DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-10, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandian et al. (US Pat# 11,357,047) in view of Barriac et al. (US Pat Pub# 2017/0245224).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Pandian teaches a processor configured to determine whether to change an overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold for spatial reuse (Fig. 7, Abstract, and Col. 1 line 56-Col. 3 line 3, based on RSSI values determining whether to change an overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold); and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor (Fig. 6A/B), the transceiver configured to obtain, based on a determination that the changed the OBSS PD threshold for SR, feedback information for performance indicators associated with the STA, wherein the processor is further configured to update the OBSS PD threshold for SR based on the feedback information (Fig. 7, Abstract, and Col. 1 line 56-Col. 3 line 3, based on RSSI values determining whether to change an overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold). Pandian fails to teach the station changing the overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold.
Barriac teaches a station (STA) comprising a processor configured to determine whether the STA changed an overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold for spatial reuse (Sections 0044 and 0049-0056, a station being able to change the threshold and the access point determining if the station made any adjustments to the threshold); and a transceiver operably coupled to the processor (Fig. 8), the transceiver configured to obtain, based on a determination that the STA changed the OBSS PD threshold for SR (Sections 0044 and 0049-0056, a station being able to change the threshold and the access point determining if the station made any adjustments to the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the station changing the overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold as taught by Barriac into Pandian’s apparatus in order to improve communication performance and efficiency.
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, the combination including Pandian teaches wherein the feedback information is associated with at least one of a throughput of the STA, a number of physical layer protocol data units, a number of SR PPDUs, and a modulation coding scheme (Col. 10 line 44-Col. 11 line 50 and Col. 12 line 45-Col. 13 line 14, physical layer protocol data units and modulation coding schemes).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, the combination including Pandian teaches wherein the feedback information comprises control parameters or rewards used to adapt the OBSS PD threshold for SR (Fig. 7, Abstract, and Col. 1 line 56-Col. 3 line 3, based on RSSI values determining whether to change an overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold).
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, the combination including Pandian teaches wherein the transceiver is further configured to obtain, based on transmissions from nodes in at least one of a basic service set or an overlapping BSS, network context information for a network environment around an access point associated with the STA; and the processor is further configured to update the OBSS PD threshold for SR based on both the network context information and the feedback information (Fig. 7, Abstract, and Col. 1 line 56-Col. 3 line 3, basic service set etc.).
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandian et al. (US Pat# 11,357,047) in view of Barriac et al. (US Pat Pub# 2017/0245224) and further in view of Naik et al. (US Pat Pub# 2024/0154912).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Pandian in view of Barriac teaches the limitations in claims 1, 8, and 15. Pandian and Barriac fail to teach a multi-armed bandit procedure.
Naik teaches wherein the processor is further configured to use a multi-armed bandit procedure to maximize a reward value used to adapt the OBSS PD threshold for SR (Sections 0106-0107, multi-armed bandits etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a multi-armed bandit procedure as taught by Naik into the station changing the overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold as taught by Barriac into Pandian’s apparatus in order to improve efficiency.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Naik teaches configured to use an upper confidence bound procedure to maximize a reward value used for the updating of the OBSS PD threshold for SR (Sections 0021-0022, 0130, and 0232-0233, confidence bounds etc.).
Claims 6, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pandian et al. (US Pat# 11,357,047) in view of Barriac et al. (US Pat Pub# 2017/0245224) and further in view of Choudhury et al. (US Pat Pub# 2014/0153415).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Pandian in view of Barriac teaches the limitations in claims 1, 8, and 15. Pandian and Barriac fail to teach a Gaussian Process.
Choudhury teaches wherein the processor is further configured to use a Thompson Sampling, Epsilon Greedy, or Gaussian Process Upper Confidence Bound procedure to maximize a reward value used to adapt the OBSS PD threshold for SR (Section 0251, Gaussian process etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time of the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a Gaussian Process as taught by Choudhury into the station changing the overlapping basic service set packet detection threshold as taught by Barriac into Pandian’s apparatus in order to improve performance.
Conclusion
/ANDREW WENDELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 1/23/2026