Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of parent application CN202320771834.7, filed on 12/29/2023, is present in the application file
Claim Interpretation
Elements from prior art references which are associated with plug portions from the instant application include the first metal layer of the instant application by inference unless otherwise noted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2, 5, 9-10 and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakimoto (US 2022/0085464A1).
Claim 1: Wakimoto teaches a lid body (Fig. 2, Element 24, ¶0043) (top cover plate), and a pillar portion (Fig. 9, Element 42s; ¶ 0082) (electrode draw-out member) of a first conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0082) (comprising first metal layer) which is crimped to, and by logical inference electrically connected to, a second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0082) (comprising second metal layer), the combination of first and second conductive members comprising a negative electrode terminal (Fig. 9, elements 141, 142, 140; ¶ 0082) (external conductive member) which is disposed on top of the lid body (Fig. 2, Elements 40, 24; ¶¶ 0080, 0039). Wakimoto further teaches that the first conductive member comprises leg portions (Fig. 9, Element 142p; ¶ 0082) (plug portions) which protrude through through holes (Fig. 9, Element 142h; ¶ 0082) (matching portions) disposed on the second conductive member. The first and second conductive members may each be made of a different metal (¶¶ 0056, 0059) (first metal layer and second metal layer).
Claim 2: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches crimp portions (Fig. 9, Element 141c; ¶ 0082) (terminal ends of plug portions) from the first conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0082) (comprising first metal layer) which protrude through holes (matching portions) in the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0082) (comprising second metal layer).
Claim 5: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 2. Wakimoto further teaches that the crimp portion (Fig. 9, Element 141c; ¶ 0082) (terminal end of plug portion) along an insertion direction of the leg portion (plug portion) is aligned with a penetration position of a through hole (Fig. 9, Element 142h; ¶ 0082) (matching portion) of the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142) (comprising second metal layer). Wakimoto also teaches that the size of the crimp portion (Fig. 9, Element 141c; ¶ 0082) (terminal end of plug portion) is larger than the diameter of the through hole (Fig. 9, Element 142h; ¶ 0082) (matching portion) in the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142) (comprising second metal layer).
Claim 9: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches that the leg portions (Fig. 9, Element 141p; ¶ 0082) (plug portions) of the first conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0082) (comprising first metal layer) protrude through through holes (Fig. 9, Element 124h; ¶ 0082) (matching portions) in the top of the flange portion (Fig. 9, Element 142f) of the second conductive member (Fig. 9; Element 142) (comprising second metal layer), and crimp portions (Fig. 9, Element 141c; ¶ 0082) (terminal ends of plug potions) of the leg portions are disposed at the bottom of the flange portion of the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0082). The combined thicknesses of the leg portions and crimp portions of the first conductive member must necessarily be greater than the thickness of the flange portion of the second conductive member; thus, a thickness of the first metal layer is greater than a thickness of the second metal layer (Fig. 9, Elements 143, 142f).
Claim 10: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches a projection of the second metal layer located within a projection area of the first metal layer (Fig. 9, Elements 42s (topmost portion), 41t).
Claim 16: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches that the first conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0056) (comprising first metal layer) and the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0059) (comprising second metal layer) may each be made of a different metal (¶¶ 0056, 0059), and that the second conductive member comprises the pillar portion (Fig. 9, Element 42s; ¶ 0082) (electrode draw-out member).
Claim 17: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 16. Wakimoto further teaches that the first conductive member (first metal layer) may be made of aluminum (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0056) and the second conductive member (second metal layer) may be made of copper (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0059).
Claim 18: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches a multiplicity of leg portions (Fig. 9, Element 141p; ¶ 0082) (plug portions) formed symmetrically about the central axis (Fig. 9, Element C; ¶ 0082) of the flange portion of a first conductive member (Fig. 9, Elements 142f, 141; ¶ 0082) (first metal layer).
Claim 19: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches welding to connect the first and second conductive portions (Fig. 9, Element 45; ¶ 0067) (first and second metal layers).
Claim 20: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 19. Wakimoto further teaches welding or brazing to connect the first and second conductive portions (Fig. 9, Element 45; ¶ 0067) (first and second metal layers); the disclosure at [0043-0044] of applicant’s specification treats brazing as a subset of welding, thus the brazing taught by Wakimoto reads on the welding recited in Claim 20.
Claim 21: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches a lithium ion battery (Fig. 2, Element 100; ¶ 0039) with a case (Fig. 2, Element 20; ¶ 0044) (housing) and a lid body (Fig. 2, Element 24; ¶ 0044) (top cover) disposed on the case (Fig. 2, Elements 20, 24), which accommodates (accommodating cavity) an electrolyte and an electrode body (Fig. 2, Element 10; ¶ 0039) (electrode assembly), with the battery core comprising the electrode body and electrolyte.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto, and further in view of Ito (EP2463937A2).
