Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7-10, 14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rostron et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/085669 A1) in view of Shinohara et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2005/102562 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rostron teaches “[a]n active-standby switching processing method, applied to an active system and a standby system, the active system being connected to the standby system by an external warning line, wherein the method comprises: acquiring a device detection result of the active system” (see ¶¶ [0005], [0009], and FIG. 1; standby sparing fault tolerance technique includes a primary/active node (i.e., active system) and a backup/standby node (i.e., standby system); the primary/active node (i.e., active system) connected to backup/standby node (i.e., standby system) by heartbeat thread (i.e., external warning line); if a node detects the absence of a companion's heartbeat (i.e., device detection of a primary node (active system)), the node requests confirmation (i.e., acquiring a device detection result) of the failure from a secondary node called a supervisor node 103; thus, acquiring a device detection result of the active system); and
Rostron further teaches “. . . executing a switching operation between the active system and the standby system according to the detection signal” (see ¶ [0012]; if the supervisor node concurs that a heartbeat is absent (i.e., according to the detection signal), consent is transmitted and the standby node (standby system) is promoted (switching operation) to an active node (active system); thus, a switching operation is executed between the active system and the standby system according to the detection signal).
Rostron does not explicitly disclose “instructing the active system to send a detection signal to the external warning line according to the device detection result of the active system” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Shinohara teaches “instructing the active system to send a detection signal to the external warning line according to the device detection result of the active system” (see ¶ [0027]; the failover cluster system comprises a first computer and second computer that are mutual objects of failover, and in which failover is executed on the basis of the state of heartbeat signal (i.e., according to the device detection result of the active system) communications performed between the first computer and second computer; first computer comprises a first failover program which causes failover to be actuated by the second computer by voluntarily stopping heartbeat signal communications on the basis of a heartbeat communications stop request that is issued from an installation program (i.e., instructing the active system to send a detection signal to the external warning line); thus, active system is instructed to send a detection signal to the external warning line according to the device detection result of the active system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rostron to incorporate the teachings of Shinohara to instruct an active system to send a detection signal to a warning line based on the device detection result of the active system. The suggestion to do so would have been to reduce computing burdens avoid drop in responses between the systems (see ¶ [0006] of Shinohara).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Rostron and Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the executing the switching operation between the active system and the standby system according to the detection signal further comprises: switching the active system to the standby system according to the detection signal; and switching the standby system back to the active system when it is detected that the active system returns to normalcy in a case that the active system is switched to the standby system” (see ¶¶ [0031]-[0034] of Rostron; the active node (active system) and the standby node (standby system) can be go through multiple states including active, standby, and restore to previous state; restore to normal operation; thus, switching the active system to the standby system according to the detection signal; and switching the standby system back to the active system when it is detected that the active system returns to normalcy in a case that the active system is switched to the standby system).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Rostron and Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the executing the switching operation between the active system and the standby system according to the detection signal further comprises: storing the detection signal to a state table deployed in the standby system to obtain a signal state and executing the switching operation according to the signal state” (see ¶¶ [0009], [0012] and [0034]; upon receipt of a ready event, the circuit state machine transitions to the STAND-BY state; the circuit state machine stays in the STAND BY state 203 until an enable event is received (i.e., storing the detection signal to a state table deployed in the standby system to obtain a signal state); whereby it transitions to the ACTIVE state (i.e., switching operation according to the signal state); thus, storing the detection signal to a state table deployed in the standby system to obtain a signal state and executing the switching operation according to the signal state).
