Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destine et al. (US 9674926 B2) in view of Khedekar (US 20230196489 A1) In view of Guerrero et al. (US 20200020114 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Destine teaches a street light device comprising: an object tracking component (Destine, Fig. 4, sensor unit 7; Col. 7, lines 30-40, The sensor unit 7 is configured to detect the presence of road users on the road segment 2a-2q to be lighted by the lighting unit 5 of the streetlight 1a-1q, as well as at least their speed and direction of travel, although additional information such as for instance position, acceleration or type of road user may also be captured); a communications component (Destine, Fig. 3, transceiver 9; Col. 8, lines 27-43, The control device 6 also comprises a transceiver 9 which is connected at least to said second data input channel 8b and to the data output channel 8c. In the present context, the term “transceiver” is understood as referring to any device suitable for both transmitting and receiving information, whether it is wirelessly or over a physical connection such as an electrical wire, optical fibre or waveguide. The transceiver 9 of each one of the streetlights 1a-1q of the present embodiment is configured so as to communicate with the transceiver 9 of at least a neighbouring streetlight 1a-1q on an adjacent road segment 2a-2q); a lighting component (Destine, Fig. 3, lighting unit 5); a computer processor (Destine, Fig. 3, Control device 6 comprises a data processing unit 8); and a memory storing computer-executable instructions, that when executed by the processor (Destine, Fig. 3, data storage 15), cause the processor to: identify via the object tracking component a moving vehicle traveling towards a monitored street location (Destine, Col. 13, lines 15-25, the motor vehicle 21 enters the illustrated area through road segment 2a. Its speed and direction of travel are sensed by the sensor unit 8 of the corresponding streetlight 1a and a signal comprising these data, together with identification data of the road segment 2a, is propagated through a series of adjacent streetlights); determine via the object tracking component a distance of the moving vehicle from the monitored street location (Destine, Col. 13, lines 25-32, In response to this signal, the streetlights 1b, 1c and 1d, which are within a distance d.sub.2 from the first road segment 2a, light up together with the first streetlight 1a); determine via the object tracking component a speed of the moving vehicle (Col. 13, lines 15-25, the motor vehicle 21 enters the illustrated area through road segment 2a. Its speed and direction of travel are sensed by the sensor unit 8 of the corresponding streetlight 1a and a signal comprising these data, together with identification data of the road segment 2a, is propagated through a series of adjacent streetlights); and control a brightness of the lighting component based on the speed and proximity of the moving vehicle (Destine, Col. 13, lines 33-40, the motor vehicle 21 progresses through the road segments 2b and 2c, and is detected by the sensor units of the corresponding streetlights 1b and 1c, more streetlights are turned on in front of the motor vehicle 21, and those which are initially turned on at lower lighting levels than their assigned maximum lighting level P.sub.max are progressively powered up to that maximum lighting level P.sub.max as the motor vehicle 21 approaches).
Destine does not teaches an image capturing component; capturing an image of the moving vehicle; control a brightness of the lighting component based on the speed, image, and proximity of the moving vehicle.
However, Guerrero teaches an image capturing component; capturing an image of the moving vehicle; control a brightness of the lighting component based on the speed, image, and proximity of the moving vehicle (Guerrero, Para. 3, At the present time, it is known to detect moving objects or people in a stream of video images captured by a camera. Such detection may have several aims. For example, when the camera is fastened to a street light, it is known to detect pedestrians walking in proximity to the street light in order to increase its brightness and thus increase the illumination of the entire zone or indeed to orient the flux of light in their direction).
Destine and Guerrero are analogous art because they both pertain to detecting moving objects in proximity to the street light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have camera for detecting moving vehicles (as taught by Guerrero) resulting in predictable result of detecting moving objects in proximity to the street light in order to increase its brightness.
