Detailed Action
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3 September 2024 and 30 July 2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 8 states “wherein in a thickness direction of the current collecting body, the thickened portion penetrates through the current collecting body.” This is taken to mean the thickened portion was passed through the current collector body to form a mechanical restriction between the two pieces.
Claim 13 states “wherein in the thickness direction of the current collecting component, a projection of the thickened portion covers a projection of the recessed portion.” This is taken to mean that a surface of the recess portion is touching the surface of the thickened portion so that there is some connection with a certain surface area between the two surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-8, 12-13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fang et al. (CN216251022U, Machine Translation via EPO, hereafter Fang).
Regarding Claim 1, Fang teaches a cylindrical battery cell ([0004], [0081]) including a housing (20, [0005]), which further includes an end wall (23, [0055]) and a side wall (“housing”, 22, [0112]) surrounding the end wall. An opening (“recess”, FIG. 9, 31 not listed in FIG. 9) is formed on one side of the side wall facing away from the end wall.
An electrode assembly (10, [0005]) disposed in the housing, wherein a first tab (11, [0005]) is provided on one side of the electrode assembly facing the opening (FIG. 9), and a cap disposed on a side where the opening is located (30, “electrode terminal”, [0005]). The electrode terminal in the reference is the same as the cap, as is consistent with the state of the art for cylindrical batteries.
The cap is welded and connected to the side wall to seal the opening (FIG. 9, [0005], [0077, 0105-0126]). The reference says that “connection” is to be interpreted broadly unless otherwise stated [0077], and one of the interpretation examples includes a fixed connection, which includes a welding connection. A current collecting component disposed on one side of the electrode assembly facing the opening (40, FIG. 9), wherein the current collecting component is welded and connected to the first tab [0041]. In a thickness direction of the current collecting component, the current collecting component comprises a current collecting body and a thickened portion protruding toward the cap (41, 42, 42 being the thickened portion, FIG. 9), and the thickened portion is welded and connected to the cap [0119].
Regarding Claim 2, Fang teaches the thickened portion being disposed in a central region of the current collecting component (FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 4, Fang teaches the current collecting body and the thickened portion are an integrally formed structure [0033].
Regarding Claim 5, Fang teaches the current collecting body and the thickened portion are welded and connected [0037].
Regarding Claim 7, Fang teaches the thickened portion is disposed on one side of the current collecting body away from the electrode assembly (FIG. 9).
Regarding Claim 8, Fang teaches in a thickness direction of the current collecting body, the thickened portion penetrates through the current collecting body [0197]. This paragraph states the current collecting pieces may be connected by snap-fitting. Snap-fitting is a means of connection where one element may pass through another, which is consistent with the interpretation of this claim as noted at the beginning of the action.
Regarding Claim 12, Fang teaches in a thickness direction of the cap, the cap comprises a recessed portion (31) that is recessed toward the current collecting component, and the recessed portion is welded and connected to the thickened portion ([0198], 312 is a bottom portion of 31).
Regarding Claim 13, Fang teaches in the thickness direction of the current collecting component, a projection of the thickened portion covers a projection of the recessed portion [0198]. If these two surfaces are welded or bonded and each has a surface that is touching the other element, then the thickened portion must cover a projection of the recessed portion in a way so that there is a certain surface area of each being connected. This is consistent with the claim interpretation noted at the beginning of this action.
Regarding Claim 20, Fang teaches a battery pack comprising the cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 [0082].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U).
Regarding Claim 3, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 and 2 and further teaches a projection of the thickened portion on the electrode assembly ([0196], FIG. 9, 42) being located in a region with a center of the electrode assembly as the center. Fang does not teach the projection of the thickened portion having a diameter of 18 mm.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the thickened portion so that it could have a diameter of 18 mm. It was held that changes in size/proportion were unpatentable unless a new or unexpected result was produced (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in further view of Kato et al. (JP2007122942A, cited on IDS, hereafter Kato).