Claim 3: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 2, but fails to teach stepped through holes. Ito teaches a stepped through hole formed by pressing (along an insertion direction of the plug portion) a hollow rivet with a larger diameter head (terminal end of plug portion) shank-first (plug portion) into a smaller-diameter through hole (first through hole) in a plate, with the rivet and the plate possibly being made of different metals (Fig. 7B, Elements 30-31; ¶ 0012-0014, 0040). Ito further teaches that the rivet head (terminal end of plug portion) opens a new, larger through hole (second through hole) at one end of the original smaller through hole (the projection of the smaller first through hole being located within a projection area of the second larger through hole), with the top of the rivet head (terminal end of plug portion) now fitted into the new second through hole, and a peripheral surface of the shank (plug portion) is accommodated in and matches with the shape of a hole wall (wall of first through hole) of the matching portion. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the rivet and plate assembly of Ito to form the negative electrode terminal of Wakimoto because Ito teaches a stepped hole which accommodates a plug head in its larger hole.
Claim 4: Wakimoto and Ito combined teach all the limitations of Claim 3. Ito further teaches that the second through hole has a single diameter throughout where the rivet head (Fig. 7B, Elements 30-31) (terminal plug portion) created it.
Claim 6, 7 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto.
Claim 6: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 5, including crimp portions (Fig. 9, Element 141c; ¶ 0082) (terminal ends of plug portions) of leg portions (Fig. 9, Element 141p; ¶ 0082) (plug portions) from the first conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0082) (comprising first metal layer), the crimp portions protruding through holes (matching portions) in the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0082) (comprising second conductive layer), but fails to teach a terminal embodiment with plug portions, insulating support portions and rotation stopping portions. However, Wakimoto also teaches a different terminal embodiment with an insulator (Fig. 3, Element 60; ¶¶ 0050-0052) (insulating portion) and a gasket (Fig. 3, Element 50; ¶¶ 0050-0052) (rotation stopping portion) and a portion of the second conductive member (Fig. 3, Element 42f; ¶ 0051) (comprising second conductive layer) disposed in a cavity between the underside of an external conductor (Fig. 3, Element 40; ¶¶ 0050-0052) and the flat portion of an electrode lead connector (Fig. 3, Element 14f; ¶ 0049), which are all clamped together and compressed vertically due to a crimping process (¶¶ 0050-0052). However, Wakimoto fails to teach plug portions and crimp portions in this embodiment. Modifying the second embodiment to use the first and second conductive members of the first embodiment, the crimp portions (Fig. 9, Element 141c; ¶ 0082) (terminal ends of plug portions) would protrude through holes (matching portions) in the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142; ¶ 0082) (comprising second conductive layer), and would be compressed vertically into the gasket (Fig. 3, Element 50; ¶¶ 0050-0052) (rotation stopping portion) to stop rotation of the external conductive member relative to the insulating support, with further rotation resistance logically inferred from the vertical compression. Both of these embodiments are taught in the same reference for the same purpose. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the negative electrode terminal of the first embodiment (Fig. 9, Element 140; ¶ 0081) in place of the external conductor of the second embodiment (Fig. 3, Element 40; ¶¶ 0053-0054) above to provide insulation and rotation stoppage of the external conductive member because Wakimoto teaches an insulator and a gasket and a crimping process.
Claim 7: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches an embodiment of a first conductive member (comprising first metal layer) shaped like a plate (Fig. 7, Element 41; ¶ 0056) with a formed thin-wall portion (Fig. 7, Element 41t; ¶ 0057), which electrically connects to the second conductive member (Fig. 7, Element 42; ¶¶ 0056-0057) (comprising second metal layer), but fails to teach leg portions (plug portions) and through holes (matching portions) in this embodiment. Wakimoto also teaches another embodiment of a first conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 141; ¶ 0082) (comprising first metal layer) with leg portions (Fig. 9, Element 141p; ¶ 0082) (plug portions), where the first conductive members of the two embodiments may be similar except for the second embodiment having leg portions, which are also formed, to protrude downward through through holes of the second conductive member (Fig. 9, Element 142h; ¶ 0082) (matching portions), but fails to teach a thin-walled first conductive member portion. Both of these embodiments are taught in the same reference for the same purpose. Modifying the thin-walled component of the first embodiment to make the leg portions of the second embodiment using the approach of formed components common to both embodiments would eliminate the need for any separate steps to attach leg portions to the first conductive member. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to apply the approach of formed components common to both embodiments to form the leg portions of the second embodiment on the first conductive member.
