc. The data exchanged over the network 105F can be represented using technologies and/or formats including the hypertext markup language (HTML), the extensible markup language (XML), etc. In addition, all or some links can be encrypted using conventional encryption technologies such as the secure sockets layer (SSL), Secure HTTP (HTTPS) and/or virtual private networks (VPNs). In another embodiment, the entities can use custom and/or dedicated data communications technologies instead of, or in addition to, the ones described above.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Hodel with the teachings of Tucker and Ready-Campbell such that the work machine of Hodel is further configured to utilize the control unit determining whether positioning coordinates received from the GPS receiver deviate from a predefined path for an excavation trench and transmits a path correction signal to the direction guidance display to produce a sound and/or light-based signal indicating any correction needed to maintain the predetermined path for an excavation trench, and the predefined path comprises a start point and an end point that are too distant to be visible with a naked eye from a location where the GPS receiver receives positioning coordinates, wherein the path correction signal comprises directional indicators displayed on the direction guidance display that audibly and/or visually indicate a direction of correction required to return to the predefined path, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097], [0105], [0107], [0108].), and utilize the positioning system receiver connecting to one or more internet-based correction data servers, as taught by Ready-Campbell (See paragraph [0054].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be improving operator control and accuracy during excavation operations, as taught by Tucker (See paragraph [0097].). The motivation for doing so would be decreasing cost and human error, as taught by Ready-Campbell (See paragraph [0003].).
Conclusion
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666