DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "1411", “1413” and "1414" have been used to designate “first recesses”. These errors appear in paragraph [0056] on line 2, paragraph [0064] on line 22, and paragraph [0070] on lines 6-7. The numbers should be corrected to the appropriate part number for the first recesses, “1414”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "131" and "132" have both been used to designate “lower insulating member”. The error appears in paragraph [0066] on line 22, in which the lower insulating member is misnumbered as part number 131 and should be changed to part number 132. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "100" and "130" have both been used to designate “cover assembly”. The error appears in paragraph [0067] on line 5, in which the cover assembly is misnumbered as part number 100 and should be changed to part number 130. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "1415" and "1412" have both been used to designate “tab connecting zone”. The error appears in paragraph [0055] on line 19, in which the tab connecting zone is misnumbered as part number 1415 and should be changed to part number 1412. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to because there are no part numbers included for any of the parts of the invention named in paragraph [0077]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because line 3 includes the part number “140” when referring to the electrode lead-out member. This part number “140” should be removed from the abstract. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In Paragraph [0010], line 12, “10mm” should read as “10 mm”
In Paragraph [0021], line 9, “0.1mm” should read as “0.1 mm”
In Paragraph [0054], line 6, “10mm” should read as “10 mm”
In Paragraph [0058], line 2, “a minimum distance from the a side portion” should read as “a minimum distance from a side portion”
In Paragraph [0058], line 4, “a minimum distance from the a side portion” should read as “a minimum distance from a side portion”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: Both claims read with the unit abbreviation “mm” without a space between the number and the unit. Claim 6 should be modified from “0≤D≤10mm” to “0≤D≤10 mm”. Claim 17 should be modified from “d≥0.1mm” to “d≥0.1 mm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The language in Claim 8, “and the fuse portion is formed between corner vertex of the at least one first recess and the second recess.” leaves unclear on whether the corner vertex is a joining of edges from the first recess and second recess together, or whether this refers to a corner vertex of the first recess and a separate corner vertex of the second recess. Claim 9 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on Claim 8.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the lower insulating member according to claim 1" in the 4th line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is believed this limitation is a typo meant to refer to “the electrode lead-out member according to claim 1” and this rejection would be resolved with that correction. Until this correction is made, Claims 14-24 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 13.
Claim 13 recites “… and is at least partially arranged in the through hole,”. Through holes corresponding to the first recess, second recess, and the cover body have been established and it is indefinite as to which through hole to which this limitation refers. Claims 14-24 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10, 13, 15, and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wakimoto (US 20200313153 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Wakimoto teaches an electrode lead-out member comprising a connecting plate (an electrode collector 6b; Paragraph [0028]; Figures 8-11), comprising a terminal connecting zone (terminal-side connection portion 6g; Paragraph [0048]; Figures 8-11), a tab connecting zone (first connection portion 6c; Paragraph [0046]; Figures 8-11), a transitional connecting zone (the connecting portion 6e; Paragraph [0045]; Figures 8-11), and an electrode terminal connected to the terminal connecting zone (the terminal-side connection portion 6g can be directly connected to the electrode terminal 7; Paragraph [0048]). Additionally, Wakimoto teaches a through hole 6i (Paragraph [0049]; Figures 8-11) recessed in the thickness direction of the electrode collector 6b.
Regarding Claim 2, Wakimoto teaches the electrode lead-out member of claim 1, wherein a projection of the at least one first recess along the thickness direction is located outside the tab connecting zone. The through hole 6i is located outside of the first connection portion 6c (Paragraph [0049]; Figures 8-11).
Regarding Claim 3, Wakimoto teaches the electrode lead-out member of claim 1, wherein the at least one first recess is recessed in a first direction, and the first direction points from one side of the connecting plate to which the electrode terminal is connected towards the other side of the connecting plate. The through hole 6i is recessed in a first direction which points from one side of the electrode collector 6b to which the electrode terminal is connected towards the other side of the electrode collector 6b (Paragraphs [0047-0049]; Figures 8-11).
Regarding Claim 4, Wakimoto teaches the electrode lead-out member according to claim 1, wherein the at least one first recess is a through hole penetrating in the thickness direction of the connecting plate (through hole 6i; Paragraph [0049]; Figures 8-11).
Regarding Claims 7 and 10, Wakimoto teaches the electrode lead-out member of claim 1, and an embodiment (Figure 11) in which there are two recesses 6i, both recessed in a thickness direction, with directions that point from the terminal-side connection portion 6g to the first connection portion 6c. The recesses are located within the fuse portion 6h in a manner in which the area between them is also part of the fuse portion 6h (Paragraph [0049]; Figure 11).
Regarding Claim 13, Wakimoto teaches the electrode lead-out member of claim 1, along with a cover assembly comprising a cover body provided with a through hole (sealing plate 2; Paragraph [0039]; Figure 2), a lower insulating member arranged on a side of the cover body (inner insulating member 11 disposed along the sealing plate 2; Paragraph [0040]; Figure 7), wherein the electrode terminal of the electrode lead-out member penetrates through the lower insulating member and is at least partially arranged in the through hole, and at least part of the connecting plate of the electrode lead-out member abuts against a side of the lower insulating member away from the cover body. The sealing plate 2, inner insulating member 11 and electrode terminal conductive members 6a/8a each have a through hole through which the electrode terminal 7/9 can be inserted (Paragraph [0039]). Figure 2 shows terminals 7/9 arranged in the through hole and positive electrode collector 6b against a side of the inner insulating member 11. Inner insulating member has a rib 11b that protrudes toward the electrode group 3 (Paragraph [0040]).