Regarding claim 8, it is a system claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 8 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 9, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 10, it is a storage medium claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, they are apparatus claims corresponding to claims 5 and 7 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 5 and 7. Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 18 and 20, they are storage medium claims corresponding to claims 5 and 7 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 5 and 7. Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2, 4, 11, 13, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rostron in view of Shinohara and further in view of Hongyan (CN112306813A).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Rostron and Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “acquiring a preset alarm item and a preset alarm level; and acquiring an alarm flag corresponding to the alarm item in the active system according to the alarm level, and acquiring the device detection result of the active system according to detection information for the alarm flag in a first preset cycle” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Hongyan teaches “acquiring a preset alarm item and a preset alarm level; and acquiring an alarm flag corresponding to the alarm item in the active system according to the alarm level, and acquiring the device detection result of the active system according to detection information for the alarm flag in a first preset cycle” (see ¶¶ [0062]-[0068]; a default (i.e., preset) alarm template is generated for each resource; this template contains the default configurations for all alarm items, including the default configurations for alarm thresholds (i.e., alarm level) and on/off states (i.e., alarm flag corresponding to the alarm item); thus, acquiring a preset alarm item and a preset alarm level; and acquiring an alarm flag corresponding to the alarm item in the active system according to the alarm level); data is monitored and compared to alarm thresholds and, based on the comparison of the data and alarm thresholds, corresponding alarms are generated (i.e., alarm flag corresponding to alarm is also set); thus, acquiring the device detection result of the active system according to detection information for the alarm flag in a first preset cycle). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rostron in view of Shinohara to incorporate the teachings of Hongyan to acquire preset alarm items, alarm levels, and corresponding alarm flags, an acquire device detection result based on corresponding alarm flag. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve performance when handling/processing various alarm items (see ¶ [0005] of Hongyan).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Rostron and Shinohara teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the active system comprises an access unit and at least two first remote units, all of the at least two first remote units are cascaded with each other, and the standby system comprises at least two second remote units, wherein the at least two first remote units are connected to the at least two second remote units by the external warning line, respectively” (see ¶ [0063] and FIG. 8 of Rostron; active nodes set includes two or more active nodes (i.e., two first remote units), where the nodes can be cascaded; and standby nodes set includes two or more standby nodes (i.e., two second remote units); the two or more active nodes are connected to the two or more standby nodes via heartbeat links (the external warning line); thus, a system comprises an access unit and at least two first remote units, all of the at least two first remote units are cascaded with each other, and the standby system comprises at least two second remote units, wherein the at least two first remote units are connected to the at least two second remote units by the external warning line, respectively); and
the combination of Rostron and Shinohara further teaches “the executing the switching operation between the active system and the standby system according to the detection signal further comprises: sending a switching flag to the at least two first remote units in cascade in turn according to the detection signal in a case that the device detection result of the active system is matched with the access unit, wherein all of the at least two first remote units are configured to switch with the at least two second remote units based on the switching flag” (see ¶¶ [0012] and [0063] of Rostron; if the supervisor node concurs that a heartbeat is absent (i.e., according to the detection signal), consent (i.e., switching flag) is transmitted (i.e., sending) and the standby node (standby system) is promoted (switching operation) to an active node (active system); within the node set, the switch can be initiated for the at least two other active nodes, thus, sending a switching flag to the at least two first remote units in cascade in turn according to the detection signal in a case that the device detection result of the active system is matched with the access unit, wherein all of the at least two first remote units are configured to switch with the at least two second remote units based on the switching flag); and
the combination of Rostron and Shinohara, and Hongyan teaches “sending the switching flag to at least one alarm remote unit according to the detection signal in a case that the device detection result of the active system is matched with the at least one alarm remote unit of the at least two first remote units, wherein the at least one alarm remote unit is configured to switch with a corresponding second remote unit based on the switching flag” (see ¶¶ [0062]-[0068]; a default alarm template is generated for each resource; this template contains the default configurations for all alarm items, including the default configurations for alarm thresholds (alarm level) and on/off states (alarm flag corresponding to the alarm item); thus, acquiring a preset alarm item and a preset alarm level; and acquiring an alarm flag corresponding to the alarm item in the active system according to the alarm level); data is monitored and compared to alarm thresholds and, based on the comparison of the data and alarm thresholds, corresponding alarms are generated; [the data monitored can include the switching flag and the detection signal as taught by Rostron and Shinohara]; thus, the combination teaches sending the switching flag to at least one alarm remote unit according to the detection signal in a case that the device detection result of the active system is matched with the at least one alarm remote unit of the at least two first remote units, wherein the at least one alarm remote unit is configured to switch with a corresponding second remote unit based on the switching flag).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rostron in view of Shinohara to incorporate the teachings of Hongyan to send switching flag and detection signal data to alarm unit. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve performance when handling/processing various alarm items (see ¶ [0005] of Hongyan).