In regard to claim 2, Combination of Destine and Guerrero teach the street light device of claim 1, wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the processor to: transmit via the communications component a speed and proximity of the moving vehicle to one or more adjacent street light devices via one or more communication networks (Destine, Col. 8, lines 33-43, The transceiver 9 of each one of the streetlights 1a-1q of the present embodiment is configured so as to communicate with the transceiver 9 of at least a neighbouring streetlight 1a-1q on an adjacent road segment 2a-2q); wherein based at least in part on the speed and proximity of the moving vehicle (Destine, Col. 13, lines 15-25, the motor vehicle 21 enters the illustrated area through road segment 2a. Its speed and direction of travel are sensed by the sensor unit 8 of the corresponding streetlight 1a and a signal comprising these data, together with identification data of the road segment 2a, is propagated through a series of adjacent streetlights), facilitate control of a brightness of the one or more adjacent street light devices (Destine, Col. 13, lines 33-40, the motor vehicle 21 progresses through the road segments 2b and 2c, and is detected by the sensor units of the corresponding streetlights 1b and 1c, more streetlights are turned on in front of the motor vehicle 21, and those which are initially turned on at lower lighting levels than their assigned maximum lighting level P.sub.max are progressively powered up to that maximum lighting level P.sub.max as the motor vehicle 21 approaches).
In regard to claim 3, Combination of Destine and Guerrero teach the street lighting device of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the processor to: transmit via the communications component instructions to facilitate control of a brightness of one or more adjacent street light devices in coordination with the brightness of the lighting component (Destine, Col. 13, lines 33-40, the motor vehicle 21 progresses through the road segments 2b and 2c, and is detected by the sensor units of the corresponding streetlights 1b and 1c, more streetlights are turned on in front of the motor vehicle 21, and those which are initially turned on at lower lighting levels than their assigned maximum lighting level P.sub.max are progressively powered up to that maximum lighting level P.sub.max as the motor vehicle 21 approaches).
In regard to claim 4, Combination of Destine and Guerrero teach the street lighting device of claim 1, further comprising: wherein the computer-executable instructions further cause the processor to: receive via the communications component instructions to control the brightness of the lighting component in response to an indication from one or more adjacent street light devices of a speed and proximity of the moving vehicle (Destine, Col. 13, lines 15-32, the motor vehicle 21 enters the illustrated area through road segment 2a. Its speed and direction of travel are sensed by the sensor unit 8 of the corresponding streetlight 1a and a signal comprising these data, together with identification data of the road segment 2a, is propagated through a series of adjacent streetlights. In response to this signal, the streetlights 1b, 1c and 1d, which are within a distance d.sub.2 from the first road segment 2a, light up together with the first streetlight 1a).
Claim(s) 5, 7-13, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destine et al. (US 9674926 B2) in view of Khedekar (US 20230196489 A1).
In regard to claim 5, Destine teaches a method comprising: providing a street light device (Destine, Fig. 2-3), comprising: an object tracking component (Destine, Fig. 3, sensor unit 7; Col. 7, lines 30-44, The sensor unit 7 is configured to detect the presence of road users on the road segment 2a-2q to be lighted by the lighting unit 5 of the streetlight 1a-1q, as well as at least their speed and direction of travel); a communications component (Destine, Fig. 3, Transceiver 9, Col. 8, lines 27-43, The transceiver 9 of each one of the streetlights 1a-1q of the present embodiment is configured so as to communicate with the transceiver 9 of at least a neighbouring streetlight 1a-1q on an adjacent road segment 2a-2q); a lighting component (Destine, Fig. 3, The lighting unit 5 may be a LED-based lighting unit); identifying a moving vehicle traveling towards a monitored street location (Destine, Col. 13, lines 15-25, the motor vehicle 21 enters the illustrated area through road segment 2a. Its speed and direction of travel are sensed by the sensor unit 8 of the corresponding streetlight 1a and a signal comprising these data, together with identification data of the road segment 2a, is propagated through a series of adjacent streetlights); determining a distance of the moving vehicle from the monitored street location (Destine, Col. 13, lines 25-32, In response to this signal, the streetlights 1b, 1c and 1d, which are within a distance d.sub.2 from the first road segment 2a, light up together with the first streetlight 1a); determining a speed of the moving vehicle (Col. 13, lines 15-25, the motor vehicle 21 enters the illustrated area through road segment 2a. Its speed and direction of travel are sensed by the sensor unit 8 of the corresponding streetlight 1a and a signal comprising these data, together with identification data of the road segment 2a, is propagated through a series of adjacent streetlights); controlling a brightness of one or more lighting components based on a proximity of the moving vehicle to each of the one or more lighting components (Destine, Col. 13, lines 33-40, the motor vehicle 21 progresses through the road segments 2b and 2c, and is detected by the sensor units of the corresponding streetlights 1b and 1c, more streetlights are turned on in front of the motor vehicle 21, and those which are initially turned on at lower lighting levels than their assigned maximum lighting level P.sub.max are progressively powered up to that maximum lighting level P.sub.max as the motor vehicle 21 approaches).