Claim 13: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1. Wakimoto further teaches a terminal embodiment with an insulator (Fig. 3, Element 60; ¶¶ 0050-0052) (insulating support portion) disposed in a cavity between the underside of an external conductor (Fig. 3, Element 40; ¶¶ 0050-0052) (second metal layer) and the top face of the lid body (Fig. 3, Element 24; ¶ 0052) (top cover), but fails to teach leg portions (plug portions) and through holes (matching portions) in this embodiment. Wakimoto also teaches a terminal embodiment with a pillar (electrode draw-out member) having a hole (draw-out hole) disposed on and contiguous with the second conductive member (Fig 9., Elements 42s, 142; ¶ 0082) (comprising second metal layer), but fails to teach an insulator disposed in a cavity between the underside of an external conductor and the top face of the lid body. Both of these embodiments are taught in the same reference for the same purpose. Modifying the pillar and draw-out hole of the second embodiment with the cavity and insulator of the first embodiment would provide insulation between the pillar and draw-out hole and the top face of the lid body. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the cavity and insulator of the first embodiment to insulate the pillar and draw-out member of the second embodiment from the top face of the lid body.
Claim 14: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 13. Wakimoto further teaches a hollow portion on the topmost portion of the first conductive member (first metal layer) which is depicted as larger in diameter than the hole in the pillar portion (Fig. 9, Elements 141, 42s; ¶0082) (draw-out hole).
Claims 11, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto, and further in view of Cao, et al. (EP4084195A1).
Claim 11: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but fails to teach the projection shape of a plug portion. Cao teaches an embodiment of a first post protrusion (plug portion) which may be circular (Fig. 3C, Element 311; ¶ 0061). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the post protrusion cross section of Cao for the leg portions of Wakimoto to limit strain concentration at the edges of angular leg portions because Cao teaches circular first post protrusions.
Clam 12: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 9, but fails to teach a rounded corner disposed at an edge of a plug portion. Cao teaches an embodiment of a first post protrusion (Fig. 3C, Element 311; ¶ 0061) at the lower edge of a first post (Fig. 3A, Element 310; ¶ 0063) which may both have rounded corners (¶¶ 0061, 0063). Cao further teaches using rounded corners at only one of the two electrode terminals can be used to prevent positive and negative electrodes reversal during battery assembly, which would result in battery corrosion (¶¶ 0064). Preventing battery corrosion would also improve battery terminal conduction reliability for the battery of Wakimoto (Abstr.). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the rounded first post protrusion edges (rounded corners) of Cao for the rounded corners disposed at an edge of the leg portions of Wakimoto because Cao teaches that e.g. rounded first post corners can aid in reducing battery corrosion by helping to prevent electrode reversal during battery assembly; reducing battery corrosion would be understood as desirable in the battery of Wakimoto as well.
Claim 15: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 1, but fails to teach a side length or protrusion height of a plug portion. Cao teaches an embodiment of a first post for a top cover of a power battery and its protrusion (plug portion) (Figs. 3C, 8B, Elements 310-311; ¶¶ 0071-0072) disposed on a second post and its protrusion (Fig. 9B, Elements 340-341; ¶¶ 0072-0073), with the thickness T of the topmost part of the second post ranging from 0.1-5 mm (Fig. 9B, Element 341; ¶ 0073). Claim 15 of the instant application recites a diameter or a side length of the projection of the plug portion on the top cover plate ranging from 0.5-6 mm, and a protruding height of the of the plug portion on a surface of the metal layer ranging from 0.2-4 mm. In the case where the only difference between the prior art and the claim is “…a recitation of the relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions [that] would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device [is] not patentably distinct from the prior art device.” MPEP § 2144.04(IV)A, second paragraph. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have selected a diameter or a side length of the projection of the plug portion on the top cover plate ranging from 0.5-6 mm and a protruding height of the of the plug portion on a surface of the metal layer ranging from 0.2-4 mm with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakimoto as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ueda, et al. (US 2007/0182379A1).
Claim 22: Wakimoto teaches all the limitations of Claim 21, but fails to teach an electronic device. Ueda teaches an electronic device comprising a wiring substrate having a power source circuit wiring and a battery (Fig. 8, Element F; ¶ 0004) which is mounted onto the wiring substrate (¶¶ 0043-0045). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to use the battery of Wakimoto to power the electronic device of Ueda because Ueda teaches an electronic device comprising a battery.
/TREVOR MICHAEL SACCUCCI/Examiner, Art Unit 1712
/MICHAEL G MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712