Regarding claims 11 and 13, they are apparatus claims corresponding to claims 2 and 4 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 2 and 4. Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, they are storage medium claims corresponding to claims 2 and 4 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 2 and 4. Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 3, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rostron in view of Shinohara and further in view of Geile et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,280,564).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Rostron of Shinohara teaches “wherein the detection signal comprises a . . . signal, and the instructing the active system to send the detection signal to the external warning line according to the device detection result of the active system, and executing the switching operation between the active system and the standby system according to the detection signal further comprises: instructing the active system to send the . . . signal to the external warning line in a case that the device detection result of the active system is device normal; instructing the active system to stop sending the square wave signal to the external warning line in a case that the device detection result of the active system is device alarm; and executing the switching operation according to a statistical result of the . . . signal in a second preset cycle” (see ¶¶ [0005] – [0012] of Rostron, and ¶ [0027] of Shinohara; Shinohara the failover cluster system comprises a first computer and second computer that are mutual objects of failover, and in which failover is executed on the basis of the state of heartbeat signal (i.e., according to the device detection result of the active system) communications performed between the first computer and second computer; first computer comprises a first failover program which causes failover to be actuated by the second computer by voluntarily stopping heartbeat signal communications on the basis of a heartbeat communications stop request that is issued from an installation program (i.e., instructing the active system to send a detection signal to the external warning line); thus, instructing the active system to send the square wave signal to the external warning line in a case that the device detection result of the active system is device normal; instructing the active system to stop sending the square wave signal to the external warning line in a case that the device detection result of the active system is device alarm; if the supervisor node concurs that a heartbeat is absent (i.e., according to the detection signal), consent is transmitted and the standby node (standby system) is promoted (switching operation) to an active node (active system); since determining whether a signal is absent or present inherently includes determining whether a signal level satisfies a threshold such as determining whether corresponding bits of the signal are high or not, it also inherently includes determining a statistical result of the signal under BRI; additionally, since the signal is determined after a receiving it, executing of the switching it is inherently in a different cycle of operations (i.e., second preset cycle) from a determining/receiving; thus, executing the switching operation according to a statistical result of the signal in a second preset cycle).
The combination of Rostron of Shinohara does not explicitly disclose sending a signal that comprises a “square wave signal.” However, sending a square wave signal was well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Geile teaches sending a signal comprising “a square wave signal” (see col. 51, lines 25 and 26; a service unit sends a signal, such as a square wave signal). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rostron in view of Shinohara to incorporate the teachings of Geile to transmit signals that include square wave signals. The suggestion to do so would have been to signal processing between two systems (see col. 4, lines 47-52 of Geile).
Regarding claim 12, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 3 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 12 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 18, it is a storage medium claim corresponding to claim 3 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 3. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rostron in view of Shinohara and further in view of Yang et al. (CN112737844A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination Rostron and Shinohara teach the method of claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose “wherein the number of the standby system is at least two, and the active system is connected to all of the at least two standby systems by the external warning line, respectively; the executing the switching operation between the active system and the at least two standby systems according to the detection signal further comprises: acquiring a preset list of priorities for all of the at least two standby systems, and acquiring a target standby system with the highest priority among the at least two standby systems according to the list of priorities; and executing the switching operation between the active system and the target standby system according to the detection signal” of claim 6. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Yang teaches “wherein the number of the standby system is at least two, and the active system is connected to all of the at least two standby systems by the external warning line, respectively; the executing the switching operation between the active system and the at least two standby systems according to the detection signal further comprises: acquiring a preset list of priorities for all of the at least two standby systems, and acquiring a target standby system with the highest priority among the at least two standby systems according to the list of priorities; and executing the switching operation between the active system and the target standby system according to the detection signal” (see ¶¶ [0066] – [0070]; for multiple servers in a redundant system, an initial primary/standby state can be pre-programmed into the storage medium of each server; for example, the initial primary/standby state of server (i.e., wherein the number of the standby system is at least two, and the active system is connected to all of the at least two standby systems by the external warning line, respectively); suppose that server A experiences an irreparable failure at a certain moment, a primary/standby switchover is required; in this case, server A switches its primary/standby status to standby status by executing the process applicable to the primary state of the server provided in this application (i.e., acquiring a preset list of priorities for all of the at least two standby systems, and acquiring a target standby system with the highest priority among the at least two standby systems according to the list of priorities)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Rostron in view of Shinohara to incorporate the teachings of Yang to acquire a preset list of priorities. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve data efficiency between two systems of a redundant system (see ¶ [0004] of Yang).
Regarding claim 15, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 6 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 6. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/ supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475