Regarding Claim 15, Wakimoto teaches the cover assembly according to claim 13, wherein each terminal connecting zone on a side of the transitional connecting zone is provided with the at least one first recess (through hole 6i; Paragraph [0049]; Figures 8-11).
Regarding Claims 20-22, Wakimoto teaches the cover assembly according to claim 13, wherein the cover assembly comprises a first electrode lead-out member and a second electrode lead-out member, a first recess of the connecting plate of the first electrode lead-out member and a first recess of the connecting plate of the second electrode lead-out member are not interchangeable. There is a positive collector 6a-i and a negative collector 8a-i attached to the seal plate 2 (Paragraphs 0043-0044, 0052-0055; Figure 2). Through holes 6i/8i can be of any shape and number and so can be made to be not interchangeable (Paragraph 0049, Figures 8-11).
Regarding Claim 23, Wakimoto teaches a secondary battery comprising a casing (secondary battery 20 includes a battery case 100; Paragraph [0025]; Figure 1), an electrode assembly received in the casing and comprising a body portion and a tab connected to the body portion (positive and negative electrode tabs 40/50 provided at an end portion of the electrode bodies 3a/3b; Paragraph [0027]), and the cover assembly according to claim 13, wherein the tab of the electrode assembly and the electrode lead-out member are connected in the tab connecting zone (the electrode tabs 40/50 are welded to the electrode collectors 6b/8b; Paragraph [0037]), and the cover body of the cover assembly covers an opening of the casing (sealing plate 2 seals the opening of the battery case 100; Paragraph [0025]; Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 24, Wakimoto teaches an electronic apparatus comprising the secondary battery according to claim 23. Secondary batteries are used in power sources for driving electric vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and the like (Paragraph [0003]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto in view of Kozuki et al (WO 9918622 A1).
Regarding Claims 11-12, Wakimoto teaches the electrode lead-out member of claim 1, where in the electrode terminal 7/9 is riveted to the collector at the terminal conductive member 6a/8a (Paragraph [0043]) and teaches bending of the connecting portion 6e so that a difference in level is provided between the first connection portion 6c and the second connection portion 6f (Paragraph [0050]; Figures 8-11). Wakimoto also teaches the positive electrode collector 6b, positive terminal conductive member 6a, and positive electrode terminal 7 are formed of metal, desirably aluminum, while the negative electrode collector 8b, negative terminal conductive member 8a, and negative electrode terminal 9 are formed of metal, desirably copper (Paragraphs [0028]-[0029]). Wakimoto fails to teach that the terminal and the collector may be made of different materials or that the electrode terminal and connecting portion can be connected by friction welding. However, Kozuki teaches a secondary battery with an electrode portion forming an external terminal protruding outside the battery case and a lead derived from an electrode plate group in the battery case and that the two parts are made of different metals and can be connected via friction welding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have experimented with combinations of terminals and plates consisting of conductive material, to include aluminum and copper, and join the terminals and plates via friction welding.
Claims 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto in view of Li et al (US 11,557,816 B2).
Regarding Claims 14, 16, and 18, Wakimoto teaches the cover assembly according to Claim 13, as well as a protrusion which is a groove on a side facing the cover body (A rib 11b protrudes toward the electrode group 3 and away from the sealing plate 2; Paragraph [0040]), but does not teach the inner insulating member 11 with this protrusion matched to the through hole 6i. Further, Wakimoto does not teach that this should not extend beyond the first recess in the thickness direction. However, Li teaches an insulating piece 4 and insulating bars 5 aligned into gaps between the terminal connection portion 31 and the tab connecting sub-portion 321 of a connecting piece 3 and positioned to be flush with the surface of the connecting piece (Paragraph 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the inner insulating member 11 of Wakimoto to align with the through hole 6i of the collectors 6a-i/8a-i as taught by Li, in order to improve stability and safety of the invention.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto in view of Li et al as applied to claims 14, 16, and 18 above, and further in view of Chen et al (PCT/CN2022/081843).
Regarding Claim 19, the cover assembly according to claim 18 is taught by Wakimoto in view of Li, as are the bottom and side portions of the protrusion extending away from the cover body (Wakimoto, Paragraph [0040]). However, neither Wakimoto or Li teach the bottom and/or side portion of the insulating member being provided with a liquid-guiding hole. However, Chen teaches an assembly of guided through holes which pass through an insulating structure to flow through into the electrode assembly (Paragraph [0038]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention described by Wakimoto in view of Li to apply liquid-guiding through holes to the inner insulating member in order to optimize the liquid injection position of the assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art shows a first recess contained entirely within the connecting plate, but does not describe a relationship between the thickness of the connecting plate, h, and the minimum distance between the inner contour of the sidewall of the at least one first recess and the outer contour of the sidewall of the connecting plate, D, of 0.5h ≤ D ≤ 1.5h.
Conclusion
/KEVIN M KNOWLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1783 /MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783