Regarding Claim 6, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claims 1 and 5 but does not teach that in a thickness direction of the current collecting member component, a thickness between one end of the current collecting component close to the electrode assembly and one end where the thickened portion is welded to the cap is 0.3 mm to 2.0 mm.
However, Kato teaches a storage battery with a working example where the combined heights of the current collecting member and the projecting portion fall within the claimed range (total height is 0.8 mm) [0054]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Fang with the specific dimensions of similar elements in Kato. One would have been motivated to combine these references because Kato teaches a specific example where the welding strength and contact resistance are good [0073], and this example has specific dimensions of an invention that is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 9, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach at least one of the current collecting body or the thickened portion being made of low carbon steel.
However, Kato teaches an example of a storage battery cell where a current collector is made of low carbon steel [0035]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Fang with the low carbon steel current collector of Kato. Since these inventions are in the same field of endeavor, modifying the cylindrical battery of Fang would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(E), KSR).
One would have been motivated to modify the inventions in this way because Kato teaches a specific example where low carbon steel is used for the current collector and this example increased the rigidity of the upper current collector, which ameliorated problems such as bending of the current collector and resulted in a stable weldability [0065].
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in further view of Wang et al (WO2022188484A1, Machine Translation via EPO, hereafter Wang).
Regarding Claim 10, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach a liquid injection hole or further cover plate. However, Wang teaches a cylindrical battery cell ([0006], [0076]) wherein a center of the cap comprises a liquid injection hole (121, [0076]), and a center of the current collecting component comprises an opening corresponding to the liquid injection hole [0016]. The cylindrical battery cell further comprises a cover plate disposed above the cap (40, [0076]). The cover plate is welded and connected to the cap to seal the liquid injection hole [0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with the injection hole and cover plate of Wang. To combine these inventions would be to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E), KSR).
One would have been motivated to modify the inventions in this way because the presence of a liquid injection hole allows for electrolyte to pass through the second opening and wet the electrode assembly, according to Wang [0016]. Fang includes either a liquid (or gel) electrolyte, and Wang provides a manner by which a liquid electrolyte could be added to the battery assembly effectively.
Regarding Claim 11, Fang in view of Wang teach all the limitations of claim 10, and Wang further teaches a cylindrical battery cell wherein a cover plate (“sealing plate”) is between the cap and the thickened portion of the current collecting member (FIGS. 6 and 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with the cover plate orientation of Wang. Fang is provided with a sealing member that performs the same function as the sealing plate in Wang, but it is not itself a plate. One would have been motivated to combine the inventions in this way because the cover plate (“sealing member”) of Wang seals the electrolyte injection hole after the electrolyte injection process is completed [0076]. A sealing component is said to improve the sealing performance of the cell, reduce the risk of electrolyte leakage and improve the safety of the cell, according to Fang [0164].
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in further view of Narbonne et al. (US20210218095A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach the specific limitations of this claim. However, Narbonne teaches a cover for a cylindrical electrochemical device wherein at least a part of a lower surface of the cap located at an outer periphery is in contact with an end surface of the side wall for welding connection (FIG. 1a, underside of element 3/element 9 is in contact with the side shell 2), and in a thickness direction of the cap, an annular groove that is recessed toward the electrode assembly side is further disposed at the outer periphery of the cap, a side wall of the annular groove away from a center of the cap is in contact with an inner surface of the side wall for welding connection (FIG. 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang to include the cover of the similar cell of Narbonne. One would have been motivated to combine these two inventions because the presence of the closure part (3), which contains the groove, improves the heat dissipation/cooling of the container of the cell ([0013], [0050]).
Regarding Claim 15, Fang and Narbonne teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 14, and Narbonne further teaches a cylindrical electrochemical device wherein a bottom wall of the annular groove is in contact with the current collecting component (FIG. 2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Fang to include the cover of the similar cell of Narbonne. Combining these inventions would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success for inventions in the same field of endeavor. The result being an effective connection between the cover and the current connection member.