Destine does not teach an image capturing component; capturing one or more images of the moving vehicle as the vehicle approaches the monitored street location; detecting and/or determining a collision incident associated with the vehicle; based at least in part on the collision incident, transmitting an alert to at least one emergency service provider via one or more communication networks; and based at least in part on the collision incident, facilitating communications between a driver of the moving vehicle and the at least one emergency service provider.
However, Khedekar teaches an image capturing component (Khedekar, Fig. 7, light pole 7.2 with security devices 7.1; Para. 58, High-definition cameras will continuously analyze the street and sidewalk traffic for anomalies); capturing one or more images of the moving vehicle as the vehicle approaches the monitored street location (Khedekar, Fig. 7, light pole 7.2 with security devices 7.1; Para. 58, High-definition cameras will continuously analyze the street and sidewalk traffic for anomalies. Artificial Intelligence (AI) module will use these feeds generated by the camera and will leverage object detection frameworks like YOLOv5 to detect the specifics of an anomaly, i.e., car license plate, car model and color, suspect information, etc); detecting and/or determining a collision incident associated with the vehicle (Khedekar, Para. 58, High-definition cameras will continuously analyze the street and sidewalk traffic for anomalies. Artificial Intelligence (AI) module will use these feeds generated by the camera and will leverage object detection frameworks like YOLOv5 to detect the specifics of an anomaly, i.e., car license plate, car model and color, suspect information, etc. The sound sensor will be used to detect anomalies such as car accidents, breaking of glass, gunshots, fireworks, illegal broadcasting of sound that can impact the safety and security realm of the neighborhood); based at least in part on the collision incident, transmitting an alert to at least one emergency service provider via one or more communication networks (Khedekar, Para. 60, This information, once captured, will be delivered to the local public safety agency over a reliable public safety mission critical 4G LTE network); and based at least in part on the collision incident, facilitating communications between a driver of the moving vehicle and the at least one emergency service provider (Khedekar, Para. 60, While the paramedics are on their way, they can dispatch the robot deployed in this neighborhood to the appropriate spot using remote navigation capabilities and collect real-time information. They can also engage with the people on site through real-time video-chat service).
Destine and Khedekar are analogous art because they both pertain to providing safety and security of people on the streets using light poles.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include monitoring and reporting traffic anomalies (as taught by Khedekar) as well as providing street light to provide neighborhood safety and security service to residents.
In regard to claim 7, Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach the method of claim 5, further comprising: storing the one or more images in a remote storage device; and/or storing the one or more images on a local hard drive (Khedekar, Fig. 4, cloud server and Database server; Para. 44-46, The information received from mission critical neighborhood safety and security robot will be processed by the mission critical light pole and will be transmitted to the mission critical cloud server via the mission critical public safety grade radio access network and the mission critical public safety grade evolved packet core network. The mission critical cloud server will provide mission critical command center dashboard for public safety agencies and for residents, as illustrated in FIG. 2).
In regard to claim 8, Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach the method of claim 5, wherein facilitating communications comprises providing communications via a microphone and speaker located at the monitored street location, wherein the location of the microphone and speaker are identified with a flashing light (Khedekar, Fig. 7, robot 7.5; Para. 60, While the paramedics are on their way, they can dispatch the robot deployed in this neighborhood to the appropriate spot using remote navigation capabilities and collect real-time information. They can also engage with the people on site through real-time video-chat service).
In regard to claim 9, Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach the method of claim 5, wherein facilitating communications comprises initiating automated communications to the at least one emergency service provider regarding the collision incident at the monitored street location (Khedekar, Para. 57, the assembly presents a camera agnostic surveillance system coupled with artificial intelligence (AI) units, mapping, and LIDAR unit and other components to analyze on a real-time basis and can sends alerts for emergency events like criminal activities, physical abuse, sexual abuse, robbery/shoplifting, arson, flooding, drowning, fall detection, mental issues detection, etc. It provides the exact GPS coordinates in all locations. Furthermore, it requires no/minimal input by the user), wherein the automated communications comprise information associated with the vehicle (Khedekar, Para. 58-60, Artificial Intelligence (AI) module will use these feeds generated by the camera and will leverage object detection frameworks like YOLOv5 to detect the specifics of an anomaly, i.e., car license plate, car model and color, suspect information, etc. This information, once captured, will be delivered to the local public safety agency over a reliable public safety mission critical 4G LTE network).
In regard to claim 10, Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach the method of claim 5, wherein the collision incident comprises two or more vehicles (Khedekar, Para. 49, mission critical pedestrian safety scenario where incase of any incident related to pedestrian or car accident, the mission critical autonomous safety robot can send an alert to public safety agencies and initiate an emergency response).
In regard to claim 11, Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach the method of claim 5, wherein the one or more images comprise the license plate of the vehicle and the speed of the vehicle (Khedekar, Para. 58, High-definition cameras will continuously analyze the street and sidewalk traffic for anomalies. Artificial Intelligence (AI) module will use these feeds generated by the camera and will leverage object detection frameworks like YOLOv5 to detect the specifics of an anomaly, i.e., car license plate, car model and color, suspect information, etc. The sound sensor will be used to detect anomalies such as car accidents, breaking of glass, gunshots, fireworks, illegal broadcasting of sound that can impact the safety and security realm of the neighborhood. LiDARs will be used to monitor the speed of the car).
In regard to claim 12, Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach the method of claim 5, wherein the at least one emergency service provider comprises at least one of the following: police, hospital, fire department, emergency medical technician, and emergency medical transportation (Khedekar, Abstract, The mission critical device mounted on the light pole captures this information and sends this information along with notification to public safety agencies (police, paramedics, firefighters)).
In regard to claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 5 as stated above.
In regard to claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 7 as stated above.
In regard to claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 8 as stated above.
In regard to claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 9 as stated above.
In regard to claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 10 as stated above.
In regard to claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 11 as stated above.
In regard to claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 12 as stated above.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destine et al. (US 9674926 B2) in view of Khedekar (US 20230196489 A1) and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20180293885 A1).
In regard to claim 6, Combination of Destine and Khedekar do not specifically teach the method of claim 5, wherein the distance comprises about 200 meters.
However, Destine teaches in response to this signal, the streetlights 1b, 1c and 1d, which are within a distance d.sub.2 from the first road segment 2a, light up together with the first streetlight 1a (Destine, Col. 13, lines 25-32). Streetlights 1b is in the next road segment, therefore the distance is from streetlight 1a to streetlight 1b.
And the concept of having the distance to be the same as distance between the two sensors is well known in the art as also taught by Lee. Lee teaches the sensors 110, 112 installed on the posts or mounts are placed at certain points (e.g., intersections) on the road and are certain distances apart from each other so that different sections 120, 122 of the road can be covered by the sensors 110, 112. In one implementation, the distance 114 between the sensors 110, 112 is approximately 200 to 500 meters (Lee, Para. 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the distance to be approximately 200 to 500 meters (as taught by Lee) resulting in predictable result of changing the brightness based on that distance.
In regard to claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as stated in the rejection of claim 6 as stated above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/30/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In that remarks, applicant's argues in substance:
Applicant argues: " Page 7 of the Office Action admits that the cited reference Devine et al. does not teach capturing one or more images of the moving vehicle as the vehicle approaches the monitored street location, however, the Office Action relies on the cited reference Khedekar et al. to allegedly disclose and/or suggest certain elements of independent claim 5. While Khedekar et al. appears to disclose and/or suggest a camera on a light pole, an image capturing device is not provided in a street light device with the other components for a street light device, as in the Applicant's claimed disclosure.”
Examiner's Response: Examiner respectfully submits that Combination of Destine and Khedekar teach providing a street light device comprising: an object tracking component: a communications component: a lighting component; and an image capturing component. Khedekar teaches Each light pole, as per its further embodiment's is artificial intelligence (AI) enabled and will be equipped with a solar module, robot shelter, environmental sensors, network equipment, high-definition cameras, LiDAR, sound sensor, and artificial intelligence (AI) module(Para. 58).
Response to amended claims is considered above in claim Rejections.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARMIN AKHTER/
Examiner, Art Unit 2689
/DAVETTA W GOINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2689