One would have been motivated to modify the inventions in this way because the bottom wall portions (“inner planar surfaces”) serve as weld surfaces of the closure part to the current collector, and having a cover welded to the current collector is well-known in the art for providing greater stability for stress caused by heat exchange and mechanical vibration during battery operation.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in view of Narbonne et al. (US20210218095A1, hereafter Narbonne) in further view Kato (JP2007122942A).
Regarding Claim 16, Fang and Narbonne do not teach the thickened portion disposed at an outer periphery region of the current collecting component, and a bottom wall of the annular groove being in contact with the thickened portion for welding connection.
However, Kato does teach a storage battery wherein the thickened portion (15) is disposed at an outer periphery region of the current collecting component (11) (FIGS. 2, 6), and a bottom wall of the annular groove (16) is in contact with the thickened portion for welding connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Fang in view of Narbonne with the invention of Kato. One would have been motivated to combine the inventions in this way because by using the protrusion of the current collector, even if the thickness of the sealing plate is increased, which is desirable, when a welded portion between the sealing plate and the current collector can be softened by heat generation due to ineffective diversion. As a result, the welding strength can be improved and the contact resistance can be reduced, according to Kato [0014].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in view of Narbonne et al. (US20210218095A1) in further view of Maoyu et al. (CN202013904U, Machine Translation via EPO, hereafter Maoyu).
Regarding Claim 17, Fang and Narbonne teach all the limitations of claims 1 and 14 but does not teach an annular cover plate that covers the annular groove.
However, Maoyu teaches a ring-shaped cover group for a lithium battery, wherein an annular base plate (1) is embedded in the annular groove of an annular shell (6) [0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with the cylindrical battery cover of Maoyu. One would have been motivated to combine these inventions because the annular base plate being welded to the annular casing results in high welding strength and helps prevent leakage, according to Maoyu [0011].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in further view of Min et al. (EP4047703A2, Machine Translation via EPO, hereafter Min).
Regarding Claim 18, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach a venting notch being disposed on the cap.
However, Min teaches a cylindrical battery wherein a venting notch is further disposed on the cap [0076]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with venting notch of Min. One would have been motivated to combine the aspects of these inventions in this way because the vent notch would be configured to rupture once the pressure inside the battery reached, or rather surpassed, a predetermined threshold [0076-0077], which is well-known in the art to protect the battery from damage caused by thermal runway.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN216251022U) in further view of Park et al. (CN114865054A, Machine Translation via EPO, hereafter Park).
Regarding Claim 19, Fang teaches all the limitations of Claim 1 but does not teach the limitations of this claim.
However, Park teaches a (cylindrical, [0158]) battery wherein a second tab (62, 63) is disposed on one side of the electrode assembly facing the end wall (FIG. 1, 62/63 are elements of 60, 62 not highlighted in this figure), and the cylindrical battery cell further comprises an electrode terminal (50) protruding from an outer surface of the end wall (FIG. 1), the electrode terminal is electrically connected to the second tab ([0074, 0325], 12 is the portion of the tab with no coating).
Park also teaches a liquid injection hole (H3, [0187]), but does not specifically teach it being disposed on the end wall or the electrode terminal. However, it was held that the rearrangement of parts was unpatentable unless a new or unexpected result was produced (MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cylindrical battery of Fang with these elements of Park. One would have been motivated to combine these inventions because terminal 50 being exposed on the lower portion opposite to opening can act as an anode, so when multiple cylindrical batteries are connected in one direction the electrical connection structure is greatly simplified [0328], according to Park. Moreover, the battery where its structure has a large portion of the lower surface located on the opposite side from the opening and protruding from the casing ensures sufficient area for welding components for electrical connection [0328].
Conclusion
/M.D.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/LAURA C POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785